Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 536 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The iconic fighting game franchise is back with upgraded visuals, over-the-top action, a wild cast of combatants, rocking reactive music, and C-C-C-Combo Breakers. Choose from a diverse set of characters, each with fluid animations, unique combat tactics, and flashy special attacks. UtilizeThe iconic fighting game franchise is back with upgraded visuals, over-the-top action, a wild cast of combatants, rocking reactive music, and C-C-C-Combo Breakers. Choose from a diverse set of characters, each with fluid animations, unique combat tactics, and flashy special attacks. Utilize an open-ended combo system to rack up massive combos as your opponent looks for openings to break your flow and turn the tides of battle. Go online and test yourself against players from all over the world, or bone up on your combat skills in detailed tutorials. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    91
    As strictly a fighting game, the long wait was worth it. Killer Instinct is everything I’d hoped for and more.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It plays smoother, looks better than anything out there, and has a kick-ass soundtrack with a goofball announcer to boot. If you absolutely must recreate your childhood, then pick up the $40 pack, but most will be satisfied spending half that.
  3. Oct 9, 2014
    80
    Flashy, brutal and deeper than you'd expect. Killer Instinct is back baby.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    At launch, Killer Instinct serves as a solid foundation for what could eventually become a good fighting game. More characters and stages are coming down the line, but at launch, the game's limited single and multiplayer modes are glaring and will grow stale quickly.
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    Even though the demo is pretty disappointing, the full Killer Instinct proves to be a really nice addiction to the fighting genre. Most of the characters come directly from the first Killer Instinct-game, but this time they look really gorgeous on the new Xbox One. The fighting system of Killer Instinct is a very layered one, which will keep you busy for loads of hours although a campaign mode is definitely missed.
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    70
    One of the most brutal fighting game is finally back on Xbox One. Killer Instinct is here with its latest installment, next gen visuals and the well-known ultra combo addicting style.
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    50
    Killer Instinct possesses the fundamentals to be a crowd-pleasing title, and certainly does a decent job of inviting less experienced players into the genre, but its limited modes and insistence on milking your funds KOs a game with potential.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 89
  2. Negative: 19 out of 89
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Best game ever, you start with only one character and I love microtransactions, gets me off, makes me feel all hot and gooey....Nowadays itsBest game ever, you start with only one character and I love microtransactions, gets me off, makes me feel all hot and gooey....Nowadays its rare that rarely puts out good games anymore, but this game is great at manipulating people into microtransation... MMM my favorite with a side of bacon... I wanna put killer instinct as the hall of fame game Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Absolutely incredible. One of the best fighting games to be released in the last 10 years. The core fighting engine is solid and addicting andAbsolutely incredible. One of the best fighting games to be released in the last 10 years. The core fighting engine is solid and addicting and the game will only get better over time. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I'm digging the combat not too scrub friendly, but not too hard at entry level.Good connections (heard it uses rollback gg),nothing gameI'm digging the combat not too scrub friendly, but not too hard at entry level.Good connections (heard it uses rollback gg),nothing game breaking at launch,small roster right now. One thing i noticed dynamic music (really cranks up when you're in danger,between rounds),rounds similar to Injustice or rather Injustice has one similar to this game.I'd pick it up from the MS store. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    The fast pace combat and the beautiful visuals make this game a must have. Its like the classic Killer instinct from the arcades that youThe fast pace combat and the beautiful visuals make this game a must have. Its like the classic Killer instinct from the arcades that you would play back the day. Just the number of combos you can do by button smashing is amazing, just imagine how big the combos can be if you practiced. Also people don't need worry about button smashing, that's what C-C-C-Combo breakers are for after all. The only problem with the game is that there is currently only 6 characters and 2 more that come in later as dlc. This game has a lot of potential and should receive support so that the fighting genre live strong. 9/10 Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Solid fighting game. Due to the lack of fighting games during both consoles initial releases, Killer Instinct is a no-brainer for Xbox OneSolid fighting game. Due to the lack of fighting games during both consoles initial releases, Killer Instinct is a no-brainer for Xbox One owners who enjoy games of this genre. It's most like Street Fighter 4 if I had to make a comparison. It definitely brings it's own flair and style however. Very fun unleashing massive combos. The Ultra Edition is a good value considering you get two arcade versions of the original Killer Instinct that are standalone. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    6
    Great mechanics, but it's a rip off considering the content is so shallow. $50 for a demo is not on. Let's hope that xbox decide to draw uponGreat mechanics, but it's a rip off considering the content is so shallow. $50 for a demo is not on. Let's hope that xbox decide to draw upon this blueprint and provide the people who purchased this with some nice free content Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2014
    0
    its another Street fighter game. We miss the blood baths... the violence...the rude voices. now its just a gross mix of visual fx andits another Street fighter game. We miss the blood baths... the violence...the rude voices. now its just a gross mix of visual fx and merchandising. We miss you rare. We cant call this KILLER INSTINCT if they dont kill anyone... its just... another generic fighting game Expand

See all 89 User Reviews