Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    Titanfall is a ridiculous amount of fun. Maybe it’ll be surpassed, but right now it’s the best game on Xbox One and one of the best multiplayer shooters ever.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    92
    We feel like this is next-gen gameplay. Titanfall proves that there's still room for innovation in shooting games, and we've had a blast playing it. It could have had next-gen visuals, though, and then it would have been the bomb.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    90
    It's exactly the game we all wanted it to be. As long as the Azure server infrastructure can keep up with demand, Respawn's idea will continue to work perfectly. Pilot v. Pilot, Pilot v. Titan, Titan v. Titan. All of the possible gameplay scenarios are compelling, fair, and fun.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    88
    Titanfall is a great start to an exciting new franchise. Sure, campaign multiplayer is a disappointment and I wish there was a little more meat on the bones in terms of game modes and pilot and titan types, among other things – but the gameplay is outstanding.
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    85
    An amazing title in terms of gameplay and fun.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    For a multiplayer-only game, Titanfall should have some amazing options and ways to play. But it doesn’t. It has a very healthy number of maps (15), but the lack of interesting new modes will make you feel shortchanged for not getting a single-player campaign. Hell, even shooters like Halo 2 from two console generations ago offer more in the multiplayer-options department...But what is there is so incredible.
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    60
    If you want something more from your video games or if you want to be transported to another dimension to learn the true role of an intergalactic soldier, you should probably hit the books. If Titanfall is representative of man’s aspirations, we’re going no where fast.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Quite a great game, easy to pick up and hard to put down. Very fast paced but not too hard to get used to, graphics are nice looking but the game play is amazing. Not over saturated with useless weapons and really fun playing with friends. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Very surprised! I did not think to buy the game before its released and finally gameplay to interest me and I'm falling in love! One finds his feelings nowhere in other games is indescribable, running on walls, jumping around, dodge bullets aboard the Titan. Simply enjoyable! Hate to see the future DLC Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Really awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that and yopu got a solid game. Respawn have nailed the balance nothing feels overpowered or useless. Though the campaign multiplayer could have used some more work. I hope the coming DLC will add to the campaign side of things as well as the multiplayer. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    I don't normally write reviews, but I felt compelled to write one for this gem. First, there are in fact a lot of neigh sayers from those who think that there is a console war and love their Sony systems, and then there are thoughs who have watched a video and thus written a review based on said video and are now experts. I am a PC gamer and I own an Xbox one. I bought the game for the One instead of PC as I do enjoy more arcade like shooters on a controller.

    First, this game is fantastic, and not because of E3 hype or COD roots. I was a large fan of CoD4: MW and MW2, but stopped there as I agreed with the creators that the direction CoD was going was bad. I also enjoy slower and harder experiances such as DayZ, STALKER, X-Com on Impossible Ironman...and let me lay to rest your fears. This game is not casualized, what it does is strike a fine line between pleasing hardcore players, but easing in weaker players into becoming better. The bot AI does indeed suck, but the balance of having bots and players adds ambiance to the environment and made the maps feel more like a war zone. This depth is great and is something I look for when I game, depth and immersion..,games like New Vegas, STALKER, Metro 2033, Amnesia: TDD, Skyrim all do this in various ways and being a parkouring pilot with smooth transition between ground and wall running to manning a 30ft mech is amazingly crafted. This game stands on gameplay alone but adds in loadouts and a lot of gear for a ton of variety...is it as much as BF4? No, that is a different beast all together.

    The gameplay is smooth and incredibly balanced. No OP weapons or loadouts, but great gear making you feel powerful. Each death I learned but never felt cheated. The tactics for running mechs adds a third layer to the parkour and traditional shooting, and the fact it is a Source engine build makes the gunplay tight and responsive. The graphics are very good, do not be decieved by again neighsayers. Do note however that though this is a review for the next gen system, the fact that it is hitting Xbox 360, much like many new gen titles, means that both Sony and Microsoft are playing it safe as are production studios. No one is truly exploring the new machines yet and seeing what is possible, and much like last gen, there will be an infancy stage to get hings rolling. However, though graphically nice, Titanfall is affected by this play-it-safe attitude, but only there. The gameplay is truly next gen and amazing, they did not play it safe, created an idea, used a new engine compared to CoD's, and they succeeded. Get the game, I'll see you in game gents.
    Expand
  5. May 15, 2014
    8
    Incredible multi-player functionality however there is one minor drawback that developers seemed to have failed foreseeing. There is no such thing as a casual gaming experience when the only enemies you are allowed to face are real time players through Xbox Gold...
    The pace set by this type game play is much faster and more arduous then a standard Player vs CPU campaign.
    In my opinion it's the ONLY thing this amazing game is missing.
    Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    It's fun enough but it's absolutely not worth $60, not nearly enough modes, decent amount of maps but everything is lacking. No single player is not an issue to me, but lack of a compelling multiplayer campaign is.

    Graphics are pretty poor, I don't imagine the 360 version will look that much worse to be frank, very dated, that and the fact that it's not even running at full HD mean the jaggies everywhere and pretty severe framerate dips are unacceptable.

    AI is a little dumb but they're cloud powered apparently so they could improve their algorithms.

    In conclusion, perfectly fun little shooter, but it has been severely overhyped by the press and it doesn't offer much in the way of value, price wise.
    Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    0
    The game doesn't work. Plain and simple. If you bought the Xbox One Titanfall bundle with the digital download, then the game will lock up at a certain point in the campaign without fail. No one has found a solution, and the developers have done nothing at all to address it several months after release. If you can't play a game at all, then it's worthless. Expand

See all 931 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox One.
  2. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.