Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2387 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combinesCrafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    Titanfall is a ridiculous amount of fun. Maybe it’ll be surpassed, but right now it’s the best game on Xbox One and one of the best multiplayer shooters ever.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    92
    We feel like this is next-gen gameplay. Titanfall proves that there's still room for innovation in shooting games, and we've had a blast playing it. It could have had next-gen visuals, though, and then it would have been the bomb.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    90
    It's exactly the game we all wanted it to be. As long as the Azure server infrastructure can keep up with demand, Respawn's idea will continue to work perfectly. Pilot v. Pilot, Pilot v. Titan, Titan v. Titan. All of the possible gameplay scenarios are compelling, fair, and fun.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    88
    Titanfall is a great start to an exciting new franchise. Sure, campaign multiplayer is a disappointment and I wish there was a little more meat on the bones in terms of game modes and pilot and titan types, among other things – but the gameplay is outstanding.
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    85
    An amazing title in terms of gameplay and fun.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    For a multiplayer-only game, Titanfall should have some amazing options and ways to play. But it doesn’t. It has a very healthy number of maps (15), but the lack of interesting new modes will make you feel shortchanged for not getting a single-player campaign. Hell, even shooters like Halo 2 from two console generations ago offer more in the multiplayer-options department...But what is there is so incredible.
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    60
    If you want something more from your video games or if you want to be transported to another dimension to learn the true role of an intergalactic soldier, you should probably hit the books. If Titanfall is representative of man’s aspirations, we’re going no where fast.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Great game. The quickness of the game play reminds me of Quake on the PC from years ago or even Return to Castle Wolfenstein for the originalGreat game. The quickness of the game play reminds me of Quake on the PC from years ago or even Return to Castle Wolfenstein for the original Xbox.

    The balance of power between the pilots and Mechs is perfect. It a great feeling to be able to jump on the back of an enemy Mech as a pilot and shoot bullets into his metal skull to kill it.

    Only two minor complaints.. the kick should not be that powerful and the smart pistol should be removed.. but those two factors do not make me lower my score of 10/10 for the great game play.
    Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is a major breath of life to Nextgen gaming. I could only take so much COD. BF4 is amazing ,but Titanfall definitely brings a muchThis game is a major breath of life to Nextgen gaming. I could only take so much COD. BF4 is amazing ,but Titanfall definitely brings a much needed change to first person shooters. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Really awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that andReally awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that and yopu got a solid game. Respawn have nailed the balance nothing feels overpowered or useless. Though the campaign multiplayer could have used some more work. I hope the coming DLC will add to the campaign side of things as well as the multiplayer. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    If you are a first person shooter fan, this is your game. I gave the multiplayer a 25 out of 40 because the game lacks weaponry. The controlsIf you are a first person shooter fan, this is your game. I gave the multiplayer a 25 out of 40 because the game lacks weaponry. The controls are basic, if you are the typical Call of Duty fan you will love the controls. Graphics and sound are on par with what the Xbox brings to the table. Re-playability to me, gets a 10. If you replay the game during its cycle periodically, that rises the score (generally story games I play through once). Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    8
    When it's all said and done I can't give this game more than an 8. The game is fun. The flight/thrust suit and the addition of mechsWhen it's all said and done I can't give this game more than an 8. The game is fun. The flight/thrust suit and the addition of mechs (titans) adds a new twist to multiplayer. The maps are fun, and I love how they incorporated buildings that can fit your titan so your not just restricted to combat outside when piloting. I do wish you could jump on top of buildings with your titan, but that's not a big deal. Controls are tight, and responsive. If your a fan of Call of Duty you will like this game. There are a lot of Call of Duty...esque features when it comes to multiplayer. Challenges, loadouts, unlocking weapons/perks at certain levels, and of course prestige leveling. All fun things to do, but honestly......I'm tired of it. Should these things have been left out? Of course not! I just would have liked to see some more originality. Other than that multiplayer is FUN! However the biggest reason I marked this game down was because of the absence of a real single player campaign. After playing through both sides I still have no idea what is going on, and I could care less about either faction. That in my opinion is a complete failure.....how can you expect people to latch onto or care about this new universe/franchise when we have absolutely no clue what's going on! Just throwing in cool robots isn't enough....there needs to be a history if you want to captivate people and get them invested. If you like multiplayer you will like this game. However if your looking for a solid story/campaign you will be severely disappointed! Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    It is solid game, which is better than Call of Duty BO2 or MW3 for its robots, jumping.. That's all. Well robots(titans) are really cool. ButIt is solid game, which is better than Call of Duty BO2 or MW3 for its robots, jumping.. That's all. Well robots(titans) are really cool. But it is still futuristic Call of Duty. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2014
    0
    repetitive gameplay system, the campaign is outrage to the gamers, the graphics are ugly, the call of duty's spirit is there and makes wrong,repetitive gameplay system, the campaign is outrage to the gamers, the graphics are ugly, the call of duty's spirit is there and makes wrong, no offline gaming, just like a botzone or something more Expand

See all 956 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox One.
  2. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.