User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1260 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    As a fan of all videogames, I try to be objective in what does or doesn't make a videogame fun to play. If you have ever played a hack-n-slash or beat-em-up game, you are already prepared for what Ryse has to offer. The gameplay is repetitive to say the least, but there isn't a game out there that doesn't devolve into repetitive button mashing of some sort. I don't understand the harshAs a fan of all videogames, I try to be objective in what does or doesn't make a videogame fun to play. If you have ever played a hack-n-slash or beat-em-up game, you are already prepared for what Ryse has to offer. The gameplay is repetitive to say the least, but there isn't a game out there that doesn't devolve into repetitive button mashing of some sort. I don't understand the harsh criticism the game has garnered from both the media and the users, but you should make your own mind up about the game independent of someone else's opinion. I can guarantee you will NOT find a better looking game for the next gen systems before the end of the year and if you can honestly accept the game for what it is...an absolutely gorgeous, epically scaled yet repetitious and shallow hack-n-slash, then you'll probably get plenty of enjoyment out of the game. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Everyone on here rating games a 0 or 1 are discrediting themselves and only making themselves look like idiot trolls. This game is not a 0 or a 1. It is somewhere between a 4 or an 8. Some people will like it if they want mostly great graphics and simple yet fun gameplay, others will prefer deeper gameplay and will grow tired of Ryse after an hour or two. That is fine. Please share validEveryone on here rating games a 0 or 1 are discrediting themselves and only making themselves look like idiot trolls. This game is not a 0 or a 1. It is somewhere between a 4 or an 8. Some people will like it if they want mostly great graphics and simple yet fun gameplay, others will prefer deeper gameplay and will grow tired of Ryse after an hour or two. That is fine. Please share valid reasons either way and find a fair rating. I have played most of the big budget games, and none of them are 0s or 1s! Some prefer halo, some prefer BF, and some prefer COD. Each one as their strengths and weaknesses, but none are totally broken or unplayable. Remove all 0s an 1 ratings and then add up the rest and you will get a better picture of how good or bad a game truly is. My take on Ryse:

    Graphics 9
    Gameplay 6 (good but gets old after a few hours)
    Music 8 (good Hollywood style music)
    Story 7 (kept my interest, but the characters could use more depth)
    Length 4 (6 hours is too short, more fun on hard setting, co-op decent, not worth 60 dollars)

    Overall 7
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    It's not Devil May Cry with Romans but the combat is fun and very fluid if lacking in depth. The games problems mostly arise when your not in combat as its not nearly as fun. Animations do become repetitive after a while however
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    5
    All style and no substance. Ryse looks superb, however there's nothing to keep you hooked or pull you back in. The plot is thin and cliche with every character adopting a very one-dimensional motivation. The gameplay is extremely repetitive. It looks good, and in short bursts can be enjoyable, but play it for an length of time and it becomes very tedious. Campaign is also very short (aAll style and no substance. Ryse looks superb, however there's nothing to keep you hooked or pull you back in. The plot is thin and cliche with every character adopting a very one-dimensional motivation. The gameplay is extremely repetitive. It looks good, and in short bursts can be enjoyable, but play it for an length of time and it becomes very tedious. Campaign is also very short (a worrying trend in the industry today). The co-op mode helps to flesh out the game and having a friend with you always adds to the experience but, unfortunately, the combat is still far too simple.

    Only worth a purchase if you're a fan of the setting or you wait for a price drop down the line. Truth is, there isn't much here besides visuals and with far better launch titles available I would avoid it.
    Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    7
    After spending about 10 hours between the campaign and the Co-Op portions of Ryse: Son of Rome, I've realized something some people don't know how to rate titles. The lack of objectivity and reason go out the window with a lot of people that decide to rate games. That being said, Ryse is absolutely an awesome game. It's drop-dead gorgeous, extremely cinematic, and carries an engagingAfter spending about 10 hours between the campaign and the Co-Op portions of Ryse: Son of Rome, I've realized something some people don't know how to rate titles. The lack of objectivity and reason go out the window with a lot of people that decide to rate games. That being said, Ryse is absolutely an awesome game. It's drop-dead gorgeous, extremely cinematic, and carries an engaging storyline that definitely unfolds nicely as you progress. Combat is a bit rudimentary but it isn't overly boring. Skill progression systems are present but super linear, making you wonder why they put all the effort into developing it if there wasn't any true diversity to the system. Many levels are breathtaking, making me stop at times to just see what an achievement Crytek has on their hands. It's just unfortunate that these levels tend to be overly guided which removes from any adventuring a player might want to experience. The Co-Op is more fun than I anticipated, with a tiered system that will allow you to scale up your "gladiator" as you build up experience, gear, and expertise with the levels themselves. However I'm not certain everyone that tries it out will be in love with it as it feels a bit repetitive at times so the fun could be fairly well sapped with just a few hours of play. That will be up to you to decide should you give Ryse a go. I would easily recommend the game, but I would also say to Crytek and Microsoft Game Studios that they have a real gem on their hands one that would be served better if they had borrowed more from games that obviously inspired the final product here. Fable, Gears of War, Tomb Raider and Mass Effect 3 all show themselves in their own way throughout. If I had to offer just one piece of advice to Crytek, it would be "add depth". Adding depth to the world you play through, adding depth to your character customization and development, adding depth to the characters themselves as the grow. Making a character feel like your own is one thing that keeps games like World of Warcraft and Guild Wars afloat with dedicated fan bases. Ryse is an unfinished game of the year candidate. I for one hope this is the start of a continuing franchise. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game had incredible graphics and also had an incredible combat system. But for someone who studies history, I can say the historical accuracy was incredibly out of order and made all the ancient Picts/Britons look like shirtless savages, there was also no barbarian tribe in Scotland that wore bull skulls and happened to be 7 feet tall, and there was no point in time where Boudica rode a war elephant. Nero didn't have any kids either. Commodus wasn't even around during the time of Nero nor was he ever related to the Caesar bloodline. This game wasn't really meant to be historically accurate though, and it had fantasy elements in it which explains why it was historically innacurate. However, If you're into fighting games like God of War, Dynasty Warriors, Spartan total warrior this would be your game. 7/10 for me. I hope you found this review helpful. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    Ryse is one of the most interesting launch games I've ever played, there are just as many great things about as there are faults. That said, I really enjoyed playing it for the most part, there's a surprisingly good story, it's graphically the most impressive game I've played on all the next gen systems, the audio and overall sound is superb, and killing animations are fluid, vibrant, andRyse is one of the most interesting launch games I've ever played, there are just as many great things about as there are faults. That said, I really enjoyed playing it for the most part, there's a surprisingly good story, it's graphically the most impressive game I've played on all the next gen systems, the audio and overall sound is superb, and killing animations are fluid, vibrant, and brutal. So what breaks a game that has so much good going for it? Simplistic gameplay. While there's nothing wrong with that, 5 - 7 hours of the same core mechanics gets old. It's a game I love to play in bursts and the gameplay is pretty fun then, but after awhile it gets stale. Think of the Batman Arkham games but if you could only use A, X, Y, B, and the right trigger for executions. While the power ups are damn awesome, Ryse succumbs to being too short, and looses interest soon. It's a fun and enjoyable game that I really liked, but it's more of the perfect "rent" kind of game. Expand
  8. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    The game was not bad. The graphics are awesome and the game play was fun but the game was very very short. I beat it in about 6 hours. The combat was pretty repetitive but it was still fun. This game started off as a Kinect game and you can tell but they did a good job reverting the game to a traditional control scheme. I hesitated buying the game because I had heard it was so shortThe game was not bad. The graphics are awesome and the game play was fun but the game was very very short. I beat it in about 6 hours. The combat was pretty repetitive but it was still fun. This game started off as a Kinect game and you can tell but they did a good job reverting the game to a traditional control scheme. I hesitated buying the game because I had heard it was so short and I didn't want to pay $60 for a game that short. Now that I finished the game I feel that fear was justified. The multiplayer was pretty fun but I couldn't really get into that much. I honestly feel that the next iteration of Ryse will be a much better game. They'll be 100% focused on the control scheme and they'll be able to add more depth and variety. Expand
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    7
    The amount of zeros and ones this game has garnered is undeserving. Ryse may not be the best game ever, but it's certainly fun, entertaining and artistic enough to earn a 6.5 or 7.

    I'll start with it's flaws - it's gameplay can be repetitive, linear, and not very engaging. At its worst, Ryse is too easy or too hard for all the wrong reasons. You basically learn your character's entire
    The amount of zeros and ones this game has garnered is undeserving. Ryse may not be the best game ever, but it's certainly fun, entertaining and artistic enough to earn a 6.5 or 7.

    I'll start with it's flaws - it's gameplay can be repetitive, linear, and not very engaging. At its worst, Ryse is too easy or too hard for all the wrong reasons. You basically learn your character's entire skill/move set within an hour of playing the game and can't really customize Marius' action mechanics for new combos or new attacks. Every fight ultimately becomes a different variation of block-roll-attack-"focus" until marius is able to quicktime someone to death. Furthermore, even though the landscape and game environment is beautiful, it really isn't interactive at all. There are times when the player might ask himself whether the sequence he just participated in might not have been better off as a cutscene. Essentially, the bottom line is that Ryse has gameplay that can be overly directed and repetitive.

    However, that doesn't mean the game isn't fun. Even though it was repetitive, ripping apart barbarians was both challenging and fun. Just because you're given the same basic set of moves doesn't mean enemies and fights aren't difficult or interesting. Whereas sometimes the game only asks you to press a button or two, many of the boss battles and fight sequences require the player to quickly react to a series of actions. It was like playing assassin's creed or arkham city except it was actually possible to lose if you didn't keep your actions and blocks precise.

    Plus (as everyone has already highlighted) it's a gaming cinematic masterpiece. The graphics and voice acting are superb - even if the story is a little cheesy.
    Expand
  10. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    Ryse is a beautiful game with terrible game play. Forcing(well strong-arming) the user to use Kinect is not cool and I really hope MS$ doesn't make this a thing going forward. Overall I had fun playing but I would have liked them to mix it up a bit with the combat and controls.
  11. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    Don't get me wrong this game has amazing graphics as do all other crytek games and it's strongly addictive but the gameplay is very repetitive, all you have to do really is press A then Y then X and sometimes there's a dodge and a spear throw but overall a 7.
  12. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    Let me start out this review by saying this: Ryse Son of Rome is the best looking game I have ever seen. Crytek is known for having amazing graphics with their engine known as CryEngine, but this game takes it to the next level entirely. But do the phenomenal graphics and spectacle make this a great, awesome game? The answer: more or less. In my eyes, Ryse wasn't made to have true next-genLet me start out this review by saying this: Ryse Son of Rome is the best looking game I have ever seen. Crytek is known for having amazing graphics with their engine known as CryEngine, but this game takes it to the next level entirely. But do the phenomenal graphics and spectacle make this a great, awesome game? The answer: more or less. In my eyes, Ryse wasn't made to have true next-gen gameplay or design. It was made to blow you away with the graphics, and show how powerful the Xbox One is. That being said, Crytek didn't try extremely hard on the gameplay. Ryse's combat is a basic hack and slash formula. It keeps you entertained...starting out, that is. As you move on in the campaign, you start to realize that you are going through the same motions over and over again. What makes it worse is that the combat doesn't go on to have depth, which basically means the 2nd level is about the same as the last level. However, it does have a fun aspect to it. There are upgrades, and while they help you slightly, they aren't that big of a deal. The multiplayer of this game was more than great, though. It isn't exactly competitive. I would compare it to the cooperative modes in Halo, like Firefight (excluding gameplay of course). The combat does differ slightly in multiplayer, too. I most likely won't play the multiplayer for till the end of the year, but it will keep me entertained for a few months. Ryse never blew me away with the combat or story. What did blow me away, though, was the constant amazement out of the graphics and the extremely fun multiplayer. Expand
  13. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    My first impressions of this game was anything but good. The characters, the story, the linear gameplay. Apart from

    the fantastic looks and the delightful violence, this game seemed to totally iss the target. But I paid for it, so I continued playing. After the first sequence, which is more like a tutorial-session that sets the base of the story, this game really takes a turn
    My first impressions of this game was anything but good. The characters, the story, the linear gameplay. Apart from

    the fantastic looks and the delightful violence, this game seemed to totally iss the target. But I paid for it, so I

    continued playing.

    After the first sequence, which is more like a tutorial-session that sets the base of the story, this game really

    takes a turn for the better. The fighting, which seemed easy and dull, quickly turns into challenging and fun

    gameplay. The acting and story, which seemed just lame, all of a sudden becomes really good. I even tried the

    kinect-part, where you can give orders to your soldiers by shouting them; it is a LOT faster than holding LB, and at

    higher difficulties you need the edge. The giving orders part is not a big part of the game, by the way.

    The fighting can almost be compared to Assassins Creed, but it is a lot less forgiving. Ryse is all about timing and situational awareness, the reward for a perfect combo or a double execution makes you really want to master it. Cutting off limbs, crushing heads, impaling and shield smashing. I rarely enjoyed it more. Boy was I wrong about this game.

    Multiplayer is gladiator 2 player coop against waves of enemies. Great fun. Win fights, buy better gear and fight on. I can't how long this game will last, but right now it's bang for the buck. A lot more than I'd expect from Crytec.
    Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    Ryse: Son Of Rome is a game that is quite well done but lacks some features that are integral to a story driven hack and slash. There isn't a lot of innovation when it comes to a Hack and Slash title but you'll find that Ryse combat system is quite dull and repetitive and quickly wears the player out within your first hour of play. Enemies become increasingly predictable in the way thatRyse: Son Of Rome is a game that is quite well done but lacks some features that are integral to a story driven hack and slash. There isn't a lot of innovation when it comes to a Hack and Slash title but you'll find that Ryse combat system is quite dull and repetitive and quickly wears the player out within your first hour of play. Enemies become increasingly predictable in the way that they fight the longer you play it and your own combat style is very limited to a parry, slash, bash and execution. The VO is another aspect of this game I think fell short. From the beginning I was confused and puzzled by the VO in the sense that most of the voices sound very similar if not the same. Regardless of the negatives this game delivered on some key features. The game looks gorgeous and is without a doubt one of the best looking launch titles from either company. The story is intense and well done with a predictable first half of a story matched with an interesting and different second half. The dialogue I thought was well written to create some truly intense moments but was really undersold by the VO. I would recommend this game to a certain type of person. Expand
  15. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    I just finished the campaign in Ryse a couple hours ago and I don't really understand all the hate this game is getting. The only reason I can see people giving it a one is if they are trolls or just feel let down as they expected more. I was expecting a broken/boring game based on the reviews I'd read here but it really hooked me and surprised me just how fun the game was. StraightI just finished the campaign in Ryse a couple hours ago and I don't really understand all the hate this game is getting. The only reason I can see people giving it a one is if they are trolls or just feel let down as they expected more. I was expecting a broken/boring game based on the reviews I'd read here but it really hooked me and surprised me just how fun the game was. Straight forward, linear but fun and as others have said it looks amazing. I didn't have a single bug, a single bad camera angle or a single moment that looked glitched or anything, would have been a top game if they had of added some more depth to it and fleshed out the combat system more (although it works well later on in the game)

    Ryse is a well made tight hack n slash game. People expecting depth and choices should look elsewhere, people who've enjoyed other hack n slash games in the past will enjoy Ryse. It's quick and simple to get in to but gets more difficult towards the end when you actually need to time your attacks and work out when it's best to use heavy attacks and pushes.

    For me Ryse was a fun 10 hours and felt like an updated version of the old hack and slash games I play on my mame cabinet, I'm not entirely sure it's worth full retail price as I don't know how much playability it will hold but it is far from a bad game and is very enjoyable.

    I do wish there was more of a penalty when you missed the quick times though, but some people are also missing the fact that to get the max xp from a proper timed hit you need to actually predict which button to press based on the way Marius is moving his body rather than just pushing the blue colour or yellow colour, a lot of people seem to have completely missed this and I wish the game made it more rewarding and obvious that you should be predicting based on if he is moving his sword arm or shield arm.
    Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2013
    7
    Ok, so I wasn't gonna buy this one, and fate just threw it on my lap. So I played it.
    Since I had read loads of reviews, I was already expecting something bad. Like, really really bad.
    At the beginning of the game I felt it was an incomplete piece os sh*t, with shallow gameplay that didn't even require me to press buttons at quick time events. I even turned off my console and planned to
    Ok, so I wasn't gonna buy this one, and fate just threw it on my lap. So I played it.
    Since I had read loads of reviews, I was already expecting something bad. Like, really really bad.
    At the beginning of the game I felt it was an incomplete piece os sh*t, with shallow gameplay that didn't even require me to press buttons at quick time events.
    I even turned off my console and planned to sell the game. But, since it was a gift, I decided to at least go through the whole thing one time.
    And you know what? The game is actually kinda cool.
    Executions are not at all varied, but they are very cool-looking and easy to perform, with easy and very responsive controls.
    the skill tree is shallow as hell, period.
    The plot is overall very good, voice acting is competent and of course, graphics are awesome.
    So what I can say is this: Don't get dragged by the negative hype. Give this one a chance.
    It might not be a deep game with lots of options, but it is a good first appearance of a new franchise on a new platform, and it could be greatly improved on future instalments.
    It's certainly not the game we hoped for, and also not the piece of crap others say it is.
    Expand
  17. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a demonstration of 4th generation CryEngine. By abandoning xbox 360 and PS3, the game has achieved a new level of visuals that is never achieved before. This is definitely the best looking game of 2013. The story is a little bit short. Even after going through the entire game, there is still something that hasn't been told well. But the story is great. The gameplay isRyse: Son of Rome is a demonstration of 4th generation CryEngine. By abandoning xbox 360 and PS3, the game has achieved a new level of visuals that is never achieved before. This is definitely the best looking game of 2013. The story is a little bit short. Even after going through the entire game, there is still something that hasn't been told well. But the story is great. The gameplay is undeniably repetitive because of lacking of new type of enemies, new weapons, and new combat methods. But overall gameplay and control is fluent and solid. I have to say, there are people giving it 10/10 by impressive graphics, voice acting, and solid combat. But this game is not perfect yet. There are a lot of improvements could have been done. So any score over 8 is subjective. Also, some people are focusing more game play and don't care about story. Sometimes they give this game 3 or 4 out of 10. This is also biased and subjective. This game at least is solid in every aspect. Therefore, it at least deserves 6 or 7 out of 10. Thinking of this is the first game only on next gen console, the quality of it deserves 7 out of 10. So this is the reason I gave it 7. Expand
  18. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    Was better than most negative publicity it recieved. I loved feeling like russell crowes maximus oreilious(the gladiator) what a great feeling.... loved the graphics, amazing animations. Hack and slashing fun, combos looked fairly sweet, nice to see what kind of graphics xbone can do. Yes its short and multiplayer was fun but monotonous, super rental, not to purchase.
  19. Dec 2, 2013
    7
    What's with all the hate? I had low expectations for a fighting game made by Crytek, who in my opinion have always fallen well short on the gameplay front, but I had some fun with this game. The combat isn't especially deep, but it works well. I had fun just flying around the screen mixing up attacks and multi-character executions. I thought the execution mechanic coupled with d-padWhat's with all the hate? I had low expectations for a fighting game made by Crytek, who in my opinion have always fallen well short on the gameplay front, but I had some fun with this game. The combat isn't especially deep, but it works well. I had fun just flying around the screen mixing up attacks and multi-character executions. I thought the execution mechanic coupled with d-pad selection of bonus types was rather elegant. and the "look & feel" of the combat is excellent cameras, contextual executions, sounds and gore all presented really well. The entire game, in fact, is incredibly beautiful. Audio and visual art direction both felt careful crafted throughout the experience. Characters and dialog were reasonably solid, and the story was interesting enough to keep my playing. It was as bold move for Crytek to leave their safe zone of shooters, and it's worth some praise.

    If you're looking for an entertaining story-driven single player experience with eye-popping visuals, a pretty solid story, and brutal albeit simplistic combat, Ryse is definitely worth checking out.

    Solid 7, 7.5 from me.

    To give this game a 1 is indicative of the overall internet crybaby/fanboy facebook attitude of overreacting to everything either 100% OMG CITIZEN CANE OF VIDEO GAMES!1!!, or 0% COMPLETE GARBAGE OMGWTF.
    Expand
  20. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    In short, Ryse Son of Rome is baisicly a tech demo of how good the Xbox One can preform graphicly. And trust me, this game looks damn good! Cyrtek have done a fantastic job of creating lush enviroments. The forests inpaticualer are amazing. However, Ryse doesn't do so well in the gameplay department. It baisicly comes down to generic button mashing, and despite it being extremely flashey,In short, Ryse Son of Rome is baisicly a tech demo of how good the Xbox One can preform graphicly. And trust me, this game looks damn good! Cyrtek have done a fantastic job of creating lush enviroments. The forests inpaticualer are amazing. However, Ryse doesn't do so well in the gameplay department. It baisicly comes down to generic button mashing, and despite it being extremely flashey, it just doesn't have any substance and ends up being shallow, repetitive and boring. COME ON!!! This is next gen!!! We want and demand fresh new ideas, not just graphics. The game is also way to easy, taking me around six hours to complete. There are sections in the game that go away from the hack and slash, but again these are generic, boring and shallow. The one good thing about the combat is how fast and fluid it is, and how good and detailed the enemy( in fact all character models in the game are brilliant) character models look. One positive thing I can say about Ryse is how spectacualer the story is. I was genuinely surprised. At the E3 demo, I thought that Ryse was going to be a generic hack and slash with a cliché story, and while on gameplay terms that's true, the story is the complete opposite. Its handelled with care, and has some top notch voice acting. The story never feels disorientate, even in the constant flashbacks. Last we have the two player multiplayer, which can be dynamic, but ultimately ends up being( again) generic and boring. Its a shame, because Ryse could have been so much more if only the gameplay was on par with all the other aspects of the game. Expand
  21. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    It's not really that bad. The gameplay is repeative, yes, but the graphics are phenomenal and the setting is quite great. If you enjoyed movies like Gladiator and 300 you will definitely enjoy this one
  22. Nov 22, 2013
    5
    So I am a huge fan of this type of setting in a game, Ryse is beautiful, and offers some of the best graphics I have seen in console gaming so far I haven't gotten a chance to fully play this game, so i cant come to the same conclusions as some of you that have had a full play through. however from what i have played of it, it seems very repetitive, the combat is very cool, allot of coolSo I am a huge fan of this type of setting in a game, Ryse is beautiful, and offers some of the best graphics I have seen in console gaming so far I haven't gotten a chance to fully play this game, so i cant come to the same conclusions as some of you that have had a full play through. however from what i have played of it, it seems very repetitive, the combat is very cool, allot of cool executions, and if you love a gory game, this is definitely the game for you, but from what i played it seemed more like a demo then a full game, it just wasnt complex at all in any form, and I just cant justify spending the new release price for this game, IMHO if you are interested in ryse, you should wait for a price drop. otherwise you are going to be disappointed with what you get for the money. Expand
  23. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    I have mixed feelings for this game. I neither a good game, nor is it a bad game. This is what I thought about it after finishing the game.
    Story 6/10
    Its your typical Revenge story. Marius goes out to avenge the death of his family, vengeance is finally made, yada yada yada. You get the picture. Its a pretty good story though, but it will get forgettable after time. Graphics 10/10
    I have mixed feelings for this game. I neither a good game, nor is it a bad game. This is what I thought about it after finishing the game.
    Story 6/10
    Its your typical Revenge story. Marius goes out to avenge the death of his family, vengeance is finally made, yada yada yada. You get the picture. Its a pretty good story though, but it will get forgettable after time.
    Graphics 10/10
    This is by far the most beautiful looking games I have ever played (2nd best to KZ SF that is). Combat is fluid, animations are smooth, and texture quality is perfect. A game that looks this great shows a good future for the X1.
    Gameplay 7/10
    Its your basic hack 'n slash game. Combat is actually pretty fun, but do to the lack of enemy variety leads to repetition. You;ll quickly find yourself fighting the same enemies over and over again. Executions are cool, but are all done using QTEs, which is disappointing.
    Online 5/10
    The online portion of the game isn't so successful. Its basically played the same way the SP is played only with another player. The changing arena helps change up the gameplay, but ultimately, you still do the same thing over and over again in each area.
    Verdict 6/10
    Ryse: Son of Rome may be the best looking game on the X1, but a forgettable story, repetitive gameplay, and a lackluster online portion, makes this another sword fighting game we've pretty much already seen before.
    Expand
  24. Nov 22, 2013
    5
    The game has sick graphics, definitely one of the best looking games so far. The gameplay on the other hand is as repetitive as one of Lil Wayne's beats. It really starts to grind your gears when you do the same moves over and over again, after 1 hour of gameplay I was tired of it. I kept playing hoping they would change the pace and offer new experiences, but nope. They slap some turretThe game has sick graphics, definitely one of the best looking games so far. The gameplay on the other hand is as repetitive as one of Lil Wayne's beats. It really starts to grind your gears when you do the same moves over and over again, after 1 hour of gameplay I was tired of it. I kept playing hoping they would change the pace and offer new experiences, but nope. They slap some turret action and formation sequences but they do not sweeten the deal. This aint no God Of War/Heavenly Sword/Bayonetta/Devil May cry game. This game has Playstation 1 core gameplay with new generation graphics. I used to think it was either Graphics or gameplay, then I played Uncharted 2, The Last Of Us, God Of War 3 and came to understand you can actually have both. Crytek needs to stick to FPS at least they use their talents well in that genre, not that their FPS games are revolutionary, but their graphics are always a new milestone. The animations,voice acting, and facial expressions are top notch tho. This game to me is more like a tech Demo of what the xbone can do. Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2013
    5
    This game looks absolutely fantastic, probably on par with Forza Motorsport 5 but the gameplay is so mind numbingly boring after about an hour of play. Wait for it to come down in price.
  26. Nov 23, 2013
    6
    This is a beautifully crafted game. For those who criticise it due to it being a console game need to get out of their little shell and realise people don't game on PC's anymore and that they are the minority... That aside the game has a vast amount of different terrains and scenes that you can really love. The gameplay itself however is lacking at time repetitive. There is a lack ofThis is a beautifully crafted game. For those who criticise it due to it being a console game need to get out of their little shell and realise people don't game on PC's anymore and that they are the minority... That aside the game has a vast amount of different terrains and scenes that you can really love. The gameplay itself however is lacking at time repetitive. There is a lack of enemies and generally you face 5 types of enemies; 1 weapon, 2 weapons, sword and shield, mini boss (over size enemy) and boss. Generally there isn't a lot of variety and you don't really connect with the supporting cast. The multiplayer doesn't add much in terms of longitivtiy but I had fun playing the game. Now that I've played it through however, time to trade it in as I can't see myself picking this title up again. Expand
  27. Nov 27, 2013
    6
    the intese abuse of the secuence button smashing actions is really annoying, its hard to diggest even with that majestic graphics. The game free will abscence is absolute
  28. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    I really am enjoying this game. I am almost done with the single player campaign and have played a bunch of multiplayer. The single player campaign is very well done and fun but it is short. The main complaint seems to be the repetitive nature of the combat and it is pretty much the same throughout the whole game but that is fine since it is enjoyable. Enemies change as the gameI really am enjoying this game. I am almost done with the single player campaign and have played a bunch of multiplayer. The single player campaign is very well done and fun but it is short. The main complaint seems to be the repetitive nature of the combat and it is pretty much the same throughout the whole game but that is fine since it is enjoyable. Enemies change as the game goes on and they get more difficult but your abilities stay relatively the same. Remember to unlock the execution stuff as that adds some diversity. Increase the difficulty and it gets much much better. The game really shines in multiplayer where the number of enemies increases.

    pros:
    ----------
    Great story (albeit a little short)
    Great graphics (you can really see emotion in characters faces)
    Great voice acting
    Fun multiplayer which also can be challenging
    Dynamic multiplayer is interesting
    Very Spartacus (Tv show) feeling

    cons:
    ----------
    Too short sp campaign for a full priced title
    No variety in weapons (especially in multiplayer gladiatorial arena combat)
    Booster packs contain items (multiplayer only) which aren't all that interesting.
    Level up system (single player) is a little confusing
    Some of the alternative modes in sp (catapult stuff, human shield wall blocking arrows) lacked challenge
    Expand
  29. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    Hack n' slash has never been my style. That being said I immensely enjoyed this game. Stunning graphics, an enthralling story, and solid fighting made for an awe inspiring next-gen experience. Some may hate the simon says style sections when an execution is triggered, but the grimmaces on the faces of my victims as they were brutalized has yet to get tiring. It brought me back to the rushHack n' slash has never been my style. That being said I immensely enjoyed this game. Stunning graphics, an enthralling story, and solid fighting made for an awe inspiring next-gen experience. Some may hate the simon says style sections when an execution is triggered, but the grimmaces on the faces of my victims as they were brutalized has yet to get tiring. It brought me back to the rush I felt whilst chainsawing my first hapless locust in the original Gears of War. Plus, nailing each signal immediately to get the legendary blows kept me engaged. However, I do wish there were consequences for my frequent missed presses. Action is mugged by ridiculous semi auto crossbow segments that tear you away from the realism that is otherwise beautifully conveyed, and the campaign is too far on the short side, but the online gladiator mode with an elaborate upgrade system will keep me playing for weeks to come. A flawed, but solid experience from a launch game that I believe deserves more credit for what it's achieved. Expand
  30. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Un Titulo que trae frescura a la nueva generación y se desmarca de lo convencional ya que futbol, shooter, coches y zombies venimos servidos de la antecesora.
    El aspecto gráfico es bastante bueno en primeros planos y algo menos cuidado en pequeños detalles como los fuegos de fondo, jugabilidad aceptable aunque un poco repetitiva, el nivel de dificultad "maximo" también es un poco flojo
    Un Titulo que trae frescura a la nueva generación y se desmarca de lo convencional ya que futbol, shooter, coches y zombies venimos servidos de la antecesora.
    El aspecto gráfico es bastante bueno en primeros planos y algo menos cuidado en pequeños detalles como los fuegos de fondo, jugabilidad aceptable aunque un poco repetitiva, el nivel de dificultad "maximo" también es un poco flojo para los jugadores habituales de este género y el apartado sonoro con una calidad aceptable.
    Expand
  31. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My review of Rise: Son of Rome is that from a Retro Gamer and who values a GOOD Story Campaign... Yes the Gameplay is very very repetitive, Yes the Visual Graphics are Great to Look at on 1080 tv screen but it has very short Generic story campaign!!!

    In generally, video games are revolving around the online or mult-player game value!!! Too, why pretty soon there won't be ANYMORE Story Campaigns in a Video Game!!! And what will you GUYS DO when they STOP SUPPORTING the servers of these so called GREAT WORKS OF ART I ASK YOU??
    A LAN Party anyone kinda like the CounterStrike GOOD OLE Days... Hopefully, you'll get around that END USER AGREEMENT that you click on BEFORE YOU PLAYED THAT GAME OR I'll SEE YOU IN COURT... Lewis Galoob Toys, Inc. v. Nintendo of America, Inc. for all you Video Game History Buffs out there!!! READ UP ON THAT!!!

    Anyways, while playing Ryse: Son of Rome I notice the old familiar 6ft 2 brown hair white guy hero mold, which brought back so many memories like playing Mass Effect series, Grand Theft Auto series, UnCharted series and so many others to be so original!!! NOT...

    Getting pass that, I first felt like I was playing Shadow of Rome a PS2 Title, Spartan Total Warrior a Xbox Title both which are GREAT TITLES TO PLAY but then I started to say NO... Then, I thought about Gladiator circa 2000 & 300 circa 2007 films but NO once again... But, when the storyline shifted to Britannia then it hit me and I started to think about King Arthur movie circa 2004, WHICH IS A EXCELLENT MOVIE TO WATCH IF YOU HAVEN"T SEEN IT TO WATCH!!!

    Because, all the elements were there for the taking... I mean, the King of Britannia had a warrior daughter and they could had developed a real love story between two of them and him protecting her people against wrong doings of Rome especially after the King was wrongly killed in front of their eyes!!! And Marius could of still gotten his revenge tied into one powerfully storyline... But they just couldn't do it... Nope... I mean, Marius and Boudica could had been the parents of King Arthur in this revisionist version of the History!!!

    Like I said before: You still could had Marius going back to Rome and having him fight his way through the Arena and winning the favor of the crowd and still have him killing the Emperor and his Sons and saving Rome from itself and returning back to the People and going back to Britannia to be with Boudica and NOT CUTTING OFF HER HEAD, which he did INSTEAD!!!

    As, this was not a GREEK TRAGEDY like the GOD OF WAR SERIES or even DANTE'S INFERNO HAVING NO LOVE INTERESTS CONTAIN AT ALL IN THE STORYLINE!!! OOOO HIS PARENTS DIED AND HIS SISTER WE NEVER SAW BUT FOR HER DEAD BODY!!! AND HE WAS WRONGED ON THE BATTLEFIELD by defending YORK and I know your asking yourself this same question: When did Marius officially die to become Damocles??? Was after his father dies, was it when he got kick off the ledge in the Northern Lands or after defending York??? You tell me... You know what on second thought: I DON'T CARE!!!

    THIS Ryse: Son of Rome WAS JUST A MEDIOCRE GAME AT BEST with a LACKLUSTER STORY, that took a leisure weekend to beat; if that...
    Expand
  32. Sep 14, 2014
    7
    As with any game purchase, you should exercise common sense before purchasing. If you would like a hack and slash game with the spectacle of Call of Duty set in ancient Rome, this is a solid pick up.

    The game pretty. There's no real argument from anyone there. Some character models are not as detailed as others (see: Boudica), and many will repeat throughout the game, but nothing in
    As with any game purchase, you should exercise common sense before purchasing. If you would like a hack and slash game with the spectacle of Call of Duty set in ancient Rome, this is a solid pick up.

    The game pretty. There's no real argument from anyone there. Some character models are not as detailed as others (see: Boudica), and many will repeat throughout the game, but nothing in this game particularly offends the eyes. The spectacle of it all is impressive, and there are no noticeable framerate dips that I experienced.

    The story is your typical revenge tale. There's a neat twist that I probably should have seen coming, but none the less, it was pretty cool. The narrative is pretty well acted so long that you can appreciate the fact that none of it is really historically accurate, and the Romans speak with British accents. I'd say the overall story of the game is on par, if not a tick better, than a God of War game. Nothing mind blowing, but pretty solid popcorn entertainment.

    The gameplay isn't impressive. If you're looking for a deep combat system, you won't find it here. To be honest, it was kind of numbing, but inoffensive overall. The battles play out somewhere between a beat 'em up and a stripped down Arkham combat system, but offer enough challenge at as you progress that you don't get bored, but the story keeps flowing.

    Overall, I played this game as a sort of "palate cleanser" between The Last of Us and Destiny. It proved to be a pretty relaxed 6 hour playthrough, and though short, it was enjoyable. Definitely not a game I'd recommend dropping $60 on, but if you're looking for a decent rental or preowned game to return to Gamestop before the 7 day return period is up, you could definitely do worse.
    Expand
  33. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    From what I can tell from reviews here there are a lot of Sony or MS fanboys trying to fight their stupid side of the "console war," or PC fans who are unhappy about Crytek's focus on console starting with Crysis 2. This game is no The Last of Us, Bioshock, God of War, etc, but it's also not as bad as many claim either.
    Obvious bit first: this game is drop dead gorgeous. I really don't
    From what I can tell from reviews here there are a lot of Sony or MS fanboys trying to fight their stupid side of the "console war," or PC fans who are unhappy about Crytek's focus on console starting with Crysis 2. This game is no The Last of Us, Bioshock, God of War, etc, but it's also not as bad as many claim either.
    Obvious bit first: this game is drop dead gorgeous. I really don't think that can be overstated. The combat is not that deep, which is frustrating because it would have been nice to expand your moveset as the game progressed, but it's not endlessly mashing X to Jason either, at least not if you play on higher than recruit difficulty. The game is short at around 5-6 hours long, it's mostly a hack and slash corridor title, and the story is pretty predictable. That said it's also somewhat of an enjoyable story. Nothing mind blowing and not exactly historically accurate, but a good "dumb action flick" with Centurions, barbarians, and some impressive atmosphere and setpieces. I bought this game with the sole purpose of delighting in the visuals, and was fully expecting to be bored stiff after reading all of the reviews out there, but I was pleasantly surprised that I actually enjoyed the experience.
    If you want to show off the fancy shininess of your new console, or if you just like simple straight forward hack-n-slash this is a good title for it.
    Note: I haven't checked out the multiplayer, so I can't give an opinion on that facet.
    Expand
  34. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    I'm an ex-PS player which played Ryse for the first time.

    This game is insane. It is strongly addictive.

    The visuals are stunning, the graphics are insane.

    The story is fantastic, Combat options are very good and it is not complex.
  35. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed the game. It's not groundbreaking or anything by any means.

    It's visually stunning, the gameplay works very well, but it is repetitive. They definitely haven't tried to push boundaries on that part, but if it ain't broke don't fix it, right? All in all, a bug free enjoyable visually stunning gaming experience. PS: I do my best to avoid reading '1s' and '10s' as both
    I enjoyed the game. It's not groundbreaking or anything by any means.

    It's visually stunning, the gameplay works very well, but it is repetitive. They definitely haven't tried to push boundaries on that part, but if it ain't broke don't fix it, right?

    All in all, a bug free enjoyable visually stunning gaming experience.

    PS: I do my best to avoid reading '1s' and '10s' as both scores are utterly entirely ridiculous.
    Expand
  36. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    Ryse: son of Rome is a very fun hack and slash launch game for the Xbox one. i knew what i was getting into when i bought it. the graphics are gorgeous and the coliseum mode is very fun to play especially with a friend.. its biggest flaws are the game play which at time is very repetitive and bland but the executions are sick and their is a large variety of them. overall i thought it had aRyse: son of Rome is a very fun hack and slash launch game for the Xbox one. i knew what i was getting into when i bought it. the graphics are gorgeous and the coliseum mode is very fun to play especially with a friend.. its biggest flaws are the game play which at time is very repetitive and bland but the executions are sick and their is a large variety of them. overall i thought it had a solid story as well and is a good launch title to pick up that will keep you entertained for a couple of months. Expand
  37. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    Got this game a little late, but just finished it. The game is very enjoyable, but once you complete the story there really is not much appeal to keep playing after that. The multiplayer is very basic, and most of the time you can't even match up with someone. The story mode was a great play through. It has a good story to it, but the gameplay does get extremely repetitive. I played on theGot this game a little late, but just finished it. The game is very enjoyable, but once you complete the story there really is not much appeal to keep playing after that. The multiplayer is very basic, and most of the time you can't even match up with someone. The story mode was a great play through. It has a good story to it, but the gameplay does get extremely repetitive. I played on the second highest difficulty (the hardest difficulty is unlocked after you beat the game) and there was just no real challenge. The game takes no skill, and is just a button smash type of game. This game can also be completed in about 6 hours and that was another downfall in my opinion. Overall, for one of the first games out for the Xbox One it was an OK game. It could have been a lot better, but it is worth a play. Expand
  38. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    Gameplay is repetitive and shallow as hell, However, its somehow enjoyable because of its fantastic production value save it from being a plain bad game.
  39. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    Graphics: 8/10
    Single Player: 7/10
    Online: 2/10
    Gameplay: 6/10
    Replay value: 1/10
    Product Value: $25.00
    Cinematics: 7/10

    The game is good for one thorough play through but has no replay value or a good online to look forward to. The game is definitely not worth the $60.00, but more so a $25.00 game.
  40. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    Ryse: son of Rome is a game which gave me mixed feelings about it.I am enjoying my time with Ryse but I feel like there is something missing from the experience somewhere.the graphics are very impressive and so is the voice acting and story,but the game feels a little bit lost when it comes to what it wants to be for example there is rpg elements,shooter,and action as well.in no way isRyse: son of Rome is a game which gave me mixed feelings about it.I am enjoying my time with Ryse but I feel like there is something missing from the experience somewhere.the graphics are very impressive and so is the voice acting and story,but the game feels a little bit lost when it comes to what it wants to be for example there is rpg elements,shooter,and action as well.in no way is this game a bad experience,nor is it a blockbuster tittle either,with a little more love and improvements in the next Ryse tittle, I think this series could be great and lead to a contender for goty. Expand
  41. Mar 12, 2014
    6
    Game is way too short and should not be $60 purchase.. The graphics are some of the best on console but that doesn't justify the poor excuse of a short game.. I'm aware that this is launch game and what not, but that is still no excuse. The game feels like a demo Any video game that is short like this doesn't deserve a high score. This game also has some of the most boring gameplayGame is way too short and should not be $60 purchase.. The graphics are some of the best on console but that doesn't justify the poor excuse of a short game.. I'm aware that this is launch game and what not, but that is still no excuse. The game feels like a demo Any video game that is short like this doesn't deserve a high score. This game also has some of the most boring gameplay ever, it's fun at first but get repetitive very quickly. Expand
  42. Dec 25, 2013
    5
    Ryse has a lot of potential to be a top tier experience, but the superficial core combat and story ripped right off gladiator leaves much to be desired. I had a lot of fun in the first few hours, but the game just kept going downhill after that. It just became a chore to finish. About 75% I didnt even care what happened next, thats how downhill it went. Its disappointing, cuz ryse hasRyse has a lot of potential to be a top tier experience, but the superficial core combat and story ripped right off gladiator leaves much to be desired. I had a lot of fun in the first few hours, but the game just kept going downhill after that. It just became a chore to finish. About 75% I didnt even care what happened next, thats how downhill it went. Its disappointing, cuz ryse has a lot going for it with its setting and amazing graphics and environment. The game just becomes way too repetitive without the addiction of new moves later in the game. Expand
  43. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    The game is beautiful, involving and epic. It entertains you and this is what usually we look in a game. The gameplay is repetitive like all games hack & slash.
  44. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    Ryse certainly does look amazing, Very amazing job well done by Crytek on the graphics but how is the gameplay you may ask? Well it is okay, Fun for the first 2 hours but once you know what you're doing with attacking, chaining combos, blocking and executing enemies. It does become repetitive and tedious to play whenever you're playing story or arena mode.

    If you want to play it, Either
    Ryse certainly does look amazing, Very amazing job well done by Crytek on the graphics but how is the gameplay you may ask? Well it is okay, Fun for the first 2 hours but once you know what you're doing with attacking, chaining combos, blocking and executing enemies. It does become repetitive and tedious to play whenever you're playing story or arena mode.

    If you want to play it, Either wait for it to become cheap or borrow it from a friend. It is not worth paying full for this game
    Expand
  45. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    People need to start giving fairly realistic reviews. There are very few if any games worthy of anything less than a 3. But every game is littered with 0's, 1's and 2's.

    So, to start with the good points; Graphically appealing, which compliments well with the gory nature of the game from slitting throats to dismemberment. QTE's are very well placed, however over-used is an
    People need to start giving fairly realistic reviews. There are very few if any games worthy of anything less than a 3. But every game is littered with 0's, 1's and 2's.

    So, to start with the good points; Graphically appealing, which compliments well with the gory nature of the game from slitting throats to dismemberment.

    QTE's are very well placed, however over-used is an understatement.

    An okay time filler waiting for other game updates, or downloads if you own this as a digital copy like I do.

    Now, I will probably use up the character count in listing the bad points, so will go for the most crucial.

    Gameplay in a nutshell is; "Stab-Stab-Stab-Bash-Bash-Bash-Exectute-Counter" and repeat.

    The combat while effective and smooth flowing, it gets stale after the first two missions.

    The story, for whatever story there is, isn't at all gripping, quite frankly on Mission 3 of 8 I have no idea what is actually going on.

    Over use of QTE's on EVERY enemy execution is overkill. However the variation of the QTE's is a good addition.

    Now to me, a good game can stand on Singleplayer alone. Ryse cannot do that. So I hope that Multiplayer can redeem this however it seems unlikely.

    To give it anything less than a 4 is absurd. But giving it more than 8 is because people don't want to admit they wasted their money.

    Fairly say this game is a 6 or 7 out of 10. And I would not recommend purchasing it at full price, rather wait until it is at least half, yes half, of it's RRP. While the game has nothing to show for it's immense gameplay it does make up for with visual appeal. Showing just a small amount of Next-Gen capability. And hopefully leaving a good sign of things to come from future releases.
    Expand
  46. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    Yes graphics and combat system are ok, but the remaining isn't very good, in fact, the game does not last very much and is quite repetitive in content. I suppose that six is the correct mark for it.
  47. Dec 31, 2013
    5
    gameplay wise nothing outstanding, was ok for a few hours but did not motivate me to play it through.
    graphically quite outstanding though but for me graphic is less important than gameplay
  48. Jan 16, 2014
    5
    Beautiful but ultimately disappointing. The game looks and sounds like you're watching a movie and the motion capture and voice acting are top-notch. The slow motion battle sequences leave you with your jaw on the floor and the scenery is breathtaking. However, that's where this game stops being good. The combat and gameplay is mind-numbingly repetitive and far too easy, even on theBeautiful but ultimately disappointing. The game looks and sounds like you're watching a movie and the motion capture and voice acting are top-notch. The slow motion battle sequences leave you with your jaw on the floor and the scenery is breathtaking. However, that's where this game stops being good. The combat and gameplay is mind-numbingly repetitive and far too easy, even on the hardest difficulty setting. The linear storyline allows for virtually zero exploration. The cookie-cutter enemies consist of about 8 different models, only four of which require a different strategy than mashing the x button.

    The historical inaccuracies are what did it in for me. I can understand taking creative liberties for a game like this, but as a big fan of ancient history, I found myself being more focused on the complete disregard for historical context than the actual gameplay. Damocles was a Greek character mentioned only in Roman history one time by Cicero. King Oswald wasn't even alive until around 600 AD, centuries after the Western Roman Empire fell. Boudica never invaded Rome, and never would have done so RIDING AN ELEPHANT, AN ANIMAL SHE NEVER WOULD HAVE EVEN SEEN BEFORE. They refer to the cities in Britannia as "York" and "Dover", which would have been called Eboracum and Dubris at this time in history. Nero had no sons, only a daughter that died in childhood. I could go on, but you get the point. If you want the most beautiful hack and slash game made to date, then this is your game. If you want a repetitive game with more or less total disregard for the timeframe in which it exists, then this is also your game.
    Expand
  49. Aug 30, 2014
    7
    Beautiful graphics. Redundant gameplay. Pay for DLC. Still kind of fun. I love the Roman Era. That's why I bought this game. If they make a ryse 2, I hope they will make it less repetitive.
  50. Oct 7, 2014
    6
    Like the sorority girl you wish you hadn't started a conversation with at that party, Ryse: Son of Rome is both beautiful and utterly lacking depth or vision.

    First, the positive: Ryse: Son of Rome is the most beautiful game I've yet played in the 'Next Gen'. The architecture of Rome is presented gloriously. I spent many a minute studying a statue or intricate pattern on the marble
    Like the sorority girl you wish you hadn't started a conversation with at that party, Ryse: Son of Rome is both beautiful and utterly lacking depth or vision.

    First, the positive: Ryse: Son of Rome is the most beautiful game I've yet played in the 'Next Gen'. The architecture of Rome is presented gloriously. I spent many a minute studying a statue or intricate pattern on the marble inlay of a grand hall. The textures are incredibly high fidelity, and do not lose any of their luster when examined closely. The lighting engine is glorious, with motes of dust suspended in shafts of sunlight and sparks whipping through the air above a fire. Truly a spectacle to behold, especially in the more chaotic battle scenes, where mighty catapults fling flaming boulders into the splintering decks of triremes charging towards a shore wreathed in battle and blood.

    Unfortunately, graphical fidelity is where my praise for the title ends. There is little to be done in the game that hasn't been well trod by developers with a superior footing. The combat is a standard hack and slash/QTE execution affair, and you will have seen all of those within the first 30 minutes. The story is overly reliant on well worn tropes (be prepared to avenge the death of family members you won't remember the names of a full minute after they're butchered) and the whole affair is bogged down in the mire that is the repetitive nature of the tasks you are presented with.

    Curiously, the game chooses to use ACTUAL historical figures in the presentation of the story. I say curiously, as anyone with a passing knowledge of Roman History will find the references to Oswald, Nero, Boudica et al at odds with the time periods in which they existed and the nature of their ACTUAL character/demeanor/motivations. Hard to feel like a hero (or even an antihero) in the narrative when you have a hand in Rome's interactions with Boudica (to cite but a single example of the required cognitive dissonance to get anything from the story).

