Ryse: Son of Rome Xbox One

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
Buy On
  1. Sep 8, 2014
    75
    Ryse is a bit of a marmite game, if you are looking for a great gaming experience that takes forever to perfect then Ryse is not for you. If you are interested in a Roman interactive movie with a solid story line then I’d say give it a shot.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    83
    Overall, Ryse: Son of Rome is a solid launch title that tells a good story, looks freaking amazing, and plays great.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    83
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a solid game and arguably has the best graphics of any console game to date.
  4. This is all fun enough stuff. There’s a nice mix of split-second tactical thinking and deep brutality – I could almost feel each blow through my controller.
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    With satisfying combat, breathtaking visuals, a decent campaign and a surprisingly entertaining multiplayer mode, it may not break new ground in terms of gameplay, and it offers little in the way of variety, but what it does, it does well.
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    75
    For those who enjoy a simple hack-n-slash game, Ryse: Son of Rome fits the bill. This is no deep adventure, but rather a chance to burn your aggression by chopping your way through hundreds of barbarians, slowing only to enjoy the carnage during the brutal executions. Still, the stunning visuals and compelling setting will keep some gamers engaged throughout, making Ryse a flawed-but-interesting addition to the Xbox One launch lineup.
  8. Nov 21, 2013
    75
    Technically speaking, Ryse is a masterpiece. A new step in gaming evolution. Unfortunately the combat is - although fluid - suffocating: from the beginning to the end, you slash the same enemies in the same ways. After few hours, you'll start feeling quite tired.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1430 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 354
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project forVery strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    1
    A very very bad game. The graphics are certainly good but the gameplay is incredibly repetitive, tedious and simplistic. Playing Ryze; son ofA very very bad game. The graphics are certainly good but the gameplay is incredibly repetitive, tedious and simplistic. Playing Ryze; son of rome feels like a chore twenty minutes in. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    As a fan of all videogames, I try to be objective in what does or doesn't make a videogame fun to play. If you have ever played aAs a fan of all videogames, I try to be objective in what does or doesn't make a videogame fun to play. If you have ever played a hack-n-slash or beat-em-up game, you are already prepared for what Ryse has to offer. The gameplay is repetitive to say the least, but there isn't a game out there that doesn't devolve into repetitive button mashing of some sort. I don't understand the harsh criticism the game has garnered from both the media and the users, but you should make your own mind up about the game independent of someone else's opinion. I can guarantee you will NOT find a better looking game for the next gen systems before the end of the year and if you can honestly accept the game for what it is...an absolutely gorgeous, epically scaled yet repetitious and shallow hack-n-slash, then you'll probably get plenty of enjoyment out of the game. Full Review »