Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2351 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    Titanfall is a ridiculous amount of fun. Maybe it’ll be surpassed, but right now it’s the best game on Xbox One and one of the best multiplayer shooters ever.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    92
    We feel like this is next-gen gameplay. Titanfall proves that there's still room for innovation in shooting games, and we've had a blast playing it. It could have had next-gen visuals, though, and then it would have been the bomb.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    90
    It's exactly the game we all wanted it to be. As long as the Azure server infrastructure can keep up with demand, Respawn's idea will continue to work perfectly. Pilot v. Pilot, Pilot v. Titan, Titan v. Titan. All of the possible gameplay scenarios are compelling, fair, and fun.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    88
    Titanfall is a great start to an exciting new franchise. Sure, campaign multiplayer is a disappointment and I wish there was a little more meat on the bones in terms of game modes and pilot and titan types, among other things – but the gameplay is outstanding.
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    85
    An amazing title in terms of gameplay and fun.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    For a multiplayer-only game, Titanfall should have some amazing options and ways to play. But it doesn’t. It has a very healthy number of maps (15), but the lack of interesting new modes will make you feel shortchanged for not getting a single-player campaign. Hell, even shooters like Halo 2 from two console generations ago offer more in the multiplayer-options department...But what is there is so incredible.
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    60
    If you want something more from your video games or if you want to be transported to another dimension to learn the true role of an intergalactic soldier, you should probably hit the books. If Titanfall is representative of man’s aspirations, we’re going no where fast.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game, smooth game mechanics addictive gameplay and super fun great maps and game modes this game is one of the best games i have ever played. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Titanfall is like breathing fresh air, for once in the many years of FPS gaming something has be truly new and innovative. The game is well balanced and filled with chaos everywhere. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Really awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that and yopu got a solid game. Respawn have nailed the balance nothing feels overpowered or useless. Though the campaign multiplayer could have used some more work. I hope the coming DLC will add to the campaign side of things as well as the multiplayer. Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    Firstly let me address some of the criticisms that have been levelled at Titanfall.

    A lot has been said about the lack of game modes,
    whilst the options initially where quite limited they where all fun and incredibly well balanced and worked well.
    Since release Extra game modes have been added on a rotation system starting with the quite fun Marked for death, where one player on each team is marked as a target and everyone elses goal is to hunt them down.
    They have also added some variety pack options just like cod which cycle game modes. Also they have enabled and improved private lobby’s.
    All of this has been done with free updates along with a ton of minor tweaks and bug fixes based on community feedback.
    Seeing as lack of game modes and private lobby’s have been some of the biggest criticisms I thought that was worth mentioning.

    Now a lot has been said as well about the lacklustre campaign and I’ll agree a proper campaign would have been nice but for me it’s more about what is there rather then what’s not.
    And make no mistake what is there is some of the most ridiculously fun and inventive multiplayer I have played in a long time. Titans are awesome and the pilots parkour skills really do add whole new dimensions to the tired cod formula.
    I love COD a lot. However even I have become jaded with how repetitive it has become as a whole.
    Let me tell you right now the words tired, repetitive or boring have no place in the Titanfall dictionary. The controls are silky smooth and the frame rate is solid, I have yet to experience any lag, slow down, screen tearing or noticeable frame rate dips as some players have reported.

    The Pilot movement mechanics are simple and easy to pick up while quite literally adding a whole new dimension to the traditional cod formula. Sprinting along walls, double jumping through windows whilst exploring the huge multi tiered maps is some of the most exciting gameplay I have experienced in an online shooter. Ever. Strategically you have a whole new world of map exploration, flanking tactics and general sneakiness to explore. Whilst the movement mechanics are definitely a breath of fresh air in an increasingly stale genre the underlying shooting mechanics are as well balanced and precise as any iteration of cod has managed. Which is to be expected seeing as most of the major players in Titan Fall also worked on Cod 4 Modern warfare.

    All of this before you even call down your giant metal buddy from the sky for some titan based mayhem. Oh the titans!
    I can not understate just how much fun it is climbing in to your titan and causing mayhem across the large and varied map offerings.
    What really impresses is how said titans never feel like they unbalance the core gameplay, it all works so well and is so finely balanced that titan on titan combat or pilot on titan or pilot and titan vs titan combat is never les then exhilarating.

    Want to stomp around the map launching homing missiles and squashing puny pilots under your giant metal feet, go for it. Want your titan to guard a choke point or hard point, you got it. Want the freedom to wall run and double jump around the map with your titan watching your back from the ground, feel free.

    The combination of titan and pilot load outs, whilst not reaching the dizzying variety of options as say Black Ops 2 are all finely tuned and well balanced to cater for a variety of different play styles.

    Stealth, run and gun, cautious and tactical? However you like to play Titan fall can accommodate.

    Nothing quite compares to the first time you beat an enemy titan to near death and then reach out ripping the lifeless pilot from his cockpit to be discarded like a broken toy.

    Verdict

    Titan fall is a good looking if not mind blowing shooter with excellent and refreshing movement mechanics, well thought out and challenging map design and an overall air of polish, precision and importantly well balanced gameplay.
    No matter how you choose to play, Titanfall will entertain, challenge and engage in a way that many long time cod fans (myself included) have been waiting for.

    Titanfall may not reinvent the wheel when it comes to online shooters but it definitely adds Four wheel drive.

    What are you waiting for Pilot! Prepare for Titanfall.
    Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Long time gamer review of Titanfall. (I come from Atari, Nintendo, PC pre VGA, PC post VGA, SNES, Sega, Sega CD, 3DO, N64, Xbox, PS2, Gamecube, Xbox360, and now Xbox One. I enjoy every single type of game released on these platforms, a good game is a good game. Some genres I enjoy more than others, but I am your average, but well versed, all around gamer).

    This game is great! But there are some real solid reasons why it is not a 10 non of which have anything to do with game play. If I were an investor I would be drooling over the potential this has of being the next big "Call of Duty" type franchise. Yes I am aware of who helped develop this title, but don't let that fool you. I'm an optimist at my core but let's be real, there is no shortage of hype around this title so I will save what you already know until the end. The bad: For me, it's all been visual based. I find the levels cool but there are some recylcled visual elements from COD Black Ops 2 that I could quickly pick out which to me reduces the value of a game. DEVELOPERS when you recycle, just mod the item so I cannot recognize it or think I've seen it somewhere else. It's kind of like securing the body of a car to the frame with string or duct tape, it looks cheap and it pisses off gamers. Also, the levels themselves seem very similar, so much that I get them mixed up even after a solid 2 days of play time. More could have been done to make this a more visually stunning game. If the game weren't a ton of fun, unique, and so easy to adapt to I would have rated it less. But as a fairly big fan of COD since COD 4, dissapointed with the re-packaging and overpricing of COD ( a successful format that I believe has truly lead to the decline in the overall quality and risk taking in gaming ) this one truly fills the void. I love that you can crush, smash, stomp, and throw your enemies from a Titan, with gore! However I would have loved to see more reactive impacts (bullet holes, inflicted damage, realism), basically a greater visual realism for a fantasy game. Some may complain about the simplicity of the weapon loadouts and features but I argue in a new release this is a strength. It's not like it's another modern or recent past FPS game that is looking to compete with COD and needs to reinvent the wheel and format. We have a solid format with a fairly unique game. So I agree (if this is the strategy) with not making it too complex. There is so much to learn about the game, game play, and bad ass features that it is nice being able to jump in to an easily adaptable and simple control. Believe me, many games have mad controls over complex to add challenge. I find that format only adds frustration. It is a breath of fresh air not having to learn new controls and being able to adapt, excel, and enjoy this awesome FPS! I've hear references to this game becomming boring. I just completed my 2nd prestige and going. I enjoy it so much I have not even turned on my COD Ghosts to see the new maps and it's what 2 weeks later? Also only on my 2nd prestige with COD Ghosts, where as this time last year I had already 10th prestige...
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    6
    Bought the Titanfall Xbox bundle and after a short time playing the game I realized why it was included for no additional cost. No offline play, weak story line and bad online arena set up. Fragfests aren't my fav but I don't mind them when done right. This one falls short of the mark. Was almost lost when I first started up campaign mode as that title is usually reserved for offline story mode. Then you get thrown into an arena with various other players. There was little "matching" involved as it always appeared to have low level players versus high level players. Not one game was evenly matched. The controls are fairly quick to get to know and familiar to other games, this was a plus. Infantry are a bit too powerful versus the titans but I'm sure that will be balanced out in the future. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2014
    0
    This game sucks balls and I mean big balls I downloaded the game took 3 hours and then I'm all ready to play my new game and guess what I got scammed it could not find a sever its been 3 days **** you titanfall go suck a giant cock if you see this ea you can suck my **** and go to hell cocksuckers Expand

See all 945 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox One.
  2. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.