    On the whole, Ryse is a game that bears a rental, assuming you've an interested in sheer spectacle, but otherwise fails to maintain anything resembling engagement when taken as a whole. There is also a cooperative multiplayer arena mode, but I found myself so disinterested in the title 3/4's the way through, that I didn't even bother to give it a look.
    Expand
  51. Jun 18, 2014
    7
    Ryse truly wasn't anything special (except those graphics are top!) but I feel like it didn't warrant all of it's criticism it does deserve a lot of it, yet in the end I thought it was decent. I thought it had a really good story, short, but good. The gameplay, while incredible repetitive and gets stale often, can be pretty fun in bursts. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, mostly withRyse truly wasn't anything special (except those graphics are top!) but I feel like it didn't warrant all of it's criticism it does deserve a lot of it, yet in the end I thought it was decent. I thought it had a really good story, short, but good. The gameplay, while incredible repetitive and gets stale often, can be pretty fun in bursts. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, mostly with friends, but it is pretty fun, Overall Ryse was a decent experience for me (maybe inflated cause I only paid 12 bucks for it) it can be fun but not wrth full price by any means. Expand
  52. Oct 1, 2014
    7
    This is an enjoyable, whlie it lasts action game that looks beautiful graphics wise but becomes too repetitive as the game progresses. It's good for what it is: A fun action game that'll keep you entertained for about 5-6 hours. In that lies one of the biggest problems in that it's far too short. It can easily be beaten in a weekend or less if you push yourself. The game isn't that hardThis is an enjoyable, whlie it lasts action game that looks beautiful graphics wise but becomes too repetitive as the game progresses. It's good for what it is: A fun action game that'll keep you entertained for about 5-6 hours. In that lies one of the biggest problems in that it's far too short. It can easily be beaten in a weekend or less if you push yourself. The game isn't that hard either. While it's fun and the executions are a blast to see once or twice, things get far too repetitive after awhile. You see the same executions over and over and, even though you can buy new ones, they are random so you can end up seeing the same ones over and over. I enjoyed it for what it is, and I knew going into it that it was going to be short. It fulfilled my expectations for it and I enjoyed it for what it was. However, this game is nowhere near a console seller and I would definitely not recommend picking this up for more than 20 bucks. The amount of content just can't warrant anymore than that in my book. Expand
  53. Sep 29, 2014
    6
    A hollow title with nothing but looks and money behind it. The graphics are some of the best both technically and artistically, but the 8 levels do not bring much variety or imagination. The controls are solid most of the time, but sometimes might feel a little unresponsive.

    The gameplay is utter rubbish. It could be fun to try and see some of the executions but grows more than stale
    A hollow title with nothing but looks and money behind it. The graphics are some of the best both technically and artistically, but the 8 levels do not bring much variety or imagination. The controls are solid most of the time, but sometimes might feel a little unresponsive.

    The gameplay is utter rubbish. It could be fun to try and see some of the executions but grows more than stale after a few minutes. Playing the co-op multiplayer can be more fun since you have to coordinate sometimes with your partner but is shallow as hell and that doesn't help at all.

    Since the story is ok and the production values are up high, one could enjoy a playthrough, but every person, no matter what kind of gamer he/she is will find it repetitive as hell. I found it pretty shallow and the one or two extra gameplay actions do not do much to compensate. The upgrade system is **** The powerup system is also **** Also its duration is about 6 hours. You can see the half-realised ideas from the previous state of the game (Kinect-only) such as the shooting or the legion thing.

    This game is the epitomy of mediocrity. It just doesn't have enough content or ideas to fill half a game.
    Expand
  54. May 22, 2014
    6
    This game is more style then substance. The graphics and facial animations in this game are top notch. The combat starts out fun and interesting, but quickly gets repetitive within a few hours. The game starts out strong, but I found myself rushing through the later levels to get the campaign over with. Thankfully for me the story was rather short, only took about 5-6 hours to beat theThis game is more style then substance. The graphics and facial animations in this game are top notch. The combat starts out fun and interesting, but quickly gets repetitive within a few hours. The game starts out strong, but I found myself rushing through the later levels to get the campaign over with. Thankfully for me the story was rather short, only took about 5-6 hours to beat the game without looking for every collectible. I could see a sequel that fixes this games problems showing quite a bit of promise. Expand
  55. Oct 10, 2014
    5
    Ryse: Son of Rome, is a uninspiring button mashing game, that shins so bright it give me the chills. The best graphical looking game to date easily goes to Ryse however, it fails to conquer the opening scene.
    Bordon soon sets in and I felt like saying "been there done that". Characters felt cheesy and life less however it runs excellent without a bug or glitch. It may not be the best in
    Ryse: Son of Rome, is a uninspiring button mashing game, that shins so bright it give me the chills. The best graphical looking game to date easily goes to Ryse however, it fails to conquer the opening scene.
    Bordon soon sets in and I felt like saying "been there done that". Characters felt cheesy and life less however it runs excellent without a bug or glitch. It may not be the best in at batch however xboxone fans can still find a fun time here. Worth a rent.
    Expand
  56. Jan 26, 2014
    5
    Very bland game that depends on it's graphics to entertain instead of the gameplay. Played it on launch night with friends. Was bored of it in 5 minutes. A pretty standard launch title.
  57. Jun 30, 2014
    5
    Brilliant visuals and some epic moments do not make-up for its repetitive gameplay and overall presentation. As some critics have pointed out, this game feels more like a presentation of the visual capabilities of the One.
  58. May 21, 2014
    5
    Not horrible, not great and defiantly not excellent. Ryse is mildly entertaining for 3-5 hours before repetition takes its course. There just is not enough game content to merit a 60 dollar sticker price. I recommend playing Ryse at your buddies house during intermission of the hockey game and nothing more.
  59. Nov 14, 2014
    7
    This game is just beautiful to look at.It show that even if a game is not 1080p it can look amazingly good.The Story is simply amazing.The Gameplay gets repetitive but i dont mind that too much,i knew that in advance so there were no surprises for me.MP is refreshing,not the standard TDM or anything else thats in every game.i give it 7/10 mostly because i really loved the story
  60. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    I am a huge fan of Rome games, so this game was my reason to buy a Xbox one. There are positives and negatives, so I'll make this short. It is beautiful in all aspects, only once in a while are there rendering or texture problems, but not enough to stick in your brain for long. The camera is horrid, I see more butt cheeks than I can see a field of view, and God forbid you get near aI am a huge fan of Rome games, so this game was my reason to buy a Xbox one. There are positives and negatives, so I'll make this short. It is beautiful in all aspects, only once in a while are there rendering or texture problems, but not enough to stick in your brain for long. The camera is horrid, I see more butt cheeks than I can see a field of view, and God forbid you get near a corner or smaller area...you see nothing but what's in straight in front of you while you get combo'd to death by flurry of strikes. The combat style is very cool, but it does get old, it becomes a norm to get the same 5 or so executions and then turns into kinda blah with a few surprises here and there. Sometimes the controls become lagging and so things will happen late, or you'll be hit/interrupted and THEN your command goes off, normally leading to even more damage. Deff needs to be updated at least 1 more time, but all in all, it's a Rome game with awesome graphics just the play style gets old. Would recommend renting this not buying, seeing as you can beat the game in around 20-30 hours (I did on the 3rd difficulty) and the multiplayer is just a grind fest with even MORE rinse and repeat to it. Expand
  61. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played this game fully expecting it to be a let down in terms of gameplay and story. What I did not expect was that these were the two aspects of the game which I really found to be quite fun. The graphics are stunning in general and numerous times in the game, I would simply gaze at the environment and the light reflecting off of your characters armour. The gameplay, admittedly, does get rather tedious when you are playing for hours and hours on end. But when have a life outside of playing video games, you will almost certainly have a blast of a time slicing and dicing the 'barbarian' hordes for an hour at a time. The story is not at all overcomplicated or award worthy, but it will leave you satisfied and is a fun mix of 300/Saving Private Ryan/Gladiator. Multiplayer is fairly enjoyable, but it quickly becomes repetitive and simply serves as a way of showing off your fancy moves to your co-op friend.

