User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 15 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 9, 2014
    8
    This is the first beenox spiderman game ive actually enjoyed, mainly due to the introduction of the proper webswinging thro new york which i think they totally nailed - in general i really enjoyed it despite its flaws (of which there are many - lazy filler missions - lack of proper dynamic aerial combat), hard to put a rating on it becos of this, but i played it nonstop for 3 days and its probly the most fun ive had with a game this generation (yes i have titanfall) there is a truly amazing game in there somewhere and i think with just a bit more effort the follow up could be awesome- my 2 cents as follows;

    - Add some more depth to ground based combat
    - introduce aerial combat similar to spiderman web of shadows.
    - introduce player on player multilayer races through the city - cmon this would be amazing - SPIDEY v VENOM v CARNAGE RACE!!!!!!
    -put more effort into the filler missions...i accept they are a necessary evil but a wee bit more variety would go a long way!

    Anyways im no game developer but i think those tweaks would go a long way!
    Expand
  2. May 13, 2014
    10
    This is definitely the best web stinger game out there .People are going into this looking for flaws. Spider-man never ceases to "Amaze". The swinging is fluent, the combat is great, and the story is sublime
  3. May 14, 2014
    10
    This Game is damn-near perfect. It hit's spider Nirvana in an all time high. The missions don't seem repetitive as you cut crime. The undercover Peter missions have an underlying campaign that gets you involved so much. I assure, Do not miss this game!
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    Essentially, there is one interesting gimmick that The Amazing Spider-Man 2 has going for it: the hero or menace variable meter. Pretty much as it sounds, if you causes chaos and are a jerk towards most citizens- interpreted in game as not stopping enough crimes, you're dubbed a menace in typical J. Jonah Jameson fashion. However, if you're an angelic guardian and bust some criminal heads together, you're a hero. Yay! Well, that's basically that... Oh, and needless to say the side missions are even less imaginative than the main plot, and pretty much as bad and boring as those of Spider-Man 3 (which means pretty poorly thought out and thrown in numerous amounts of times). I hope you like rescuing people clinging to the side of buildings for whatever reason and stopping car hijackings, because you'll be doing that dozens of times!

    As my final piece of review point here, I want to talk a little bit about console generations and the varying versions of this game. As uninspiring as I've made the game sound, you'd think it would at least look decent graphically. Well, I guess decent is a broad term, so maybe it qualifies as that still... Needless to say, it looks virtually indistinguishable between consoles, with the usual exception of the expected ones looking slightly worse for wear and the "new gen" ones having slightly better framerates as well. So yeah, if you do for some reason decide to waste your money on this game, you may as well get it on whatever console you want, as they all look essentially the same and play the same as well- poorly.

    Concept: Try to do everything that Spider-Man 2 did ten years ago, do it worse, shoe-in a bunch of extra villains for no real reason, say you're a movie tie-in game, and call yourself Amazing. You've done it already probably as well.

    Graphics: The textures are oftentimes muddy and bland, the city looks pretty barren and dull most of the time, and enemy types aren't always that varied. Also, it looks about the same between generations.

    Sound: The sound work is as uninspired and unimaginative as the rest of the game- poor voice acting or at best generic, none of the actual movie actors seem to make appearances, and there isn't really a soundtrack unless you count Spidey's insanely annoying one-liners (of such poor quality that Deadpool should take note).

    Playability: The one "shining" part of the game- combat and action are easy to pick up and handle, but ultimately so repetitive that you'll be bored to tears halfway through the game probably. May the odds be ever in your favor.

    Entertainment: Haha- no really.

    Replay Value: Low.

    Overall Score: 5.0
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    5
    Lets start with the bad. The load times are terribly long, and extremely often. All side quests are nearly identical and while "open world", most of it isnt open. The story is short, and not worh the $60 price. The movement is clunky, and did I mention the endless nonstop load times. That being said, it can be fun if you stick to the main missions ONLY. If you are a spiderman fanatic, I would pick this up used and avoid the $60. Everyone else, if someone loans it to you try it out, otherwise save your cash.

    If you get a chance to play it for free sometime down the road though, not a TERRIBLE game. Just not going to be confused for even half as good as the majority of batman games.
    Expand
  6. May 10, 2014
    0
    Terrible writing, outdated menus, frequent load times, repetitive missions, bugs galore, and they MESSED UP the web swinging. the graphics are barely passable. spider man looks cool while everything else looks dull and ugly. this game tries to be an arkham city, but FAILS miserably. in the end, unless you are a VERY devout spider man fan, don't buy this. get the first amazing spider man game, or hell, get spider man 2 on the gamecube, ps2, pc, or xbox. beenox did not even try with this title. Expand
  7. May 12, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i played the first amazing spider man game and really enjoyed it but this just seemed like a step backwards. While i still found some things enjoyable most thing need work now. The first game simply need more to it like more diverse story missions and more to do in the open world. This game seemed like it tried to expand on the open world side missions but missed the mark there mostly unexciting and the same followed by an unneeded news headline after every one. The story started slow and i spent more time the first four mission as peter talking to Kraven, Kingpin and Felica or anyone else rather then do anything. When the story finally does start opening it seems like the devs just said ok how many villains can we fit in this short story? as its villain battle after villain battle with a few fights with normal enemies in between( sometimes i think i went from kingpin to electro to goblin with only fighting 3 guys before goblin) these boss fights were largely unexciting and stale and didn't really have much point and kinda left me like ugh do i have to fight this guy

    i will say there were some things i enjoyed such as the web swinging being able have a trigger connected to each arm was alot of fun and made wed swinging very enjoyable and i do like web rush though occasionally it didn't always work combat was fun though it got repetive with lack of combos and the same annoyingly lame lines. I did also enjoy taking the enemies out with stealth however that was a little buggy (such as an enemy looking away from me somehow would see me take out his buddy only to go clueless when i web rushed away

    overall i feel like Beenox toke a step backwards elements of the first amazing spiderman are still there but they scraped it down instead of adding to it hopefully with the next one the fix that
    Expand
  8. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    This game is so bad.
    Really.
    My Watch Dogs profile is:
    Name:MineHaxx
    Occupation:Casual Gamer
    Status:Suckered by Activision
    Bank Account:-39.99$
    Reasons:
    1.Bad story that is 1.5 hours long.
    2.Side missions are all one and the same.
    3.HERO OR MENACE SYSTEM IS MENACE TO THE WORLD!!
    4.Crashing,freezing and problems.
    I hope that TASM3 will be better.
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. 40
    Like the Transformers games, this is one of those shallow, mandated movie tie-ins. [July 2014, p.87]
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    20
    The biggest question you'll be left asking is why the Amazing Spider-man 2 exists. [Issue#148, p.102]
  3. May 20, 2014
    55
    A mediocre movie tie-in, incapable of adding anything meaningful to the previous game outside of the revamped swinging mechanic.