Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divine intervention. He joins the Roman army in Britannia and quickly rises through the ranks to become a General. As his war against the barbarians escalates, his quest unravels: to find his vengeance, he has to return to Rome. As Marius, you’ll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  2. May 11, 2014
    73
    Ryse is visually stunning, but the combat system lacks finesse and gets kinda repetitive. [Feb 2014]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Ryse: Son of Rome tells its story well. It has amazingly enjoyable and ruthlessly violent combat, which pairs incredibly well with the stellar graphics quality. Sadly, the experience is over all too quickly, and you'll be left wondering where the rest of your game is.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    It's a gorgeous, dark and bloody tableau. But all that visual beauty and dramatic gravitas goes to waste with an aimless plot and a monotonous combat system. Ryse has all the guts of next-gen — often quite literally — but none of the glory.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    The perfect launch game, doing nothing new, arguably less so than current gen games but adequately showing off the new hardware - think of it as a tech demo with quick time event executions and you will not be disappointed.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    I almost feel like Ryse wants to be the Xbox One’s Gears of War – a new intellectual property by a studio known for visually stunning games, and a title that can perhaps kick off a franchise. But Ryse is too shallow, too simple and too familiar to be anything more than a fleeting bit of fun.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    30
    A shallow and unambitious tech demo, of the sort that console launches specialise in. The action works perfectly well but it’s instantly repetitive to the point of inanity.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 321
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    I literally can't wait to get home everyday and play Ryse. I just can't get it off my mind. It has Unbelievanly addictive multiplayer, stunning graphics, and visuals. And dont even get me started on the campaign. It is the next thing since the last of us that actually touched my heart. With an amazing plot, and voice acting. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome game. Combat is simple to start and a bit of a challenge to master. Definitely worth the $60 I spent on it.

    Single
    player length was short, but it had a great story. Much better than the cod single player campaigns.

    The multiplayer is basic, but a lot of fun, especially with a friend. Setting up cool finishing moves and ranking up your character for gear leads to hours of fun. I'll probably sink a good 30+ hours into the game. That makes it well worth the money for me.
    Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    Ryse Is beautiful, The cryengine is amazing and crytech really outdid themselves. From the dusty colosseum to the lush forest, this game looks superb. The gameplay, as you've probably heard, is a bit repetitive, but not nearly as much as everyone would lead you to suspect. The action is cool and there's plenty of blood and gore. Just because the action is repetitive doesn't mean there isn't a challenge. The campaign is beautiful and the story is interesting, I especially like how they didn't try to make an over the top story. The multiplayer is where the game becomes worth a score of 8. It's in depth and is very challenging. The arena is constantly changing and new barbarians are swarming you every minute. Even with the same combos and executions, there is no lack of action or difficulty. Also, many people complained that the slow-motion executions lose their fun halfway through the game, but that's not the case, and even if you do get bored of the executions, they are completely optional. This game needs to be in every xbox one owners library. Ryse shows exactly why the next gen is so great, and proves that the next gen was worth the investment. This game just gets me excited for what's to come. Go out and get this game, you won't regret it. Defend Rome and conquer your enemies with the best looking xbox one game released to date. Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    I'll start with the single player. The story is actually confusing (as most Crytek games are) until about halfway through. I didn't actually see the ending coming, and anyone who played and was paying attention probably didn't see the ending coming either. I immediately dismiss anyone's review saying it was expected or predictable.

    ((SPOILER ALERT: It turns out you play the main character caught in a game between two gods which is resulting in the ruin of Rome.))

    Based loosely on actual history (characters are real people, but not accurate in region or time), you end by becoming the revenge-bent Damocles taking on the royalty of Rome, whose bad decisions might lead to it's demise. The "quick-time events" aren't as bad as people say, and you actually do have to pay attention to the people attacking you, so it's not quite a button mashing hack/slash as much as it is timing and attention. It can be actually very challenging but yes, agreed it does get a little repetitive in terms of combat.

    Multiplayer is pretty fun, but does get old after a few hours of playing. This has been a game I swap between COD (the only other game I have right now) periodically and usually crank through a few levels of multiplayer after having beaten the single player. It starts fairly slow I admit, but once you understand how to level up your player, you'll be hooked for good hour-long matches. If you have a friend to help that's even more fun, otherwise you get paired with someone random, which can be good/bad depending.

    I really enjoyed this game as a console-release show-off because they went out of the way to put in the various new tricks: vibes in the triggers, kinect commands (which work well as long as you enunciate) and of course, those pretty amazing graphics.

    Overall, I said 8/10. It's not a perfect score for two reasons: gameplay does need a little more variety and multiplayer grind is sorta outrageous (getting to level 100 will take FOREVER).

    I imagine this might be a title much like Assassin's Creed, where the first one was visually stunning but the gameplay was just a bit too repetitive. If the make future Ryse games, I hope they really add more to the game in terms of interactions with your surroundings, maybe make the character do more... etc. etc.

    Hope this review helps! I think it's worth a play (especially once the returns start coming in and you can get it for cheap).
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    Graphics: 8/10 Single Player: 7/10 Online: 2/10 Gameplay: 6/10 Replay value: 1/10 Product Value: $25.00 Cinematics: 7/10 The game is good for one thorough play through but has no replay value or a good online to look forward to. The game is definitely not worth the $60.00, but more so a $25.00 game. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2014
    0
    There is no reasonable explanation to the senseless carnage, that was made out to the Roman history, common sense, realism sense of proportion in this game. Looks like, that game director was a mad emperor Nero himself, after 10 years of unstoppable orgy.

    All in this game is horrible and senseless, except graphics and soundtrack. This product is a major disappointment and a vary bad example of "historical" game for poor children, that would be thinking about Roman history in terms of Ryse: Son of Rome presentation.
    Expand

See all 321 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.