Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K14 promises to raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    96
    Probably the best cross-generation game so far, resulting in a very different experience from the current-gen version and stunning graphics capable of competing even with first party games. The best sports game around.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    90
    Visually the game is stunning, and at times can be mistaken for an actual game of basketball. Everything has received a visual makeover and it sure looks impressive. The gameplay is as solid as ever and is great fun, whilst still being a first class simulation of the sport.
  3. 90
    An unexpected Xbox One knockout and a year-on-year improvement in every respect - but its spectacular visuals make the clunkier elements painfully obvious.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    89
    This edition is not only a smooth-flowing piece of pro basketball simulation, it’s also one of the few games that makes a true next-generation leap in visual fidelity.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 has everything a basketball fan wants to find in a videogame. Xbox One visual impact is astonishing and the new modes, with a preference for My Player, work very well. The ball physics need a little tuning, but the game is still great to play, to watch and to listen to.
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 is a truly next-gen experience -- it looks and plays amazingly, it offers a better connection to the real world of basketball than ever before and the way they've added in relationship management elements to both the MyCareer and MyGM modes makes the game feel significantly better.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Sure, it's missing the current-generation's marquee mode, but the on-court action is every bit as engaging and hospitable as it's always been, and the visuals are more impressive than ever.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 25 out of 45
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Best NBA game you can get, but story mode is super cheesy. 8.5'd but rounded up to 9 because of negative reviews for no apparent reason. What's with all the hate around here??? Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I've heard a lot of people having server issues but I have no experienced those myself yet.

    I've been a fan of nba2k for about 5 or 6 years
    now and have played a lot of each release. Before getting the xbox one version I had been playing 2k14 on my PC.

    The good things about the move to xbox one is that the graphics are fantastic, the game play feels even more refined and the myplayer story line is an interesting add on to the game.

    The bad things are that the cut scenes often do not represent what is happening (I had a cut scene after the 4th pick in the draft with myplayer worried about slipping out of the first and asking how many picks were left, i was then picked next at 5), bugs (my rival went undrafted) and the biggest complaint from me is the removal of playing key games only. I'm already frustrated having to play all 82 games in my rookie season, I also think the menus and lay outs are terrible, you used to be able to hit pause and see a box score, this time you need to go into sub menus and it just seems unfinished.

    To me the whole storyline of myplayer feels more like we are beta testing the idea for the next release which will flesh it out more.
    Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2014
    8
    8/10, I just wish 2K would make these games easier for the casual gamers. It's just too hard. Only weak points of this game is the plain menu's and the difficulty. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    3
    Ok so, the graphics. They're amazing. Obviously that's easy to see. I remember when I watched the first trailer right after NBA Live's came out, I got literal goose-bumps. Now, the harsh part.. this game is absolutely useless. Crash, crash, crash. Everything crashes. Tell me, what's the point of buying a game straight on launch day if it in fact does not work. I was doing so well in GM mode, loving it, I was so happy 2k added it. Gave the game so many more layers and yet, I can't do a single thing now without it crashing. All I want to do is fantasy draft my fantasy roster I created. I try day after day after day and yet, I swear it's getting worse. I can't even get past the auto rookie draft class selection, now. On top of that there's the crashing with basically everything besides quick games. Who wants to quick game all day everyday Another thing, why in the world are you un-able to have multiple players do a fantasy draft in the comfort of your own livingroom now.. now where's the friendly rivalry.. has to be over the internet Not everyone has a XBOX one ya know! OK RANT OVER. 2K FIX THIS GAME! Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    2
    Gorgeous visuals, and the same good on-court action as before, but almost everything else is broken so can't reall give a higher score.
    The
    always online requirement for certain modes seems to have caused numerous issues with servers, and saving plenty of people have been totally unable to play the game in weeks. 2Ks response has been deafeningly silent. Aside from the litany of bugs multiple features have been reduced or cut altogether from previous versions (which themselves had very little improvement for several years). Microtransactions are even more aggressively promoted than before too. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    So I have been playing this game with no issue and bought some coins for my career mode. Then last night I'm kicked off their server and can't play my game on my profile but can sign into a guest account on my xbox one and it works just fine. Called and emailed 2k support waited on hold twice once last night. I was told last night that the servers were down but they would be up today, so I loaded up the game today and no joy and called them again. I had to call several times because their circuit board is overwhelmed giving me a message that all circuits are busy. Finally after multiple attempts and waiting on hold for an hour I got through to someone who said everything is working fine and he said he would assist me but said he sent me a link that I told him I already looked at that wasn't relevant to me because my internet router and all are functional with a 50mb Download and a 5mb upload). So this game isn't worth it's salt after they engineered it to make it be a shiny slot machine that never pays out but wants you to keep pouring money into it. The company doesn't seem to care about resolving any issues and just wants to get of the phone with you. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    Utter rubbish. Don't believe the hype, the reviews were all written post release, since then the 2K servers have done nothing but crash, repeatedly. Every day we are told that the problems will be fixed, various patches, fixes, upgrades, etc have happened and the problems persist.

    The problem doesn't just affect online play, for some stupid reason 2k decided to store the currency on their servers, so if you play a SINGLE player game (My Career, My GM, etc), the game will crash as soon as it tries to store the currency you earn. When you restart the game you have lost sell progress (games played, currency earned, etc). This was terribly implemented from the outset. The high published reviews compared to the low user reviews prove that many just looked at the "wow factor" of the next-gen graphics and rated it high, a few hours spent playing the game reveal numerous bugs and frustrations (and that is when the servers are working, which isn't often!).

    The game is also microtranaction heavy. You are pushed to spend more and more and more Etc) money at every turn. You can't even hire a new coach on My GM without buying the ability to sack your current coach, buy the ability to hire a new coach and spend thousands more on hiring a coach (this is just an example, every turn is met with demands for more currency). The greed is astonishing, and would deserve a low score even without the other issues.

    I've waited over a month (and sat through lies every day that this would be fixed), it remains unplayable. Maybe in 3-6 months this will be fixed, but I wouldn't hold out any hope! I love the 2K series, but I am seriously annoyed by this fiasco.

    I would seriously suggest holding off on this for a few months for all of the bugs to be ironed out; perhaps even wait until NBA 2K15!
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews