Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divineRyse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divine intervention. He joins the Roman army in Britannia and quickly rises through the ranks to become a General. As his war against the barbarians escalates, his quest unravels: to find his vengeance, he has to return to Rome. As Marius, you’ll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  2. May 11, 2014
    73
    Ryse is visually stunning, but the combat system lacks finesse and gets kinda repetitive. [Feb 2014]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Ryse: Son of Rome tells its story well. It has amazingly enjoyable and ruthlessly violent combat, which pairs incredibly well with the stellar graphics quality. Sadly, the experience is over all too quickly, and you'll be left wondering where the rest of your game is.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    It's a gorgeous, dark and bloody tableau. But all that visual beauty and dramatic gravitas goes to waste with an aimless plot and a monotonous combat system. Ryse has all the guts of next-gen — often quite literally — but none of the glory.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    The perfect launch game, doing nothing new, arguably less so than current gen games but adequately showing off the new hardware - think of it as a tech demo with quick time event executions and you will not be disappointed.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    I almost feel like Ryse wants to be the Xbox One’s Gears of War – a new intellectual property by a studio known for visually stunning games, and a title that can perhaps kick off a franchise. But Ryse is too shallow, too simple and too familiar to be anything more than a fleeting bit of fun.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    30
    A shallow and unambitious tech demo, of the sort that console launches specialise in. The action works perfectly well but it’s instantly repetitive to the point of inanity.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 336
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project forVery strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    I literally can't wait to get home everyday and play Ryse. I just can't get it off my mind. It has Unbelievanly addictive multiplayer,I literally can't wait to get home everyday and play Ryse. I just can't get it off my mind. It has Unbelievanly addictive multiplayer, stunning graphics, and visuals. And dont even get me started on the campaign. It is the next thing since the last of us that actually touched my heart. With an amazing plot, and voice acting. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I read the reviews before I started playing this game and I think that they are giving to this game a lower scored that it deserves. This gameI read the reviews before I started playing this game and I think that they are giving to this game a lower scored that it deserves. This game has outstanding graphics and it's really enjoyable to play. Besides the story it's really good. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Fun Game Overall , The Campaign Was A Bit Short , Finished It In Less Then 10 Hours , Witch Is A Bit Dissapointing , But Still Lots Of Fun ToFun Game Overall , The Campaign Was A Bit Short , Finished It In Less Then 10 Hours , Witch Is A Bit Dissapointing , But Still Lots Of Fun To Be Had And Lots Of Collectibles To Collect , The Multiplayer Is Fun But Once Again Limited , The Season Pass Adds Survival Mode Witch Is Fun Too , But The Game Is Just Missing Something , The Graphics Do Look Stunning And Can Be Compared To PS4 Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    I may age myself here, but this game is a modern day Golden Axe and its FUN. All games are repetitive to some degree. In my opinion Ryse is noI may age myself here, but this game is a modern day Golden Axe and its FUN. All games are repetitive to some degree. In my opinion Ryse is no different than the Batman series. The story mode in Ryse was surprisingly interesting, the graphics are stunning, and the multiplayer is pretty cool. I enjoyed this game from start to finish, the only complaint I have is there are no decapitations. Ryse 2, bring decapitations please! Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2014
    7
    This game is just beautiful to look at.It show that even if a game is not 1080p it can look amazingly good.The Story is simply amazing.TheThis game is just beautiful to look at.It show that even if a game is not 1080p it can look amazingly good.The Story is simply amazing.The Gameplay gets repetitive but i dont mind that too much,i knew that in advance so there were no surprises for me.MP is refreshing,not the standard TDM or anything else thats in every game.i give it 7/10 mostly because i really loved the story Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2015
    0
    Ryse: Son of Rome is a terrible game. Not because it’s broken or made without skill. Certainly not because it’s an average-length,Ryse: Son of Rome is a terrible game. Not because it’s broken or made without skill. Certainly not because it’s an average-length, story-driven slasher with minimal replay value. It’s just a bad game, forgettable in every conceivable way and safely ignored by all but the most ardent achievement hunters. Expand

See all 336 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.