Ryse: Son of Rome Xbox One

Ryse: Son of Rome Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divineRyse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divine intervention. He joins the Roman army in Britannia and quickly rises through the ranks to become a General. As his war against the barbarians escalates, his quest unravels: to find his vengeance, he has to return to Rome. As Marius, you’ll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    73
    Ryse is visually stunning, but the combat system lacks finesse and gets kinda repetitive. [Feb 2014]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Ryse: Son of Rome tells its story well. It has amazingly enjoyable and ruthlessly violent combat, which pairs incredibly well with the stellar graphics quality. Sadly, the experience is over all too quickly, and you'll be left wondering where the rest of your game is.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    It's a gorgeous, dark and bloody tableau. But all that visual beauty and dramatic gravitas goes to waste with an aimless plot and a monotonous combat system. Ryse has all the guts of next-gen — often quite literally — but none of the glory.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    The perfect launch game, doing nothing new, arguably less so than current gen games but adequately showing off the new hardware - think of it as a tech demo with quick time event executions and you will not be disappointed.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    I almost feel like Ryse wants to be the Xbox One’s Gears of War – a new intellectual property by a studio known for visually stunning games, and a title that can perhaps kick off a franchise. But Ryse is too shallow, too simple and too familiar to be anything more than a fleeting bit of fun.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    30
    A shallow and unambitious tech demo, of the sort that console launches specialise in. The action works perfectly well but it’s instantly repetitive to the point of inanity.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 365
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project forVery strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    People have been extremely unfair with this game. Maybe it is not the best game ever, but it is good enough & the graphics & the atmospherePeople have been extremely unfair with this game. Maybe it is not the best game ever, but it is good enough & the graphics & the atmosphere are outstanding Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    The reviews for this game... I don't get it. The graphics, the graphics for such a little box. The Xbox One is the little engine that COULD.The reviews for this game... I don't get it. The graphics, the graphics for such a little box. The Xbox One is the little engine that COULD. My lord, I was enamored when I first fired up my Xbox Won and witnessed splendid visuals that immersed me into the world of Ryse. The beautifully rendered shield, the foliage, the waterfalls, it was too much. I wept a little, because for months and months, people said to me how I got the worst system that's overpriced, that's too gimmicky, that's "bad". I couldn't take it, it built me up, I had thick skin from the endless battles I faced online in various forums. Now today, I feel like victory came my way with Ryse. I watched for hours as I dismembered enemies in stunning HD blood spilling realistically across the battlefield. It was a sight to behold. Later that night, I beat the game and was finally thrilled to have a game that would reign supreme on the internet, ammo if you will for those stupid playstanleys. Finally I looked online and saw an article saying the game was only 900P.
    WHAT!!?? THAT'S **** STUPID!! 900P?!?!? I hate that **** 1/10.
    Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Ryse son of Rome is A fun fighter, if your looking for something easy. The graphics are good, but have a grainy look to them, i think thereRyse son of Rome is A fun fighter, if your looking for something easy. The graphics are good, but have a grainy look to them, i think there hiding clarity with it. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    I must say this game gets an unfair amount of bad reviews. To be short, the one flaw with this game is the shallow combat system.

    Best on
    I must say this game gets an unfair amount of bad reviews. To be short, the one flaw with this game is the shallow combat system.

    Best on legendary difficulty.
    Awesome graphics. Fun combat system to master. Epic storyline.

    Incredible story of revenge that follows our hero through his campaigns across britania all the way back to the corrupt streets of rome.
    Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2014
    7
    A spectacle of brutality, epic battles, revenge and Rome! The story was good. The gameplay was ok. But unfortunately the entire game tookA spectacle of brutality, epic battles, revenge and Rome! The story was good. The gameplay was ok. But unfortunately the entire game took about a day to beat. The repetitive gameplay for me wasn't as much of an issue because the game only lasts about 6-8 hours. The visuals are stunning... I mean STUNNING. But It's tough to part with 40-60 bucks for an 8 hour romp. Expand
  7. May 11, 2016
    0
    Pensa num jogo ruim.. é esse jogo. Horrível! Perdi 10min da minha vida e se fosse mídia física teria quebrado o disco de tanta decepção.Pensa num jogo ruim.. é esse jogo. Horrível! Perdi 10min da minha vida e se fosse mídia física teria quebrado o disco de tanta decepção. Gráficos lindos, mas jogabilidade horrível e história batida(Roma). Quem nasceu para ser Ryse: Son of Rome jamais será God of War. Expand

See all 365 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.