Ryse: Son of Rome Xbox One

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1417 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2017
    10
    I'm first and foremost give this game a 9 but I'm definitely giving this a 10 to counter the mixed/negative reviews. This game is visually spectacular and a great introduction to next gen games, the story is the highlight of the game and the multiplayer is off the chain when playing with your friends. My ONLY flaw I have towards this is the combat system is very iffy and is indeed veryI'm first and foremost give this game a 9 but I'm definitely giving this a 10 to counter the mixed/negative reviews. This game is visually spectacular and a great introduction to next gen games, the story is the highlight of the game and the multiplayer is off the chain when playing with your friends. My ONLY flaw I have towards this is the combat system is very iffy and is indeed very repetitive. Outside of that this game is definitely a must buy and as a proud Xbox owner I'm glad to have this as an exclusive Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2017
    6
    La propuesta de Crytek con Ryse: Son of Rome es básicamente una mezcla de los elementos más recurrentes durante la pasada generación, y el resultado es el que es. Como tal es imposible decir que es una obra maestra o un imprescindible, pero no me parece un mal juego en absoluto, salvo por su historia sólo es "entretenido".

    El principal problema que le veo es lo repetitivo que es en
    La propuesta de Crytek con Ryse: Son of Rome es básicamente una mezcla de los elementos más recurrentes durante la pasada generación, y el resultado es el que es. Como tal es imposible decir que es una obra maestra o un imprescindible, pero no me parece un mal juego en absoluto, salvo por su historia sólo es "entretenido".

    El principal problema que le veo es lo repetitivo que es en cuanto a gameplay, es un quicktime event continuo y el juego te obliga a ello. Si no matas a los enemigos con quicktime events no obtienes recompensas adicionales, ni bonificaciones, ni nada. Que se te obligue tanto a utilizar una mecánica concreta es un despropósito.

    Su otro gran problema es la duración, pese a que mucho del juego se va en cinemáticas es un hecho que la mayoría de los personajes de ésta historia son interesantes. Por lo tanto creo que hay material desperdiciado ahí, no es necesario que el guion se desarrolle sólo en las cinemáticas y acá falto desarrollarlo pese a la abundancia de éstas.

    La ambientación sonora y visual es perfecta, envolvente e inmersiva. Así mismo la música del juego es increible así como su gráficos, no hay duda de que aún en 2017 es un portento, la música es muy buena y el diseño de personajes también. Es realmente una lástima que lo que pudo ser un buen juego narrativo se corte por la falta de desarrollo de personajes y la repetición hasta el cansancio de una mecánica específica. Y es una pena porque la historia que se contó pese a todo es buena.
    Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2017
    9
    Um dos benefícios de se jogar um jogo após longos anos ao seu lançamento é a oportunidade de apreciá-lo sem todo o furor das opiniões da mídia e jogadores ( HATERS E FÃS). Apreciá-lo de uma maneira única que talvez no turbilhão de noticias da época não fosse possível, sem acabar sendo influenciado.
    O jogo é fantástico. e ponto, jogando ele 4 anos depois do seu lançamento eu vejo como ele
    Um dos benefícios de se jogar um jogo após longos anos ao seu lançamento é a oportunidade de apreciá-lo sem todo o furor das opiniões da mídia e jogadores ( HATERS E FÃS). Apreciá-lo de uma maneira única que talvez no turbilhão de noticias da época não fosse possível, sem acabar sendo influenciado.
    O jogo é fantástico. e ponto, jogando ele 4 anos depois do seu lançamento eu vejo como ele foi pouco valorizado e apreciado, com um história intrigante e elementos misticos que prendem a sua atenção de uma forma única, o escopo da vingança de Mario ao meu ver na realidade serve de plano de fundo para nos apresentar um universo riquíssimo que foi criado em Ryse. Me diverto pensando nas diversas possibilidades de um continuação de quantas lendas e histórias poderiam ser aproveitadas, que foram criadas nesse jogo.
    Fiquei diversas vezes emocionado durante o jogo, com diversos momentos épicos e tensos, senti falta as vezes de algum vilão na história, ponto que foi saciado mais pro final do jogo.
    Com certeza é uma jogo que vale a pena ser jogado, e mais do que nunca torço para uma continuação
    Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2017
    7
    The story of Ryse: Son of Rome is great, but way too short. There are a number of chapters to complete, all adding up to about a 5-7 hour playthrough. There is definitely some stuff you can do after the game, there are many single player maps and modes you can do, as well a multiplayer as well. I also think the controls definitely need some work. They seem a bit slow, and could be mappedThe story of Ryse: Son of Rome is great, but way too short. There are a number of chapters to complete, all adding up to about a 5-7 hour playthrough. There is definitely some stuff you can do after the game, there are many single player maps and modes you can do, as well a multiplayer as well. I also think the controls definitely need some work. They seem a bit slow, and could be mapped differently. I think that Ryse: Son of Rome is an interesting game, with absolutely stunning graphics, but suffers from sub-par gameplay and story length. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2017
    7
    Juego injustamente comparado con la basura de The Order 1886, este juego es brillante graficamente y su jugabilidad con sus pequeños problemas no impide que lo disfrutes.Lastima que sea tan corto.
  6. Jan 4, 2017
    8
    Fantastic xbone exclusive. Best graphics of current gen. (Playing this in 2017). Awesome, fun batman arkham ripped off combat. Great story for history lovers. Short 6 to 7 hour campaign. Really enjoyable gameplay. Microsoft and crytek delivered a bobby dazzler of a game. Highly recommended.
  7. Dec 27, 2016
    10
    o jogo é muito bom , combates épicos , sistema de violência do jogo e combos muito bons , multplayer agradavel , graficamente o mais lindo da geração atual, o ruim é que é pequeno , quero Ryse 2
  8. Dec 21, 2016
    10
    This is a great Xbox One game, definitely doesn't deserve all the 0's the sony fanboys are giving it. Its better than all ps4 exclusives, and you can't play this game on PS4.
  9. Dec 15, 2016
    7
    This is a good game, but just good. It's very linear and sometimes repetitive. Not to mention it's sort of short. But it's not too short and it's got an interesting story. Also for a launch title Xbox One game, it's got some decent graphics. I wouldn't highly recommend this game if you see it for 30-higher bucks, but it's worth getting for maybe $20 or lower.
  10. Oct 11, 2016
    8
    Graphics are fantastic. The gameplay is as repetitive as most third person games. Nothing special or terrible about the hack and slash aspect of the gameplay. The game may not have been worth $60 when it was a launch title but now it is totally worth it to pay $30 for all the game and all DLC it is a great value.
  11. Sep 20, 2016
    6
    This game wasn't horrible, just painfully average. The only thing that makes this game not get a five or below is the beautiful graphics which still look fantastic and compare to games today, the great animations and a fun multiplayer mode that can give a few hours worth of entertainment. I also got the complete edition for about $10, so if I had paid more for this I would have probablyThis game wasn't horrible, just painfully average. The only thing that makes this game not get a five or below is the beautiful graphics which still look fantastic and compare to games today, the great animations and a fun multiplayer mode that can give a few hours worth of entertainment. I also got the complete edition for about $10, so if I had paid more for this I would have probably lowered the score, but considering how cheep it is now it isn't a bad game if you're looking for something mindless to play for a few hours, especially if you're tight on money and have a friend with you. Expand
  12. Sep 15, 2016
    7
    I'll try to be as fast and simple as possible... Ryse is a cool, awesome looking hack-n-slash game, but it has several issues that end up kinda ruining your in-game experience a little, the game is very for for the first 3 to 4 hours, but after that the game gets VERY repetitive, same enemies, same executions, same combat and etc, you can unlock various different of hits and executions,I'll try to be as fast and simple as possible... Ryse is a cool, awesome looking hack-n-slash game, but it has several issues that end up kinda ruining your in-game experience a little, the game is very for for the first 3 to 4 hours, but after that the game gets VERY repetitive, same enemies, same executions, same combat and etc, you can unlock various different of hits and executions, but, at the end, in the fight, Mario only uses the same 3-4 all the time. Another thing that bothered me was the lore change close to the end, at the beginning of the game, the lore follows a kinda realistic (not exact though) to actual story feeling, but when you get closer to the end (very short game btw), he starts seeing a goddess in near death situations, and the final fight has a lot of engines, changing coliseum with a lot of engines and machines not present at that era (not on the first hours of the game too), it just lost all the realistic, roman fighter style, to a fantasy **** and that's the main reason i gave a lower score than i would normally rate it... I don't recommend buying it waiting for a very awesome game, but, if it's very very cheap, it's not a very bad choice too... Expand
  13. Sep 12, 2016
    2
    Beautiful graphics. And that's it. This game is a QTE simulator, and that is it. Historical accuracy is tossed out the window in favor of the most basic combat system which ends with a QTE which, when completed, will play an animation of you killing the enemy. However, if you don't press the button you are supposed to, about 3-5 seconds later, it still plays the animation of you defeatingBeautiful graphics. And that's it. This game is a QTE simulator, and that is it. Historical accuracy is tossed out the window in favor of the most basic combat system which ends with a QTE which, when completed, will play an animation of you killing the enemy. However, if you don't press the button you are supposed to, about 3-5 seconds later, it still plays the animation of you defeating the enemy. The story is the most basic vengeance plot, and it's littered with plot holes. I hope no one buys this game nowadays. You should avoid it. Expand
  14. Sep 5, 2016
    7
    Ryse is certainly by far one of the most beautiful games of this generation, more is not all that makes this game actually your chart is your greatest quality. With an absurd plot and huge potential is wasted in a short gameplay, irritating, showing a shallow plot, uninteresting characters a very weak end.
  15. Sep 4, 2016
    9
    I bought this game after almost 3 years after release. And from video, box art I think it must be another God of War clon. When I start to play I understand - it is not the clon, but some musi-pusi cry baby game. Well, it was all wrong. Game almost perfect. I can't say why I like it - but every chapter was good and all game don give me time to sleep. It is not God of War, it is good gameI bought this game after almost 3 years after release. And from video, box art I think it must be another God of War clon. When I start to play I understand - it is not the clon, but some musi-pusi cry baby game. Well, it was all wrong. Game almost perfect. I can't say why I like it - but every chapter was good and all game don give me time to sleep. It is not God of War, it is good game about Rome, cut the hand, and kill the "bad" guy. I'd recommend this game to all player: do not see on score, game is very good. Expand
  16. Aug 16, 2016
    6
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a third-person action-adventure hack and slash video game developed by Crytek.

    + Great Graphics
    + Death Executions
    - Feel Repetitive
    - Same Enemy Types
    - Boring Multiplayer
  17. Aug 9, 2016
    8
    It is a good hack and slash with very good graphics and a decent plot borrowing elements from movies like the gladiator, the Spartacus series and also, it has some minor mythological component. Negative points: it doesn't have a great variety of enemies, you fight humans 99% of the time, and they don't have too many skins either (-1.0). It also lacks in elements people usually like inIt is a good hack and slash with very good graphics and a decent plot borrowing elements from movies like the gladiator, the Spartacus series and also, it has some minor mythological component. Negative points: it doesn't have a great variety of enemies, you fight humans 99% of the time, and they don't have too many skins either (-1.0). It also lacks in elements people usually like in games like this, like puzzles and sometimes a little more opportunity for exploration (-0.5). It should offer more in terms of action cutscenes and boss action (-0.5). I disagree about it being too repetitive or short. The campaign took me 8:30 h which is ok for a hack and slash. Expand
  18. Aug 3, 2016
    9
    FANTASTIC.

    Full disclosure : I'm a Roman History Scholar, so maybe my result is a bit biased, but. This is to date, THE most ACCURATE and VISCERAL game putting a gameplayer into feeling EXACTLY what it was like to be a soldier or centurion in the Roman Empire late in the Empire. I'm MOST impressed with the graphics, and also some of the historical accuracy. Not so much with
    FANTASTIC.

    Full disclosure : I'm a Roman History Scholar, so maybe my result is a bit biased, but.

    This is to date, THE most ACCURATE and VISCERAL game putting a gameplayer into feeling EXACTLY what it was like to be a soldier or centurion in the Roman Empire late in the Empire.

    I'm MOST impressed with the graphics, and also some of the historical accuracy. Not so much with relation to Commodus (yeah, he was a nucking futcase, but so were so many other emperors, but for some reason he gets the "bad guy" label every time), but with relation to Bodicea (Boodica), and her role in the uprising in Brittania, which proved to be such a thorn in the Roman sides late in their empire.

    Also the portrayal of the "Goths" (in the "North land") was suitably terrifying, and really went a long way to putting you in the mindset of an average Roman Soldier at the time - you knew you were fighting with the world's most technologically advanced and tactically superior armies in the world, and yet, in this place in the North, you encountered warriors who were so fierce and terrifying that it basically undermined all your training and everything you knew about fighting.

    Ok, so the Combat mechanics (a lot of people have already said this) was a bit simple, and a bit boring...

    BUT.. I don't mind.. Because the STORY, the ACTING, is of such a high caliber that it really doesn't matter. YES, this does become a "Slash and Dash" game as a result.

    So is it as engaging as another game like "Mirror's Edge", or "Mass Effect"?

    No, it's not. But let's be honest, even THOSE games, the only reason they're "More complex" is because there's more controller buttons involved before an action happens.

    Is this game "Slash and Dash"? Definitely.

    Does it matter?

    Not in the SLIGHTEST.

    It's an INCREDIBLY detailed and accurate portrayal of the late Roman empire, with EXCEPTIONAL performances and scriptwriting, with a bit of slashing and dashing here and there..

    Nine out of ten. on XBONE.
    Expand
  19. Jul 14, 2016
    7
    El sistema de combate es muy simplón, apenas tres movimientos, pero fuera de eso es un juego bastante decente. Falla mucho el tema de lanzar virotes, pero fuera de eso el juego cumple de sobra.
  20. Jun 29, 2016
    7
    Graficos excelentes, historia muy buena,modo de juego bueno, pero carece de un buen multijugador. terminas la historia y entras al multijugador y despiues de un rato es aburrido.
  21. May 11, 2016
    0
    Pensa num jogo ruim.. é esse jogo. Horrível! Perdi 10min da minha vida e se fosse mídia física teria quebrado o disco de tanta decepção. Gráficos lindos, mas jogabilidade horrível e história batida(Roma). Quem nasceu para ser Ryse: Son of Rome jamais será God of War.
  22. Apr 27, 2016
    6
    Antes de nada quiero dejar claro que el juego a mi me gusta y mucho pero si tengo que ser critico y objetivo con Ryse tengo que bajarle la nota más de lo que me gustaría. La puesta en escena del juego es sobresaliente, con unos graficos de escandalo y si, ya que está a 720p. Ninguna pega en este apartado. Pero jugablemente es donde el juego cojea, un sistema de combates al estilo hack andAntes de nada quiero dejar claro que el juego a mi me gusta y mucho pero si tengo que ser critico y objetivo con Ryse tengo que bajarle la nota más de lo que me gustaría. La puesta en escena del juego es sobresaliente, con unos graficos de escandalo y si, ya que está a 720p. Ninguna pega en este apartado. Pero jugablemente es donde el juego cojea, un sistema de combates al estilo hack and slash de lo más simple, con una mecanica de combos muy repetitiva, te cansaras de ver las escenas de ejecucion que tan chulas se ven al principio.
    El multijugador es muy divertido, dentro de lo que cabia esperar del titulo. El problema es que a dia de hoy estaras 10 minutos buscando una partida si es que la encuentras.
    Un juego que si te gustan los romanos y tienes una xbox no puedes dejar escapar. Eso si, lo recomiendo hacer a un precio asequible.
    Expand
  23. Apr 14, 2016
    6
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a third-person action-adventure hack and slash video game developed by Crytek

