Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    Titanfall is a ridiculous amount of fun. Maybe it’ll be surpassed, but right now it’s the best game on Xbox One and one of the best multiplayer shooters ever.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    92
    We feel like this is next-gen gameplay. Titanfall proves that there's still room for innovation in shooting games, and we've had a blast playing it. It could have had next-gen visuals, though, and then it would have been the bomb.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    90
    It's exactly the game we all wanted it to be. As long as the Azure server infrastructure can keep up with demand, Respawn's idea will continue to work perfectly. Pilot v. Pilot, Pilot v. Titan, Titan v. Titan. All of the possible gameplay scenarios are compelling, fair, and fun.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    88
    Titanfall is a great start to an exciting new franchise. Sure, campaign multiplayer is a disappointment and I wish there was a little more meat on the bones in terms of game modes and pilot and titan types, among other things – but the gameplay is outstanding.
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    85
    An amazing title in terms of gameplay and fun.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    For a multiplayer-only game, Titanfall should have some amazing options and ways to play. But it doesn’t. It has a very healthy number of maps (15), but the lack of interesting new modes will make you feel shortchanged for not getting a single-player campaign. Hell, even shooters like Halo 2 from two console generations ago offer more in the multiplayer-options department...But what is there is so incredible.
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    60
    If you want something more from your video games or if you want to be transported to another dimension to learn the true role of an intergalactic soldier, you should probably hit the books. If Titanfall is representative of man’s aspirations, we’re going no where fast.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Titanfall brings the perfect combination of fast-paced FPS and strategic FPS. Unlike many other games (Cough-cough) they keep the game fast paced by adding in CPUs, which also add a sense of accomphlishment for players that arent necessarily as talented as others. In the end, its worth the $60 much more than any other game than you will probably buy this year. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I own this for PC. This game is easily the best multiplayer I have played in a long time. The game is so fluid and crisp. Well at least maxed out on 1080p on my PC it is. So much fun and a constant rush. It actually has my attention. It is not just another brain dead shooter. I am writing my review here as well because this seems to be where most people are going for the reviews. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Really awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that and yopu got a solid game. Respawn have nailed the balance nothing feels overpowered or useless. Though the campaign multiplayer could have used some more work. I hope the coming DLC will add to the campaign side of things as well as the multiplayer. Collapse
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    I really have enjoyed this game a lot. Never has a game made me feel awesome even when I lose and am not at the top of the list. I really don't understand all the complaints about the game, it's pure fun.
    I know some people were having issues with the servers, but doing a hard reset on my console and on the consoles of everyone I've spoken with seems to resolve all server issues.
    I love that Titanfall is so well balanced and nothing feels overpowered or complicated. Everything about the game is intuitive and responsive.
    The campaign may be hard to follow, but it's there and pretty epic if you pay attention to it. You get to play from both sides of the war between the Militia and the IMC. It may be lacking in story, but the game play exceeds the need for a AAA story.
    Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    Titanfall is a fast, frantic shooter that adds something refreshing to a genre with little innovation. The movement is a fun addition and allows for exciting moments as you run and bounce off walls gunning down enemies.
    The game controls well most of the time but because your character automatically wall runs getting in windows or over small ledges quickly can be finicky. The titans control well and fell big. The pacing of them makes it feel like you are controlling a large robot.
    The game does however have a bit of a lack of content. There aren't very many guns and many of them aren't worth using. Semi autos go mostly unused because the speed of the game makes them difficult to use. The burst fire gun falls under the same level. It's not that they are bad guns, just not good for the speed of the game. I would also like to see more game modes. A king of the hill mode would work, or a game mode like team defender from CoD with the movement system could be fun. I know some of these game modes wouldn't be highly played but still fun.
    Over all a good game, but I think a little more variety would make it more interesting over time.
    Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    What can I say about Titanfall, that everybody wants to hear. It is NEXT GENERATION! The graphics are good, the gameplay is addictive at times and there are plenty of multiplayer "ONLY" modes to play. I still hope that more modes and hopefully an offline mode (yeah right) can be added to this game. The game is succeeding and selling well so I am VERY HAPPY to see this. Gamers around the world are very happy with this game ( I hope the servers are fixed for South Africa). I just hope that EA does not @#$% this UP! Enjoy gamers and I will enjoy this game too for as long as the servers stay up. Yup! The only big problem that I have with online only games is that once servers crash or are taken down, NO MORE TITANFALL! So that would be $60 down the drain with no single player offline modes. Yup. Enjoy gamers. Enjoy! Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    0
    The game doesn't work. Plain and simple. If you bought the Xbox One Titanfall bundle with the digital download, then the game will lock up at a certain point in the campaign without fail. No one has found a solution, and the developers have done nothing at all to address it several months after release. If you can't play a game at all, then it's worthless. Expand

See all 912 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox One.
  2. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.