Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    72
    A fun LEGO game, but not among the best that the series has to offer, which is a real shame as the story going on around the average levels is top notch and probably one of the best. If you’ve seen the The LEGO Movie though then you can probably give The LEGO Movie Videogame a miss without too many regrets.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    70
    This is by no means a bad game, quite the contrary. When it comes to movie tie-ins, The LEGO Movie Videogame is one of the better ones. Compared to other recent LEGO games, though, it still feels like a considerable step back.
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Fans of The LEGO Movie are in for a treat, and kids wanting to experience Emmet’s adventures as opposed to just watching them are definitely in for a thrill ride. However, anyone growing tired of the LEGO game formula will likely find nothing here to reignite that love.
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    While not everything is awesome, The Lego Movie Videogame should be just the ticket if you're ready to spend another 10 to 12 hours in the fantastic world of animated plastic blocks.
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    65
    Amusing scenarios and eye-catching environments are a plus, as is the wide unlockable hero roster, but most of the missions feel like an unimaginative retread of the same LEGO game formula.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 30, 2014
    60
    It's not quite what we've come to expect from TT Games; you'd be better off going to watch the film four times. [Issue#109, p.81]
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Mar 26, 2014
    60
    Funny enough, easy enough and familiar enough to feel like an old friend, but this doesn't offer the excitement we expect from a series taking its second step onto a new platform. [Apr 2014, p.81]
  8. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    As a huge fan of Lego games, I've been disappointed by The LEGO Movie Videogame. Of course the title aims at seducing young fans of the film, but is it a reason to ruin the content and the direction? Of course we find humor, platforming riddles and stuff to collect which became the renown of previous titles, but the result is not quite as enjoyable. If we limit ourselves to the bad direction, the crappy music, the bugs and lags will still be enough to displease most achievement hunters. But even the content of the game sucks, fewer characters than usual, a light life, easy progression. As it seems it's not that easy to make a good LEGO game from a great LEGO film. Next try in 2017 with LEGO the movie 2!
  9. Feb 28, 2014
    60
    The LEGO Movie Video Game is not a bad game, and it's a pleasure to have the cast and playgrounds from the movie in front of our eyes again. But it suffers from rhythm and playability issues as well as a lack of imagination. Too bad, Emmet deserves better.
  10. Feb 23, 2014
    60
    The new title from TT Games lacks some of the magic of previous LEGO Games, with the movie’s charisma getting somewhat diluted in the video game translation. We also didn’t like the game lacking any voices localization to Italian, while other European languages like french, German and spanish are fully represented: this makes it much less accessible to young players.
  11. Feb 28, 2014
    55
    Sadly, LEGO The Movie Videogame fails to live up to the expectations set by both it’s source material and its video gaming forebears.
  12. Mar 11, 2014
    50
    Underwhelming is probably the best way to describe The Lego Movie Game; sticking too closely to the movie, lacking in the fun factor, having little character of its own as a result, feeling padded and most certainly rushed to coincide with the movie launch.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 10 out of 49
  1. Jul 11, 2016
    10
    My kids love this game, hours upon hours of game play. It's not to bad for adults to watch also as the humour is adult friendly. 10/10My kids love this game, hours upon hours of game play. It's not to bad for adults to watch also as the humour is adult friendly. 10/10 entertains my children so I don't have to! Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2016
    7
    Just like all other lego games, has fun co-op, level and graphic design, and the gameplay. It is cool though that the new feature in this gameJust like all other lego games, has fun co-op, level and graphic design, and the gameplay. It is cool though that the new feature in this game is that for once, everything is in lego, just like the movie. Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    This is possibly the greatest lego game so far. Story mode follows very close to the movie, and along with the movie voice over (similar toThis is possibly the greatest lego game so far. Story mode follows very close to the movie, and along with the movie voice over (similar to lego LOTR), is fantastic. The characters, variations, and pants are funny and recognizably with tongue-n-cheek humor. After buying many lego games, I've enjoyed and completed this one the most. Full Review »