Peggle 2 Xbox One

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 213

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    If you haven't played this game or the previous entry I'd say don't just because you'll become addicted to it. I love/hate this game so much it makes my head spin.
  2. Jan 12, 2015
    3
    Sure it's really quite fun, but it's only challenging if you chase really complex awards.. it's long term playability is limited. And likely to be games with gold soon. It's 'free' if you pay for ea vault.
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Peggle 2 is really addictive.

    The pricing is right, the game has made it's way to a top Xbox One arcade game so far.
    If you liked peggle 1, you're going to really like this.
    Nothing more than a fun experience.
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    The Xbox One's killer app has arrived, folks. The game's gorgeous graphics and excellent and intuitive gameplay makes it the best Xbox exclusive since Perfect Dark Zero.
  5. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Best game in the universe. Hands down. No contest. Id buy 2 xbox ones just to play multiplayer with myself. Anyone who disagrees is jealous that their console doesn't have the legend that is this masterpiece. Still soiling myself in excitement as we speak.
    100000/10 would buy 20 times.
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    This is the biggest case of "more of the same" I've ever seen. Which, if you liked the first one (and who didn't, AMIRITE?), is not a bad thing at all. However I was disappointed by the lack of content.

    I was able to finish the game (including extra levels, called "trials") in one sitting. Now to be fair, it was like a 6 hour sitting. So yeah, the game is still addicting as hell. But it
    This is the biggest case of "more of the same" I've ever seen. Which, if you liked the first one (and who didn't, AMIRITE?), is not a bad thing at all. However I was disappointed by the lack of content.

    I was able to finish the game (including extra levels, called "trials") in one sitting. Now to be fair, it was like a 6 hour sitting. So yeah, the game is still addicting as hell. But it was EXACTLY the same gameplay. Nothing new WHATSOEVER. I mean, it doesn't even feel like Peggle 1.5. It feels straight up like an alternate version of Peggle 1. The game also felt a lot shorter than Peggle 1. Less levels and less characters as well. AND it costs 12 dollars as opposed to 10.

    Lack of local multiplayer is also very noticeable.

    So once you finish the main single player, the only replay value this has are optional objectives present in every level, which take the game from casual fun to insanely hard. So that might be appealing to some and completely ignored by others.

    So having said all the bad things I have on it, the good thing is that its Peggle. The formula still works flawlessly. Super easy to play, supper addicting and immensely entertaining. I just wish there were either new gameplay elements OR just more levels.

    Recommended.
    Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Peggle is an excellent sequel to the original, with new characters with their own unique special abilities. This version actually seems a bit harder then the original for some reason. I love the challenge though and enjoy the crazy sound effects. The game play is still great as usual. I don't know how any gamer who likes puzzle type games could hate this one. There are a LOT of levels andPeggle is an excellent sequel to the original, with new characters with their own unique special abilities. This version actually seems a bit harder then the original for some reason. I love the challenge though and enjoy the crazy sound effects. The game play is still great as usual. I don't know how any gamer who likes puzzle type games could hate this one. There are a LOT of levels and even if you beat them, you'll still have to complete all the objectives for each level, which will take you awhile. This is a must have for any XBox One owner who wants something more relaxing to play. Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    There's never been a game that I've loved and hated quite as much as those in the Peggle series. The game's a great casual gaming experience coupled with some true challenge in order to fully maximise the game's progress. While Peggle 2 may require some patching to include obvious features omitted such as leaderboards and Kinect features outside of the US, the core gameplay is more of whatThere's never been a game that I've loved and hated quite as much as those in the Peggle series. The game's a great casual gaming experience coupled with some true challenge in order to fully maximise the game's progress. While Peggle 2 may require some patching to include obvious features omitted such as leaderboards and Kinect features outside of the US, the core gameplay is more of what people love about Peggle. Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    It's not going to change your life, but PopCap have succeeded in delivering another dose of light hearted, compelling and seamless gameplay. The multi-player works well, and the music's as lovely as ever. There are a few issues at present with occasional crashes, returning you to the dashboard, which when you're one shot from completing a particularly difficult level, can be tremendouslyIt's not going to change your life, but PopCap have succeeded in delivering another dose of light hearted, compelling and seamless gameplay. The multi-player works well, and the music's as lovely as ever. There are a few issues at present with occasional crashes, returning you to the dashboard, which when you're one shot from completing a particularly difficult level, can be tremendously frustrating. However, it's quite rare. Overall, a tasty nugget of fun! Expand
  10. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    Being a long time Peggle fan, I was happy to see this get released before the new year. I am happy to see that they have decided to change up the Peggle Masters and introduce some new gameplay.
    The online multiplayer is fun, I just wish it would have better matching, it seems too often that you are started at a game almost completed. I'm excited to see the local multiplayer coming soon
    Being a long time Peggle fan, I was happy to see this get released before the new year. I am happy to see that they have decided to change up the Peggle Masters and introduce some new gameplay.
    The online multiplayer is fun, I just wish it would have better matching, it seems too often that you are started at a game almost completed. I'm excited to see the local multiplayer coming soon and hopefully some future Peggle Masters.
    Expand
  11. Jan 29, 2014
    4
    Let's face it: the only reason this game is getting such praise is that it's one of the cheapest releases on the Xbox, similar to how Flower got high marks for the PS4 just because it's cheap and looks good. It seems like a lot of games these days get reviewed more for their value to the dollar rather than whether they're worth your time. So, if money is no concern, is Peggle worth yourLet's face it: the only reason this game is getting such praise is that it's one of the cheapest releases on the Xbox, similar to how Flower got high marks for the PS4 just because it's cheap and looks good. It seems like a lot of games these days get reviewed more for their value to the dollar rather than whether they're worth your time. So, if money is no concern, is Peggle worth your time? Only if you enjoy interactive slot-machines. The game is heavily reliant on luck, with the vast majority of pegs you hit being a product of the ball bouncing where you never expected it to. Planning out shots to earn extra lives and make the most of your special moves is only a small part of the experience. Compared to other puzzlers like Bust-A-Move, the game simply relies too much on random chaos for my taste. Expand
  12. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    peggle 2 is a very fun sequel to its predecessor in many ways. i was bundled with joy when i opened this game up and started playing. it is filled with fun and very addicting gameplay. it will keep you busy for awhile as there is over 100 levels and also add trials which give an intriguing twist to the game. the level designs are varied and offer different stratedgies to beat them. eachpeggle 2 is a very fun sequel to its predecessor in many ways. i was bundled with joy when i opened this game up and started playing. it is filled with fun and very addicting gameplay. it will keep you busy for awhile as there is over 100 levels and also add trials which give an intriguing twist to the game. the level designs are varied and offer different stratedgies to beat them. each master has their own unique power but a down side is a wish they added more masters and some different gameplay Expand
  13. Feb 26, 2016
    4
    Peggle 2 is nothing different from the original, and when I thought peggle 1 was a 7 rating game because it was held back down from greatness because of its lazy ideas stuck on same solving puzzle style all the way, peggle 2 is peggle 1 reduced with nothing new. Same issues, same laziness...
    You can try to challenge yourself by hunting down bigger challenges, but all games has its own
    Peggle 2 is nothing different from the original, and when I thought peggle 1 was a 7 rating game because it was held back down from greatness because of its lazy ideas stuck on same solving puzzle style all the way, peggle 2 is peggle 1 reduced with nothing new. Same issues, same laziness...
    You can try to challenge yourself by hunting down bigger challenges, but all games has its own ˜hard˜ settings, which kind doesn't count much for me. Technically speaking, I can make it hard to simply walk from room to kitchen by putting a huge chain on my leg attached to the wall, of course getting to the kitchen will be a real challenge, but the only thing I wanna do is just to drink a glass of water... That is the feeling you will get playing Peggle 2 trying to ˜challenge˜ yourself.
    Expand
  14. May 5, 2014
    7
    It's a fun game to pass the time, when you have nothing else to do; but it's not that great of a game. The graphics are polished nicely for the One and they've really added a lot of "pizzaz" to the game compared to the 360.
  15. Mar 29, 2014
    8
    Great puzzle game, very fun and can be pretty challenging. Each level/ trial brings out something new and challenging. The peggle masters do feel different when you play them, mostly cause of their abilities. Looks great with a neat style. Multiplayer is also fun and entertaining. Would suggest picking this game up.
  16. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Remarkably it's one of the best games on the Xbox One. The variety and level of difficult in each map and layout give plenty of challenges throughout the entire game. Characters are likable and each have their own special skill-set that each player will adapt to and eventually find a favorite. When it comes down to what really matters this game is fun as hell, and it'll make you happy.Remarkably it's one of the best games on the Xbox One. The variety and level of difficult in each map and layout give plenty of challenges throughout the entire game. Characters are likable and each have their own special skill-set that each player will adapt to and eventually find a favorite. When it comes down to what really matters this game is fun as hell, and it'll make you happy. With the victory music of the 1812 overture, to Bjorn; the happy unicorn that poops rainbows. This game is an absolute joy to play, and worth every penny of the mere $11.99 you have to spend for admission. Expand
  17. Dec 13, 2014
    8
    I'm normally not a puzzle/ arcade type of gamer, but Peggle is just plain fun, I play a lot of shooters and open world games sometimes it is nice to play a low intensity slower paced fun game. The classical music, funny level bosses, and plinko style gameplay is thoroughly satisfying. My only complaint is that the phone version has at least 10 bosses while this one only has like 5 butI'm normally not a puzzle/ arcade type of gamer, but Peggle is just plain fun, I play a lot of shooters and open world games sometimes it is nice to play a low intensity slower paced fun game. The classical music, funny level bosses, and plinko style gameplay is thoroughly satisfying. My only complaint is that the phone version has at least 10 bosses while this one only has like 5 but there is still a lot of game to play. If you are not sure about shelling out the 15$ then grab the iPhone version and see if it appeals to you but it is not hard to see why this game is so popular and addicting. Expand
  18. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Peggle - wonderful, colourful sequel but sadly it lacks levels.

