Ryse: Son of Rome Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1441 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divineRyse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. The game tells the story of Marius Titus who witnesses the murder of his family at the hands of barbarians. Seeking revenge, Marius must embark on a perilous journey of revenge, betrayal, and divine intervention. He joins the Roman army in Britannia and quickly rises through the ranks to become a General. As his war against the barbarians escalates, his quest unravels: to find his vengeance, he has to return to Rome. As Marius, you’ll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ryse: Son of Rome - Damocles Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    When I finished playing this game, I felt like I wanted more. That’s the mark of a good game.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    73
    Ryse is visually stunning, but the combat system lacks finesse and gets kinda repetitive. [Feb 2014]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    Ryse: Son of Rome tells its story well. It has amazingly enjoyable and ruthlessly violent combat, which pairs incredibly well with the stellar graphics quality. Sadly, the experience is over all too quickly, and you'll be left wondering where the rest of your game is.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    It's a gorgeous, dark and bloody tableau. But all that visual beauty and dramatic gravitas goes to waste with an aimless plot and a monotonous combat system. Ryse has all the guts of next-gen — often quite literally — but none of the glory.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    The perfect launch game, doing nothing new, arguably less so than current gen games but adequately showing off the new hardware - think of it as a tech demo with quick time event executions and you will not be disappointed.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    I almost feel like Ryse wants to be the Xbox One’s Gears of War – a new intellectual property by a studio known for visually stunning games, and a title that can perhaps kick off a franchise. But Ryse is too shallow, too simple and too familiar to be anything more than a fleeting bit of fun.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    30
    A shallow and unambitious tech demo, of the sort that console launches specialise in. The action works perfectly well but it’s instantly repetitive to the point of inanity.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 356
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project forVery strongly addictive, so everything looks around. This unusual, very beautiful, unexpectedly brutal game so far the only major project for this console, from which, they say, "smells blockbuster" and perhaps the main reason to buy this console. Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2016
    10
    It's the quality of the central action in Ryse that I keep coming back to. Everything else would be fancy window dressing if Crytek hadn'tIt's the quality of the central action in Ryse that I keep coming back to. Everything else would be fancy window dressing if Crytek hadn't nailed the basic gameplay elements, the simple moving and slashing, as precisely as it did. Ryse: Son of Rome feels like a game designed from the very ground up to be fun to play, so I guess it's no surprise that as soon as the credits finished rolling, I started up the fantastic multiplayer. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Ryse is short, it looks to have spawned from a tech demo. The incredible graphics aren't consistent and some things are barely 'next gen'.Ryse is short, it looks to have spawned from a tech demo. The incredible graphics aren't consistent and some things are barely 'next gen'. BUT.. it's great fun. In 6 to 12 months when it's cheap... have a go. Multiplayer is solid fun. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    8
    I planned on getting the Xone when Titan fall came out, and I picked up Ryse for the heck of it. I played it over the weekend and it is a lotI planned on getting the Xone when Titan fall came out, and I picked up Ryse for the heck of it. I played it over the weekend and it is a lot of fun. I was worried it was too short for a 60$ game, but I will play it through again at least a few more times. It looks great, the story is good, and the combat is fun. I love the arkham games, and this is kind of like those. I love both systems so far, not a fanboy of either, I would pick this up for sure, now that the price has gone down. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    It's not really that bad. The gameplay is repeative, yes, but the graphics are phenomenal and the setting is quite great. If you enjoyedIt's not really that bad. The gameplay is repeative, yes, but the graphics are phenomenal and the setting is quite great. If you enjoyed movies like Gladiator and 300 you will definitely enjoy this one Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    I really liked this game! the graphics were awesome and i had no problem with the combat system. But the game ends wayyy to fast making youI really liked this game! the graphics were awesome and i had no problem with the combat system. But the game ends wayyy to fast making you wonder what your 60$ really payed for. Expand
  7. May 11, 2016
    0
    Pensa num jogo ruim.. é esse jogo. Horrível! Perdi 10min da minha vida e se fosse mídia física teria quebrado o disco de tanta decepção.Pensa num jogo ruim.. é esse jogo. Horrível! Perdi 10min da minha vida e se fosse mídia física teria quebrado o disco de tanta decepção. Gráficos lindos, mas jogabilidade horrível e história batida(Roma). Quem nasceu para ser Ryse: Son of Rome jamais será God of War. Expand

See all 356 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.