Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    Titanfall is a ridiculous amount of fun. Maybe it’ll be surpassed, but right now it’s the best game on Xbox One and one of the best multiplayer shooters ever.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    92
    We feel like this is next-gen gameplay. Titanfall proves that there's still room for innovation in shooting games, and we've had a blast playing it. It could have had next-gen visuals, though, and then it would have been the bomb.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    90
    It's exactly the game we all wanted it to be. As long as the Azure server infrastructure can keep up with demand, Respawn's idea will continue to work perfectly. Pilot v. Pilot, Pilot v. Titan, Titan v. Titan. All of the possible gameplay scenarios are compelling, fair, and fun.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    88
    Titanfall is a great start to an exciting new franchise. Sure, campaign multiplayer is a disappointment and I wish there was a little more meat on the bones in terms of game modes and pilot and titan types, among other things – but the gameplay is outstanding.
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    85
    An amazing title in terms of gameplay and fun.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    For a multiplayer-only game, Titanfall should have some amazing options and ways to play. But it doesn’t. It has a very healthy number of maps (15), but the lack of interesting new modes will make you feel shortchanged for not getting a single-player campaign. Hell, even shooters like Halo 2 from two console generations ago offer more in the multiplayer-options department...But what is there is so incredible.
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    60
    If you want something more from your video games or if you want to be transported to another dimension to learn the true role of an intergalactic soldier, you should probably hit the books. If Titanfall is representative of man’s aspirations, we’re going no where fast.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    It should be an 8 but for all the haters that get on and overexagerate and put 0's i put ten. Great action, great mechanics, super smooth, super fast. My friends and i forgot to breathe at times. Finished "campaign" in three hours. But its purely made online multiplayer, and yes i miss a good campaign, halo will be second to none. Its alot of action, maps werent as big as i expected, and theres not a lot of modes yet, ut its a great exciting shooter. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is an official cod killer, intense multiplayer action, go go go, its just fun, most fun I have had on a shooter since the old Quake and Counterstrike days. Anyone giving this a negative review is either bad at competitive shooters, or a pissed off sony fan boy. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Really awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that and yopu got a solid game. Respawn have nailed the balance nothing feels overpowered or useless. Though the campaign multiplayer could have used some more work. I hope the coming DLC will add to the campaign side of things as well as the multiplayer. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Great game, can be a little lacking though. gameplay is fantastic though. A definite buy for anyone who owns, or wants to own an xbox one. Do yourself a favour, just try it. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    I really like Titanfall. I can't give it a higher score because it doesn't have a campaign, and that makes me feel cheated to a certain extent, but it does multiplayer very well. It brings freshness to the FPS with unique features like the titans and wall-climbing. It's fast, smooth, and just lots of fun. I wish the graphics were more next-gen, but they're still good. If you like multiplayer (Halo, COD, Gears), you have to check it out. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    This game isn't the zero that Sony Ponies are giving it, and it's definitely not the 10 that Xbots are giving it.

    It's a slightly better
    FPS than Call of Duty. It just has the unenviable task of being the first big post-launch game for a new console system. Anyone giving it a ten is deluded, as is anyone giving it less than 5. Only broken games deserve a score that low, and it's not broken. I deduct points from it for being online-only, not impressing visually, not staying steady at 60fps and having a disappointing 792p resolution. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    0
    The game doesn't work. Plain and simple. If you bought the Xbox One Titanfall bundle with the digital download, then the game will lock up at a certain point in the campaign without fail. No one has found a solution, and the developers have done nothing at all to address it several months after release. If you can't play a game at all, then it's worthless. Expand

See all 921 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox One.
  2. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.