Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K14 promises to raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    96
    Probably the best cross-generation game so far, resulting in a very different experience from the current-gen version and stunning graphics capable of competing even with first party games. The best sports game around.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    90
    Visually the game is stunning, and at times can be mistaken for an actual game of basketball. Everything has received a visual makeover and it sure looks impressive. The gameplay is as solid as ever and is great fun, whilst still being a first class simulation of the sport.
  3. 90
    An unexpected Xbox One knockout and a year-on-year improvement in every respect - but its spectacular visuals make the clunkier elements painfully obvious.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    89
    This edition is not only a smooth-flowing piece of pro basketball simulation, it’s also one of the few games that makes a true next-generation leap in visual fidelity.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 has everything a basketball fan wants to find in a videogame. Xbox One visual impact is astonishing and the new modes, with a preference for My Player, work very well. The ball physics need a little tuning, but the game is still great to play, to watch and to listen to.
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    88
    NBA 2K14 is a truly next-gen experience -- it looks and plays amazingly, it offers a better connection to the real world of basketball than ever before and the way they've added in relationship management elements to both the MyCareer and MyGM modes makes the game feel significantly better.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Sure, it's missing the current-generation's marquee mode, but the on-court action is every bit as engaging and hospitable as it's always been, and the visuals are more impressive than ever.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 43
  2. Negative: 25 out of 43
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Best NBA game you can get, but story mode is super cheesy. 8.5'd but rounded up to 9 because of negative reviews for no apparent reason. What's with all the hate around here??? Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    NBA2K14 is a really pretty looking game.

    I have too many complaints compared to previous versions though;

    1) the new control system, how
    many ways to pass are there? too many. The "pro-Stick" where dribble and shoot are the same stick, it's tantamount to button bashing in an old arcade game.

    2) the game mode MyTeam, they really missed a beat here i was most excited for this, but you can not play this mode off line as Domination mode is the only option and the difficulty is set to absurd, the rewards are not there to keep your team progressing.

    The rest of the game modes play well, but after MyTeam on Domination, everything is a bit easy to be honest, it's just a matter of mashing that pro-stick. The improved MyPlayer mode again is an awesome game mode to play, though that's not really unexpected and going into it's 5th year or more, the game mode itself is getting a bit tired in my opinion.

    I think the best way to look at the game as a whole, due to the Metascore of 86/100 is noting that it's about 10 points worse than last years version. I'd give this game an 8/10 where 2K12 & 2K13 were both 10/10 games. Essentially despite it looking good the game play has definitely dropped off this year, NBA Live definitely missed a chance on this weak outing.
    Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    I've never been more interested in a 2k game they held the ball.
    Great graphics.
    Your myplayer is far interactable.
    In Online parks you can
    see other people playing.
    The overall AI for the is superior.
    Best 2k so far.
    Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2014
    3
    Graphics of the game are good. But they lack any real muscle definition, no one is in great shape. Ive been playing 2k for years, and i recently havent played xbox in about a year. I made the leap to next gen recently just to play my sports games and was extremely disappointed. Association was my favorite mode. I was the owner, coach and gm of my team. I could edit my roster to my liking, and create draft pics that could be the next micheal jordan. Now i cant even edit the faces of my draft pics or create a player. Theres no option for trade override or game speed either. Now it seems more like they are dictating everything and not you. And im being forced to go through there story modes when i never asked for this much innovation. innovation is fine but make it optional, i was inlove with 2k before. And now it has caused me to return my xbox one to the store i bought it from. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    Always on-line game, servers down for days, no word from 2K. The only option available in the menu is "Quick Game". No connexion equal no MyCareer, no MyGm. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    So I have been playing this game with no issue and bought some coins for my career mode. Then last night I'm kicked off their server and can't play my game on my profile but can sign into a guest account on my xbox one and it works just fine. Called and emailed 2k support waited on hold twice once last night. I was told last night that the servers were down but they would be up today, so I loaded up the game today and no joy and called them again. I had to call several times because their circuit board is overwhelmed giving me a message that all circuits are busy. Finally after multiple attempts and waiting on hold for an hour I got through to someone who said everything is working fine and he said he would assist me but said he sent me a link that I told him I already looked at that wasn't relevant to me because my internet router and all are functional with a 50mb Download and a 5mb upload). So this game isn't worth it's salt after they engineered it to make it be a shiny slot machine that never pays out but wants you to keep pouring money into it. The company doesn't seem to care about resolving any issues and just wants to get of the phone with you. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Do not buy this game, you will most certainly regret it. It has been unplayable about 80% of the time since launch, you will lose entire saves, you will lose the VC spent on any of these lost saves, and 2k will ignore any attempt to contact them for recompense. In short, its an amazing, and somehow legal, scam...and it will be the last one 2k ever pulls on me. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews