Ryse: Son of Rome Xbox One

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divineRyse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divine intervention. He joins the Roman army in Britannia and quickly rises through the ranks to become a General. As his war against the barbarians escalates, his quest unravels: to find his vengeance, he has to return to Rome. As Marius, you’ll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  2. May 11, 2014
    73
    Ryse is visually stunning, but the combat system lacks finesse and gets kinda repetitive. [Feb 2014]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Ryse: Son of Rome tells its story well. It has amazingly enjoyable and ruthlessly violent combat, which pairs incredibly well with the stellar graphics quality. Sadly, the experience is over all too quickly, and you'll be left wondering where the rest of your game is.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    It's a gorgeous, dark and bloody tableau. But all that visual beauty and dramatic gravitas goes to waste with an aimless plot and a monotonous combat system. Ryse has all the guts of next-gen — often quite literally — but none of the glory.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    The perfect launch game, doing nothing new, arguably less so than current gen games but adequately showing off the new hardware - think of it as a tech demo with quick time event executions and you will not be disappointed.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    I almost feel like Ryse wants to be the Xbox One’s Gears of War – a new intellectual property by a studio known for visually stunning games, and a title that can perhaps kick off a franchise. But Ryse is too shallow, too simple and too familiar to be anything more than a fleeting bit of fun.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    30
    A shallow and unambitious tech demo, of the sort that console launches specialise in. The action works perfectly well but it’s instantly repetitive to the point of inanity.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 349
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project forVery strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Collapse
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Coming into the Xbox One and seeing some of the disappointing reviews, I was expecting to see a lackluster hack and slash style game. But aComing into the Xbox One and seeing some of the disappointing reviews, I was expecting to see a lackluster hack and slash style game. But a month later, I can't get enough. I would have to say that it was my #1 launch title for the Xbox.

    The single player starts out a little slow but starts to really pick up, and that's when you start to see the real intricacies of the fighting. On your second playthrough (which I recommend) you start to get a challenge with the Legendary difficulty. Take it to online and do the multiplayer and you start to see a variety in the gameplay. With the first DLC out and a few more maps cycling through the multiplayer arenas, it feels like a fresh experience again. Love this game and can't wait for future DLC
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    This might be one of my favorite games to play! It was the first game that I popped in to play when I got my xbox one. The graphics lookThis might be one of my favorite games to play! It was the first game that I popped in to play when I got my xbox one. The graphics look spectacular! The storyline is great. The graphic kills my favorite part! I would have given it a higher score but the campaign is short.. but after the first three hours of the game you know exactly what to do and I like that! With more DLC to come for this game I look forward to the future hopefully a difficulty spike cuz I get thru hack and slash games rather quickly. But if you want quick out of the box fun pick up Ryse Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    This is a great game however the game play's pretty repetitive, takes only 5 hours to beat, and there's basically no replay value. TheThis is a great game however the game play's pretty repetitive, takes only 5 hours to beat, and there's basically no replay value. The graphics are amazing though (shows the potential of next gen consoles graphics) and I loved the slow motion "300" kills. The story was pretty sic and the ending hallway part was completely bad ass! Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    It's very similar to old school games like Final Fight or Streets of Rage. You travel around having group fights with enemies that use setIt's very similar to old school games like Final Fight or Streets of Rage. You travel around having group fights with enemies that use set patterns of attack. Every now and then you meet a boss character who requires special tactics like Mike Tyson's Super Punch Out. The combat is responsive and rewards skill and timing. Plus it's well acted and looks gorgeous. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2014
    7
    This game is just beautiful to look at.It show that even if a game is not 1080p it can look amazingly good.The Story is simply amazing.TheThis game is just beautiful to look at.It show that even if a game is not 1080p it can look amazingly good.The Story is simply amazing.The Gameplay gets repetitive but i dont mind that too much,i knew that in advance so there were no surprises for me.MP is refreshing,not the standard TDM or anything else thats in every game.i give it 7/10 mostly because i really loved the story Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2014
    0
    Merda delle merde putridume delMerda delle merde putridume del putridume................................................................................................................ Expand

See all 349 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.