Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 978 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divine intervention. He joins the Roman army in Britannia and quickly rises through the ranks to become a General. As his war against the barbarians escalates, his quest unravels: to find his vengeance, he has to return to Rome. As Marius, you’ll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a good action game with an interesting cooperative multiplayer and solid next-gen graphics. The lack of variety of its combat system is Ryse's bigger issue, but if you like action games this could be a nice first step into your next-gen experience.
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    70
    Even though the visuals are astonishing and very 2014-proof, the gameplay is as old as Rome itself. There are not a lot of surprises there, but Ryse: Son of Rome still is a very nice launch title for Xbox One. We really like the story.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    It's a gorgeous, dark and bloody tableau. But all that visual beauty and dramatic gravitas goes to waste with an aimless plot and a monotonous combat system. Ryse has all the guts of next-gen — often quite literally — but none of the glory.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    The perfect launch game, doing nothing new, arguably less so than current gen games but adequately showing off the new hardware - think of it as a tech demo with quick time event executions and you will not be disappointed.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    I almost feel like Ryse wants to be the Xbox One’s Gears of War – a new intellectual property by a studio known for visually stunning games, and a title that can perhaps kick off a franchise. But Ryse is too shallow, too simple and too familiar to be anything more than a fleeting bit of fun.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    30
    A shallow and unambitious tech demo, of the sort that console launches specialise in. The action works perfectly well but it’s instantly repetitive to the point of inanity.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 277
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I bought Forza 5 and dead rising 3 on launch day, I was hoping gamefly would ship me Ryse, it was not available so i ended up picking up Ryse over the weekend at Gamestop. WOW, glad I did that, one of the best looking games i have ever played. I have a high powered PC too, never played anything like this on my PC. The face animations are top notch. If you like games like Assassin's Creed and the Batman Arkham series you will enjoy the game play with Ryse. It can get repetitive, but you get different moves as the game progresses. Ignore the sony fanboys who have no lives and are giving this game zeros. I have played both systems and the Xbox one is the best by far. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    A Proper Review.

    I highly disagree with many of the reviews on here. I think most people are just Crytek haters or PS4 fanboys who are are
    bitter that they don't have decent launch titles with something unique. This game is simply beautiful and a game-changer. I definitely think this will be a visual benchmark for many futures games to come. Every aspect was crafted with the utmost detail in mind. The sound is exquisite and although short, it should be treated as a movie rather than a game. Consider this is a launch title and strict deadlines are always in place. New hardware, and new mechanics need to be mapped. You don't come out with the best possible creation you can possibly make right out of the gate. That just doesn't happen and should not be expected. For what it is and when it was released. It is a masterpiece. As far as other games in this genre, this one takes the cake in almost all aspects.

    Gameplay: all comes down to the user. If you find it repetitive, it is simply down to the fact you are not creative enough to make your own fun and change it up. Go play a Nintendo game if all you care about is gameplay. I had a blast trying to run up my combo, and finding creative ways to land kills; getting my timing just right. The executions were impeccable, and movements almost seemed borderline lifelike.

    Graphics: This speaks for itself. I don't think I need to beat around talking about this. People should really consider this in their scores. Rome comes to life.

    Environment: Linear, but with all the visuals to keep you immersed. My jaw dropped when I entered the arena and I had a rush of excitement. They pulled off this atmosphere perfectly.

    Story: Very movie-like. Entertainment value for me held up throughout the entire game. I was gripped almost the entire time. There aren't many games in this genre (good games) and I'm pretty tired of all the Greek Myth, etc. So going Roman and having an ode to Spartacus got it just right for me. Marius isn't a super hero, but just another character. I appreciated this.

    Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 8
    Story: 9
    Overall Experience: 9 Just wish it was longer.

    I'll be perfectly honest. I had a blast with this game and I truly think it's worth a play through. It's something you have to say you've at least experienced. So I have trouble understanding all these other reviews. Did they actually play it or are they just taking snippets from mediocre reviews? Let's be real. This is unlike anything you've played on any previous generations. Anyway great work and can't wait to see more.
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    It's a good game but like others have said its repetitive. The mechanics of the game and the graphics are quality but you just get bored too quickly. I still say it's worth getting at this early stage of the xbox ones cycle. the critic's score would suggest its a really bad game which it isn't, it just doesn't get anywhere near its potential. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    I really don't know why all the "professional" reviewers are being so harsh on this game. I just completed it and had a blast doing so. First of all gorgeous, GORGEOUS game. I mean really breathtaking. One of the best if not THE best looking game I have seen. Sound-wise is great too, voice acting is very natural, music is epic and appropriately atmospheric. Story is not the greatest I've seen but it's not bad either. It's there to keep you moving forward and give you purpose and it does it's job. Combat system can be a bit repetitive but not more-so than in any other game from this genre and it's very meaty and "powerfull". You can feel the impact and momentum behind your strikes and executions (of which there are LOTS but you need to unlock them as you level up) make you feel like a real badass. Don't make the mistake I made where after leveling up I was only improving my attributes at the beginning only to find out much later on that you can unlock new executions as well:).
    The game is quite easy so if you want a challenge go for a higher difficulty straight away. It's also not very long (not too short either mind you just slightly below average I'd say) so upping the difficulty will squeeze some more time out of this title. There is multi-player but it's nothing too memorable. You'll play for a couple of hours (a couple more if you have a good buddy with you) and you'll be done with it. It's certainly not a game that will make you come back and play for hours on end.
    You have to consider if paying full price for a game you finish in 8-10 (maybe up to 15 if you find multi-player enjoyable) hours is something you can afford. If yes then you will probably have good time with it (I certainly did), but if not you can easily wait for a bargain later on. I bet in 6 months time this will still look just as good and for half the price this already good game should be even better:)
    Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2014
    7
    The amount of zeros and ones this game has garnered is undeserving. Ryse may not be the best game ever, but it's certainly fun, entertaining and artistic enough to earn a 6.5 or 7.

    I'll start with it's flaws - it's gameplay can be repetitive, linear, and not very engaging. At its worst, Ryse is too easy or too hard for all the wrong reasons. You basically learn your character's entire skill/move set within an hour of playing the game and can't really customize Marius' action mechanics for new combos or new attacks. Every fight ultimately becomes a different variation of block-roll-attack-"focus" until marius is able to quicktime someone to death. Furthermore, even though the landscape and game environment is beautiful, it really isn't interactive at all. There are times when the player might ask himself whether the sequence he just participated in might not have been better off as a cutscene. Essentially, the bottom line is that Ryse has gameplay that can be overly directed and repetitive.

    However, that doesn't mean the game isn't fun. Even though it was repetitive, ripping apart barbarians was both challenging and fun. Just because you're given the same basic set of moves doesn't mean enemies and fights aren't difficult or interesting. Whereas sometimes the game only asks you to press a button or two, many of the boss battles and fight sequences require the player to quickly react to a series of actions. It was like playing assassin's creed or arkham city except it was actually possible to lose if you didn't keep your actions and blocks precise.

    Plus (as everyone has already highlighted) it's a gaming cinematic masterpiece. The graphics and voice acting are superb - even if the story is a little cheesy.
    Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2014
    0
    Merda delle merde putridume del putridume................................................................................................................ Expand

See all 277 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.