Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    86
    Madden's debut release onto next-gen is impressive and a solid first step.
  2. 85
    Not only does it look significant better than its little brother on the current generation systems, Madden 25 on the Xbox One seems more authentic and more true to life.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    83
    I will be the first to admit that Madden NFL 25 is not a perfect football game, but the overall package and satisfaction you will receive from game to game is so overwhelmingly genuine that you will be willing to overlook its faults and realize that this is just about as good as it gets for virtual football.
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    82
    For the average fan, Madden 25 on Xbox One offers little in the way of upgrades, making it hard to justify dropping another $120 for the game. On the other hand, for the hardcore Madden player (and I know there are a lot of you in New Zealand), the improved realism offered by some of the mechanical changes under the hood make this a hard game to pass up.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    82
    That feature alone is not worth upgrading if you already have the game on 360 or PS3. Madden NFL 25 is a ton of fun on its own, but certainly not worth the double dip. If you held out this long, go ahead and grab it.
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    The changes to the running game are infuriating at first but really become great once you’re accustomed to them, and the passing game, although not as prominent compared to previous years, is still great fun.
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    78
    Although the overall score is the same, the Xbox One version edges out the PS4 one because of its cool SmartGlass functionality.
  8. Jan 20, 2014
    77
    Madden NFL's debut on the new consoles brings lots of social features and new details which are not always so significant, though. In particular, the visuals don't seem to take full advantage of Xbox One and PS4 hardware. An incomplete pass into “next gen”, for now.
  9. Nov 23, 2013
    77
    Where would I rather play Madden this year? On Xbox 360 or Xbox One? Even though I like some of the visual enhancements I’d have to choose the current gen console.
  10. Nov 15, 2013
    76
    The next-gen versions add more detail pretty much everywhere, but in the end it makes me have to fight for control of my players and worry about little things that aren’t that interesting.
  11. Dec 11, 2013
    75
    Madden NFL 25 is still a good football game.
  12. Dec 19, 2013
    73
    Madden 25 has some new aspects but also the same faults of the past, showing how the lack of competition is not good to Electronic Arts products.
  13. Jan 26, 2014
    70
    Graphically not as impressive as we would have liked and really not all that different from what we’ve played before. Still solid, but uninspiring.
  14. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    Pass protection that depicts an offensive line truly working together is a long-awaited improvement that series fans will love, and there are tangible dividends in learning the running game, provided you invest the time.
  15. Dec 23, 2013
    60
    Madden NFL 25 is the best Madden to date but is not a great leap forward for the EA Sports' brand. Game modes are the same played since last summer and the gameplay feels different but only for the hardcore gamer.
  16. Dec 17, 2013
    60
    Apart from a few new features ("Owner" mode and body feints), the new Madden NFL 25 is very similar to previous episodes, it has very little surprise for its fans and this next-gen version adds nothing to the experience.
  17. Dec 12, 2013
    60
    A superb and detailed imitation of TV football, an occasionally exciting gameplay experience, and what can feel like an exercise in monetisation from EA.
  18. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Madden NFL 25 doesn't represent enough of a leap forward to make it either a technical showpiece for your new console, nor a more exciting football game than what EA already put out a few months ago.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    6
    Very dissapointed. If you own this for current-gen, it is not worth getting for next-gen. It is pretty much the same exact game with slightly better graphics. Nothing special. Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    I played a decent amount of Madden 25 on Xbox 360 and enjoyed the overall experience. Madden 25 on Xbox One is a great start on next-gen consoles and is an improvement on the 360 version.

    The line play is the biggest difference in my opinion. Running through holes created by your offensive lineman is an enjoyable experience as you can see them actually work hard. Previously, offensive/defensive lineman lacked tenacity and technique. Go into the instant replay mode on next-gen Madden and just watch the interaction...it is the real deal.

    I still feel interceptions need to happen more often. There are way too many dropped interceptions by the secondary in the game. However, I have not messed around with the sliders to tweak that part of the gameplay.

    Another great addition is seamless online play. I think this might have to do with a combination of better servers and 60 FPS. I have already played 10+ online games without any lag. I didn't have too many issues with the 360 version. However, there was always slight lag that would make it very difficult to kick full strength or make a tackle in the open field. This is now fixed and creates a great experience online.

    I purchased Madden 06 on Xbox 360 eight years ago and it was a disaster. I am really excited to see where this series goes because it is off to such a great start.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Madden NFL 25 on Xbox One is an excellent start to this generation of football games. The graphics, presentation, and gameplay are all noticeably improved and the package is undeniably a step-up from current generation (X360, PS3) football.

    Madden 25 on X360 and PS3 plays a pretty good (but not perfect) game of football. Madden 25 on X1 simply improves on the current-gen game in all aspects, which I'll quickly list here:

    -Graphics. Madden on Xbox One is a gorgeous game. If you've been following the pre-release hype, you've probably heard (and maybe laughed) about EA mentioning the "blades of grass," but damn it if the grass isn't beautiful in this game, especially around center field logos. Realistic lighting, higher resolution players, coaches, equipment, and gorgeous stadiums highlight a really fantastic looking game. You definitely have to play it on a big 1080p TV to appreciate how good the game looks, since the ESPN MNF clips certainly didn't do Madden next-gen any visual justice.

    -Gameplay. The big innovations here are "war in the trenches," "contextual awareness," and other miscellaneous improvements, most notably side line catches, which it seems like EA finally got right. War in the Trenches is a fantastic upgrade that people have been asking for for years and EA has done an excellent job with this feature, as the first time you see a DE bust straight through a double team is a sight to behold. Contextual Awareness is also a great feature, as it helps your RB's not run straight into their linemen and WR's and DB's make smarter plays on balls in the air. It doesn't always work, and there's some debate about how much user control should be taken away for the sake of "realism," (running, for example, is much harder on next-gen than current-gen, although this is undeniably a good thing) but I'm really digging the way next-gen Madden plays. Dropped the game speed to slow and been having a blast for two straight days.

    -Presentation. There are a lot of cool new camera angles, the commentary is *slightly* better, highlights are back on Xbox One, and the crowd looks great. There are some issues here, however, as the commentary is still often inaccurate, which shatters immersion, and the Living Worlds feature hasn't lived up to the hype. I feel like the lack of women in the stadium (you get 40-60,000 men and men only) might be a bug because it seems like such a bizarre oversight. The sidelines are much improved, but still lacking, and I'd like the crowd--whether all men, all women, or both--to be more invested in the game, as it seems like their heads do not track the action and their reactions to big plays are often delayed or non-existent. Although the "Living Worlds" feature is underwhelming, the rest of the game still warrants a 9/10 in my book.

    Overall, this is a great looking, great playing game of football, and I haven't even begun to fool with sliders, dive into a Connected Franchise, or even figure out Coach Glass, which is Madden's unique and dynamic companion app for tablet devices using Xbox SmartGlass. There's a lot to play and do here in Madden 25 on Xbox One, which is remarkable when you think about what a stripped down, empty game Madden 06 was, which was the first Madden game on Xbox 360 and PS3. The potential for this generation is limitless at this point, and if you love football or are just looking to get the most out of your new Xbox One, then you'd be silly to pass on Madden this year.
    Full Review »