Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    90
    One of the best games that you can buy for your new Xbox One is an inexpensive download.
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    90
    With gorgeous visuals, inventive puzzles, and a fresh creative take on the platformer genre, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a welcome addition to the Xbox arsenal.
  3. 90
    Perfectly priced, and long enough to leave you satisfied but with room for dessert, this is a fantastic family-friendly puzzler that deserves a place on every Xbox One.
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    85
    A highly satisfying platform game, with great graphics and an excellent level design. Max's magic marker control scheme sometimes gets in the way making some sections a little bit frustrating, but it's overall a brilliant game, surely worth your time if you love platform-puzzle games.
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    84
    Joyous puzzle-platformer with zero filler. [March 2014, p.82]
  6. 80
    The adventure doesn't have great replay value, but the first time through it's long enough, and the price of admission is absolutely worth it.
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    80
    With its charming art style, accessible gameplay, and just-on-the-right-side-of-frustrating puzzles, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is the perfect game for younger players hoping to try out the Xbox One.
  8. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    In the end, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a fine game for puzzle platforming fans.
  9. 80
    A thoroughly entertaining adventure filled with clever and fun puzzles. There’s not a lot of similarities to its predecessor, but since pretty much every change is an improvement, we won’t complain.
  10. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    Even those brought up with more hardcore 2D platformers of the 8-bit and 16-bit era will find their skills tested. [Issue#144, p.106]
  11. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    It is a clever game, with a simple idea at it’s core, that consistently brings enough clever ideas to the table as it goes to remain captivating throughout.
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    PressPlay delivers a smart platform with intriguing puzzles and a stunning look. It is too short, maybe, but really solid.
  13. Jan 17, 2014
    80
    Max: Curse Of Brotherhood is challenging, fun and ultimately enjoyable as it blends precision physics-based puzzles with beautiful visuals.
  14. Jan 7, 2014
    80
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a nice, entertaining and clever platform puzzler. The developers at Press Play have done a great job creating a fun experience with a bunch of cool mechanics and solid game and level designs. If you're looking for something both classic and different to play with on your Xbox One, this is the perfect game for you.
  15. 80
    The “a-ha” moments when you successfully combine your various marker powers to navigate a pitch-black cave, escape the clutches of a pursuing beast, or access a seemingly out-of-reach ledge made us feel like Mensa members.
  16. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood oozes personality in both its design and gameplay. Sure, the idea of drawing your way out of puzzles is no longer a completely original one, but Max has puzzles that are so cleverly designed and fun to play through, that you forget this fact and focus on the fun you have solving each conundrum.
  17. Dec 31, 2013
    80
    For a forgiving and approachable puzzle-platformer, Max lands on his feet and brings us a fantastic gaming experience. Even at a price of $15 it is easy to recommend. Great for all ages, the plot is light and the puzzles are fun from an otherwise innocuous re-imagining of a touchscreen game.
  18. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised with Max: The Curse of Brotherhood. It’s a game full of wonder and magical moments, that while light on actual narrative, still delivers a world that is hard to forget.
  19. Dec 27, 2013
    80
    Somewhere between a homage to some classic platform games from the 80s-90s and an original take on the formula intertwined with puzzle elements, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a short but entertaining experience.
  20. Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A vastly improved new installment of the 2010 game Max and the Magic Marker. Good platform and puzzle solving action with a neat atmosphere.
  21. Dec 22, 2013
    80
    Max: TCoB comes as a surprise, and manages to become a solid experience, an outstanding game in the overpopulated genre of platforming and puzzles.
  22. May 12, 2014
    76
    It’s not as fascinating as the touch (or gesture) based predecessor, but it is an interesting mixture of platforming and physics based puzzles nonetheless.
  23. Dec 30, 2013
    76
    In a raw battle between pros and cons, the pros for Max: The Curse of Brotherhood win the day, but the cons deliver ample opportunity for frustration. At the end of the day, this is a good addition to your digital collection.
  24. Jan 29, 2014
    75
    This is not a smooth platformer like Mario, but it is one where you really have to puzzle your way through. The cut scenes are a bit annoying, the story as well, but the gameplay is really loveable. It is fun to create different natural things with your magic marker and even though not everybody is a fan of the controls, we found them an creative and challenging in a positive way.
  25. Dec 26, 2013
    75
    If you have an Xbox One and are looking for a novel title to tie you over, I definitely recommend giving Max a shot.
  26. Dec 23, 2013
    75
    While the overall feel of Max: The Curse of Brotherhood might be a bit uneven, it’s well worth checking out for the moments that work.
  27. Feb 5, 2014
    74
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood's charm lies in its unique creation system and the way it uses the marker to solve puzzles throughout the levels. Its ability to challenge the player's creativity plus its beautiful visuals, make this platformer a great option for any Xbox One owner.
  28. Dec 27, 2013
    72
    Filled with good puzzles and based on a nice control system, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a nice platform game flawed by low difficulty.
  29. Apr 13, 2014
    70
    Max The Curse of Brotherhood is a fun and challenging 2.5D platformer that will be able to keep you attached to the pad for its entire duration, despite too many bugs and an unstable framerate.
  30. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is visually appealing and excellently paced, but its frustrating controls and legacy assets peg this as a game released a little prematurely.
  31. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    The constant flow of new sights and well-thought-out puzzles that make up the bulk of the game provide more than enough motivation to see this rescue attempt through to the end.
  32. Jan 16, 2014
    70
    It’s not the kind of game that will be remembered down the track, but in the here and now it’s filling a certain gap in the One’s line-up more than adequately.
  33. Jan 14, 2014
    70
    Visually pleasant, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a clever platformer with brilliant gameplay mechanics. Even if a few sections can feel a bit frustrating and Max's controls are a bit disappointing, this game offers a good challenge for those who like puzzles. Xbox One owners should definitely have a look at it.
  34. Jan 13, 2014
    70
    It's a game that makes you feel smart and, unlike Limbo, never surprises you with unforeseeable traps: there is always an opportunity to stand back, assess and, finally, execute.
  35. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    It's a shame that developer Press Play couldn't create a stronger control mechanic, because the game is filled to the brim with creative puzzles and varied levels. Whenever we think Max reaches its full potential, the control scheme comes in and holds in back.
  36. 70
    For what it is, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a charming, yet rather restrictive 2D, puzzle-platformer. Despite its limited scope, lack of replayability and depth, there’s some fun to be had here, if only for a while.
  37. Dec 26, 2013
    70
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood doesn’t break any new ground, and should have had the option of using the Kinect for the drawing mechanic, but still delivers. It has rough edges, but overcomes most of them because the platforming is done well.
  38. Mar 7, 2014
    68
    It will take casual players around seven hours to complete, but there is little reason to come back to the game after the climactic finish, which makes this title difficult to recommend to everyone.
  39. Jan 20, 2014
    65
    Max: Curse of the Brotherhood is a decent platformer with fun gameplay and a variety of puzzles for you to solve.
  40. Despite its finely crafted and quite enjoyable drawing and physics puzzles, I found Max: The Curse of Brotherhood to be more frustrating than fun.
  41. Jan 9, 2014
    60
    I don’t think Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is devoid of value, but I certainly don’t think it’s something to rush right out and buy—unless, as an Xbox One early adopter, you’re content with a passable platformer that possesses a handful of quasi-memorable moments to tide you over until Titanfall. And for anyone jonesing for a platformer, Max represents only a quick, short-lived fix.
  42. Jan 7, 2014
    60
    So many moments in The Curse of Brotherhood are hampered by a sense that a square peg is being shoved into a round hole. All of its great ideas are dwarfed by the fact that it doesn’t feel good to play. The game tries to make invoke a sense of creation, but it’s more akin to fumbling in the dark.
  43. Jan 6, 2014
    60
    Max The Curse of Brotherhood is a mixed bag. It looks fantastic, it can be fun, even exhilarating plus some of the puzzles are totally wicked (in a good way). Sadly though it is unable to be anymore than something reasonably priced to play on your Xbox One over Christmas if you have completed your Xbox One back catalogue from launch day.
  44. Dec 31, 2013
    60
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood benefits immensely from attractive art design, and that is supplemented by a variety of puzzles that are initially quite satisfying before finally wearing out their welcome near the end. Consider taking the plunge if you're itching to dive into another pretty platformer, but otherwise you're probably better off waiting for a different curse to come along.
  45. Dec 31, 2013
    60
    A child would almost certainly find themselves too frustrated to finish it, and an adult determined to muscle their way through isn't likely to be engaged by the world or story.
  46. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    Much like the sibling rivalry at its core, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a game of extremes. The game can get so frustrating you'll wish it would just go away, but then on the next puzzle everything works as it should and it becomes difficult not to fall for its charms.
  47. Dec 24, 2013
    60
    A solid idea but the implementation, especially on a standard controller, doesn’t really work – leaving with you increasingly little incentive to save Max or his brother.
  48. Dec 23, 2013
    60
    With unintuitive controls, puzzle mechanics that’ve been done better elsewhere, and a story with the depth of a coloring book, it’s hard to stay invested in this short adventure.
  49. Dec 23, 2013
    60
    It's gorgeous in motion, and can be a satisfying little puzzle-platformer, but prepare yourself for some trial-and-error, garnished with repetition.
  50. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    The last section of the game, where you guide a spherical object through a series of traps and obstacles, is fantastic. It’s one of the rare times when everything clicked, and it was both challenging and fair. I don’t blame anyone who doesn’t make it that far. Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a game based on a gimmick that simply doesn’t work all that well.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    Wow! This is another pleasant surprise game for the xbox one. This is one of the best downloadable titles I've played on any system. The production values are pixar-like. This is a great old school platformer that focuses on gorgeous backgrounds, simple gameplay mechanics, tight controls, and putting a smile on your face. What I love is that this is a thinking sidescroller but it also flows well. Its not just one puzzle after another. The game has a strong sense of progression than just the puzzles themselves. Also, the gameplay is creative and unique. I hope, this company makes more games like this one or at least with the soul of this one. Also, I hope Microsoft continues to help fund projects like these! One of my favorite games in awhile!! Totally recommend!!! Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Okay, honestly, this game was better than expected. I really love side strollers.
    It's real fun, and something different to offer. The story
    is great, and one thing I really like is the gameplay, controls, and setting.
    It's worth it.

