Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divine intervention. He joins the Roman army in Britannia and quickly rises through the ranks to become a General. As his war against the barbarians escalates, his quest unravels: to find his vengeance, he has to return to Rome. As Marius, you’ll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  2. May 11, 2014
    73
    Ryse is visually stunning, but the combat system lacks finesse and gets kinda repetitive. [Feb 2014]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Ryse: Son of Rome tells its story well. It has amazingly enjoyable and ruthlessly violent combat, which pairs incredibly well with the stellar graphics quality. Sadly, the experience is over all too quickly, and you'll be left wondering where the rest of your game is.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    It's a gorgeous, dark and bloody tableau. But all that visual beauty and dramatic gravitas goes to waste with an aimless plot and a monotonous combat system. Ryse has all the guts of next-gen — often quite literally — but none of the glory.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    The perfect launch game, doing nothing new, arguably less so than current gen games but adequately showing off the new hardware - think of it as a tech demo with quick time event executions and you will not be disappointed.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    I almost feel like Ryse wants to be the Xbox One’s Gears of War – a new intellectual property by a studio known for visually stunning games, and a title that can perhaps kick off a franchise. But Ryse is too shallow, too simple and too familiar to be anything more than a fleeting bit of fun.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    30
    A shallow and unambitious tech demo, of the sort that console launches specialise in. The action works perfectly well but it’s instantly repetitive to the point of inanity.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 325
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    I literally can't wait to get home everyday and play Ryse. I just can't get it off my mind. It has Unbelievanly addictive multiplayer, stunning graphics, and visuals. And dont even get me started on the campaign. It is the next thing since the last of us that actually touched my heart. With an amazing plot, and voice acting. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I read the reviews before I started playing this game and I think that they are giving to this game a lower scored that it deserves. This game has outstanding graphics and it's really enjoyable to play. Besides the story it's really good. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    8
    I planned on getting the Xone when Titan fall came out, and I picked up Ryse for the heck of it. I played it over the weekend and it is a lot of fun. I was worried it was too short for a 60$ game, but I will play it through again at least a few more times. It looks great, the story is good, and the combat is fun. I love the arkham games, and this is kind of like those. I love both systems so far, not a fanboy of either, I would pick this up for sure, now that the price has gone down. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    This is an absolutely beautiful game. The graphics and detail in this game are absolutely stunning. This game is a tech demo just like killzone shadowfall. This game shows off what the graphics in this game can do. However just like killzone it has last generation gameplay. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    I really liked this game! the graphics were awesome and i had no problem with the combat system. But the game ends wayyy to fast making you wonder what your 60$ really payed for. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2014
    0
    There is no reasonable explanation to the senseless carnage, that was made out to the Roman history, common sense, realism sense of proportion in this game. Looks like, that game director was a mad emperor Nero himself, after 10 years of unstoppable orgy.

    All in this game is horrible and senseless, except graphics and soundtrack. This product is a major disappointment and a vary bad example of "historical" game for poor children, that would be thinking about Roman history in terms of Ryse: Son of Rome presentation.
    Expand

See all 325 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.