Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare has players blast zombies, plants, and new characters with inventive weapons across a mine-blowing PvZ world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    100
    Sure, you could spend your entire time shooting at both living and dead, but the best gameplay comes from varied and mechanically diverse controllable characters.
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    84
    An original ray of sunshine in a genre crowded with mindless clones.
  3. What’s here is cleverly crafted, well-balanced, and capable of generating moments of authentic mirth.
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    80
    A great, simple shooter for all ages.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    75
    Colorful, humorous and mostly fun to play: Garden Warfare is unexpectedly a multiplayer shooter that can easily live besides Titanfall on Microsoft’s console.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    70
    Garden Warfare on the Xbox One is visually impressive and PopCap did a great job translating the color palette and aesthetics of the mobile game to this third person shooter.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    50
    Sadly, any gains made here are squandered by woolly controls, a dearth of feedback and infuriating inaccuracy even with aiming assist dialed up to maximum.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 89
  2. Negative: 5 out of 89
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    PvZ Garden Warfare is a fantastic shooter and a stellar multiplayer experience. For competitive gamers, Team Vanquish is incredibly well-balanced given the variety in classes for both the zombies and plants. For cooperative games, Garden Ops is a challenging and fun way to fight waves of zombies. Definitely paying homage to the traditional PvZ top-down strategy game.

    Finally, the animations are glorious. If you think kittens are cute, check out the sunflower class. This game works perfectly as a third person shooter. It showcases the game's superb and fun artwork. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good shooter or action game. For me, the game is pure bliss.
    Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    It´s simply the funniest shooter game ever made. You can change the characters lots of times, you can mock tour enemies. It keeps you playing a lot of time: there are so many locations and modes, and when you get tired of a character, you can easily change it for another in seconds. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Excellent Xbox One debut for the PvZ franchise! :) At just $40, this game's an absolute steal and I recommend it to just about anyone. Popcap Games and EA have a winner on their hands. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    Very refreshing multiplayer game. Great for co-op local or online. The visuals are (at last!) very colourful indeed and the graphics look great in 1080p. Good recommendation to people of any age, who are open to third person shooter games. This game keeps its roots (haha - good pun eh?) well in its legendary tower defence, and is a good buy for those with a $40, £30 price range. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    This is a very fun game. I rated it an 8 right now cause they need to tweak some of the classes and maps.

    One map I've played on the "rush
    mode" is impossible for the zombies to get past the second stage of the map. I would've said the first but after 8 hours of game play the other team finally made it past the first capture point. Then again we were outnumbered 2 to 1.

    The foot soldier for the zombies is by far the weakest character in the game. You can't kill somebody with a whole clip of your main weapon and sometimes takes more than 2 clips. His special attack is underpowered too unfortunately. I've had multiple direct hits on people which should have killed them yet didn't. Once they tweak him it will even things out

    The cactus's onion chopper needs a zoom on it. Most of the time you need to get high enough to stay out of enemies sight but thst leads you at a real disadvantage killing someone. Yet if you get close you only have 5 health so one hit from anything destroys you.

    Boss mode was fun but either needs to speed up on the air strikes or give you more points for healing, reviving, and assisting on enemy kills with the radar. Most of the time you don't have anything to do except wait for sun/brains and the cool down of your stuff. I haven't tried it with the tablet but that may make a difference.

    The garden ops was a blast, but had some balancing issues in my opinion. I always felt either severely under challenged or severely overwhelmed. The slots either give you a small challenge or a ridiculous one.

    All in all I've really enjoyed this game so far. For $40 it's definitely worth a buy. Once they tweak the game it will be amazing.
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2014
    8
    This game is absolutely worth the money (especially since you can pick it up on Amazon for around $30 or less! So far Popcap has released a couple of DLCs for the game that have been free! With the ability to have a friend using Xbox smart glass as you play, and the fun it can be playing online, this is a must have for anyone, even if you aren't a big fan of shoot-em ups. This game is just so different and enjoyable that it is worth trying it out. I am giving it an 8 because EA servers still have issues once and a while, I have been dropped out of a match. Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    I'm giving gnome bomb a 0. It is the most broken game mode ever made. Instant plant? Why?! Then it takes about 9 seconds to defuse while everybody and there mother spam there explosives on the bomb almost making it impossible to defuse. Very poor choice. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews