Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 405 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare has players blast zombies, plants, and new characters with inventive weapons across a mine-blowing PvZ world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    100
    Sure, you could spend your entire time shooting at both living and dead, but the best gameplay comes from varied and mechanically diverse controllable characters.
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    84
    An original ray of sunshine in a genre crowded with mindless clones.
  3. What’s here is cleverly crafted, well-balanced, and capable of generating moments of authentic mirth.
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    80
    A great, simple shooter for all ages.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    75
    Colorful, humorous and mostly fun to play: Garden Warfare is unexpectedly a multiplayer shooter that can easily live besides Titanfall on Microsoft’s console.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    70
    Garden Warfare on the Xbox One is visually impressive and PopCap did a great job translating the color palette and aesthetics of the mobile game to this third person shooter.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    50
    Sadly, any gains made here are squandered by woolly controls, a dearth of feedback and infuriating inaccuracy even with aiming assist dialed up to maximum.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 98
  2. Negative: 7 out of 98
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This game is really fun, it works great on the Xbox One. Yes, I agree they had their problems with the servers, but those have been fixed now.This game is really fun, it works great on the Xbox One. Yes, I agree they had their problems with the servers, but those have been fixed now. Anyone rating this game (GAAAAME) for the fact that the EA servers are not working is not actually rating the game... Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    It´s simply the funniest shooter game ever made. You can change the characters lots of times, you can mock tour enemies. It keeps you playingIt´s simply the funniest shooter game ever made. You can change the characters lots of times, you can mock tour enemies. It keeps you playing a lot of time: there are so many locations and modes, and when you get tired of a character, you can easily change it for another in seconds. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Excellent Xbox One debut for the PvZ franchise! :) At just $40, this game's an absolute steal and I recommend it to just about anyone. PopcapExcellent Xbox One debut for the PvZ franchise! :) At just $40, this game's an absolute steal and I recommend it to just about anyone. Popcap Games and EA have a winner on their hands. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This game rocks my socks. It's just plain fun to play! The goofy characters, the technicolor world, just a great intro to on line onlyThis game rocks my socks. It's just plain fun to play! The goofy characters, the technicolor world, just a great intro to on line only shooters. Look it's cheap fun, not Titanfall or COD, it's not suppose to be. Leave the butt brown "gritty' world behind for a while. Living in full color is great, family friendly fun, on the cheap. Only minus is lack of melee attack for all charters and lack of off line story mode; these charters are just too funny to look at and I missed not knowing their origin stories. Check it out at a minimum, but at $40 it's a great purchase. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have waited a lot this game, but in a late time a realize that this is not for me. I can say what this game misses: Melee attack, splitscreen on xbox 360 and some changes from the original. Expand
  6. May 2, 2014
    8
    This game is absolutely worth the money (especially since you can pick it up on Amazon for around $30 or less! So far Popcap has released aThis game is absolutely worth the money (especially since you can pick it up on Amazon for around $30 or less! So far Popcap has released a couple of DLCs for the game that have been free! With the ability to have a friend using Xbox smart glass as you play, and the fun it can be playing online, this is a must have for anyone, even if you aren't a big fan of shoot-em ups. This game is just so different and enjoyable that it is worth trying it out. I am giving it an 8 because EA servers still have issues once and a while, I have been dropped out of a match. Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    I'm giving gnome bomb a 0. It is the most broken game mode ever made. Instant plant? Why?! Then it takes about 9 seconds to defuse whileI'm giving gnome bomb a 0. It is the most broken game mode ever made. Instant plant? Why?! Then it takes about 9 seconds to defuse while everybody and there mother spam there explosives on the bomb almost making it impossible to defuse. Very poor choice. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews