Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 102 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 102
  2. Negative: 0 out of 102
Buy On
  1. Jan 9, 2016
    70
    It is an enjoyable game, but if only Crystal Dynamics could have resolved its conflicts by focusing its attention on what Tomb Raider does best and cutting out anything that got in the way of that, it could have been something far more special.
  2. Nov 9, 2015
    70
    Like its predecessor, Rise of the Tomb Raider is awash in stuff to do, at story's expense.
  3. Nov 10, 2015
    68
    Lara’s therapy was a failure. Rise of the Tomb Raider was not, but it did force me to reconcile the uncomfortable paradox of the titular badass also being an emotional wreck.
  4. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 9, 2015
    64
    Tombs are the best thing RotTR has to offer. Compared to the previous Tomb Raider, there really are more of them, but not quite as many as we’d want. Plus, unlike the stealth/combat sequences, most of the tombs can be skipped – although the game would’ve been much better off if it was the other way around. [Issue#204, p.62]
  5. Nov 27, 2015
    60
    Unfortunately for those sticking to the main route, Rise is a repeat of the 2013 title with less character development and several years' worth of mounting standards.
  6. Nov 11, 2015
    60
    A crowd-pleasing game, which offers only glimpses of what could be if this team were only allowed to take some braver risks with Croft’s next expedition.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 8, 2015
    Rise Of The Tomb Raider understands what’s fun about being Lara Croft. It’s not blowing away an army of underlings with an assortment of guns, something that straight-up shooters do better and with more commitment to variety. It’s also not some bold new innovation in how to make a character run and jump, or unexpected deviation from a storyline. No, what’s always been the key to Tomb Raider is the thrill of discovery.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1337 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    Easily the best looking game I've ever played on a console. It kinda stinks that ps4 owners don't get to play it for a year because it reallyEasily the best looking game I've ever played on a console. It kinda stinks that ps4 owners don't get to play it for a year because it really is an amazing game. Its deep and engaging. A very welcome improvement on the series. Best tomb raider to date. Maybe one of the best games to date. Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2015
    0
    I bought an Xbox One just to play this, and it turn out it horrible, it does not live out to the expectation, tomb raider 2013 was way betterI bought an Xbox One just to play this, and it turn out it horrible, it does not live out to the expectation, tomb raider 2013 was way better in every aspect, I spent 6 hours playing this game, trying to find an attachment to it but failed, I'm going to sell my Xbox One because f this **** I dont even know why they made it an exclusive. the game crashed and lags often enough. 0/10 Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2015
    9
    Rise of the Tomb Raider is a really good sequel to the Tomb Raider 2013 and can become one of the best reasons to buy an Xbox ONE.
    Tomb
    Rise of the Tomb Raider is a really good sequel to the Tomb Raider 2013 and can become one of the best reasons to buy an Xbox ONE.
    Tomb Raider 2013 was a really good game with really good graphics and gameplay which in my opinion had a slightly weak ending.
    But this one not also has a better ending than the last one but also has better and smoother gameplay and defiantly better graphics too.
    The crafting and upgrading system is really good too but the main positive thing about this one is strong characterizing and the high potential of the story.
    But the Rise of the Tomb Raider lacks weapon and equipment variability and it somehow looks too much like the last one.
    But overall this game can make you enjoy for more than 20 hours with its awesome open environments and get to know Lara Croft even more!
    Full Review »