    Online is entertaining and although it is single player offline, everyone from myself down to my 5 year old thoroughly enjoying it
  19. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    really fun and addicting puzzle game with very nice graphics , definitely one of the best xbox live arcade games out there , definitely worth the price of admission for any Puzzle Fan
  20. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    This was the second game I've purchased for Xbox One, and it's solid fun. My only criticism is that there aren't enough levels, which is more of a compliment. I never played Peggle 1, but regardless the learning curve is easy, as to be expected from a Pop Cap game. So far it's the best game I own for Xbox One.
  21. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    The Perfect Anti-Depressant!

    The game has amazing HD graphics bursting with color!
    With incredibly addictive game play, Peggle 2 has a way of making you come back again and again!

    I dock points only for lack content. Don't get me wrong! This game has plenty, but for the simplicity of level design I believe it would be easy to create more.
  22. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Peggle 2 is my favorite game so far on Xbone! Fun addicting and rewarding this was a great puzzle arcade game, the characters are memorable and the soundtrack is awesome need i say more? Hours of fun always hard to put down.

    Melwheezy
  23. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    The Peggle series of games is a combination pinball/arkanoid/breakout type of game with cute characters. Whom when you hit the green pegs allow you to use their unique abilities. When you hit the last orange peggle, classical music blasts out and declares your victory to everyone within hearing distance. An added touch is that, the peggles move each time you replay the stage. So the stagesThe Peggle series of games is a combination pinball/arkanoid/breakout type of game with cute characters. Whom when you hit the green pegs allow you to use their unique abilities. When you hit the last orange peggle, classical music blasts out and declares your victory to everyone within hearing distance. An added touch is that, the peggles move each time you replay the stage. So the stages have replay ability built in.

    If you love these types of games, Peggle 2 is for you. I think I bought the game for $9.99 on the xbox store. I also got 2 upgrades for $1.99 each. The upgrades gave 10 new stages, 10 new trials and a new character each. More than worth it if your a Peggle 2 fan.

    But if your looking for something other than a cute, pinball/breakout type game, move on.
    Expand
  24. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    Its price is justifiable. However its a huge disappointment from the first one. you only get 5 masters(each of which have "good" abilities) while the first one had 10 great masters. The game pretty much feels the same in terms of gameplay so that won't disappoint. However their new style feels weird with 60 fps. It just doesn't have its comical feel at that high a fps. The masters alsoIts price is justifiable. However its a huge disappointment from the first one. you only get 5 masters(each of which have "good" abilities) while the first one had 10 great masters. The game pretty much feels the same in terms of gameplay so that won't disappoint. However their new style feels weird with 60 fps. It just doesn't have its comical feel at that high a fps. The masters also pop right into their dancing whenever I win a map, They're just standing there on second and then all of a sudden, they pop into dancing poses. Its levels are great, there are so many to choose from and some are easy and feel fun to play, while others are very challenging and feel rewarding when you win. For It's price, its a very good game, but it won't capture that classic feel that the original had. Expand
  25. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    This game is fantastic. I've heard from so many reviewers that this game was awesome but I really had to try it for myself before I could believe them. Incredibly addicting and exactly the type of game that can eat up a ton of hours trying to perfect each level
  26. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    I can summarize Peggle 2 as a fun, challenging and game for the whole family.
    Not innovate in gameplay when compared to the original Peggle, however, added form Online game modes, the Xbox SmartMatch One works great!
    I think that in Online mode, should have a consistent system of rank, to create an environment of competition, was unfortunately a very casual online mode, which hurts the
    I can summarize Peggle 2 as a fun, challenging and game for the whole family.
    Not innovate in gameplay when compared to the original Peggle, however, added form Online game modes, the Xbox SmartMatch One works great!
    I think that in Online mode, should have a consistent system of rank, to create an environment of competition, was unfortunately a very casual online mode, which hurts the most competitive player.
    The music and the background graphics are the highlight of the game, building the scenarios was very well thought out and there is a good amount of extra challenges when the player finish the regular stages.
    I recommend Peggle 2 for everyone who liked original Peggle, and for those who did not play. This game deserves your vote of confidence.
    Expand
  27. Sep 8, 2014
    8
    I review games based on the following: Story, Multi-Player/ Cooperative, Creativity, Entertainment Value, and Replay Value. I give a rating of +1, 0, or -1 in each category and every game starts at a 5 out of 10. Peggle 2 has a story... I suppose. The story serves more as a way to unlock new maps, characters, and costumes so you can have more fun playing with your friends. However, theI review games based on the following: Story, Multi-Player/ Cooperative, Creativity, Entertainment Value, and Replay Value. I give a rating of +1, 0, or -1 in each category and every game starts at a 5 out of 10. Peggle 2 has a story... I suppose. The story serves more as a way to unlock new maps, characters, and costumes so you can have more fun playing with your friends. However, the trials that come as part of this short little campaign do provide a decent challenge. Overall I give the Story a 0 because of its lack of well, a story. The Multi-Player is where this game redeems itself and where the real fun comes from. Playing with your friends is really the only reason to purchase this game because frankly no one wants to shoot colorful pegs by themselves all day. This game is full of comedy which can really only be appreciated if you are with friends, drunk, or both. However this game heavily favors the first player as they will almost always start off with a higher score. For these reasons I give Multi-Player/ Cooperative a +1 for its endless fun with friends and alcohol. Peggle 2's Creativity is basically what makes it Peggle in the first place, a game about physics and flashy lights and epic music. Nothing in the gaming industry has this mixture of epic, comedy, and simplicity except for the first Peggle. Peggle 2 will always be the one and only game of its kind which is why I have to give it a +1 in Creativity. Lets be honest, Entertainment value and Replay Value are what really matter in every game so lets get straight to it. Peggle 2 is entertaining for about 3 maybe 4 hours by yourself and an endless time with friends. I am in college and getting drunk on a Friday Night and playing Peggle for a few hours is one of our favorite things to do. However that is the problem, it is hard to have fun for too long with alcohol or weed,for these reasons I give Entertainment value a 0. Although Peggle 2 does not provide endless entertainment, it does provide literally endless Replay Value. I find that you can never get the same outcome twice from any map but the trials simply because they are pass or fail. I love Peggle 2 and I give the Replay Value a +1 for its endless replay ability. Overall, based on all of the above factors I give Peggle 2 an 8. I personally recommend this game so go ahead and pick it up on Xbox One for just $11.99 and enjoy! Expand
  28. Jun 15, 2016
    6
    Um puzzle divertido e desafiador. Com efeitos psicodélicos e com varias temáticas diferentes fica difícil não se divertir com esse game, que nao inova no gênero mas cumpre muito bem seu papel.
  29. May 8, 2015
    7
    Cool fun game for kids

    PROS
    -Good graphics
    -Creative levels
    -Addictive gameplay

    CONS
    -Bad story
    -Gameplay can get repetative .
  30. Nov 30, 2014
    9
    The Peggle 2 is a very well done game. As the first megfogodt the music and the visuals. The trails are well difficulty has been found. Plus, when you took over the game, two more characters available in a teeny tiny amount in return. The game has received instead of extra challenges. I think a lot of fun.
  31. Apr 5, 2015
    3
    I had some fun with the game but overall I didn't enjoy the game. Luck is too much of a factor. The powers are boring. The game is over too quickly. I don't recommend Peggle 2. Overpriced junk.
  32. Dec 24, 2015
    8
    Peggle is a fun, addictive game. This is a lot of bang for your buck, and something you can relax and play without having a think a ton or stress about it. That isn't to say you can't get pretty serious trying to set up skill shots and high scores. Some will say it is skill, some will say it is luck... I say a little bit of both can't hurt!

    8/10 because its a bit shorter than other
    Peggle is a fun, addictive game. This is a lot of bang for your buck, and something you can relax and play without having a think a ton or stress about it. That isn't to say you can't get pretty serious trying to set up skill shots and high scores. Some will say it is skill, some will say it is luck... I say a little bit of both can't hurt!

    8/10 because its a bit shorter than other Peggles if you don't buy the DLC characters.
    Expand
  33. Jan 9, 2017
    2
    Une suite inutile du jeu de pachinko casse-briques et casse-boules aussi répétitive que le premier et toujours aussi aléatoire. Amusant ou plutôt bizarrement hypnotique pendant un temps limité, il se montre usant et superficiel à plus long terme, toujours accompagné de ses effets sonores idiots et enfantins et de sa musique prise de tête. Graphiquement horrible bien entendu, comme tout jeuUne suite inutile du jeu de pachinko casse-briques et casse-boules aussi répétitive que le premier et toujours aussi aléatoire. Amusant ou plutôt bizarrement hypnotique pendant un temps limité, il se montre usant et superficiel à plus long terme, toujours accompagné de ses effets sonores idiots et enfantins et de sa musique prise de tête. Graphiquement horrible bien entendu, comme tout jeu indé qui ne se respecte pas. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. games(TM)
    Feb 12, 2014
    60
    A missed opportunity. [Issue#144, p.102]
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    70
    There's really nothing really new or innovative in this version of Peggle, but you know you have to try it.
  3. 90
    Endearing and satisfying. [Issue#107, p.70]