Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 9, 2015
    90
    Telltale's take on normal people trying to be Vault Hunters is off to a great start. [Issue#257, p.74]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 21, 2015
    90
    With Tales from the Borderlands, Telltale proves that they are not merely masters of drama; they can also write comedy. [Jan 2015]
  3. Nov 28, 2014
    89
    Telltale proves they can adapt their narrative skills to almost any franchise, and brings us one of the best first episodes we've seen in any of their series.
  4. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 6, 2015
    80
    With wit and spot-on style, this is nearly one of Teltale's best, but prioritising action over dialogue means it falls just short of the story-led brilliance we're used to. [Jan 2015, p.83]
  5. 80
    You know and recognize the Telltalte template, sure, but the funny Tales from the Borderlands draws a lot of entertainment value from removing itself from the more dramatic Wolf among Us and The Walking Dead.
  6. Still, Tales from the Borderlands is off to a great start in its plot and personalities. If Telltale can focus more on our heroes’ banter and comical interactions in coming episodes, it will only get better.
  7. Jan 26, 2015
    78
    A surprisingly valid and entertaining story, capable of casting a new light on Borderlands' world. Too bad for its technical problems like huge stutters and the complete absence of an Italian localization, even in subtitles.
  8. Jan 31, 2015
    70
    A good effort at bringing the OTT planet of Pandora down to earth for a game that's less about guns and more about characters and conversion. [Issue#120, p.74]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 25, 2015
    8
    TellTale games have outdone themselves with this video game.

    PROS -Amazing graphics - Intriguing story -Smooth Combat CONS -Slow
    TellTale games have outdone themselves with this video game.

    PROS
    -Amazing graphics
    - Intriguing story
    -Smooth Combat

    CONS
    -Slow Gameplay .
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2015
    8
    Tales From The Borderlands: Episode One- Zero Sum is another one of Telltale'a finest. It sets up an engaging plot with likeable characters,Tales From The Borderlands: Episode One- Zero Sum is another one of Telltale'a finest. It sets up an engaging plot with likeable characters, and even makes a franchise not known for its story full of life. Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2015
    6
    I am a huge Borderlands fan and this was my first ever telltale game played. While I am a fan of borderlands I found the way this game playsI am a huge Borderlands fan and this was my first ever telltale game played. While I am a fan of borderlands I found the way this game plays to be boring. The humor is great but I often found myself falling asleep while playing. This episode was average compared to the other 4. Full Review »