Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    96
    Probably the best cross-generation game so far, resulting in a very different experience from the current-gen version and stunning graphics capable of competing even with first party games. The best sports game around.
  2. 90
    An unexpected Xbox One knockout and a year-on-year improvement in every respect - but its spectacular visuals make the clunkier elements painfully obvious.
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    90
    Visually the game is stunning, and at times can be mistaken for an actual game of basketball. Everything has received a visual makeover and it sure looks impressive. The gameplay is as solid as ever and is great fun, whilst still being a first class simulation of the sport.
  4. 90
    A stunner, refreshing the tried-and-true formula with fantastic visual pop and engaging new modes.
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K14 is the best NBA 2K experience in terms of gameplay, immersion and pleasure, and it's even better on next-fen consoles, with amazing graphics.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K14 next-gen incarnation arrives with many highs and a few lows. On the plus side it achieves an incredible technical goal and the revamped My Player mode with The Park, dedicated to those who love to play fast online games. Less impressive is the same old playability.
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    89
    Definitely a must have game if you're a basketball fan!
  8. Nov 11, 2013
    89
    This edition is not only a smooth-flowing piece of pro basketball simulation, it’s also one of the few games that makes a true next-generation leap in visual fidelity.
  9. Dec 12, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 has everything a basketball fan wants to find in a videogame. Xbox One visual impact is astonishing and the new modes, with a preference for My Player, work very well. The ball physics need a little tuning, but the game is still great to play, to watch and to listen to.
  10. Nov 18, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 is a truly next-gen experience -- it looks and plays amazingly, it offers a better connection to the real world of basketball than ever before and the way they've added in relationship management elements to both the MyCareer and MyGM modes makes the game feel significantly better.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 43
  2. Negative: 25 out of 43
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    Always on-line game, servers down for days, no word from 2K. The only option available in the menu is "Quick Game". No connexion equal no MyCareer, no MyGm. Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    4
    Incomplete game that makes a greed driven money grab via Virtual Vurrency (VC) and expiring player contracts (MyTeam aka MyRipoff mode). Graphics are great, gameplay is solid, VC is everywhere. Bring some Benjamins or expect to devote your life to grinding through this game to open up game content that should be included. Stick with current gen for now, trading my X1 version back for 360 version asap. Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    4
    Graphics are fantastic.

    Gameplay has its good moments and its bad. It certainly feels like you have a bit less control than you do in
    previous gen. It seems like when you press a button or move a stick, it takes a second for the game to go through it's animation and decide what it thinks you want to do. They seem to have gone over the top in trying to get realistic player movement at the expense of responsiveness. There's a fair bit of cheese going on with the AI too. The game will impose its will on you. No matter how well you might play through a stretch, if the game decides the other team needs to go on a run, there's nothing you can do to stop it. The game shuns mid range shots. It's like it's almost begging you to take 3 point shots all game because you will make 60% of them. If you don't like 3 pointers, well 2K has you covered, because about the only other scoring option is post up hook shots. You can forget driving the lane. Even if you're Lebron James, a defending Chris Smith will keep you out of the lane as effectively as if you were being double-teamed by Paul George and Luol Deng.

    I'm in Australia and so far I've had nothing but problems connecting to the 2K server. To play this game, I actually have to disconnect my console from the internet. The latest patch hasn't fixed the problem. Unfortunately a lot of the game requires an online connection to access features. I can't even edit a roster or create a draft class without being online. You're also limited to just 5 save games across ALL modes. I haven't seen this archaic sort of limitation since the N64.

    Everything in the game modes now REQUIRES VC. To do simple things in MyGM, you now require VC. The only way to earn this in that mode is by playing games and completing goals. Unfortunately you get significantly more VC from playing games than completing goals. I don't understand why a mode designed around running a team only rewards you for playing the games.

    Commentary gets a bit stale. If you play a season with the same team, you will hear the exact same analysis and back story of your players EVERY game.

    After about 20 hours of gameplay, I've basically returned to the PC version. At least I feel like I get my money's worth from that version. "Next-Gen" 2K14 has taken my money while asking for more and still letting me down at every opportunity.

    Buy this game for the graphics value only.
    Full Review »