LocoCycle Xbox One

Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 46
  2. Negative: 21 out of 46
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    72
    Lococycle brings new meaning to DRAG racing. Take this arcade game in small doses for best results.
  2. 70
    Lococycle is as hard to put down as it is hard to love. Even if the comedy scratches your itch, there will be times when the shortage of depth and aversion to polish become impossible to forgive.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    LocoCycle tries a lot of new things thematically, while simultaneously paying homage to classic arcade racing shooters. It doesn't succeed in everything it sets out to do, but if you're looking for a decent arcade shooter to toy around with on your new Xbox One, LocoCycle is it.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Lococycle isn’t complex, but I was easily sucked into its silliness. I wanted to see where this intentionally stupid story was headed, and it was worth the trip – even if the game itself isn't very deep.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    64
    Its inconsistent gameplay becomes tedious despite its imaginative variety, and its levels lack cohesion or a sense of momentum. Like the cheesy 90's films it apes, LocoCycle is memorable, but not quite good.
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    62
    LocoCycle offers a simple fun arcade experience set against a wild and fairly humorous story. It's not going to pass any "next gen" Litmus test as far as graphics and gameplay goes, but it's enjoyable nonetheless.
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    Lococycle is full of Twisted Pixel’s wacky brand of humour and is animated excellently, but the limited gameplay just holds it back from being a must-have.
  8. games(TM)
    Dec 17, 2013
    60
    Lococycle is initially very enjoyable due to its marriage of different elements from popular genres, but the ideas unfortunately soon run dry. [Issue#142, p.93]
  9. Dec 5, 2013
    60
    I wanted to love LocoCycle, but in the end, I just liked it. It has moments where I had a lot of fun with it, and others where I was forcing myself to play another level. This is probably my least favorite TP game to date, and that is depressing.
  10. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    LocoCycle is unhinged madness, and impossible not to like.
  11. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    Lococycle mixes some hilarious actors with a plain and simple gameplay, with old gen graphics. Buy it just for the laughs.
  12. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    The hilarious cutscenes and nonsense dialogues only hide the poor and tedious gameplay in the latest Twisted Pixel game.
  13. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    LocoCycle has an utterly ridiculous story that will illicit a few laughs, but its gameplay isn't all that engaging.
  14. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    I loved seeing LocoCycle through to its zany finale, because I enjoyed the jokes and Iris' robotic line delivery, and because I loved seeing the characters get themselves into silly situations. This would have been a great short comic film. But LocoCycle is a game, and in an unexpected twist of fate, it makes the act of catching rockets, fighting soaring robots, and rushing through the rural fields outside of Scottsburg, Indiana, blander than they deserve to be.
  15. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    LocoCycle is, above all, "Loco". But after the surprise for the freaked out storytelling, the game remains really basic, linear and repetitious.
  16. Feb 12, 2014
    55
    While LocoCycle is far from the worst game of the Xbox One launch, it certainly isn't the best.
  17. Dec 20, 2013
    55
    While its arcade-style gameplay is enjoyable, LocoCycle is wrapped in racist, lowest-common-denominator presentation that doesn’t succeed at being funny or scandalous.
  18. Dec 12, 2013
    50
    Short in length and inadequate in terms of graphics, LocoCycle is a brief ride only partially saved by a bit of humor and a certain variety.
  19. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    LocoCycle makes a welcome effort to provide the player with enough variety to keep things interesting, but there’s so little depth to its systems and such a lack of consequence to everything that you do...As a result, LocoCycle rarely manages to rise above passable.
  20. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    If you're looking for a weird update to the likes of Road Rash or Carmageddon then LocoCycle is certainly of that mould. Just don't expect the sheen or polish of the developer's older titles.
  21. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    I was shaking my head and laughing during every cutscene, and some of the modes that get introduced are just abhorrently beautiful. They're so bad, they're actually good. Whether it’s flying through the air raining laser bullets down on battleships, or playing a Street Fighter reskin (complete with the same combos for I.R.I.S. as for Ryu), you'll never be bored while playing this tragically beautiful road trip.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    3
    While its clear Twisted Pixel have an adept ability to come up with fun quirky ideas translating them into games isn't being done well.While its clear Twisted Pixel have an adept ability to come up with fun quirky ideas translating them into games isn't being done well. LocoCycle is one such fun idea on paper that just fails in being actually fun to play. Though its redeeming feature is the cheese of the live action elements that are purposely bad and fun because of it yet the in game comedy is hit and miss. Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Fun, quirky racing game with lots of action combat. If you want to laugh and have a good time, Lococycle is sure to please. Twisted PixelFun, quirky racing game with lots of action combat. If you want to laugh and have a good time, Lococycle is sure to please. Twisted Pixel games has done it yet again! Full Review »
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Sheer old school gaming bliss!!! This game is fast and fun...the side chatter between Iris & Pablo is hilarious. Loco plays like the gamesSheer old school gaming bliss!!! This game is fast and fun...the side chatter between Iris & Pablo is hilarious. Loco plays like the games from the 32 bit era...big boss fights, hordes of enemies attacking at once and finding patterns to exploit enemy weaknesses. It's a shame so many people don't appreciate this game for what it is simple straightforward fun!! One of my favorite titles of all time. Full Review »