Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K14 promises to raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    96
    Probably the best cross-generation game so far, resulting in a very different experience from the current-gen version and stunning graphics capable of competing even with first party games. The best sports game around.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    90
    Visually the game is stunning, and at times can be mistaken for an actual game of basketball. Everything has received a visual makeover and it sure looks impressive. The gameplay is as solid as ever and is great fun, whilst still being a first class simulation of the sport.
  3. 90
    An unexpected Xbox One knockout and a year-on-year improvement in every respect - but its spectacular visuals make the clunkier elements painfully obvious.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    89
    This edition is not only a smooth-flowing piece of pro basketball simulation, it’s also one of the few games that makes a true next-generation leap in visual fidelity.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 has everything a basketball fan wants to find in a videogame. Xbox One visual impact is astonishing and the new modes, with a preference for My Player, work very well. The ball physics need a little tuning, but the game is still great to play, to watch and to listen to.
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 is a truly next-gen experience -- it looks and plays amazingly, it offers a better connection to the real world of basketball than ever before and the way they've added in relationship management elements to both the MyCareer and MyGM modes makes the game feel significantly better.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Sure, it's missing the current-generation's marquee mode, but the on-court action is every bit as engaging and hospitable as it's always been, and the visuals are more impressive than ever.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 40
  2. Negative: 24 out of 40
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Best NBA game you can get, but story mode is super cheesy. 8.5'd but rounded up to 9 because of negative reviews for no apparent reason. What's with all the hate around here??? Collapse
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    I would give this game a ten due to amazing AI, more realistic shot releases and tendencies to go in, better graphics.
    However the install
    size is 43 GB!! Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    Another game that my brother likes but I'm not too big on. Not a fan of the NBA, but I will say this game is good. Looks great and plays fairly well, not really big on the my career thing but whatever. If you're a fan of the NBA you'll probably like this. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2014
    3
    NBA 2K is headed in the wrong direction. Quote me on it if you like.

    Before I go on my little rant, I'd like to point out the positive in
    the game, because there are quite a few. The graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is smoother than ever before, and the online play is better than ever. That's it.

    Unfortunately, there are plenty more bad things. I'll start with the removal of EVERY offline game mode. That's right. Every single one. No association, no be a pro, heck, not even create a player and editing rosters were spared. The only way to edit rosters now is to make a variant of the most current roster and upload it, and even then the options are pretty limited. The only compensation 2K gives is myGM, an online, watered-down version of Association in which the only things that you can do are manage your team's lineup and play the games. If the Xbox One version had these offline modes, it would easily be a 9 for me.

    This feels more like a demo or beta test than a full game, and if this is what 2K thinks people want, they will be in for a rude awakening during this console generation.

    I'll stick to the 360 version of 2K14.
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    1
    Do not buy this game! The graphics are great, but everything else is terrible. The professional reviewers who give this game high ratings are being irresponsible and probably didn't play more than five minutes of it. There are more customization options for the current-gen version than there are for the next-gen version?!? The rhythm/emotion system will prevent you from winning many games against the computer. Prepare for 20-2 runs by the computer AI whenever you get up by about 10 points. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    So I have been playing this game with no issue and bought some coins for my career mode. Then last night I'm kicked off their server and can't play my game on my profile but can sign into a guest account on my xbox one and it works just fine. Called and emailed 2k support waited on hold twice once last night. I was told last night that the servers were down but they would be up today, so I loaded up the game today and no joy and called them again. I had to call several times because their circuit board is overwhelmed giving me a message that all circuits are busy. Finally after multiple attempts and waiting on hold for an hour I got through to someone who said everything is working fine and he said he would assist me but said he sent me a link that I told him I already looked at that wasn't relevant to me because my internet router and all are functional with a 50mb Download and a 5mb upload). So this game isn't worth it's salt after they engineered it to make it be a shiny slot machine that never pays out but wants you to keep pouring money into it. The company doesn't seem to care about resolving any issues and just wants to get of the phone with you. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    Great game, if it worked. Basically can play a quick game with no problems, but once you get into using he mycareer mygm myteam modes, it is very glitchy. Haven't been able to use this game in 3 days now, and support is nonexistent during this time. Can't give a decent score to a game that really doesn't work. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews