User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2478 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    Awesome and fun game, Gives the COD formula the much needed new lease of life, but will not really offer you much if your not already a fan of the COD style. Love the multiplayer themed campaign and it will be something we will see a lot off in the future. is it worth buying a Xbox One for? Nope just wait for the 360 version
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Right firstly, I own sony consoles and have no preference over either machines, I played the Beta to death, bearing in mind that was 2 maps.

    Now I really can't understand the 0-5/10 reviews on here, the game is really good. It's well balanced and has a great variety of maps, it has also has tried something different from Battlefield and COD which in my opinion are starting to get a bit
    Right firstly, I own sony consoles and have no preference over either machines, I played the Beta to death, bearing in mind that was 2 maps.

    Now I really can't understand the 0-5/10 reviews on here, the game is really good. It's well balanced and has a great variety of maps, it has also has tried something different from Battlefield and COD which in my opinion are starting to get a bit stale.

    Now I am not saying this is the perfect game, but it deserves more than it's getting. All the maps have something to like about them, the backdrops to the maps are something to behold, it would of been nice to get in 1080p, but I'd rather the framerate stay up near 60, and they will patch that down the line I'm sure. It has fantastic Gameplay, the free-running and Titans all work brilliantly together, I always found the combat had lots of options to it and was very exciting. Most important though the game is incredibly fun to play and that's why I play games to have fun.

    Don't listen to some of the pointless negative reviews on here, I mean seriously anyone who thinks this game deserves less than Thief and Just Dance 2 has got a screw loose, I mean it is reviewing something low for the sake of it and it leaves a bitter taste.

    Anyway, I would highly recommend this game and score it 9/10, but to combat all the idiots giving it 0/10 I will score it 10/10 to try and address the balance. All this goes to show is there is no-one more pathetic than a bitter and twisted fan-boy, It would be funny if it didn't kick all the people who worked hard on this game in the teeth.
    Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I've never had this much fun since Modern Warfare 2! The movement is by far my favorite part of the game, so smooth. The formulas in this game like wall-running, double jump, and giant mechs make a perfect recipe. The balance in this game is incredible which is crucial to a multiplayer. I actually see myself as a pilot more often than a titan. The people who say the Grunts and SpectresI've never had this much fun since Modern Warfare 2! The movement is by far my favorite part of the game, so smooth. The formulas in this game like wall-running, double jump, and giant mechs make a perfect recipe. The balance in this game is incredible which is crucial to a multiplayer. I actually see myself as a pilot more often than a titan. The people who say the Grunts and Spectres believe that it makes the game too easy and makes the game for casual gamers instead of the competitive type. I feel aandkh on reddit made a good point saying "I've seen a lot of love for Titanfall, but if there's one complaint I see floating around it's that the grunts and spectres are dumb and too numerous. I think they are perfect the way they are. They should be used to cut down your Titan cooldown. But shooting them reveals your location on the minimap to enemy pilots. It's this dynamic alone that makes them necessary in the game. It really does add a lot to the experience, but ramping up the difficulty on them would just be too distracting to the core gameplay." The risk/reward mechanic really changes the game especially in a 6v6 game! This game is epic and I hope that other people who are giving it bad reviews can realize that. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is by far one of the best games i have played and enjoyed for so long, not because its a shooter but because of how the game mechanics are utilised, the vertical aspect of game keeps you on your toes and watching you back just becomes second nature. Im seeing many people complain because it has no single player, the only thing i can say is you dont need a single playing to enjoyThis game is by far one of the best games i have played and enjoyed for so long, not because its a shooter but because of how the game mechanics are utilised, the vertical aspect of game keeps you on your toes and watching you back just becomes second nature. Im seeing many people complain because it has no single player, the only thing i can say is you dont need a single playing to enjoy a game, most people dont bother playing single players on shooters these days because there is no creativity when going up against simple AI. Ttitanfall offers something on a whole new level and im proud to say i own it. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    TitanFall makes its mark on the First Person Shooter genre by being carefully inventive instead of all-out game-changing, though the game will be hailed as a game-changer for the genre. The story elements woven into the multiplayer components helps to keep this from being just a mindless competitive shooter. Action is never-ending - it's as if the only way to experience dull moments isTitanFall makes its mark on the First Person Shooter genre by being carefully inventive instead of all-out game-changing, though the game will be hailed as a game-changer for the genre. The story elements woven into the multiplayer components helps to keep this from being just a mindless competitive shooter. Action is never-ending - it's as if the only way to experience dull moments is to intentionally seek them out by hiding on the far reaches of the available maps and engaging nobody. Respawn Entertainment were intentional about keeping you engaged, and you will be engaged. The game allows you to effortlessly glide through various terrain and buildings as a pilot and mercilessly crush your opponents from the protection of a Titan. Still, the game masterfully balances the play of both. Really, the game is effortless to approach - seemingly complicated at first glance it takes little time to get the hang of. There is a lot to TitanFall that you simply have to experience to appreciate, and experience it you should. The game is shipping with the open beta's 792p with upscaling to 1080p yet it still looks good. Respawn has made official statements that they intend to utilize a future patch to up the graphics resolution to 900p once they can be certain 60 FPS will be maintained, something that will be more of a treat than a necessity. Whether these kinds of optimizations come to light or not, it's clear that Respawn intend to put a lot of effort into their creation after its launch. I'm also happy to see a very reasonable DLC approach with 3 planned expansion packs that are said to retail @ $9.99 each (cheaper with a seasons pass), instead of the now-norm of $14.99 from DLC maniacs like Call of Duty and Battlefield, to which the same amount and type of content will be added. This game has the power to move consoles. It is the Halo that helped make Xbox important back when Microsoft was a newby to game consoles and it deserves your consideration. Kick aside these low-ball ratings and see for yourself why TitanFall earned unanimous praise amongst critics and those that have played it and are playing it now. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Really awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that and yopu got a solid game. Respawn have nailed the balance nothing feels overpowered or useless. Though the campaign multiplayer could have used some more work. I hope the coming DLC will add to the campaign side of things as well as the multiplayer.
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    After gaining early access to the game and having played more than a few hours online I can safely say that it is a rather addictive shooter. If you are tired of the yearly iterations of Call of Duty then I would strongly recommend giving titanfall a shot. The game play is fast paced and the controls are very fluent. The game is very well balanced. As a pilot I never felt like titans posedAfter gaining early access to the game and having played more than a few hours online I can safely say that it is a rather addictive shooter. If you are tired of the yearly iterations of Call of Duty then I would strongly recommend giving titanfall a shot. The game play is fast paced and the controls are very fluent. The game is very well balanced. As a pilot I never felt like titans posed so much of a threat as to make them unbalanced. I was skeptical of the AI aka cannon fodder at first but after a while I came to appreciate them. They provide a distraction from the pvp action and give new players and those more seasoned the ability to gain kills and rank up fairly evenly. I'm not saying that same someone who plays the game 24 hours a day wont come out on top, but new players can still feel like they are contributing. The lack of a dedicated singleplayer/campaign mode was frustrating as I believe there is enough material within the titanfall universe to flesh out a unique and rewarding single player experience. The controls are sharp, the action is fast paced and if you want a game that takes from the familiar and also provides a fresh experience...prepare for titanfall. Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    This game is a breath of fresh air to the FPS genre of games. Whilst it is familiar enough to seasoned FPS players it is also incredibly easy to pick up and play for those new to the genre or those who have traditionally never been very good at the genre.

    The graphics look very impressive despite the whole "lower resolution" argument, and it is believed the resolution will improve in
    This game is a breath of fresh air to the FPS genre of games. Whilst it is familiar enough to seasoned FPS players it is also incredibly easy to pick up and play for those new to the genre or those who have traditionally never been very good at the genre.

    The graphics look very impressive despite the whole "lower resolution" argument, and it is believed the resolution will improve in the near future via a patch.

    With the focus being only on a multi-player game it has made that element the best it can be whilst still providing enough of a "story" to make the game engaging.

    Anyone who likes FPS and plays this game will enjoy it, simple as that. Anyone who says otherwise either has not played it, or more likely cannot play it due to not owning a platform that can.
    Expand
  9. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Titanfall is a fast paced fps that is sure to get the average excited about a once stale genre filled with nothing more than shooters of the likes that are Call of Duty and Battle Field. While the game isn't going to change your life it may definitely change your opinion of this genre when you get literally pulled into the excitement that is a Titan. Having played both the beta and theTitanfall is a fast paced fps that is sure to get the average excited about a once stale genre filled with nothing more than shooters of the likes that are Call of Duty and Battle Field. While the game isn't going to change your life it may definitely change your opinion of this genre when you get literally pulled into the excitement that is a Titan. Having played both the beta and the release versions of Titanfall I am glad I bought the release as i'll be playing it all the time. Not only that but the developer Respawn has suggested they're going to keep working towards future improvements for the game meaning not only do you get your moneys worth but the experience can only get better. Expand
  10. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Though not a perfect game, it does have its flaws, it is the most enjoyable FPS game I have played since the Halo and CoD 4 days. All the negative reviews on here are just plain ridiculous, the majority of them are either Sony fanboys or just on the "hate Titanfall" bandwagon. The story isn't anything special, it gives you insight on the war between the IMC and the Militia but it's theThough not a perfect game, it does have its flaws, it is the most enjoyable FPS game I have played since the Halo and CoD 4 days. All the negative reviews on here are just plain ridiculous, the majority of them are either Sony fanboys or just on the "hate Titanfall" bandwagon. The story isn't anything special, it gives you insight on the war between the IMC and the Militia but it's the gameplay where the game shines. The flow between Pilot and Titan is perfect and both are very balanced. The parkour and movement are very smooth and feel good and natural. The 15 maps are very detailed and fun to play on. The weapons are all easy to use and feel good when you use them. One of the only things that I think it suffers from is very limited game types but it's not like many of the game types from Battlefield or Call of Duty will suit this game well. So far I am really impressed by Respawn and how well they made their first game as a new company. Expand
  11. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Amazing Game. This is the gameplay I have been waiting for years. Now, this is next gen. Xbox One, PC and Xbox 360 will be delivered the best FPS so far.
  12. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    loving this so far, gameplay feels fresh, framerate runs smooth. fun to jump into a party with friends and just spend a few hours. map selection is great, plenty of options across all maps for any playstyle you prefer.
  13. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome Game for the Xbox One. Fast gameplay and great graphics. *Only multiplayer, no singleplayer*
    If you like FPS multiplayer, then this is for you.
  14. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Holy smokes this game is fun! I had burned out on COD and even BF4 to some extent, TF is really nothing like them and is just a rocking good time. I can't recommend it enough. Good luck out there, pilots.
  15. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Unbelievable fun. Best original shooter since Gears of War, maybe even longer! Great mix between fast paces pilot action, and slightly slower TItan combat. If you're a fan of online shooters, this is a must have on Xbox One!
  16. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is the most fun I have had in a long time! I have played it for the last five hours, and still can't get enough. Someone may want to check into a rehab...
  17. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Greatness finally arrived. Titanfall is by far the best MP-shooter out there as you can read everywhere on the Internet. Lots of fun playing in a team with friends. GOTY incoming ...
  18. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    After playing the beta this seemed like a casual game. Its not intended to be played competitivly or for extremly long sessions. In small doses Titanfall may get repeptitive. While I dont agree with some, the use of the multiplayer maps as campaing levels made me feel cheated of my experience. Playing on Xbox One I havn't noticed any low frames or screen tearing as some have reported.After playing the beta this seemed like a casual game. Its not intended to be played competitivly or for extremly long sessions. In small doses Titanfall may get repeptitive. While I dont agree with some, the use of the multiplayer maps as campaing levels made me feel cheated of my experience. Playing on Xbox One I havn't noticed any low frames or screen tearing as some have reported. While this isnt a revolution for shooters it is a breath of fresh air. Ide rather see another Titanfall than Call of Duty in the coming year. Expand
  19. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Honestly after playing it all night....it's a great game, a lot of haters seem to want to bring the score down for some reason....but this is definitely the best fps to come along for quite some time, if you have an Xbox one, you need to have this game. The only thing don't buy this game if your not into fps or simply want a game with a great story....this is simply pure multi-player funHonestly after playing it all night....it's a great game, a lot of haters seem to want to bring the score down for some reason....but this is definitely the best fps to come along for quite some time, if you have an Xbox one, you need to have this game. The only thing don't buy this game if your not into fps or simply want a game with a great story....this is simply pure multi-player fun and chaos! Expand
  20. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Transfering control to pilot. Titanfall delivers, fresh frenetic gameplay, perfectly balanced maps, this is the love we had come to expect from the talent that wisely left activision and created respawn. Finally, gameplay is king once more. Buttery smooth DEDICATED servers mean no host migration, better ai, and better connections all around. Gone are the lag switches, as they no longerTransfering control to pilot. Titanfall delivers, fresh frenetic gameplay, perfectly balanced maps, this is the love we had come to expect from the talent that wisely left activision and created respawn. Finally, gameplay is king once more. Buttery smooth DEDICATED servers mean no host migration, better ai, and better connections all around. Gone are the lag switches, as they no longer afford the cheaters an advantage. As stated above, gameplay is once again king, as this work of art is obviously crafted from blood, sweat, and ... years,.. of experience that is. Respawn pulls it off in spectacular fashion. Buy this game, or never understand.... Expand
  21. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    this is an awesome game smooth controls decent graphics and tons of action all i can say is i haven't had this much fun in a long time dont let the lower user reviews fool you that is just a bunch of angry ps fanboy venting its going to be a good year if you own an xbox one this game is all the proof you need
  22. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game. The chaotic multiplayer makes for a lot of fun, very fast paced. Anyone who says this game is terrible and gives it a zero likely owns a ps4. Anyone with an xbox one should definitely pick up this game as it is well worth $60.
  23. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I played the beta for 3 days and downloaded the full game last night. It's not omg the greatest game that's ever been made and will ever be made, but it is the true next evolution of multiplayer shooters, well worth owning, and deserving of the top score, Of course I would prefer 1080 out of the gate but that is a very small component to actual overall enjoyment (take old school Bond,I played the beta for 3 days and downloaded the full game last night. It's not omg the greatest game that's ever been made and will ever be made, but it is the true next evolution of multiplayer shooters, well worth owning, and deserving of the top score, Of course I would prefer 1080 out of the gate but that is a very small component to actual overall enjoyment (take old school Bond, GTAIII, or Fallout 3 for example). Expand
  24. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Nothing but awesome. **** of fun, must have for everyone! Don't trust all these **** user reviews here, people giving 0 points are nothing bad jealous. Its incredible how poor and sad it is, that people have to talk games bad just because they don't like it.

    0 points? There is no way you could justify a rating of ZERO points for this game. ****
  25. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Pretty, Pretty, Pretty Good (well, it's great actually... but that didn't fit my Curb your Enthusiasm quote lol).

    Parkour / Movement / Fast Paced / Competitive.. these are a few words I would use to describe the game.
    Most fun I've had with a MP shooter since... well, probably ever : or maybe Unreal Tournament 2003.

    Buy this game, now.
  26. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Excellent Game, Breaths new life into a old genre. Unlike most I own the game, so I have no problems giving you my opinions. Not that it means much here because people are allowed to rate games that they know nothing about., nor have they ever played.
  27. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    From the fluid movement of the pilots to watching as your Titan falls from the sky, Titanfall is an experience like no other.Titanfall is the first online shooter I've actually enjoyed playing. The variety that comes from the different pilot and titan playstyles keeps each round fresh and entertaining.Titanfall is the best shooter out there! I've been playing it non stop and everythingFrom the fluid movement of the pilots to watching as your Titan falls from the sky, Titanfall is an experience like no other.Titanfall is the first online shooter I've actually enjoyed playing. The variety that comes from the different pilot and titan playstyles keeps each round fresh and entertaining.Titanfall is the best shooter out there! I've been playing it non stop and everything about it is amazing. Expand
  28. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game. Great array of ways you can play. Titans are nicely balanced. Movement/jumping feels very natural and fairly easy. Doesn't appear to be designed to be super difficult - more about being fun to play. Refreshing after years of same-old-same-old Call of Duty games.
  29. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    this is simply a next gen shooter you have been waiting for. after playing 4 hours straight i honestly can not go back to another shooter game. this is it. and its just the beginning. dont think. Buy!
  30. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game ignore the reviews by Sony fans who are only giving bad reviews because they can't play it! Game is great best new FPS in years. Runs great as well Microsoft's Azure data centres are amazing getting 29ms ping. Silky smooth.
  31. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is frantic, and highly enjoyable. Advice: Watch the videos and listen to the critics. The pathetic trolling with "0" scores from annoyed fanboy trolls that don't have this game on their platform is an utter insult to the community and to the hard work the devs put into making this game. They should absolutely be ashamed of themselves.

    People are complaining about no
    This game is frantic, and highly enjoyable. Advice: Watch the videos and listen to the critics. The pathetic trolling with "0" scores from annoyed fanboy trolls that don't have this game on their platform is an utter insult to the community and to the hard work the devs put into making this game. They should absolutely be ashamed of themselves.

    People are complaining about no singleplayer? Why would you buy a game that is multiplayer only if you wanted singleplayer? CoD and BF4 have singleplayer campaigns, true. But just look how rubbish they are and all the problems they have suffered as the result. BF4 is still incredibly broken, Ghosts even more generic than CoD ever was.

    $60 into something utterly solid that you can put countless hours into is not a bad investment by any stretch of the imagination.
    Expand
  32. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is the best multiplayer out there so far. The low user scores are just sony fanboys or trolls to lower the user score. Yes, it has no single player campaign, but they only focused on where they're good at. And it's GREAT! This is the best multiplayer game I played so far.
  33. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    What's to dislike when a game is this fun!!!! From the moment I called in my first Titan I was hooked. Play alone or with friends it's got it all. Great job Respawn
  34. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Call of duty with added mechanics, the point of the game is to create a fluid fun shooter, and thats what it does, and it does it well. Stepping out as a pilot, you feel the rush of any first person shooter. When you realise that you can reach about any height or area based on the parkour element, then that when you start having the true fun. The game titans are also an interesting mechCall of duty with added mechanics, the point of the game is to create a fluid fun shooter, and thats what it does, and it does it well. Stepping out as a pilot, you feel the rush of any first person shooter. When you realise that you can reach about any height or area based on the parkour element, then that when you start having the true fun. The game titans are also an interesting mech being able to ride or use as an AI for back up, this game succeeds in its purpose and as long as the updates are constant then this game will be a hit for a long time . Expand
  35. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    TitanFall has set a new defenition to shooters with their fast paced action that blows your mind. No other FPS has ever set the bar this high for other games to compete with. I truly have no problems whatsoever with the framerate dropping like many say. For the people experiencing this, wait a day or two and with will be fixed with a patch, just like in DR3.
  36. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Despites the part of the Online Only in Titanfall, witch is a big step for game developers, Titanfall has some aspecects witch leveraged the game to an other baseline as a First Person Shooter (FPS) game, the constant fluency, the awesome conection, the speed how everything happens, the mix of all this stuffs gives you some bunch of adrenalin when you're playing, you start to runover wallsDespites the part of the Online Only in Titanfall, witch is a big step for game developers, Titanfall has some aspecects witch leveraged the game to an other baseline as a First Person Shooter (FPS) game, the constant fluency, the awesome conection, the speed how everything happens, the mix of all this stuffs gives you some bunch of adrenalin when you're playing, you start to runover walls and shoot huge robots (Titans), it's the perfect feeling for a FPS game.

    And despites this diferencial, Titanfall offers you everything that you need to found in a complete game, a campaign, multiplayer mode and co-op mode, the history of the game is outstanding, as well the cinamatic missions, despite the 4 hours length, it's a well made campaign.

    Concluding, Titanfall has a lot of things to explore, the abscence of a Single Player mode isn't a bad point at all, due the fact that what you found in the Single Player mode, you found in the Multiplayer mode, Titanfall isn't a $60 wasted at all, you will not miss anything, it's just dificult to get usual with an Online Only game, but is a complete FPS game in all aspects. Outstanding 9 ou 10 game!
    Expand
  37. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Bought it today!

    Loving it! Perfect game!

    Great execution, great gameplay, great feeling, great vibe!

    Such a beautiful job from the Respawn team!

    Dropping Titan in all the people that, don't have the game and are doing negative critics to it.
  38. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Ignore the negative reviews from the sad Sony fans. They don't have any games worth playing so they go to every article or review and post garbage about the Xbox One and the Xbox One games. Titanfall is perfect. It looks and plays great on the Xbox One. Fast moving, lots of action and never boring.
  39. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game has received universal acclaim by every site that has reviewed it so far ( universal acclaim being 8s, 9s , and 10s). Then all of a sudden the massive ocean of Sony bandwagons come to hate on it because they don't have it. Don't listen to them, all they care about are the graphics. They have no respect for good gameplay, and that's where Titanfall excels.
  40. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This Game is absolutly AWESOME.
    It is an non stop action game, sometime you need to stop just for breath a little bit.
    It is very impressive to see how Respawn balance so brillantly the gameplay between Soldiers and Titans. You need to play with the situation and not because soldier or titan is cheated. Sometimes soliders are much more efficient than Titans vice versa. And the both
    This Game is absolutly AWESOME.
    It is an non stop action game, sometime you need to stop just for breath a little bit.
    It is very impressive to see how Respawn balance so brillantly the gameplay between Soldiers and Titans.

    You need to play with the situation and not because soldier or titan is cheated.
    Sometimes soliders are much more efficient than Titans vice versa.
    And the both need to play very differently, you have TWO games in ONE.

    Graphics are "OK", but it isn't impressive, but who cares when you run and shoot all the time, and when Titans explose near of you!

    This game is AMAZING!
    Expand
  41. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    What can I say other than this is a game changer for FPSs. Have not played a game as good since COD4 and Halo 3. Really liking what I am seeing. Thus far I have played the full game for about 3 hours and I played the beta for around 15 hours. Honestly, these negative reviews are just fanboys. Even if you dont like FPS games you should respect what this game is doing and if you like FPSWhat can I say other than this is a game changer for FPSs. Have not played a game as good since COD4 and Halo 3. Really liking what I am seeing. Thus far I have played the full game for about 3 hours and I played the beta for around 15 hours. Honestly, these negative reviews are just fanboys. Even if you dont like FPS games you should respect what this game is doing and if you like FPS games, then you will like this game. Expand
  42. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Love this game! Everything I had hoped it would be and more. A lot of people are hating on it because they get schooled by guys last me me.lol. seriously though. Solid play, great frame rate, great controls, and a fun factor I haven't felt since games like red faction, unreal, and the other great old skool shooters. Offering two campaigns and 5 game modes, I don't see what this game isLove this game! Everything I had hoped it would be and more. A lot of people are hating on it because they get schooled by guys last me me.lol. seriously though. Solid play, great frame rate, great controls, and a fun factor I haven't felt since games like red faction, unreal, and the other great old skool shooters. Offering two campaigns and 5 game modes, I don't see what this game is missing for people to dislike it. Maybe they expected magic. This game makes shooters fun again. Expand
  43. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Best game of the generation so far. In terms of enjoyment, this is similar to Goldeneye coming out on the N64. It's fast-paced action but not mindless running around and shooting everything that moves. You need to hone your skills, perfect your strategies and most importantly, co-ordinate attacks with other team players. This is fun with a capital 'F'. Don't believe the haters; theyBest game of the generation so far. In terms of enjoyment, this is similar to Goldeneye coming out on the N64. It's fast-paced action but not mindless running around and shooting everything that moves. You need to hone your skills, perfect your strategies and most importantly, co-ordinate attacks with other team players. This is fun with a capital 'F'. Don't believe the haters; they only came here to down-vote because they are afraid the best game currently out there doesn't run on their machine. Expand
  44. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    While there is not much to do in terms campaign and game types. Titanfall makes up for it with incredibly fun gameplay. It feels like a much refined Call of Duty.
  45. Feb 27, 2015
    9
    I really like this game. The controls are absolutely spot on and the game play is fast paced and balanced. There is alot of negative knocks on this game but the only thing that brought it down for me was lack of maps and a single player campaign.

    I love Respawn and Call of Duty 4 was my favorite Shooter both online and Campaign. So I had high hopes when they left and start Respawn.
    I really like this game. The controls are absolutely spot on and the game play is fast paced and balanced. There is alot of negative knocks on this game but the only thing that brought it down for me was lack of maps and a single player campaign.

    I love Respawn and Call of Duty 4 was my favorite Shooter both online and Campaign. So I had high hopes when they left and start Respawn.

    This would be a 10 if it had more maps and a single player story mode.
    Expand
  46. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    The diversity of play styles is refreshing and amazing. I like most what's included in this game with a few minor detractions: Burn cards (temporary boosts) are a nice touch, but more automatic management of them would be nice (like auto-sell the ones I don't find useful, and preferences to auto fill open slots based on the match type). The Campaign mode is stupid but thankfully brief.The diversity of play styles is refreshing and amazing. I like most what's included in this game with a few minor detractions: Burn cards (temporary boosts) are a nice touch, but more automatic management of them would be nice (like auto-sell the ones I don't find useful, and preferences to auto fill open slots based on the match type). The Campaign mode is stupid but thankfully brief. Firing from the back of friendly titians is nearly impossible on anything other than a Styder. Jumping onto an enemy titan from the 120 degrees while they're walking toward you nearly always results in your death for some reason. Titans can't jump . . . but they use jump jets to rocket across the ground at high speed... The bullets from the long bow (small sniper rifle) travel faster than the bullets from the Kraber-AP (high powered sniper rifle)... wut? Those are my major objections, and they are slight. Expand
  47. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    Great fun, I don't quite understand the negativity around it. I have never really played FPS games online before but Titanfall has made me a convert. I paid only £10 with the season pass, it's a no brainer!
  48. Mar 26, 2015
    8
    I was sceptical of this game - especially given the hype surrounding it. After seeing some reviews it made it seem as if this game was a rush-job cashing in on the "CoD developer" hype. Whilst I can agree with the criticisms levelled at it, I cannot ignore the sublime gameplay Titanfall offers. Yes, it is multiplayer only (and no, you can't have bots). Yes, the campaign is completelyI was sceptical of this game - especially given the hype surrounding it. After seeing some reviews it made it seem as if this game was a rush-job cashing in on the "CoD developer" hype. Whilst I can agree with the criticisms levelled at it, I cannot ignore the sublime gameplay Titanfall offers. Yes, it is multiplayer only (and no, you can't have bots). Yes, the campaign is completely pointless. By that I mean there is no explanation of the story that's interesting or deep enough to care, and since it's a multiplayer-only game, you will join campaign levels in an arbitrary order and have no clue as to which side is which in terms of the story. Really, it's pretending to have a campaign but it doesn't. But then again, why would anyone buy a multiplayer-only shooter for the "campaign"? The gameplay is not different to the rest of the game, so nothing added other than pointless dialogue.

    Onto the gameplay then. What strikes me about it at first is the pacing. Inheriting from Call of Duty's legendary controls for which all console shooters aspire to be (in terms of fluency, intuitiveness and smoothness and ease of use), the game feels incredibly agile. The parkour mechanics are, without joke, the best I've ever come across. Wallrunning can go on for very long and speeds up movement, you can chain wallruns infinitely, you can double-jump, and wallrunning resets your double jump. So really it's (one of) the fastest moving FPS around. It's not just CoD with wallrunning - it feels even better than that. The titans also feel fairly agile and control intuitively. At first I disliked the idea of titans but they really make the game what it is. They're not overpowered, they're not easy to take out and you almost have to purposely stand in front of them to be killed by them as a pilot. AI controlled "auto-titans" can be useful for defending but obviously not as good as being piloted. The titans don't feel like tanks on legs - that's for sure. They have a unique presence but they don't feel overpowered or out of place.

    Given that the season pass is now free, I found that the quantity and quality of maps is amazing. The maps are really well-designed and each one feels different. They are well-suited to objective play and accommodate Titans and the parkour mechanics. Speaking of which, there is a decent selection of game modes - TDM, Domination, Last Titan Standing, CTF, Marked for Death and some other variants on these. This is a game where every game mode is exciting and fun to play. The combination of map design, Titans, controls and pacing make these really intense and action-packed.

    Then there is create-a-class. This is where you can tell it was made by same developers as Call of Duty 4. There aren't a bajillion weapons with hundreds of attachments or skins. No, a small selection of weapons (which are actually different), only a few attachments (which are unlocked by doing challenges), 5 custom slots and 2 custom slots for each game mode. You can customise both Titans and Pilots, but it's not a mess like modern CoD - you pick the ordnance (grenade), tactical ability (e.g. cloak or temporary speed boost), perk 1, perk 2, primary weapon, secondary weapon. There are only 3 secondary weapons - all of which are pistol for different ranges. That's it - no attachments, no SMGs as secondary or anything like that. Simple, easy, balanced. No weapon feels useless, underpowered or overpowered. The smart pistol received a lot of complaints but they are misguided - it is by far the least effective weapon in the game unless you are very stealthy. It has short range and takes a relatively long time to lock on. Overall there is good variety in create-a-class but not overly cluttered. The anti-titan weapons and the Titan create-a-class are particularly commendable for their variety.

    One of the things that makes Titanfall so action-packed is the minions. These are AI-controlled solider which are weak and dumb but there are quite a lot of them for both teams and they spawn infinitely. The make the maps feel more alive like a battlefield and provide easy kills and actually help you do objectives. They typically battle amongst themselves but their presence adds to the action. Even if you don't see many human players you will see plenty of minions so no shortage of action. This leads to another thing about Titanfall - it is never frustrating. No matter how bad you do, you never feel angry.

    To conclude, Titanfall is absolutely an epic shooter. Questions will inevitably arise as to whether a triple-A title can get by on multiplayer alone, but to be honest, I don't think it's a problem. Despite Call of Duty 4's incredible single player, it received little attention from players - most of whom probably never even touched the campaign! Titanfall is overall a very original shooter. It is fair, fun and by far the best-looking Source engine game to date. I have very little to complain about on this title.
    Expand
  49. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    Worth it's weight in gold, just by virtue of a.) it's superior performance and graphics, b.) tight, balanced competitive gameplay, c.) plenty of unlockable weapons and loadouts, d.) exemplary set of maps to play on, e.) parkour gunplay and mechanized warfare, and f.) seat of your pants gameplay with a pace that keeps your adrenaline flowing.

    No other FPS on the market touches it. The
    Worth it's weight in gold, just by virtue of a.) it's superior performance and graphics, b.) tight, balanced competitive gameplay, c.) plenty of unlockable weapons and loadouts, d.) exemplary set of maps to play on, e.) parkour gunplay and mechanized warfare, and f.) seat of your pants gameplay with a pace that keeps your adrenaline flowing.

    No other FPS on the market touches it. The ones who are scoring it lower than an 8 are trying to sell an agenda.
    Expand
  50. Nov 29, 2014
    9
    The Titanfall I think is a very fast-paced and exciting multiplayer game. Many game modes, weapons and maps on the game. The graphics are very nice. Once or twice had to be a bit erratic. If you had a good campaign in it, you deserve smoothly, the 9 points. However, so only worth 7 points.
  51. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    Titanfall is a stunning game that revolutionizes the first person shooter. It's so addictive and fun to play, and is a must own for all Xbox One owners.
  52. Mar 25, 2015
    9
    I first bought this on PC and thought it looked great, but I was consumed with BF4 on the PC at the time. I didn't buy this on the Xbox One until a year after it came out. The deluxe edition - comes with all of the DLC - went on sale on Games with Gold for just over $13! I picked it up because I wanted to compare it to the PC edition..

    There are plenty of maps and quite a few game
    I first bought this on PC and thought it looked great, but I was consumed with BF4 on the PC at the time. I didn't buy this on the Xbox One until a year after it came out. The deluxe edition - comes with all of the DLC - went on sale on Games with Gold for just over $13! I picked it up because I wanted to compare it to the PC edition..

    There are plenty of maps and quite a few game modes are available. I primarily play a mode called variety pack by which the game modes rotate through all of the maps. For the most part, the maps are not made for campers so you have to watch in many directions no matter where you are on the map (it's best to just keep moving; stick and move).

    Though the frame rate and resolution are lower than on the PC, the graphical details on the Xbox One edition are comparable to a high-end PC setup. The surround sound on my surround sound setup is pretty amazing.

    The game is just plain fun. Even noobs can contribute to their team's cause by going after the AI enemies. There is an auto-aiming smart pistol many will complain about, but I think it is a good equalizer for new players as it allows fast lock-ons to AI, but slow lock-ons to other players. When going head to head with another player of any skill, the smart pistol will more than not lose to a player using a manual-aim weapon as the lock-on is that slow with other players when using the smart pistol (unless the other player is completely unaware of the the one with the smart pistol).

    I've found the matchmaking in this game to be quite good by which if one team dominates in a particular round, the next round will see a good shuffling of the players.

    From a first-person shooter standpoint, I've found nothing better on any console and I've owned them all at some point. The mechanics are great. The variety of ways to eliminate an enemy are comparable to most shooters. Hopping into a titan and wreaking havoc over the map is pretty cool. The visual and sound effects are great.

    While the PC version is in fact visually better, it's much harder to find matches online due to lack of interest on that platform. It's also nice to kick back in a recliner as opposed to a computer chair knowing you'll find any type of match virtually any time of day on the Xbox One. This is hands down the best first-person shooter game I've played on a next-gen console.
    Expand
  53. May 28, 2014
    8
    Titanfall delivered what it said it would, a new and unique online multiplayer experience. Unfortunately, as a progress based gamer, that experience grows stale for me after a few rounds, and I am left wanting more, like a more in-depth story. In my opinion Titanfall would have benefited largely from a more in-depth campaign either online or offline, as I feel that the story behind howTitanfall delivered what it said it would, a new and unique online multiplayer experience. Unfortunately, as a progress based gamer, that experience grows stale for me after a few rounds, and I am left wanting more, like a more in-depth story. In my opinion Titanfall would have benefited largely from a more in-depth campaign either online or offline, as I feel that the story behind how we got to this point would be a fascinating one, that is worth being told. Overall, a strong showing, but lacks the depth I would have liked to see. Expand
  54. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    Very addictive fast flowing shooter.
    Respawn have done really well with this game and blew all my expectations out of the water, as this was my first shooter for a console (PC gamer mainly) I didn't really hold high expectations for this game.
    Graphics are solid and what I would expect for a game of this stature, they are very satisfying to look at. The pace of the multiplayer game took
    Very addictive fast flowing shooter.
    Respawn have done really well with this game and blew all my expectations out of the water, as this was my first shooter for a console (PC gamer mainly) I didn't really hold high expectations for this game.
    Graphics are solid and what I would expect for a game of this stature, they are very satisfying to look at.
    The pace of the multiplayer game took time to get used too but after a few games you realise how much the game needs to be fast flowing otherwise it just wouldn't be the same.
    The weapons are well balanced without any clear winners, each one is suitable for a given situation and there is enough in there to choose from and the modifications are very useful in there own way without making them overpowered.
    The titans themselves are something to fear when fighting but you have to think carefully when using your own as they are not overpowered and can easily be brought down when outnumbered this adds some great teamwork as you see players working together with there titans.

    The maps are a really good size and doesn't affect that it is 6 v 6 as I think anymore players would make the game too hectic to play.
    Also the audio in the game is 10/10 as there are loads of little things that make the gameplay just spot on and so immersing.
    The campaign is a bit weak but to unlock the other titans must be played but it does give you an insight of the story of the fight between the militia and the IMC.
    Other than the campaign the game is almost the perfect shooter with the DLC supplying fresh maps to keep the game interesting.
    Expand
  55. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    The best multiplayer game so far on next gen, better the destiny.
    Graphic is not that good but when you enter a Titan, nothing else matters.
    Really looking forward to the sequel
  56. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Finally a game that goes amazingly well and it's not a CoD. In fact I was a lil bit bored of playing CoD Always the same...

    First of all, the graphics of this game are not the ugly, they are functional. Textures are ugly in some parts and nice in others, so call it an even.

    Gameplay is outstanding, the coolest thing is that the map is huge, and instead of playing 6x6, bots are added to make you feel in a war. Much better than CoD ghost, where the maps are huge and also empty.

    It's funnier than any other shooter.

    Worth every penny.
    Expand
  57. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    It's an 8.7, just about, and because it's an online game.
    Titanfall is really fun, it gives you a lot to play with, many different ways to win/triumph and losing is dominated by the feeling of enjoyment borne from running and jumping.
    It steals good COD ideas such as ranking/improvements for playing, has something called burn cards which improve your character for one 'life', focuses
    It's an 8.7, just about, and because it's an online game.
    Titanfall is really fun, it gives you a lot to play with, many different ways to win/triumph and losing is dominated by the feeling of enjoyment borne from running and jumping.

    It steals good COD ideas such as ranking/improvements for playing, has something called burn cards which improve your character for one 'life', focuses on playing for progression, for example there's a black market for burn cards, it lets you play with friends for fun and allows every type of player to improve without always being at the mercy of the better gamer.
    It's an FPS with a rocket up its behind, no bad thing. It always delivers a frantic, fast paced experience if you want it, or you can sit back and play out the field, picking off campers as they find high spots.
    It also has computer AI in game which at first feels wrong but as you play it you realise their addition cements over the cracks of not enough players, larger maps, frantic gameplay and the better player.
    You even get a chance to play on for a minute or two after your team loses/wins, an interesting concept indeed,

    If you stick with it for a bit you will find enjoyment and come back for more, it can be picked up and played when you have a spare 10 minutes or you can play how you like and concentrate on that with ease.
    I can't fault it too much as an online game, it does exactly what it should but it's not for everyone because of its online need. It needs to be cheaper to be fully appreciated, it's not going to be worth more than £20, and that's generous, but if you grab it for under £15 you can be sure that it's going to please on some level.

    An FPS with a dash of parkour, a smidgen of boss beating and tactical variation; if you want to play a game and have a bit of a riot you're not going to be disappointed.
    Apparently buying maps can limit your chance of finding a game so keep that in mind, or research it further, but if you find a copy for less than £15 it's worth your time and effort, if people keep playing it it'll be a game worth visiting for a year or two to come.
    Expand
  58. Feb 2, 2015
    10
    This is a great game and I don't get why people hate it, for example it's something new and It's a lot of fun. Some people say that they couldn't find any servers, maybe they have horrible internet or maybe the devs are trying to fix other things.
  59. Feb 21, 2015
    9
    This game has excellent balance,action,parkour and map design.It does what you need in a game,have insane action.I usually suck at FPS games except Halo:Reach but this is accessible for anyone.
  60. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    This game is over a year old now, but it is still enjoyable.

    What Titanfall has to offer IS 10 OUT OF 10 MATERIAL, but there ISN'T ENOUGH MATERIAL TO GET 10 OUT OF 10. Everything in the game can be unlocked within a couple of days to a couple of weeks. That is where everyone was hating on this game. There are under ten guns, and only 3 types of titans, IF THIS GAME HAD TRIPLE THAT IT
    This game is over a year old now, but it is still enjoyable.

    What Titanfall has to offer IS 10 OUT OF 10 MATERIAL, but there ISN'T ENOUGH MATERIAL TO GET 10 OUT OF 10.

    Everything in the game can be unlocked within a couple of days to a couple of weeks. That is where everyone was hating on this game. There are under ten guns, and only 3 types of titans, IF THIS GAME HAD TRIPLE THAT IT WOULD BE ONE OF THE BEST FIRST PERSON SHOOTERS EVER CREATED (in my opinion).

    Personal opinion: short review for a short game, the campaign was just multiplayer with a bit happening in the background, and general content, well... there isn't much. BUT WHAT THIS GAME HAS IS SO ENJOYABLE AND FUN, THERE JUST NEEDS TO BE MORE OF IT.

    9 out of 10
    Expand
  61. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    The game is excellent, the criticism this game has been given is just pitiful. This is the best shooter I have played since the Call of duty 4 and bad company 2 days, it feels fresh and despite what some idiotic people are saying it is innovative. The parkour and the map design fit each other so well that it is a joy to manoeuvre around each map you play. The shooting mechanics are fastThe game is excellent, the criticism this game has been given is just pitiful. This is the best shooter I have played since the Call of duty 4 and bad company 2 days, it feels fresh and despite what some idiotic people are saying it is innovative. The parkour and the map design fit each other so well that it is a joy to manoeuvre around each map you play. The shooting mechanics are fast and responsive just what you want from a fast paced shooter. "The Titans" as their called are an innovative and entertaining way to keep the genre fresh and break up some of the normal shooting elements, Titan battles are very strategic it isn't just about firing every little bit of ammo you have because there are various defence mechanisms that each Titan has to avoid as much damage as possible. I am ok with the amount of modes available because I only play about 4 that are available anyway because some modes I feel have just been thrown in their for added value and are not suited to the overall gameplay. My gripes with the game are the lack of maps and customisation available for each pilot, they have released more maps in the form of dlc which is disappointing but developers have been doing this for years and it shouldn't be frowned upon just because EA are doing it. I think there is enough content here to satisfy you, it has kept me busy for a few months and that is more than enough for me. I always find myself going back to it because I honesly feel like no other shooter has had anything as innovative and interesting like titanfall has for a long time. Expand
  62. Apr 1, 2015
    9
    Really fun shooter and all DLC maps now free. I bought this on release and am still coming back to it. This is one of the few games I will not trade in. One of my favourites on X1 for sure.
  63. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    most fun I've had in years, the freedom of running and jumping up walls is insane. perfect hit detection of any shooter out there. servers help the game have near zero lag. titans are great and I've found the perfect set up to fit my style of play. the maps are well balanced and i don't know how they did it so well.fun factor alone helps me over look the lack of things like custom camp butmost fun I've had in years, the freedom of running and jumping up walls is insane. perfect hit detection of any shooter out there. servers help the game have near zero lag. titans are great and I've found the perfect set up to fit my style of play. the maps are well balanced and i don't know how they did it so well.fun factor alone helps me over look the lack of things like custom camp but maybe in a dlc. I'm so happy to have an xbox one and a ps4 because i hate pc gaming Expand
  64. Mar 13, 2014
    8
    This game merits a 8 or 8.5 in my book.
    Why? Because, it passes a important metric, it is fun.
    Now, onto the game itself, the gameplay and why it does not merit a 9 or 10. * First off, the graphics. They are decent, nothing mind blowing, but decent. The game looks slightly better than last gen (ps3/x360), but nothing mind blowing. Just better textures, more particle effects and
    This game merits a 8 or 8.5 in my book.
    Why? Because, it passes a important metric, it is fun.
    Now, onto the game itself, the gameplay and why it does not merit a 9 or 10.

    * First off, the graphics. They are decent, nothing mind blowing, but decent.
    The game looks slightly better than last gen (ps3/x360), but nothing mind blowing. Just better textures, more particle effects and perhaps better lighting. A solid 8 there for effort... at least compared to contemporary games. There are better looking games, I wont lie. However, this is not an eyesore and for what its meant to do, it looks great.

    * Gameplay: As I said before, it is fun. Granted this is subject to taste and opinion. However, for me, it rates a solid 8.5 or 9 in fun factor. Higher with friends, lower with random tards.
    The controls are responsive, the game seems well balanced so far.
    The only thing I would have added is a bit of environmental destruction.. not much but more than the current level of windows. Its hard to watch a titan blasting at a pilot hiding in a window and not see ANY form of destruction taking place.

    * Online play: Well, its all online. As I said its fun, flows well, seems fairly lag free so far, so good work. They missed a few key features, such as letting you join with more than 6 people or map voting.

    * Innovation: Well...its not the cure for cancer, nor is it anything that has not really been done before in some part elsewhere. However, it is the first time these elements have been combined into a well balanced package that qualifies as something fun to do.

    * Single player/offline mode.... wait there is not one! So if you have slow internet speeds, flaky internet, or live in a region with no local servers (Australia, I am looking your way), then you will be sucking wind. The game is simply not playable offline. At the very least they could have offered a 2x2 local play split screen mode or even a 4v4 local network play as halo did years ago.
    It worries me a little that my purchase may be worthless in the event of a net outage or loss of support from the dev which will come some day.
    At the very least they need to offer the option for private servers so that someday, when they discontinue support, this game will still be playable for those who still want to enjoy their purchase.

    All in all, its a fun game. If you enjoy FPS type games, give this a try.
    Expand
  65. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Great shooter so far continuously improving the community is great and the game is massive amounts of fun its been a while since i have tried a fps as fun and solid as this great game keep improving and supporting Titan Fall the game is really great thanks! I recommend this game when you buy Xbox One!
  66. Apr 15, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    Because Titanfall is only an online game, obviously that factor is very important to the overall presentation of the finished product and the quality it shows. So far, a little over a month in, I’ve been impressed by how it has held up and how well the server has done despite a few crashes and notable glitches in need of fixing. Respawn has thus far handily addressed most issues as of now and I can only imagine this will motivate other players to join the ongoing battle and cash in to buy the pretty good quality of game they’ve released. It’s been a massive risk to create such an online reliant product of a game, yet it has worked thus far and seems to be ready to for the foreseeable future. It’s good to finally see something equal parts unique and familiar on the market without an all too overbearing series name to put behind the tagline. Entertaining, quality, and new.

    Concept: Titans and pilots alike battle it out over large scale maps that push equal parts vertical assault and expansive land battles, testing your wits and your ability to think fast and on your feet as you run through chaotic attacks.

    Graphics: Especially for a multiplayer only title, the graphics look crisp and framerates run pretty well across all consoles (next gen and current). Sure, there are noticeable differences, yet they do not detract from the experience as a whole.

    Sound: The voice work, where it is found, is professional and spot on in the moments. The ambiance is also excellently sounded out and soundtrack of accompanying noises of battle work fantastically as well.

    Playability: The amount of control given to players is astounding and the fact that there are so many things to do and yet the controls still feel tight and not sloppily packed together is pretty amazing. Each button does a specific or even multiple tasks, and works well.

    Entertainment: Definitely an entertaining experience on the whole, and a fun evolution of multiplayer combat- however slowly it may be reversing the directions we’ve had to constantly travel with well-known series.

    Replay Value: High.

    Overall Score: 8.75
    Expand
  67. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    This is a fun game. Im not a huge shooter or CoD fan but I find the genre entertaining. Its addictive. My only beef with this game is the inability to be matched with people at your own level. I suppose being thrown to the wolves makes one learn quickly but the option to ease in a little more comfortably would have been nice. I could care less about the lack of single player campaign orThis is a fun game. Im not a huge shooter or CoD fan but I find the genre entertaining. Its addictive. My only beef with this game is the inability to be matched with people at your own level. I suppose being thrown to the wolves makes one learn quickly but the option to ease in a little more comfortably would have been nice. I could care less about the lack of single player campaign or any kind of story mode. As if I care why people in the future are shooting each other on ficitional planets. The Titan concept is awesome and refreshing. Something a little different finally. Is the game worth a purchase ? Yes, IMO. The lack of titles on XBOX ONE is the primary reason. Would I have bought this game for the 360. Absolutely not. But again Im not a huge FPS guy. Im happy with the purchase and I enjoy playing it. One last thing Ive found nice, while I havent "explored" the game very thoroughly, I havent noticed EA trying to get in my wallet with DLC. The game seems fun and playable as is. Im sure its only a matter of time before maps and all that crap are "sold". By then I hope there are more titles on the system to choose from. Expand
  68. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Titanfall has changed the way we play online multiplayer shooters. Finally we have a first person shooter that's well balanced with many new abilities and strategies to learn. The campaign is integrated well with the multiplayer. This is an online focused game and all I can say is titanfall has delivered.
  69. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Honestly, this game is amazing. The fact that anyone would give it a zero is ridiculous. Gameplay is the bomb, graphics are good (not great). The over all entertainment you will get from this game is beyond comprehension. The fact that anyone gives this a zero proves that metacritic needs some way of confirming you actually own the game, because that huge red bar is ridiculous andHonestly, this game is amazing. The fact that anyone would give it a zero is ridiculous. Gameplay is the bomb, graphics are good (not great). The over all entertainment you will get from this game is beyond comprehension. The fact that anyone gives this a zero proves that metacritic needs some way of confirming you actually own the game, because that huge red bar is ridiculous and obviously filled with fanboys who feel the need to bag on the xbox. Put simply: Get this game. You will not regret it. Expand
  70. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    This is a really great game. Its sooo much better than COD. The bots I was a bit worried about but their more than just fodder. The unlocks are great and I really like the burn cards. The cards add that random element that's missing from most fps. Great graphics and the sound stands out big time. I pick my guns based on the sound they make in the game. Also, if you have kids this game isThis is a really great game. Its sooo much better than COD. The bots I was a bit worried about but their more than just fodder. The unlocks are great and I really like the burn cards. The cards add that random element that's missing from most fps. Great graphics and the sound stands out big time. I pick my guns based on the sound they make in the game. Also, if you have kids this game is much more friendly than say COD or other FPSs. Its not graphic violence, its a whole bunch of fun! Expand
  71. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Freaking awesome game. The best modes are Last Titan Standing and capture the flag. What Respawn did to balance out the game play was genius Pilots stand a great chance of defeating a Titan. Also you really get your $$ worth out of this game since some matches can last 20 minutes or so. Buy it!! And pay no attention to the PS4 trolls who are giving it 0 stars, they are just jealous.
  72. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    This game is excellent, most bad scores are from Sony fan-boys trying to Sony a favor. Do yourself a favor and read the real reviews from critics and what do they say? "It's amazing" So buy the game it's excellent.
  73. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    Titanfall provides an exhilarating and challenging multiplayer experience.

    I've had no problems with servers and am well on my way to reaching Level 50 by the end of March -- meeting the requirements of a special achievement. It's not a game for people who are unskilled in the fps genre. In its own way, Titanfall is just as much for serious gamers as Dead Souls 2. I intend to buy
    Titanfall provides an exhilarating and challenging multiplayer experience.

    I've had no problems with servers and am well on my way to reaching Level 50 by the end of March -- meeting the requirements of a special achievement.

    It's not a game for people who are unskilled in the fps genre. In its own way, Titanfall is just as much for serious gamers as Dead Souls 2.

    I intend to buy the Season Pass which provides three DLC with additional maps. There is also free DLC expected from its developer Respawn.
    I expect that Titanfall will continue to expand and impress, and prove to be a good investment among games for 2014.
    Expand
  74. May 10, 2014
    10
    Titanfall is a step toward the future of multiplayer shooters. Fast paced, fast matchmaking, awesome fun. I have been a Halo fan for years and spent my share of time with BF4 and COD4, Titanfall ups the multiplayer action. That said, Titanfall has no real campaign, a shame they did not do something akin to SW Battlefront 2. If you are bashing this game, you fall into 1 of two groups:Titanfall is a step toward the future of multiplayer shooters. Fast paced, fast matchmaking, awesome fun. I have been a Halo fan for years and spent my share of time with BF4 and COD4, Titanfall ups the multiplayer action. That said, Titanfall has no real campaign, a shame they did not do something akin to SW Battlefront 2. If you are bashing this game, you fall into 1 of two groups: 1) you prefer single player campaigns 2) you are a Sony fanboy. Titanfall is a must play for any X1 owner who likes online mp shooters. Expand
  75. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    Over hyped definitely, but it is a good solid shooter. I've noticed a ridiculous amount of clipping issues since playing though, including drop pods and the evac ship. The campaign is the worst I've played in an FPS (yes it's worse than Battlefield 4 and CoD). The only reason it gets an 8 is simply because it feels fresh with the mechs and free running.
  76. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    This is the reason why you purchase a Xbox One. Titanfall blends what many First Person Shooters are comfortable with and also adding a whole new dimension to the genre. Titanfall feels like it went back to the beginning, without feeling like you're being limited in anyway. Gone are those pesky kill streaks that people camp for, making majority of the people running and gunning. WhatThis is the reason why you purchase a Xbox One. Titanfall blends what many First Person Shooters are comfortable with and also adding a whole new dimension to the genre. Titanfall feels like it went back to the beginning, without feeling like you're being limited in anyway. Gone are those pesky kill streaks that people camp for, making majority of the people running and gunning. What this game is great at is the feeling of fun when you play and those moments that you can record to share with your friends just by saying "xbox record that". Sure the Titans are a bit overpowered because they can just run around the map stomping and blasting away at their enemies and sometimes when you try to jump on them you get "crushed" but it's not like you need to get 10 kills without dying to get your own. Perhaps the most fustrating thing is trying to get "randoms" to cooperate properly in order to complete and win objective game types, as they might just be running around trying to get kills all on their own(just like any other first person shooters). Otherwise, it is a fantastic experience that has not been around for years. After playing for 3 days, I can say I had more fun than playing other games for the past 4 months. Expand
  77. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Awesome Game! I was playing yesterday with a headset on and my wife was watching a movie in the same room. At the end of the match, my wife asked if something was wrong because I was breathing heavy. This game is so intense it gives me an adrenalin rush! I would probably rate this a 9, but I am going to give it a 10 because of all the sore ps4 fanboys that are crying in a corner andAwesome Game! I was playing yesterday with a headset on and my wife was watching a movie in the same room. At the end of the match, my wife asked if something was wrong because I was breathing heavy. This game is so intense it gives me an adrenalin rush! I would probably rate this a 9, but I am going to give it a 10 because of all the sore ps4 fanboys that are crying in a corner and giving this game a 0 user score. Expand
  78. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    Titanfall delivers an amazing multiplayer with perfect balancing. One thing that made me happy is that there's no way you can camp in this game. Disappointing campaign, but I'll live. Generations are also a good feature (Even though it's almost the same thing from COD: BOPS 2. I would have given this game a perfect rating, if it wasn't for lag and crashes. But still an AMAZING game andTitanfall delivers an amazing multiplayer with perfect balancing. One thing that made me happy is that there's no way you can camp in this game. Disappointing campaign, but I'll live. Generations are also a good feature (Even though it's almost the same thing from COD: BOPS 2. I would have given this game a perfect rating, if it wasn't for lag and crashes. But still an AMAZING game and would highly recommend it. Expand
  79. Mar 13, 2014
    8
    I am going to go with an 8 on this game. I feel that the campaign part honestly was kind of pointless (besides unlocking the titan bodies), and you are in the lobby forever and there are too many dumb intro movies for the battles that really really are useless. I could not tell you one thing that happened in the campaign besides that some dude died and I don't even know who nor did I orI am going to go with an 8 on this game. I feel that the campaign part honestly was kind of pointless (besides unlocking the titan bodies), and you are in the lobby forever and there are too many dumb intro movies for the battles that really really are useless. I could not tell you one thing that happened in the campaign besides that some dude died and I don't even know who nor did I or anyone care. One thing that concerned me with the beta that they seem to have adjusted was the titan vs pilot balance, you can kill titans on foot pretty easily... not very easily by any stretch but it seems a little easier than in the betas and you can survive (sometimes) a run-in with a titan. Someone else brought up a point about liking the pilot game better than using the titans and there are some maps where I agree with that, and often times i use my titan to defend me or to run in and try and nuclear eject and kill a couple titans and people. But at the same time that is why I like this game more than I expected to, on the surface it seems like a run around and shoot senselessly but there is actually a lot of strategy involved with the burn cards, titans, and everything really. There are times I leave my titan waiting to drop for 5 minutes, times I drop it right away, times I use certain burn cards (the endless grenade ones are the best by far IMO). The game is fun, I don't care about things like "Screen tearing" or "frame-rate dropping" or any of that technical crap. The game looks great, plays great, and hopefully will stay that way. I hope they add more add-ons, weapons, and burn cards... its doubtful but with an MP only game hopefully they do. One gripe is that I feel at times some rounds are too short, this is mostly in attrition (which is most of the campaign so you wait for 2-3 minutes between the lobby and the intro crap to play and the game ends in 5 mins) it seems but if you play pilot hunter it goes much longer. This game does feel different, and its fast paced and hard to put down and it's original... I would highly recommend, I am concerned for the long term life of it as I've seen mentioned but I think its worth a purchase and I will have faith that they will update it often Expand
  80. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    Don' believe all the 0's. Seriously, use your head. There is no way a game made by some of the best developers in the world would be bad enough to score a 0. This is just another case of console war fanboyism. It's not on PS4 so, PS4 owners give it a 0. The game is good. Is it a perfect 10? No. But it's a solid 8 or 9. Great, fast game play. A refreshing change from the typical FPS. TryDon' believe all the 0's. Seriously, use your head. There is no way a game made by some of the best developers in the world would be bad enough to score a 0. This is just another case of console war fanboyism. It's not on PS4 so, PS4 owners give it a 0. The game is good. Is it a perfect 10? No. But it's a solid 8 or 9. Great, fast game play. A refreshing change from the typical FPS. Try the game and judge for yourself. Only you can decide if you'll like it or not. As far a no single player is concerned, we new this 2 years ago. I'd rather dev time be spent on making great maps and game play then some crappy 5 hour forgetful campaign. Now that they have the basic mechanics of the game ironed out, I'm sure the next installment will have a campaign. Not that anyone will play it. Expand
  81. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Awesome game that implements the best things from Mirrors Edge, Call Of Duty, Battlefield, and adds robots. This game was system seller for me, and I am glad that I have bought the Xbox One. (No hate for PS4). With this game, you just can't go wrong if you like FPS.
  82. May 15, 2014
    8
    Incredible multi-player functionality however there is one minor drawback that developers seemed to have failed foreseeing. There is no such thing as a casual gaming experience when the only enemies you are allowed to face are real time players through Xbox Gold...
    The pace set by this type game play is much faster and more arduous then a standard Player vs CPU campaign.
    In my opinion
    Incredible multi-player functionality however there is one minor drawback that developers seemed to have failed foreseeing. There is no such thing as a casual gaming experience when the only enemies you are allowed to face are real time players through Xbox Gold...
    The pace set by this type game play is much faster and more arduous then a standard Player vs CPU campaign.
    In my opinion it's the ONLY thing this amazing game is missing.
    Expand
  83. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Oh My God, this game is epic. Finally we have a multiplayer game with incredibly well balanced gameplay mechanics. Nothing is broken. They even managed to avoid perk abuse with the Burn Cards : you choose three of them from your personal deck before a game, and you lose whichever one you activated when you die.

    Being in a titan does not make you completely invulnerable against infantry
    Oh My God, this game is epic. Finally we have a multiplayer game with incredibly well balanced gameplay mechanics. Nothing is broken. They even managed to avoid perk abuse with the Burn Cards : you choose three of them from your personal deck before a game, and you lose whichever one you activated when you die.

    Being in a titan does not make you completely invulnerable against infantry (yet you have the advantage), and being as infantry, you won't get crippled down by titans if you can just be a little smart. What makes it really attractive, is that you don't need to kill or play objectives to get your titan faster, but simply damage your opponents (AI or players). That way, no kill steal nor abusive teammates will prevent you from getting a titan, and everybody will get at least one during each game.

    You can even build some strategies, since your titan's built-in AI can guard areas or follow and assist you.

    Realisation is great, yet not as (purely) technically great as RYSE when it comes about graphics, but still, textures are sharp, antialiasing does a very fine job, and models are very well-designed. Sound effects are completely credible, and the overall ambiance is astounding. The parkour abilities are so intuitive, you won't take long at all getting used to it.

    And I have to say, 6 vs 6 is just what it needs. The AI is here to balance things up, allowing overwhelmed teams to catch up when really in need. And most impressively, it makes camping difficult since they practically are everywhere, trying to slow you down (but not really hurting you), in order to keep dynamism in gameplay.

    Yet, I can't give it a 10/10 because it really lacks a true solo campaign. I understand why they had rather implemented a scenario within multiplayer shaped games in order to create a campaign, but I really don't think it would've been impossible to have a true solo campaign.
    Expand
  84. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    All these negative reviews are ludicrous. I find most of the complaints revolve around peoples hopes and expectations, not judging the game on its own merits. Waaah no single player, wahhh its call of duty, waaah I wanted the second coming but all I got was this solid well balanced and fast shooter.

    For my part I am really enjoying the game. Its fun, has variation from other shooters
    All these negative reviews are ludicrous. I find most of the complaints revolve around peoples hopes and expectations, not judging the game on its own merits. Waaah no single player, wahhh its call of duty, waaah I wanted the second coming but all I got was this solid well balanced and fast shooter.

    For my part I am really enjoying the game. Its fun, has variation from other shooters which makes it fresh, parkour, titans, custom configs for pilots and titans, burn cards. All really well balanced and polished. I had similar thoughts and concerns to others about the lack of a single player campaign, but Ive let that go to enjoy the multiplayer and haven't been disappointed at all.
    Expand
  85. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Sadly its true, the Sony fanboys are out of control. Id be pissed to if i couldnt play this game, it is really awsome, and even though yes it is somewhat like cod. Its like cod with Titans, cold armour jet packs, wall running and it is fun as heck. All of them out there saying its not worth it BLahh BLahh dont buy it. I think this game is worth it, such a diffrent experience then what weSadly its true, the Sony fanboys are out of control. Id be pissed to if i couldnt play this game, it is really awsome, and even though yes it is somewhat like cod. Its like cod with Titans, cold armour jet packs, wall running and it is fun as heck. All of them out there saying its not worth it BLahh BLahh dont buy it. I think this game is worth it, such a diffrent experience then what we are used to in shooters. Its will definitely keep it fun for your moneys worth. A sick story would have been nice, but the multiplayer makes it worth it alone by far. Expand
  86. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    The game lives to its hype, I am not disappointed at all. Being able to play as a pilot or a titan is awesome. The game is full of innovation, yes it does feels somehow like cod , but seriously its like buying a camry and comparing it to a Honda. They both feel the same yet they are different. I haven't had this much fun in a multiplayer game since Call of Duty Modern warfare. ThisThe game lives to its hype, I am not disappointed at all. Being able to play as a pilot or a titan is awesome. The game is full of innovation, yes it does feels somehow like cod , but seriously its like buying a camry and comparing it to a Honda. They both feel the same yet they are different. I haven't had this much fun in a multiplayer game since Call of Duty Modern warfare. This game and the team deserve all the best! Good job Respawn. Expand
  87. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    My god the Sony fanboyism on the site is too real.
    Remarkably enjoyable game and it will only continue to get better! Playing the alpha and beta got me immediately hooked on the game and I was looking forward to release for quite awhile constantly watching and re watching videos about it! I highly recommend you pick it up!
  88. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Played the beta and liked it, played the final game today and fell in love with it. The gameplay is fast and demanding if you want to be top of the board! A+
  89. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    I traded both BF4 and COD Ghosts in for this game after playing the Beta.

    Now playing on all the maps in the real game, and hearing from the devs own mouths they are aiming for a 1080p update or 900p with better upgraded visuals, I am just amazed at this game.

    THIS IS NEXT GEN. The only FPS that is next gen in my opinion.
  90. Rpb
    Mar 12, 2014
    10
    This game is incredibly balanced and a pure blast to play. Any owner of xbox1 needs this game, fps fan or not. Not a perfect game but I have so much fun it doesn't really matter. Connections could be better and some graphical issues so overall 8.5. If those previous qualms are fixed w updates I could give a 9. I will give it a ten just to offset ridiculous reviews of zero etc.This game is incredibly balanced and a pure blast to play. Any owner of xbox1 needs this game, fps fan or not. Not a perfect game but I have so much fun it doesn't really matter. Connections could be better and some graphical issues so overall 8.5. If those previous qualms are fixed w updates I could give a 9. I will give it a ten just to offset ridiculous reviews of zero etc. really a zero?!.. Expand
  91. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    The most fun I've had since I got my hands on Halo, or Super Smash bros for the first time. Wow. I forgot that games could be this much fun. This is a must own for anyone who has a machine to play it. I've played on Xbox One. Not sure what these poor scores are coming from, probably people who haven't played the game. Just to be 100% clear, this game is years ahead of anything else. ThereThe most fun I've had since I got my hands on Halo, or Super Smash bros for the first time. Wow. I forgot that games could be this much fun. This is a must own for anyone who has a machine to play it. I've played on Xbox One. Not sure what these poor scores are coming from, probably people who haven't played the game. Just to be 100% clear, this game is years ahead of anything else. There is nothing comparable, or even on the same level. Expand
  92. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    there was halo, then gears of war, then titanfall. every generation xbox dominates and rejuvenates with shooters. those who graded it as a 0 never played the game and are sourpuss sony fanboys. if the game were on the playstation 4 most people would be grading it as 10/10
  93. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    If you're an FPS fan, you will absolutely love this game. Anyone claiming that Titanfall is 'boring' has obviously never played the game and is a troll. The gameplay is frantic and adrenaline-filled, while also feeling very fresh and innovative compared to recent AAA FPS games. I have never said "Xbox, record that!" as many times playing another game. Titanfall truly is a masterpieceIf you're an FPS fan, you will absolutely love this game. Anyone claiming that Titanfall is 'boring' has obviously never played the game and is a troll. The gameplay is frantic and adrenaline-filled, while also feeling very fresh and innovative compared to recent AAA FPS games. I have never said "Xbox, record that!" as many times playing another game. Titanfall truly is a masterpiece shooter, no other game has combined such magnificent, cinematic action with endless amounts of fun so well. Expand
  94. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game. Every match is a collection of "greatest hits!" Get used to saying "XBOX RECORD THAT!" Ignore these negative reviews. They reek of jealousy.
  95. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    I've had a great time over the last 2 days playing this. Every online match I play, something cooler and cooler happens. I don't know the last time I enjoyed a multiplayer game this much.
  96. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    Titanfall is an overwhelmingly addictive MP shooter! The refinements and balancing are the best at launch for any FPS in a very long time. I was dubious of the AI bots in the battlefield, but they truly bring a great dynamic to this game. The only major fault I have with the game is the lack of content. The multiplayer is spectacular to be sure, and I will be playing this for months,Titanfall is an overwhelmingly addictive MP shooter! The refinements and balancing are the best at launch for any FPS in a very long time. I was dubious of the AI bots in the battlefield, but they truly bring a great dynamic to this game. The only major fault I have with the game is the lack of content. The multiplayer is spectacular to be sure, and I will be playing this for months, but lacks the content of other franchises on the market. Pick this game up if you love FPS games in anyway whatsoever. Expand
  97. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty fun. The art direction is pretty good, but the graphics are not quite the next-gen experience I was looking for. I'll definitely keep playing for a couple more weeks.
  98. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game! Really enjoy it, I can already tell I'm going to spend hundreds of hours with my buddies on this gem. Really recommend it, definitely the best first person shooter on next gen!
  99. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Fun, Exciting and Much More! No campers, no lag issues and best of all you have a fast paced shooter. So many things going on at once. It's awesome!!!
  100. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Titanfall is a great game. I wish it had physical character customization since it is lacking in other departments but overall I've had a blast playing it. I really enjoy stringing together a nice wall run combo and make it across the map really quickly. Don't believe the 10 or 0 reviews...If you have a Xbox One, 360, or PC, and enjoy FPS, there is no reason not to get this game.

    Also
    Titanfall is a great game. I wish it had physical character customization since it is lacking in other departments but overall I've had a blast playing it. I really enjoy stringing together a nice wall run combo and make it across the map really quickly. Don't believe the 10 or 0 reviews...If you have a Xbox One, 360, or PC, and enjoy FPS, there is no reason not to get this game.

    Also bonus points because it was refreshing to not have issues on day 1 of the release!
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    85
    Aside from a few minor quibbles (I can jump across streets and hop over entire buildings, but a knee-high window ledge is insanely finicky to get past?) Titanfall is undoubtedly a great game which does an exceptional job of breathing new life into an increasingly-stale genre.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    An intensely fun multiplayer game that is accessible and fun for everyone. Not perfect, but that's what sequels are for.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    89
    A spectacular and superbly crafted, if traditional, shooter. [May 2014, p.71]