Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Jan 26, 2015
    85
    Even if not lacking defects, The Crew shines in many aspects managing to deliver and entertaining arcade racing experience and tons of content.
  2. Dec 17, 2014
    80
    It has a few issues, but The Crew is a fun game with an action movie story that I think many will enjoy especially in co-op.
  3. Dec 10, 2014
    80
    It's a game that requires and occasionally enforces patience, but like all great road trips it's about the journey, not the destination.
  4. Dec 10, 2014
    78
    The physics and driving system (that must be configured by the user to make it work) will put off many people, but those who get into the game will find a deep racing game meant to be played with friends, and it has a massive amount of things to do in game as well.
  5. Dec 5, 2014
    73
    Solid story-based arcade racer with huge open world. The online mode is conceptually interesting, but in the end in this form it is a half-baked addendum.
  6. Dec 14, 2014
    70
    If you'd have asked me after hour five what The Crew was, I would have said a solid 50% score. Hour ten? 60%. Thankfully though, the home straight is what saves The Crew from being just another average racer and with its incredibly game world, it’s worth dipping your toe in. Just don’t expect it to get decent for a long time, but when it does, it’s almost worth the wait.
  7. Dec 11, 2014
    70
    A decent enough racer slowed down by microtransactions and an awful story.
  8. The Crew is far from a bad game and if Forza Horizon 2, the current top open-world racing game on the market, didn’t exist, I probably would have enjoyed it much more. Unfortunately, despite everything Ivory Tower’s latest title does correct, its lacklustre visuals, rubber-band AI, and disappointing story is difficult to ignore.
  9. Dec 12, 2014
    65
    Beyond any doubt, The Crew had loads of potential. The "single player" experience might be fun at times but the AI and the handling of the vehicles lead to frustration. Where the project really turns into a train wreck, however, is on the multiplayer side where just finding a single PVP game can take ages.
  10. 60
    It pains me to say it seeing as I had such high hopes but The Crew missed its mark by a long shot and just barely chugs over the starting line.
  11. Dec 11, 2014
    60
    The Crew is worth a go if you’re into racers. You might love it. But there's a better than good chance that the niggling issues will prevent that from happening.
  12. Dec 11, 2014
    60
    A lot of The Crew seems hardly thought-out, almost chaotic but there is still a lot of good hidden underneath these problems.
  13. Dec 9, 2014
    60
    The Crew is a decent racing game that's weighed down by its constantly online mechanics. The missions and challenges are nice, but if you don't have friends, you'll be hard pressed to find them in the game.
  14. Dec 9, 2014
    60
    The Crew is an open world racing game that impresses with its size and enchants with its good ideas. Too bad this pleasant experience, packed with challenges of all kinds, is marred by poor driving sensations, AI problems and disappointing graphics.
  15. Jan 8, 2015
    50
    The Crew is defined by its unmitigated lack of character. It’s an Ubisoft game first and a driving game second, and has arrived at a point at which it’s facing off against Forza Horizon 2 and DriveClub for most people’s affections. With the former’s more clearly defined vision and mechanics, and even with the latter’s terrible teething problems, it is absolutely no contest in both cases. Personality continues to go a very, very long way.
  16. 50
    The tantalising world and systems are fine in their own right, but shoddy car handling saps any desire to play beyond a few minutes at a time. Dock a point if you don't have likeminded pals.
  17. Jan 28, 2015
    40
    How so many irritations made it into a game with such an incredible world blows our minds. Should have spent more time in development.
  18. 40
    From the absurd handling and cheap enemy A.I. to the ugly graphics and over-reliance on microtransactions, there are no shortage of problems here. Even if you are desperate for a new racer (I’m looking at you PS4 owners), I can’t justify recommending this game in its current state.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 11 out of 36
  1. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    Game excells in evey area. Don't understand the bashing this game is copping. Largest and most dense map of any open world deiving game sinceGame excells in evey area. Don't understand the bashing this game is copping. Largest and most dense map of any open world deiving game since Fuel. My only complaint is that it is always online and it should be playable offline. It's not really an MMO, it's more a massive open world driving game with online elements. Shame when the servers are one day switched off you wont even be able to explore the map when it didn't need ro be this way. Full Review »
  2. Dec 2, 2014
    5
    I can't believe that with games looking as good as Forza and Driveclub, they can even consider releasing a game that looks as jaggy as thisI can't believe that with games looking as good as Forza and Driveclub, they can even consider releasing a game that looks as jaggy as this with super low draw distances and ugly pop ups the order of the day. This game need a load of work to bring it in line with the competition. Don't get me wrong, I like the concept of the game and the scope, it's just that this feels like it needs months more development and better environmental rendering. 8/10 for scope, 2/10 for Visuals (excludes cut scenes). 5/10 Total Full Review »
  3. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    honestly i have been waiting for one of these games to come to next gen becasue i have been hanging to play an MMO racing free drive and tohonestly i have been waiting for one of these games to come to next gen becasue i have been hanging to play an MMO racing free drive and to drive on the incredible scaled map to explore and race with your friends. What i like about is it that you can join with friends in a crew and just hop in and play. With all the other games like halo, GTA and even farcry with its online problems for once i didn't buy another game to then have to wait for patches or updates. The only minor downfall to this which shouldn't have any effect is the way you hit in other objects, to me it feels clunky and very un realistic but overall the game should deserve its highs. By the way its surprising to me that this game was ubisofts best game that they released this year as almost the rest of them have been a complete flop. Full Review »