Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite 3 continues the story of elite OSS sniper Karl Fairburne during World War II. The title takes players to the unforgiving yet exotic terrain of WWII’s North Africa conflict in a battle against a deadly new foe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 77
    A pretty good game. From large game levels and lots of extra tasks to that non-linear approach to how you can complete said tasks and the ability to play the whole campaign cooperatively, there really is a lot to like.
  2. Jul 11, 2014
    70
    It’s worth the price tag for the borderline ridiculous long-range shots you can pull off, but the campaign isn’t so good that I’d want to play through it a second time right away.
  3. Jul 14, 2014
    70
    Sniper Elite III sees the franchise creep closer to excellence. It doesn't quite get there, but nonetheless this is a solid title that has arrived in a particularly lean month.
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    60
    Sniper Elite 3’s focus on marksmanship over direct confrontation is admirable, but its lack of polish or any real personality keep it from standing out.
  5. Aug 18, 2014
    60
    If you live for the glory of the kill, Sniper Elite III is the game for you, just don't expect it to be routinely enjoyable. It can get a bit heavy. [Issue#114, p.72]
  6. Aug 15, 2014
    60
    Sniper Elite III continues to evolve the series and it’s evident that Rebellion have attempted to open up the franchise, offering more freedom. Unfortunately this comes at the cost of a pure sniping experience – something most will be looking for, given the title.
  7. Oct 21, 2014
    50
    Sniper Elite 3 is an average game. The sneaking around, hiding, scouting and tactical aspects are very enjoyable. But it gets repetitive pretty fast, especially when the actual gameplay and the enemies don't really change.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    9
    I owned SE 2 since release as well as SE 3 for the Xbox 360. Now I have an Xbox One "watching me" and of course I had to get SE 3 for the Xbox One. LOST EVERYTHING. I think I was a Third Degree Sub Commander General ~ my way of thumbing my nose at 505 Games for "reinventing" the US Army enlisted rank structure. I actually am a Vietnam Era US Army Veteran, proud of it, and full-on first person shooter gamer. While trying to work my way back up to E-11 or what ever they have, I've hit some not-so-welcome bumps.

    I bought the game, brought it home, got the Xbox One set up good to go, tried to play the game only to find that I hadn't really bought it - yet. Not enough or the right type of ammo or gear available on start-up, during the game, from dispatched enemy soldiers, B U T, I was invited to go to DOWNLOADABLE S and BUY it. WHAT?

    Right now I'm stuck in limbo because while buying, again, add-ons for the game then installing them for some reason I cannot figure out why the Gewere 42 I prefer no longer has available to me in any form, in any choice available, ANY SCOPE RETICLES. I now have a Monocular with no lines at all. Its guess work and that ain't fun with a sniper rifle.

    There are good points with SE 3 for XB 1. Are they better than the good in SE 3 for the 360. Actually, yes. (I hate having to be objective - I want to be angry). Guess I'll call my game provider and see if any of those teenagers are smarter than me, dumb thought.

    SE 3 for the XB 1 like it - a 9 on the 0 to 10 scale.

    A freebie - the XBOX ONE, ooooook, an 8 and and half so far.

    Hint: Going to get an Xbox One? Don't name your dog XBOX..... (Do I need to explain?)
    Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    This game is one of my all time favorites. I legit love this game and i cannot believe there are so many negative. This game is so much fun when your play die by die with your mates, the slow motions penetration cam is the most epicest thing ever. The ai are quite stupid but make the game fun. The only problem i have with the game is sometimes it lags epically. Other than that loves this game more than junk food. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    Interesting and engaging enough if you're looking for some sniping fun. The gore (slo-mo) shots are fun to look at but it gets a bit boring in the later parts of the game. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    its a good game if you have the patience to crouching around the place for 5 mins killing 2 men. but it does have a lot of action in the opening missions and the mid missions Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    Having played the previous Sniper Elite I was looking forward to this one. It did feel an improvement with better environments but I felt the novelty of the kill cam had gone for me. I actually turned it off after about an hour of campaign play so I could enjoy the hilarious rag doll physics in the game. One time I watched for about a minute as one dead soldier spun around an area as if attached to some huge invisible ball after I destroyed the anti-AA gun next to him, or when I picked up a dead Nazi and put his body down in a corner and watched as his body shook violently and moved up the wall for a few seconds dropping to the floor in spasms. Oh and that brings me to the sounds, which in general is good but completely ruined by the voices that have no sense of distance. A nazi can shout at you and it feels like hes standing next to you but in fact hes about 40 feet away. The campaign was quite tedious, nothing really different from the previous games just new graphics, which by battlefield 4 standards is looking a tad dated already. Also on occasions I had to repeat tasks because I hadnt waited for the correct point to shoot the target, but they dont really explain it that well. I played it on above normal and completed it in around 6-7 hours. It really felt like this game shouldve held off for release until Christmas. They couldve ironed out the bugs, which there are plenty, and improved the campaign. Multiplayer is quite good fun, but the awkward close combat fighting makes it frustrating.
    Its a shame , overall i wanted to enjoy it more but it felt like a step backwards to Sniper Elite II, not forwards with so many issues.
    Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    Overall the game feels very boring, its full of glitches and the missions are such a drag, the graphics are below average and very often textures take along time to load and when they do load they look rubbish which is unacceptable. Twice i have had 2 glitches that have meant i had to restart the whole level, one being where i just kept falling off the side of a cliff, and the next one is the mission where you have to take out the officers, but everytime the officer arrived he ended up just running off for no reason. 5/10 Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    1
    Sniper Elite 3 is simply a terrible game. the graphics is awful and the game is filled with glitches. The X ray cam is pathetic. This is just an awful game and Sniper Elite should not get a fourth instalment Expand

See all 13 User Reviews