    Absolutely better than expected.
    Anyways, Merry Christmas everyone!
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    I just finished Max The Curse of Brotherhood, and completed all the achievements (1000/1000, plus the timed achievements), and obviously I liked the game quite a bit. It's an action platformer, and as you progress you gain different abilities in order to solve puzzles. Abilities include creating earth pillars, tree branches, vines, water rapids, and fireballs, and in many instances you have to combine several of these abilities in quick succession to progress through the game.

    The game looks good pretty much like a Pixar cinematic I really enjoyed the different scenes and little activities/details going on in the background while continuing through each level. The story itself was pretty much a throw-away for me. I didn't really care for it, but it was cute I guess. I didn't play the previous "Max" game.

    The game controls fairly well. It was frustrating at times, but that probably has more to do with me than the game. I don't play many platformers. Max uses a "magic marker" to draw different abilities, so you have to use the right trigger and the A button to draw things, and delete them using X with the right trigger. All-in-all it felt seamless. I never ran into an issue with not being able to draw things quickly while action was getting tense. There are some instances when the game goes into a sort of bullet-time mode, which gives you a few extra moments to draw things.

    There were set times when the game records your gameplay automatically, which I thought was cool. Instances when you're solving a puzzle for the first time get captured so your friends can see how good you were the first time around, or how bad you failed.

    Suffice it to say, because I was able to 100% the game, it must be somewhat easy. I feel like I got my money's worth, and would recommend this game if you've got an XB1 and you like platformers. I'd say it took me about 7-8 hours to fully complete the game/achievements, but I'm a very slow gamer. I like to explore until I get bored. If you're good, you can definitely finish this game in like 3-4 hours, if that. Getting all the achievements might take a little bit more time, but not much, I'm sure. Hope this helps.
    Full Review »