    + Great Graphics
    + Rome
    + Death Executions
    - Feel Repetitive
    - Same Enemy Types
    - Boring Multiplayer
  24. Apr 14, 2016
    8
    Very underrated game. Combat is pretty solid and the story is actually quite enganging. Graphics aren't as mindblowing as people say, but they're very good nonetheless. I don't want to call media bias, but if this game gets lower scores than Knack and Order 1886, something is very wrong here.
    Not worth full price, but you can get the game very cheap now, and you should!
  25. Apr 12, 2016
    2
    Cuando anunciaron xbox one y ps4 comence a optar por un ps4,solo dudaba por ryse y por titanfall, como titanfall saldria en xbox 360 la decision estaba tomada, compraria un ps4. Cuando pude compre tambien un xbox one y corri por mi copia de ryse... lucia bien en mi nueva consola y entonces... los subtitulos!!! hare mucho enfasis en este apartado pues los subtitulos son diminutos, casiCuando anunciaron xbox one y ps4 comence a optar por un ps4,solo dudaba por ryse y por titanfall, como titanfall saldria en xbox 360 la decision estaba tomada, compraria un ps4. Cuando pude compre tambien un xbox one y corri por mi copia de ryse... lucia bien en mi nueva consola y entonces... los subtitulos!!! hare mucho enfasis en este apartado pues los subtitulos son diminutos, casi invisibles;decidi ignorarlos y con dificultad logre entender los tutoriales y empezo la accion, luego abri el menu y de nuevo las letras pequeñas... jugaba 20 minutos y me dolian los ojos. graficamente es bueno pero los efectos de luz son muy agresivos, la lus se refleja en todo! en la armadura, en la espada, en la sangre, en el marmol y todo termina en tonos de los por todos lados que terminan cansando al ojo. La jugabilidad es una vil y mal copia de los combos de god of war, la historia no es de un galardon... y si, lo vuelvo a decir, esas letras diminutas me hartaron al grado de sacar el disco de la consola, guardarlo en su caja y venderlo para nunca volver a verlo. No lo recomiendo, no se pierden de nada si no lo juegan Expand
  26. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    In the first place is a very good game, but what strikes me from this game is so good graphics which have, looks really great, is as if suddenly you sintieses you part of the story, and there are going to another party that most caught my attention from this game, history you really have a very good story, but to avoid spoilers I will not say swimming, just: play it yourself
  27. Apr 7, 2016
    5
    This is not bad. Yes, it is shallow, it is short, and not very memorable, but at the end of the day, I had a descent time with it. To my surprise, the game play is not completely deprived of strategy; I found for example, the ability to channel experience points and assign them to specific perks in real-time quite clever. When it comes to the QTE, few knows that it is possible to actuallyThis is not bad. Yes, it is shallow, it is short, and not very memorable, but at the end of the day, I had a descent time with it. To my surprise, the game play is not completely deprived of strategy; I found for example, the ability to channel experience points and assign them to specific perks in real-time quite clever. When it comes to the QTE, few knows that it is possible to actually observe the direction of the incoming attack and anticipate the button you are supposed to push. The audio-visual presentation is good and the package is polished. I do not regret my time with this game. Expand
  28. Mar 12, 2016
    8
    Just completed my first playthrough of Ryse in 2016 and I loved it. By no means are the gameplay mechanics masterful, because they are repetitive and QTE focused. The same can be said for the linear levels. Despite its flaws, this is a great game that captures the spirit of Rome and has a great story and great acting.
  29. Feb 22, 2016
    10
    It's the quality of the central action in Ryse that I keep coming back to. Everything else would be fancy window dressing if Crytek hadn't nailed the basic gameplay elements, the simple moving and slashing, as precisely as it did. Ryse: Son of Rome feels like a game designed from the very ground up to be fun to play, so I guess it's no surprise that as soon as the credits finished rolling,It's the quality of the central action in Ryse that I keep coming back to. Everything else would be fancy window dressing if Crytek hadn't nailed the basic gameplay elements, the simple moving and slashing, as precisely as it did. Ryse: Son of Rome feels like a game designed from the very ground up to be fun to play, so I guess it's no surprise that as soon as the credits finished rolling, I started up the fantastic multiplayer. Expand
  30. Feb 18, 2016
    7
    This is getting a 7 because it's a beautiful game. Visually, you will be in awe. If you love all things Roman, then you have to play this for the gravitas as a Roman fanboy. Sadly, the storyline falls apart about 50% through the timeline. It truly goes off the rails and gets silly as hell. The combat system seems complex at first - you quickly realize its about half of what it could be.This is getting a 7 because it's a beautiful game. Visually, you will be in awe. If you love all things Roman, then you have to play this for the gravitas as a Roman fanboy. Sadly, the storyline falls apart about 50% through the timeline. It truly goes off the rails and gets silly as hell. The combat system seems complex at first - you quickly realize its about half of what it could be. The multiplayer can be fun if you have a friend to play with but its entirely lackluster with the console's current lineup. This game could be so much better than it is. Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    Superb story and character development. Really good fight scenes, i spaced it out over 7 days because i knew the campaign was short. Happy that i didn't spend 60 dollars on it new and waited to get. Highly recommend.
  32. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    The history is very good, the plot twists are awesome and the gameplay is fantastic (ok, the hand-hand combats are a little bit repetitive, but still very good)
  33. Oct 26, 2015
    9
    I beat this on the first difficulty.And I got a achievement then I started a new campaign on the next difficulty when I was snap and playing I beat it and never got that second achievement.
  34. Sep 17, 2015
    10
    El referente grafico de la generacion, unos paisajes preciositas y un modo historia a la altura. Cuenta con un multijugador muy adictivo que con amigos te hara pasar un muy buen rato
  35. Sep 15, 2015
    6
    The Graphic is really good but there is huge lack of the gameplay and parts of story. the gameplay simply gets boring after a while and upgrade system is not good enough.
  36. Aug 5, 2015
    8
    Bit late in the life span of this game for this but I only just got an xbone so why not.
    Ryse is nothing ground breaking, the graphics are pretty and the voice acting is top notch and the gameplay is rather repetitive as time goes on and the story is actually quite strong, playing on the Roman mythology which is something that you don't see a lot in games.
    But the reason for my high
    Bit late in the life span of this game for this but I only just got an xbone so why not.
    Ryse is nothing ground breaking, the graphics are pretty and the voice acting is top notch and the gameplay is rather repetitive as time goes on and the story is actually quite strong, playing on the Roman mythology which is something that you don't see a lot in games.
    But the reason for my high score is because it is just so damn fun, like Shadow of Mordor, you can just watch all day as you slice up your foes wave after wave (I'm not a psychopath I swear) the executions may be glorified quick time events but I don't care, it looks cool and it feels cool, I would rather have symbolic involvement in a killing blow than none at all, plus that bit at the end made me giddy as hell.
    All in all a fun game that is addictive but don't expect GOTY material.
    8.4/10
    Expand
  37. Jul 31, 2015
    9
    This is a brutal and addictive game which is a positive for me. Great graphics and a very interesting game play .This game is all about combat and blood with a roman named Marius. The finishers are are almost perfect and the combat is fun. The only flaw is the length which is not sort but not to long either. It left me wanting more because the story was remarkable!
  38. Jul 31, 2015
    4
    Ryse features nice graphics however very weak game-play ruins overall experience. This is a corridor game with very limited excitement on the way. Way too easy and quite disappointing at the end. My 4 points go toward the art direction and graphics.
  39. Jun 27, 2015
    10
    This game may be more like a 8, as it's not perfect, but it's still incredibly fun and interesting to play.
    Rate it as 5.9 is really crazy as it actually feels one of the best games in the genre.
    Ok, the fighting system has not so many buttons to press but still there's a couple of things you need/enjoy to always keep practicing with executions. The story is also interesting btw. I give
    This game may be more like a 8, as it's not perfect, but it's still incredibly fun and interesting to play.
    Rate it as 5.9 is really crazy as it actually feels one of the best games in the genre.
    Ok, the fighting system has not so many buttons to press but still there's a couple of things you need/enjoy to always keep practicing with executions. The story is also interesting btw.
    I give the 10, as there are too many low ratings, which doesnt make sense to me. And I was reluctant to buy this game because of the low ratings, and the truth is it is fun, so just buy it, particularly now that you can find the reduced price version.
    Expand
  40. Jun 20, 2015
    8
    When this game first came out the reviews were all red and that's why I did not buy it. But honestly, it is and amazing game and I could not get enough of the executions! I also had the #1 World Record for the highest combo (1600+).
  41. May 17, 2015
    9
    I don't get the bad reviews. I was hesitant about getting the game but got it on sale for $20 and it was well worth it! If you like hack and slash the combat does not get repetitive as reviews say. The visuals are great, the audio is great, the voice acting is pretty good. Good variety of maps, weapons, execution/character upgrades, story, and characters.

    Multi-player leveling up is fun
    I don't get the bad reviews. I was hesitant about getting the game but got it on sale for $20 and it was well worth it! If you like hack and slash the combat does not get repetitive as reviews say. The visuals are great, the audio is great, the voice acting is pretty good. Good variety of maps, weapons, execution/character upgrades, story, and characters.

    Multi-player leveling up is fun well. Your character starts naked and you have to buy him armor by winning in the arena. Its fun. It may not have the replayability of Battlefield 4 but its still fun if you got 3-5 days of boredom to kill.
    Expand
  42. May 14, 2015
    8
    I can reasonably understand the low critic and user ratings, as the game was indeed linear and repetitive, but I'm giving Ryse an 8/10 for a few reasons. For one, I LOVE button-crunchy games like Ryse, with awesome combat and an even cooler execution system, so if you like these kinds of games, Ryse is a must-play. Also, Ryse showed off superb graphics, some of the best graphics I'd everI can reasonably understand the low critic and user ratings, as the game was indeed linear and repetitive, but I'm giving Ryse an 8/10 for a few reasons. For one, I LOVE button-crunchy games like Ryse, with awesome combat and an even cooler execution system, so if you like these kinds of games, Ryse is a must-play. Also, Ryse showed off superb graphics, some of the best graphics I'd ever seen, proving that the Xbox One is very capable of running graphics intensive games, especially at a smooth frame-rate. And finally, I enjoyed Ryse because of the fact that it was almost entirely focused on single player as it delivered a superb story, and a fun linear campaign. Ever since the success of games like Minecraft, Skyrim, and the recent Grand Theft Auto games, open-world games have almost become the norm, as the gaming industry is being flooded with them, and not all of them are good. Ryse is a nice break from all that, and it shows games don't NEED to be open-world to be good. Expand
  43. May 12, 2015
    10
    Also i want to add dont listen stupid people who give 0 score. Probably they are fan boys and they have never play Ryse. One of the best games i have ever play. Best visuals great story fun gameplay. A must play
  44. May 7, 2015
    7
    I really liked this game, the graphics are stunning and has a very thrilling storyline.
    The bad part of the game is that there are only a few characters you play against (less than 20), and this makes that the game play become a bit repetitive.
    But you can enjoy cutting arms and legs off from you enemies !!!
  45. May 1, 2015
    7
    Pretty good game, visually it is amazing, the story is cool, but not long enough and the physics are good too. The multiplayer mode is fun to play with friends, but it gets boring really quickly.
  46. Apr 5, 2015
    7
    Best graphics on xbox one. Gameplay was really fun. Big let down that the combos didn't expand. Gorgeous game to play but the repetitive campaign stops this game from being great
  47. Apr 4, 2015
    5
    Just finished the first 3 levels of the game and i have to say that i keep playing it just for the story. The gameplay is quite simple for an experienced gamer, It doesn't bring anything new with the progression but it's not bad. Maybe if they had a few puzzles in the game it would of been more addictive but overall is mediocre. It's worth it if you buy it at a discount and if you likeJust finished the first 3 levels of the game and i have to say that i keep playing it just for the story. The gameplay is quite simple for an experienced gamer, It doesn't bring anything new with the progression but it's not bad. Maybe if they had a few puzzles in the game it would of been more addictive but overall is mediocre. It's worth it if you buy it at a discount and if you like playing games for the story. Expand
  48. Mar 31, 2015
    8
    I think entertaining is the right word for this game. A bit simple in game-play but great graphics, a nice scenery and the brutal executions make it so entertaining.
    My only down-point is that the single-player campaign is a bit short. I played it on hard and could finish it in 1 day if i wanted to.
    The on-line campaigns are a nice addition tho. its a bit a shame you can only play with
    I think entertaining is the right word for this game. A bit simple in game-play but great graphics, a nice scenery and the brutal executions make it so entertaining.
    My only down-point is that the single-player campaign is a bit short. I played it on hard and could finish it in 1 day if i wanted to.
    The on-line campaigns are a nice addition tho. its a bit a shame you can only play with one extra person because most of the time you end up with an idiot. but it isn't a big problem.
    Overall i loved this game. its not to hard but you will keep playing until you find out you almost finished the game.
    Expand
  49. Mar 18, 2015
    9
    This is just a Xbox one launch game and its taken the ps4 until 2015 to match its graphic fidelity.. that's an amazing feat in itself.. this game while short was and still is very enjoyable. I played on legendary and it game me a enjoyable and difficult experience.. Its amazing the quality of exclusives the Xbox one has in comparison to the competing console. Thus game is diff worth a playThis is just a Xbox one launch game and its taken the ps4 until 2015 to match its graphic fidelity.. that's an amazing feat in itself.. this game while short was and still is very enjoyable. I played on legendary and it game me a enjoyable and difficult experience.. Its amazing the quality of exclusives the Xbox one has in comparison to the competing console. Thus game is diff worth a play through.. its a beautiful experience only had on Xbox one. Expand
  50. Feb 27, 2015
    8
    Amazing Launch Title that is an absolute Visual Orgasm for any Console. The story is amazing and the controls are spot on. The only problem is how repetitive the combat can get but that is par for the game type and should not be a knock on the game itself because it pulls combat off flawlessly.

    If there were possibly be more animations and finishing moves it might make it slightly
    Amazing Launch Title that is an absolute Visual Orgasm for any Console. The story is amazing and the controls are spot on. The only problem is how repetitive the combat can get but that is par for the game type and should not be a knock on the game itself because it pulls combat off flawlessly.

    If there were possibly be more animations and finishing moves it might make it slightly better but still a solid launch title.

    The Season Pass was well worth it playing online was a nice pace of change and helped me get better at playing the game and the timing nuances to get Perfect Combos.

    I wish the Campaign had been Co-Op and more Animations and Executions would have given this game a more balanced feel.

    The saddest thing was the fact that even with the games shortcomings I loved it and was waiting for the sequel that now unfortunately will never happen due to Crytek and all the companies inner turmoils.
    Expand
  51. Feb 20, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan of all videogames, I try to be objective in what does or doesn't make a videogame fun to play. If you have ever played a hack-n-slash or beat-em-up game, you are already prepared for what Ryse has to offer. The gameplay is repetitive to say the least, but there isn't a game out there that doesn't devolve into repetitive button mashing of some sort. I don't understand the harsh criticism the game has garnered from both the media and the users, but you should make your own mind up about the game independent of someone else's opinion. I can guarantee you will NOT find a better looking game for the next gen systems before the end of the year and if you can honestly accept the game for what it is...an absolutely gorgeous, epically scaled yet repetitious and shallow hack-n-slash, then you'll probably get plenty of enjoyment out of the game. Expand
  52. Feb 17, 2015
    1
    Short, dull, unispiring, repititive gameplay and on the top of that , cliche revenge story which is even more boring.The only outstanding thing about this game is the graphics which looks just incredible even on xbox one's inferior hardware (note: I also bought this on Steam for benchmarking purposes). 1/10 overall score for me
  53. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    Fun hack n slash with a great story. Gameplay is great, combo system is a ton of fun. The mix of hack n slash, fort defense and army strategy sections give the game more variety then people would like to admit.

    This is a hack n slash, beat em up / brawler style game set during ancient Rome. Think of it as a video game homage to Russel Crowe's Gladiator film. Colosseum sections are
    Fun hack n slash with a great story. Gameplay is great, combo system is a ton of fun. The mix of hack n slash, fort defense and army strategy sections give the game more variety then people would like to admit.

    This is a hack n slash, beat em up / brawler style game set during ancient Rome. Think of it as a video game homage to Russel Crowe's Gladiator film.

    Colosseum sections are great, boss battles are fantastic. This partly received hate for not being anywhere near as grindy as Dark Souls.

    This game didn't deserve the early criticism, arguably fueled by early next gen anger....
    Expand
  54. Jan 29, 2015
    7
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a VERY underrated game. Let me start of by saying that Ryse is totally undeserving of anything below a 60% score. I picked this game up a day after I got my xbox one at launch last November and I loved it. The graphics - Beautiful. The storyline - good, but could use some work. The online play is good fun to have a crack at with a friend.

    A beautiful launch game
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a VERY underrated game. Let me start of by saying that Ryse is totally undeserving of anything below a 60% score. I picked this game up a day after I got my xbox one at launch last November and I loved it. The graphics - Beautiful. The storyline - good, but could use some work. The online play is good fun to have a crack at with a friend.

    A beautiful launch game that's fun at first but gets a tad repetitive. Good game overall.
    Expand
  55. Jan 21, 2015
    7
    Ryse had a good story and an epic ending. That Sh*t was crazy! (ending) but other than that it was a decent game. The fighting was very fun at first but it didn't a huge amount of finishers. If the developers made a lot more finishes to the enemy so you didn't have to see the enemy die the same way multiple times then it would've received a higher score from me.
  56. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    Ryse: Son of Rome is an awesome game. The gameplay may be repetitive, but the story is one of the best I have played in a long time. The multiplayer is also quite addictive to say the least.
  57. Dec 29, 2014
    7
    A spectacle of brutality, epic battles, revenge and Rome! The story was good. The gameplay was ok. But unfortunately the entire game took about a day to beat. The repetitive gameplay for me wasn't as much of an issue because the game only lasts about 6-8 hours. The visuals are stunning... I mean STUNNING. But It's tough to part with 40-60 bucks for an 8 hour romp.
  58. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    Love the game!! Haters gonna hate!! But the game is solid, its different then anything I have played. You must play it on harder modes to understand the depth of the gameplay.
  59. Dec 18, 2014
    4
    This on-rails hack and slasher is fun for 30 minutes but gets repetitive and boring real fast! It has amazing graphics and performance by the main character but who cares if the story and characters are all but non-existent? It's short (about 5-6 hours) but you'll get bored a lot quicker then that!
  60. Nov 29, 2014
    3
    Horrible. This game is Golden Ax Beast Hunter (xbox 360) with a story line. Graphics are next gen quality, but the repetitive/ uninspiring combat drags this game down...way down. The RPG system feels completley useless. if you are after achievement points, and can get the game for 10 bucks go for it.
  61. Nov 14, 2014
    7
    This game is just beautiful to look at.It show that even if a game is not 1080p it can look amazingly good.The Story is simply amazing.The Gameplay gets repetitive but i dont mind that too much,i knew that in advance so there were no surprises for me.MP is refreshing,not the standard TDM or anything else thats in every game.i give it 7/10 mostly because i really loved the story
  62. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    I really liked this game! the graphics were awesome and i had no problem with the combat system. But the game ends wayyy to fast making you wonder what your 60$ really payed for.
  63. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    A very very GOOD game. A great game which can now be picked up for very little. Was created as and XBOX1 launch title, yet a year later still nobody has pushed the boundaries further (graphically).

    To be honest I would probably give this a 7-8 as the game does get repetitive I suppose, but if a game is enjoyable, what's so bad about it being repetitive? I am giving it a 10/10 to try
    A very very GOOD game. A great game which can now be picked up for very little. Was created as and XBOX1 launch title, yet a year later still nobody has pushed the boundaries further (graphically).

    To be honest I would probably give this a 7-8 as the game does get repetitive I suppose, but if a game is enjoyable, what's so bad about it being repetitive?

    I am giving it a 10/10 to try and outway some of the idiots giving it 1/10.

    Would recommend to anyone who likes a good hack'n'slash.
    Expand
  64. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    I don't get all these bad reviews, Ryse is The Best next gen game so far, more fun than God of War: Ascension and more movie like then Beyond Two Souls.
  65. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    Ryse is fast, fun, and beautiful. It's an exceptional feat given it was a launch title from a third party developer. It absolutely deserves your attention and is a fantastic game. The sound and art design are unmatched. The story is elements also draw you in. The game deserves higher scores and stronger sales.
  66. Oct 10, 2014
    5
    Ryse: Son of Rome, is a uninspiring button mashing game, that shins so bright it give me the chills. The best graphical looking game to date easily goes to Ryse however, it fails to conquer the opening scene.
    Bordon soon sets in and I felt like saying "been there done that". Characters felt cheesy and life less however it runs excellent without a bug or glitch. It may not be the best in
    Ryse: Son of Rome, is a uninspiring button mashing game, that shins so bright it give me the chills. The best graphical looking game to date easily goes to Ryse however, it fails to conquer the opening scene.
    Bordon soon sets in and I felt like saying "been there done that". Characters felt cheesy and life less however it runs excellent without a bug or glitch. It may not be the best in at batch however xboxone fans can still find a fun time here. Worth a rent.
    Expand
  67. Oct 7, 2014
    6
    Like the sorority girl you wish you hadn't started a conversation with at that party, Ryse: Son of Rome is both beautiful and utterly lacking depth or vision.

    First, the positive: Ryse: Son of Rome is the most beautiful game I've yet played in the 'Next Gen'. The architecture of Rome is presented gloriously. I spent many a minute studying a statue or intricate pattern on the marble
    Like the sorority girl you wish you hadn't started a conversation with at that party, Ryse: Son of Rome is both beautiful and utterly lacking depth or vision.

    First, the positive: Ryse: Son of Rome is the most beautiful game I've yet played in the 'Next Gen'. The architecture of Rome is presented gloriously. I spent many a minute studying a statue or intricate pattern on the marble inlay of a grand hall. The textures are incredibly high fidelity, and do not lose any of their luster when examined closely. The lighting engine is glorious, with motes of dust suspended in shafts of sunlight and sparks whipping through the air above a fire. Truly a spectacle to behold, especially in the more chaotic battle scenes, where mighty catapults fling flaming boulders into the splintering decks of triremes charging towards a shore wreathed in battle and blood.

    Unfortunately, graphical fidelity is where my praise for the title ends. There is little to be done in the game that hasn't been well trod by developers with a superior footing. The combat is a standard hack and slash/QTE execution affair, and you will have seen all of those within the first 30 minutes. The story is overly reliant on well worn tropes (be prepared to avenge the death of family members you won't remember the names of a full minute after they're butchered) and the whole affair is bogged down in the mire that is the repetitive nature of the tasks you are presented with.

    Curiously, the game chooses to use ACTUAL historical figures in the presentation of the story. I say curiously, as anyone with a passing knowledge of Roman History will find the references to Oswald, Nero, Boudica et al at odds with the time periods in which they existed and the nature of their ACTUAL character/demeanor/motivations. Hard to feel like a hero (or even an antihero) in the narrative when you have a hand in Rome's interactions with Boudica (to cite but a single example of the required cognitive dissonance to get anything from the story).

    On the whole, Ryse is a game that bears a rental, assuming you've an interested in sheer spectacle, but otherwise fails to maintain anything resembling engagement when taken as a whole. There is also a cooperative multiplayer arena mode, but I found myself so disinterested in the title 3/4's the way through, that I didn't even bother to give it a look.
    Expand
  68. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    People have been extremely unfair with this game. Maybe it is not the best game ever, but it is good enough & the graphics & the atmosphere are outstanding
  69. Oct 1, 2014
    7
    This is an enjoyable, whlie it lasts action game that looks beautiful graphics wise but becomes too repetitive as the game progresses. It's good for what it is: A fun action game that'll keep you entertained for about 5-6 hours. In that lies one of the biggest problems in that it's far too short. It can easily be beaten in a weekend or less if you push yourself. The game isn't that hardThis is an enjoyable, whlie it lasts action game that looks beautiful graphics wise but becomes too repetitive as the game progresses. It's good for what it is: A fun action game that'll keep you entertained for about 5-6 hours. In that lies one of the biggest problems in that it's far too short. It can easily be beaten in a weekend or less if you push yourself. The game isn't that hard either. While it's fun and the executions are a blast to see once or twice, things get far too repetitive after awhile. You see the same executions over and over and, even though you can buy new ones, they are random so you can end up seeing the same ones over and over. I enjoyed it for what it is, and I knew going into it that it was going to be short. It fulfilled my expectations for it and I enjoyed it for what it was. However, this game is nowhere near a console seller and I would definitely not recommend picking this up for more than 20 bucks. The amount of content just can't warrant anymore than that in my book. Expand
  70. Sep 29, 2014
    6
    A hollow title with nothing but looks and money behind it. The graphics are some of the best both technically and artistically, but the 8 levels do not bring much variety or imagination. The controls are solid most of the time, but sometimes might feel a little unresponsive.

    The gameplay is utter rubbish. It could be fun to try and see some of the executions but grows more than stale
    A hollow title with nothing but looks and money behind it. The graphics are some of the best both technically and artistically, but the 8 levels do not bring much variety or imagination. The controls are solid most of the time, but sometimes might feel a little unresponsive.

    The gameplay is utter rubbish. It could be fun to try and see some of the executions but grows more than stale after a few minutes. Playing the co-op multiplayer can be more fun since you have to coordinate sometimes with your partner but is shallow as hell and that doesn't help at all.

    Since the story is ok and the production values are up high, one could enjoy a playthrough, but every person, no matter what kind of gamer he/she is will find it repetitive as hell. I found it pretty shallow and the one or two extra gameplay actions do not do much to compensate. The upgrade system is **** The powerup system is also **** Also its duration is about 6 hours. You can see the half-realised ideas from the previous state of the game (Kinect-only) such as the shooting or the legion thing.

    This game is the epitomy of mediocrity. It just doesn't have enough content or ideas to fill half a game.
    Expand
  71. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Good and intresting story. Fun gameplay (God Of War alike) and about the quicktime event, you dont have to do them, I rather beat them to death. Multiplayer that last for hours adn hours! Great graphics and animation. I want a Ryse 2!!
  72. Sep 21, 2014
    2
    2/10 because it is not worth the price tag. This game should be free to Xbox One owners, or at the very most cost $10, because you will not get anymore than 5 hours into this game without being bored. It looks fantastic, the acting is great, but it is so repetitive you lose interest within 5 hours.
  73. Sep 19, 2014
    3
    This game is not worth buying. While visually stunning that appears all they were going for. User controls are VERY slow in responding and the moves you can do for a "kill" seem random. On "Legendary" level it just gets ridiculous. You get killed by 3 hits in full armor, yet you have to hit a Barbarian wearing nothing but cloth 10 times at least to kill him. And the views in battle areThis game is not worth buying. While visually stunning that appears all they were going for. User controls are VERY slow in responding and the moves you can do for a "kill" seem random. On "Legendary" level it just gets ridiculous. You get killed by 3 hits in full armor, yet you have to hit a Barbarian wearing nothing but cloth 10 times at least to kill him. And the views in battle are terrible. The screen shifts and all of a sudden an enemy shows up to kill you that you didn't even know was there. There is no open roaming and the direction you have to go is usually unclear. They say it took 7 years to make this game?? WTF? They should have just made it a CGF movie instead. Don't waste your time. Expand
  74. Sep 14, 2014
    7
    As with any game purchase, you should exercise common sense before purchasing. If you would like a hack and slash game with the spectacle of Call of Duty set in ancient Rome, this is a solid pick up.

    The game pretty. There's no real argument from anyone there. Some character models are not as detailed as others (see: Boudica), and many will repeat throughout the game, but nothing in
    As with any game purchase, you should exercise common sense before purchasing. If you would like a hack and slash game with the spectacle of Call of Duty set in ancient Rome, this is a solid pick up.

    The game pretty. There's no real argument from anyone there. Some character models are not as detailed as others (see: Boudica), and many will repeat throughout the game, but nothing in this game particularly offends the eyes. The spectacle of it all is impressive, and there are no noticeable framerate dips that I experienced.

    The story is your typical revenge tale. There's a neat twist that I probably should have seen coming, but none the less, it was pretty cool. The narrative is pretty well acted so long that you can appreciate the fact that none of it is really historically accurate, and the Romans speak with British accents. I'd say the overall story of the game is on par, if not a tick better, than a God of War game. Nothing mind blowing, but pretty solid popcorn entertainment.

    The gameplay isn't impressive. If you're looking for a deep combat system, you won't find it here. To be honest, it was kind of numbing, but inoffensive overall. The battles play out somewhere between a beat 'em up and a stripped down Arkham combat system, but offer enough challenge at as you progress that you don't get bored, but the story keeps flowing.

    Overall, I played this game as a sort of "palate cleanser" between The Last of Us and Destiny. It proved to be a pretty relaxed 6 hour playthrough, and though short, it was enjoyable. Definitely not a game I'd recommend dropping $60 on, but if you're looking for a decent rental or preowned game to return to Gamestop before the 7 day return period is up, you could definitely do worse.
    Expand
  75. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    This game is highly and unfairly underrated. I don't know if it was the hate for the Xbox One that spread over and caused some people to be harsh on Ryse, but whatever it was all I know is that Ryse is a lot better than some of the reviews would lead you to believe.

    I should say that I don't actually own an Xbox One, but I was able to play through the game on weekends at a friend's
    This game is highly and unfairly underrated. I don't know if it was the hate for the Xbox One that spread over and caused some people to be harsh on Ryse, but whatever it was all I know is that Ryse is a lot better than some of the reviews would lead you to believe.

    I should say that I don't actually own an Xbox One, but I was able to play through the game on weekends at a friend's house. I don't think the game actually deserves a 10, but there are far too many fanboys giving it scores like '1', which is just absolutely ridiculous.

    I'm not going to say the combat is amazing because it is not very deep and somewhat repetitive, but it does look very cool and can be pretty satisfying and fun. Gameplay in general is decently good, not amazing.

    Story-wise I found this game to be great. The narrative kept me interested the whole way through. It feels like a high budget movie in many ways.

    The sound is excellent and the graphics are jaw dropping. Pretty much unrivaled by any other console game.

    All in all I would give this game an 8. All of its attributes combine into a pretty enjoyable whole.
    Expand
  76. Sep 4, 2014
    8
    It's a nice game. A good story mode, a good arena mode. Sadly, the game kinda gets a bit too flooded with the DLC Money and stuff, still, it's a fun game here and there.
  77. Aug 30, 2014
    7
    Beautiful graphics. Redundant gameplay. Pay for DLC. Still kind of fun. I love the Roman Era. That's why I bought this game. If they make a ryse 2, I hope they will make it less repetitive.
  78. Aug 3, 2014
    0
    There is no reasonable explanation to the senseless carnage, that was made out to the Roman history, common sense, realism sense of proportion in this game. Looks like, that game director was a mad emperor Nero himself, after 10 years of unstoppable orgy.

    All in this game is horrible and senseless, except graphics and soundtrack. This product is a major disappointment and a vary bad
    There is no reasonable explanation to the senseless carnage, that was made out to the Roman history, common sense, realism sense of proportion in this game. Looks like, that game director was a mad emperor Nero himself, after 10 years of unstoppable orgy.

    All in this game is horrible and senseless, except graphics and soundtrack. This product is a major disappointment and a vary bad example of "historical" game for poor children, that would be thinking about Roman history in terms of Ryse: Son of Rome presentation.
    Expand
  79. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    The game is beautiful, involving and epic. It entertains you and this is what usually we look in a game. The gameplay is repetitive like all games hack & slash.
  80. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Great game, the only mediocre thing is fighting mechanics - it's a bit repetitive and boss fights are annoying because of that. But everything else is really good, sometimes stunning visuals and amazing story will hold your attention until the end credits. Game is not perfectly polished and sometimes runs not so smoothly as it should be. Final of the game is awesome, reminds me ofGreat game, the only mediocre thing is fighting mechanics - it's a bit repetitive and boss fights are annoying because of that. But everything else is really good, sometimes stunning visuals and amazing story will hold your attention until the end credits. Game is not perfectly polished and sometimes runs not so smoothly as it should be. Final of the game is awesome, reminds me of Oldboy)))) Overall, Son of Rome is superb X1 exclusive and very very strong start up title. Expand
  81. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    I must say this game gets an unfair amount of bad reviews. To be short, the one flaw with this game is the shallow combat system.

    Best on legendary difficulty.
    Awesome graphics. Fun combat system to master. Epic storyline.

    Incredible story of revenge that follows our hero through his campaigns across britania all the way back to the corrupt streets of rome.
  82. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    Let me start out this review by saying this: Ryse Son of Rome is the best looking game I have ever seen. Crytek is known for having amazing graphics with their engine known as CryEngine, but this game takes it to the next level entirely. But do the phenomenal graphics and spectacle make this a great, awesome game? The answer: more or less. In my eyes, Ryse wasn't made to have true next-genLet me start out this review by saying this: Ryse Son of Rome is the best looking game I have ever seen. Crytek is known for having amazing graphics with their engine known as CryEngine, but this game takes it to the next level entirely. But do the phenomenal graphics and spectacle make this a great, awesome game? The answer: more or less. In my eyes, Ryse wasn't made to have true next-gen gameplay or design. It was made to blow you away with the graphics, and show how powerful the Xbox One is. That being said, Crytek didn't try extremely hard on the gameplay. Ryse's combat is a basic hack and slash formula. It keeps you entertained...starting out, that is. As you move on in the campaign, you start to realize that you are going through the same motions over and over again. What makes it worse is that the combat doesn't go on to have depth, which basically means the 2nd level is about the same as the last level. However, it does have a fun aspect to it. There are upgrades, and while they help you slightly, they aren't that big of a deal. The multiplayer of this game was more than great, though. It isn't exactly competitive. I would compare it to the cooperative modes in Halo, like Firefight (excluding gameplay of course). The combat does differ slightly in multiplayer, too. I most likely won't play the multiplayer for till the end of the year, but it will keep me entertained for a few months. Ryse never blew me away with the combat or story. What did blow me away, though, was the constant amazement out of the graphics and the extremely fun multiplayer. Expand
  83. Jun 30, 2014
    5
    Brilliant visuals and some epic moments do not make-up for its repetitive gameplay and overall presentation. As some critics have pointed out, this game feels more like a presentation of the visual capabilities of the One.
  84. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    Stunning graphics just an amazing game have had a lot of fun with this game and giving it a score that it definitely deserves can be a bit repetitive at times but overall a solid game.
  85. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    When I bought Ryse I expected to be blown away with the stunning graphics and epic game play. But all I was left with was a game that looked like a 360 game and a story that gets boring very quickly.The graphics is not that amazing like everyone claims it is this game has the graphics of an Xbox 360 game and that is a big disappointment
  86. Jun 22, 2014
    7
    Good game and especially good value if you can get hold of it around £30.

    Game looks visually awesome, so much detail in the environments and the in game characters, especially in the cut scenes. The game is a standard hack and slash, one button for sword, one for shield and so on. Have to use different combos against different enemies and in most cases timing is essential. I never get
    Good game and especially good value if you can get hold of it around £30.

    Game looks visually awesome, so much detail in the environments and the in game characters, especially in the cut scenes. The game is a standard hack and slash, one button for sword, one for shield and so on. Have to use different combos against different enemies and in most cases timing is essential. I never get bored of the executions. Enemies attack similar to Assassins Creed games but much more unforgiving.

    Story and setting is very fresh and well told, each level in a new environment so you are never really in the same place twice. Some nice little features in the game play which take advantage of using Roman soldiers (Like calling for a volley of arrows or advancing forward as a unit while under fire from enemy archers).

    On the other end of it, the enemies are a bit repetitive with not much variation between them (Some are obviously harder than others) shame really because it would be a bit more engrossing if there was some change between them on some of the levels. I liked the idea of using your experience to purchase new executions and other additions to your character but it leaves much more to be desired and could of been much deeper.

    The Multiplayer coop area of the game is quite fun to play but you couldn't really have the game without focusing on the Single player section. I think for those who like hack and slash the game is worth buying.
    Expand
  87. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Spectacular visuals are the only reason many will buy this game but once they play it will be so much more if you have a xbox one this game is a must buy. This is by far the best xbox one game i have played thus far.
  88. Jun 18, 2014
    7
    Ryse truly wasn't anything special (except those graphics are top!) but I feel like it didn't warrant all of it's criticism it does deserve a lot of it, yet in the end I thought it was decent. I thought it had a really good story, short, but good. The gameplay, while incredible repetitive and gets stale often, can be pretty fun in bursts. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, mostly withRyse truly wasn't anything special (except those graphics are top!) but I feel like it didn't warrant all of it's criticism it does deserve a lot of it, yet in the end I thought it was decent. I thought it had a really good story, short, but good. The gameplay, while incredible repetitive and gets stale often, can be pretty fun in bursts. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, mostly with friends, but it is pretty fun, Overall Ryse was a decent experience for me (maybe inflated cause I only paid 12 bucks for it) it can be fun but not wrth full price by any means. Expand
  89. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    This game is stunningly beautiful, feels amazing, and is full of spectacle. Plus, the story is awesome. Still, the gameplay lacks depth and the game isn't worth $60 for a decent multiplayer and 6 hour campaign. Also, there are only like three or four different enemy models. It becomes very repetitive. Despite all these things, this game is will blow you away with its graphics and the wayThis game is stunningly beautiful, feels amazing, and is full of spectacle. Plus, the story is awesome. Still, the gameplay lacks depth and the game isn't worth $60 for a decent multiplayer and 6 hour campaign. Also, there are only like three or four different enemy models. It becomes very repetitive. Despite all these things, this game is will blow you away with its graphics and the way it feels, plays, and pulls you along with its story. I'd recommend it for an awesome Roman flair added to a unique version of sword gameplay that has become to feel familiar in other games. Expand
  90. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    The more I play Ryse: Son of Rome, the more I loathe its stupidity, its love of gory violence like it's something cool, and stupid map layouts. "Kill the barbarians" seems to be the only mission.
  91. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    It's a wonderful game! Beautiful battles, amazing graphics and very good cinematics...The only negative is the controls which is in the game's gameplay so it isn't Microsoft's mistake...
  92. Jun 7, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ryse is a visually stunning game that really turns up the graphics benchmark with the use of CryEngine. The game play mechanics tend to be enjoyable for a short period of time and the story line takes on a twist that I wasn't fully expecting.

    Games made with the CryEngine do not need a review explaining that the graphics are good, this is to be expected with CryEngine so we'll continue with the original advertisement of this game.

    When I first heard about Ryse I watched a trailer that showed someone playing the game with the Kinect and they were fighting. Swinging their arms like they had a sword, raising their arm like they had a shield, kicking the enemy away from them and finally hurling their sword. This was an excellent promotion that caught my attention. I thought to myself "Finally, someone is going to use the Kinect the way it needs to be used!"
    I was sadly disappointed to find the only Kinect features this game actually has in it are with voice commands which are rather useless.

    With the Kinect features out of the question this game should be able to deliver spectacular fights and it almost seemed as if the developers had done so when you go through a kill animation and have to press certain buttons and see the spectacular method of killing your enemy.
    Although, after a few times of doing so you quickly realize that it's the same thing over and over. Killing an enemy without one of these sequences feels meaningless and killing them with one of those sequences becomes too repetitive.

    Then they add a feature where you can press a button and everything around you slows down and you can start owning everyone around you. This feature seems neat as well but after a few uses you once again discover it's rinse and repeat all over again.

    The story line to the game is almost good. The best part of the story line is when you discover you're Damocles. The way the game builds up the story behind Damocles makes it feel as if this warrior is so awesome that his presence would be enough to kill your enemy. Then you discover that you are Damocles in the manner that you were brought back for vengeance and at first it feels as if your character will be transformed somehow, maybe faster, or stronger with new kill animations or anew weapon.
    But this is not true. The only new thing that happens is your character places a mask over his face a few times.

    After the campaign is over you're left with the arena which doesn't have very many options and isn't all that difficult to complete. Every game I've ever played that involved an arena or Colosseum have never gotten it wrong, until now. The developers did add several things to the arena that I haven't seen in previous games but these objects are generally not needed to win and therefore don't necessarily add to the game play.

    Overall. Ryse is nothing close to what was shown in the early trailers. The graphics are very good which is expected from the CryEngine. Game play mechanics are too repetitive. The use of the Kinect is useless and should have been excluded entirely. The story line takes a very interesting twist and doesn't build on the character afterwards. The arena has things inside it that I haven't seen before giving the arena potential for unique combat, but ultimately isn't needed and isn't very challenging.
    Expand
  93. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    This game is rated unbelievably inaccurately by people who are paid off by other companies to make other games look better. Ryse: Son of Rome is THE Masterpiece of 2013, and ushers in the next generation of games that we all want so much.
  94. Jun 4, 2014
    4
    Its repetitive. Its repetitive. Graphics are good. Graphics are good. Atmosphere is great. Atmosphere is great. Combat is fun for two hours.Combat is fun for two hours. 60 bucks it too much. 60 bucks is too much.
    Very good rent. Very good rent.
  95. Jun 2, 2014
    4
    Fantastic graphics engine but feel more like a E3 Reveal game and that's what it is. The storyline is ok at times but really does not deliver the promise of an in-depth gaming experience. I really wanted to like this game, I really did. But I just couldn't...
  96. May 25, 2014
    10
    First, the time period is fantastic along with the story line. Absolutely brilliant. The mechanics of the game are so flawless that you forget you are holding a controller. I know there are a lot of complaints of "repetitive" game play but the minute nuances in combat are one of the strongest parts of the game. I would surmise that those who are complaining have yet to make any progress inFirst, the time period is fantastic along with the story line. Absolutely brilliant. The mechanics of the game are so flawless that you forget you are holding a controller. I know there are a lot of complaints of "repetitive" game play but the minute nuances in combat are one of the strongest parts of the game. I would surmise that those who are complaining have yet to make any progress in the arena because all your button mashing will do you no good there. Overall, this game was a fantastic experience and one that I come back to often to try my luck in the arenas. Expand
  97. May 22, 2014
    6
    This game is more style then substance. The graphics and facial animations in this game are top notch. The combat starts out fun and interesting, but quickly gets repetitive within a few hours. The game starts out strong, but I found myself rushing through the later levels to get the campaign over with. Thankfully for me the story was rather short, only took about 5-6 hours to beat theThis game is more style then substance. The graphics and facial animations in this game are top notch. The combat starts out fun and interesting, but quickly gets repetitive within a few hours. The game starts out strong, but I found myself rushing through the later levels to get the campaign over with. Thankfully for me the story was rather short, only took about 5-6 hours to beat the game without looking for every collectible. I could see a sequel that fixes this games problems showing quite a bit of promise. Expand
  98. May 21, 2014
    5
    Not horrible, not great and defiantly not excellent. Ryse is mildly entertaining for 3-5 hours before repetition takes its course. There just is not enough game content to merit a 60 dollar sticker price. I recommend playing Ryse at your buddies house during intermission of the hockey game and nothing more.
  99. May 15, 2014
    9
    The games short but super fun and and brutal. Not sure why all the reviewers are being so harsh. The game currently has more playtime than any of my other single player games do.
  100. May 13, 2014
    9
    Graphics do not make a game great but Ryse son of Rome was just a beautiful game to play. The campaign was an enjoyable story to follow and not to difficult to play and was a nice change of pace from the typical first person shooter i usually play. Personally i loved the so called "Multiplayer" as well which is really just a co-op mode where you get to slaughter hordes of barbarians. MyGraphics do not make a game great but Ryse son of Rome was just a beautiful game to play. The campaign was an enjoyable story to follow and not to difficult to play and was a nice change of pace from the typical first person shooter i usually play. Personally i loved the so called "Multiplayer" as well which is really just a co-op mode where you get to slaughter hordes of barbarians. My only bad point about this game is that the game doesn't have a lot to do. I really enjoyed this game and i played it until i unlocked all achievements defiantly recommend to anyone who is tired of buying games with little to no single player mode and the graphics are just something else! Expand
  101. Nov 22, 2013
    1
    A very very bad game. The graphics are certainly good but the gameplay is incredibly repetitive, tedious and simplistic. Playing Ryze; son of rome feels like a chore twenty minutes in.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Sep 8, 2014
    75
    Ryse is a bit of a marmite game, if you are looking for a great gaming experience that takes forever to perfect then Ryse is not for you. If you are interested in a Roman interactive movie with a solid story line then I’d say give it a shot.
  2. 40
    Beautiful but stale, boring, shallow and lacking in variation.
  3. Sep 4, 2014
    50
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a really good looking game, but at the same time incredible stupid. Thanks to the graphics and the amount of brutal combat the adventure managed to entertain, at least for a bit. If you find Ryse on sale it can be worth a closer look, but for a full price game it’s a disappointment.