    One review in particular, by CVG's Nick Cowen, I particularly disagreed with. At no point did this game say that it was historically accurate (as far as you can use that term in regards to ancient history) in its portrayal of the sack of Rome under Boudica (atop an elephant). The story is simply fun and it draws upon some historical events as an inspiration. If anyone should be offended by this portrayal of ancient history, then that would be me as I am studying History and Archaeology at university. If Nick took so much offense as to Crytek's portrayal of the Ancient Roman period in Ryse, would he have the same misgivings about the critically acclaimed God of War series for not following Greek mythology to the letter?
    Expand
  62. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    The graphics are very good and the game play is quite solid but it is repetitive. After playing through I did not have the urge to play though it again on the hardest difficulty. They also reused quite a bit of the same character models and it feel like there were 4 people that all looked the same. The lack of variety of character models kind of made the fighting boring and repetitiveThe graphics are very good and the game play is quite solid but it is repetitive. After playing through I did not have the urge to play though it again on the hardest difficulty. They also reused quite a bit of the same character models and it feel like there were 4 people that all looked the same. The lack of variety of character models kind of made the fighting boring and repetitive because you already know how that specific character model is going to fight. The story was ok and interesting to me. At full retail of $60 it feels quite lack luster overall, I would wait for a discount in price. Expand
  63. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    Ryse is definitely unfairly judged. It doesnt have much depth, the game is short, and the multiplayer is well... Forgettable.
    So why is it underrated? Because it is a blast. The whole game is an action packed adventure through dark jungles and crumbling cities. The story is lacking depth, but it is a fun tale with surprisingly good acting.
    It is criticized for the use of QTEs, but they
    Ryse is definitely unfairly judged. It doesnt have much depth, the game is short, and the multiplayer is well... Forgettable.
    So why is it underrated? Because it is a blast. The whole game is an action packed adventure through dark jungles and crumbling cities. The story is lacking depth, but it is a fun tale with surprisingly good acting.
    It is criticized for the use of QTEs, but they are optional, and being able to see some awesome executions is often worth it.
    Is it a must buy? No. But there are many worse ways to spend a weekend
    Expand
  64. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    This was my first "Next Gen" game and initially I was blown away by it, but after time I became numb to that and then it became very repetitive. The multi player let me play the game for a few more hours, fun but boring and unchallenging after a while.
  65. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    This game is stunningly beautiful, feels amazing, and is full of spectacle. Plus, the story is awesome. Still, the gameplay lacks depth and the game isn't worth $60 for a decent multiplayer and 6 hour campaign. Also, there are only like three or four different enemy models. It becomes very repetitive. Despite all these things, this game is will blow you away with its graphics and the wayThis game is stunningly beautiful, feels amazing, and is full of spectacle. Plus, the story is awesome. Still, the gameplay lacks depth and the game isn't worth $60 for a decent multiplayer and 6 hour campaign. Also, there are only like three or four different enemy models. It becomes very repetitive. Despite all these things, this game is will blow you away with its graphics and the way it feels, plays, and pulls you along with its story. I'd recommend it for an awesome Roman flair added to a unique version of sword gameplay that has become to feel familiar in other games. Expand
  66. Jun 22, 2014
    7
    Good game and especially good value if you can get hold of it around £30.

    Game looks visually awesome, so much detail in the environments and the in game characters, especially in the cut scenes. The game is a standard hack and slash, one button for sword, one for shield and so on. Have to use different combos against different enemies and in most cases timing is essential. I never get
    Good game and especially good value if you can get hold of it around £30.

    Game looks visually awesome, so much detail in the environments and the in game characters, especially in the cut scenes. The game is a standard hack and slash, one button for sword, one for shield and so on. Have to use different combos against different enemies and in most cases timing is essential. I never get bored of the executions. Enemies attack similar to Assassins Creed games but much more unforgiving.

    Story and setting is very fresh and well told, each level in a new environment so you are never really in the same place twice. Some nice little features in the game play which take advantage of using Roman soldiers (Like calling for a volley of arrows or advancing forward as a unit while under fire from enemy archers).

    On the other end of it, the enemies are a bit repetitive with not much variation between them (Some are obviously harder than others) shame really because it would be a bit more engrossing if there was some change between them on some of the levels. I liked the idea of using your experience to purchase new executions and other additions to your character but it leaves much more to be desired and could of been much deeper.

    The Multiplayer coop area of the game is quite fun to play but you couldn't really have the game without focusing on the Single player section. I think for those who like hack and slash the game is worth buying.
    Expand
  67. Jan 29, 2015
    7
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a VERY underrated game. Let me start of by saying that Ryse is totally undeserving of anything below a 60% score. I picked this game up a day after I got my xbox one at launch last November and I loved it. The graphics - Beautiful. The storyline - good, but could use some work. The online play is good fun to have a crack at with a friend.

    A beautiful launch game
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a VERY underrated game. Let me start of by saying that Ryse is totally undeserving of anything below a 60% score. I picked this game up a day after I got my xbox one at launch last November and I loved it. The graphics - Beautiful. The storyline - good, but could use some work. The online play is good fun to have a crack at with a friend.

    A beautiful launch game that's fun at first but gets a tad repetitive. Good game overall.
    Expand
  68. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    I really liked this game! the graphics were awesome and i had no problem with the combat system. But the game ends wayyy to fast making you wonder what your 60$ really payed for.
  69. Dec 29, 2014
    7
    A spectacle of brutality, epic battles, revenge and Rome! The story was good. The gameplay was ok. But unfortunately the entire game took about a day to beat. The repetitive gameplay for me wasn't as much of an issue because the game only lasts about 6-8 hours. The visuals are stunning... I mean STUNNING. But It's tough to part with 40-60 bucks for an 8 hour romp.
  70. Jan 21, 2015
    7
    Ryse had a good story and an epic ending. That Sh*t was crazy! (ending) but other than that it was a decent game. The fighting was very fun at first but it didn't a huge amount of finishers. If the developers made a lot more finishes to the enemy so you didn't have to see the enemy die the same way multiple times then it would've received a higher score from me.
  71. Feb 20, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan of all videogames, I try to be objective in what does or doesn't make a videogame fun to play. If you have ever played a hack-n-slash or beat-em-up game, you are already prepared for what Ryse has to offer. The gameplay is repetitive to say the least, but there isn't a game out there that doesn't devolve into repetitive button mashing of some sort. I don't understand the harsh criticism the game has garnered from both the media and the users, but you should make your own mind up about the game independent of someone else's opinion. I can guarantee you will NOT find a better looking game for the next gen systems before the end of the year and if you can honestly accept the game for what it is...an absolutely gorgeous, epically scaled yet repetitious and shallow hack-n-slash, then you'll probably get plenty of enjoyment out of the game. Expand
  72. Apr 4, 2015
    5
    Just finished the first 3 levels of the game and i have to say that i keep playing it just for the story. The gameplay is quite simple for an experienced gamer, It doesn't bring anything new with the progression but it's not bad. Maybe if they had a few puzzles in the game it would of been more addictive but overall is mediocre. It's worth it if you buy it at a discount and if you likeJust finished the first 3 levels of the game and i have to say that i keep playing it just for the story. The gameplay is quite simple for an experienced gamer, It doesn't bring anything new with the progression but it's not bad. Maybe if they had a few puzzles in the game it would of been more addictive but overall is mediocre. It's worth it if you buy it at a discount and if you like playing games for the story. Expand
  73. Apr 5, 2015
    7
    Best graphics on xbox one. Gameplay was really fun. Big let down that the combos didn't expand. Gorgeous game to play but the repetitive campaign stops this game from being great
  74. May 1, 2015
    7
    Pretty good game, visually it is amazing, the story is cool, but not long enough and the physics are good too. The multiplayer mode is fun to play with friends, but it gets boring really quickly.
  75. May 7, 2015
    7
    I really liked this game, the graphics are stunning and has a very thrilling storyline.
    The bad part of the game is that there are only a few characters you play against (less than 20), and this makes that the game play become a bit repetitive.
    But you can enjoy cutting arms and legs off from you enemies !!!
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Sep 8, 2014
    75
    Ryse is a bit of a marmite game, if you are looking for a great gaming experience that takes forever to perfect then Ryse is not for you. If you are interested in a Roman interactive movie with a solid story line then I’d say give it a shot.
  2. 40
    Beautiful but stale, boring, shallow and lacking in variation.
  3. Sep 4, 2014
    50
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a really good looking game, but at the same time incredible stupid. Thanks to the graphics and the amount of brutal combat the adventure managed to entertain, at least for a bit. If you find Ryse on sale it can be worth a closer look, but for a full price game it’s a disappointment.