Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 6, 2017
    90
    Bloober Team’s latest is one of the scariest horror experiences I’ve played in a long time, and its strong sense of place, story, and action put it above the majority of other games in the genre. Observer is simply the best of both worlds and is a must-play for anyone who considers themselves a fan of either sci-fi or horror.
  2. Aug 24, 2017
    90
    If you want to travel to the future, hack into a suspect’s mind and have nightmares for a week, then this is the game for you. Trust me it’s well worth it.
  3. Aug 21, 2017
    90
    Observer sets out with a unique premise, delivering a natural psychological horror experience on an unconventional cybernetic canvas. While the depth to its world is welcome, the game still thrives during its brief thrilling encounters, built on the recollections of the insane.
  4. Aug 18, 2017
    87
    A thrilling and insane first person trip in a retro-futuristic world, with a surprising story and great visuals. Suggested to any lover of story-driven adventures.
  5. Aug 31, 2017
    85
    Observer is a fantastic experience. A mixture of genres that presents us with an exciting futuristic story, full of tension and terror. With a great graphic and great design. If you like cyberpunk's aesthetics and stories, you can not let it pass.
  6. Jan 2, 2018
    80
    The gameplay elements may be basic and not exciting on their own, but it’s more about the journey you undertake rather than just reaching the end point. The level design is brilliant and some of the experiences are very memorable even though it has flaws. If you’re into the cyberpunk genre and want to experience something completely unique and twisted, look no further than >observer_.
  7. Sep 5, 2017
    80
    The masterful performance of Rutger Hauer and the limitless creativity for terror and artistic design shown by Bloober Team, makes this production stand out from the mundane, despite its erratic frame rate (in some occasions) and the basic challenges posed by the title.
  8. Aug 17, 2017
    75
    Overall, Observer is a great game which is let down by its technical side on Xbox One. The game needs more polish but I’m not sure if this will happen because even after months Layers of Fear remained at a suboptimal level. I hope Observer doesn’t have the same fate. Unlike Layers of Fear, Observer doesn’t need that much work so there’s hope.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Oct 30, 2017
    5
    So far it feels like a door knocking simulator with graphical anomalies that are part of the immersive experience. I like cyberpunk, I don'tSo far it feels like a door knocking simulator with graphical anomalies that are part of the immersive experience. I like cyberpunk, I don't like graphical glitches. Maybe I just didn't get far enough. Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2017
    4
    Been a while since I was so disappointed in a game, and feel it necessary to write a review - my first - in opposition to all the positivityBeen a while since I was so disappointed in a game, and feel it necessary to write a review - my first - in opposition to all the positivity it seems to have garnered, so strongly do I feel it's undeserved. Honestly, I am at a loss as to how it's gotten so much praise.

    Speaking solely for the Xbox One version, there are times when Observer is nigh on unplayable. The frame rate is often jarring, and there are constant freezes and stutters. Anything beyond a few feet is fuzzy and out of focus. Several doors literally took a few minutes to even open - so much so that I Initially thought I wasn't supposed to be going through them. The game glitched at one point, causing me to spend a good 15mins trying to work out what I was supposed to do, before resorting to a walkthrough - something I despise - only to discover the only way to proceed was to reload the game. Added to this, it also crashed a little after this.

    Technical issues aside, the hacking into people's memories was initially fun...but Blooper Team purposely decided to put all these graphical glitches in, to the point that they become, to my mind, the absolute worst part of the game. With each and every hack, it becomes an absolute chore trying to work out where to go and just what the hell you're supposed to actually be doing. Especially when the screen is shaking and these glitches are obscuring vast chunks of the screen. Truly starts to feel overly protentious.

    The games is not completely without positives. Indeed, if not for the intriguing narrative, and setting, there's no way I would have made it through to the end. I adore Blade Runner, and there's a slight nod to that here, but nowhere near as much as I was hoping, though Rutger Hauer does a fine job. And all in all, the absolute slog to get to the end leaves me wishing I hadn't spent so much on the game. Indeed, the sole reason for feeling compelled to write a review is to warn others that, on Xbox One at least, this game feels thoroughly unfinished and, even at half the price, would be too much. Truly feel fairly appalled that a game can ship in this state, and Blooper Team have the cheek to ask for so much money. And I am absolutely mystified at the high scores it's been getting. At the very least, please check out a stream or two before investing in this thoroughly disappointing and underwhelming experience.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2018
    4
    I loved Layers of Fear and had no trouble playing it on the Xbox One. This game although well acted and with an intriguing story is aI loved Layers of Fear and had no trouble playing it on the Xbox One. This game although well acted and with an intriguing story is a nightmare to play. I don't know if I can persevere to complete it as it is torture to play. I seem to be one of very few who feel this way but I am struggling to find any fun in this game. I will struggle on for a time and may have to eat my words if I manage to finish it but just wanted to warn others that some of us HATE this game. The score is for the great acting alone, otherwise it would probably get a 2. Full Review »