Titanfall Xbox One

Titanfall Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2572 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combinesCrafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    Titanfall is a ridiculous amount of fun. Maybe it’ll be surpassed, but right now it’s the best game on Xbox One and one of the best multiplayer shooters ever.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    92
    We feel like this is next-gen gameplay. Titanfall proves that there's still room for innovation in shooting games, and we've had a blast playing it. It could have had next-gen visuals, though, and then it would have been the bomb.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    90
    It's exactly the game we all wanted it to be. As long as the Azure server infrastructure can keep up with demand, Respawn's idea will continue to work perfectly. Pilot v. Pilot, Pilot v. Titan, Titan v. Titan. All of the possible gameplay scenarios are compelling, fair, and fun.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    88
    Titanfall is a great start to an exciting new franchise. Sure, campaign multiplayer is a disappointment and I wish there was a little more meat on the bones in terms of game modes and pilot and titan types, among other things – but the gameplay is outstanding.
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    85
    An amazing title in terms of gameplay and fun.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    For a multiplayer-only game, Titanfall should have some amazing options and ways to play. But it doesn’t. It has a very healthy number of maps (15), but the lack of interesting new modes will make you feel shortchanged for not getting a single-player campaign. Hell, even shooters like Halo 2 from two console generations ago offer more in the multiplayer-options department...But what is there is so incredible.
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    60
    If you want something more from your video games or if you want to be transported to another dimension to learn the true role of an intergalactic soldier, you should probably hit the books. If Titanfall is representative of man’s aspirations, we’re going no where fast.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    I gave the game a 10 because I had to check it out for myself, and doing so the game is great. it does have a interesting story mode with aI gave the game a 10 because I had to check it out for myself, and doing so the game is great. it does have a interesting story mode with a multiplayer influence. Its a new way to dive into a new multi-player experience. The style is unique and fun. The titans in it self brings the battlefield to life with pure fun. No spoilers, for those ppl who have not have a chance to play, this game is worth a shot. I had to get both systems (ps4&Xb1) because the gaming community is out of wack. Enjoy you games! I'm not a fan boy, I'm a gamer! Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    game is fantastic , very fast smooth exciting gameplay , ...every round of titanfall is intense and loads of fun.

    see you on on the battle
    game is fantastic , very fast smooth exciting gameplay , ...every round of titanfall is intense and loads of fun.

    see you on on the battle field !!!...
    Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Really awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that andReally awesome game. The whole pilot and titan sides of this game brings new dynamics to the gameplay and just add fast movement with that and yopu got a solid game. Respawn have nailed the balance nothing feels overpowered or useless. Though the campaign multiplayer could have used some more work. I hope the coming DLC will add to the campaign side of things as well as the multiplayer. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    I have to say I am not sure what to say having spent time reading all the reviews Im not sure if I should review the game of the reviewers.I have to say I am not sure what to say having spent time reading all the reviews Im not sure if I should review the game of the reviewers.

    Well lets start with the reviewers most of the negative reviewers seem to make lax comments about the game being Cod with mechs or how the graphics don't look as good as the PS4. This is mostly sour grapes from people who have never even bothered to play it or are unable to play it. That is a sad thing from people wanting to bring the game down not because its a bad game but because its not on their console of choice.

    If you don't want to check out the mainstream go listen to Totalbuscuits reviews.

    The game is very good and all this as a first game from a new studio. They are however a studio of veterans but a new studio none the less. The game is almost flawless its a fantastic attempt to breath new life into what has become a fairly static genre. The balance between both the pilot gameplay and the titan game play is epic changing mid battle or calling in a Titan to act as a wingman never gets old. I will admit the game does not take many risks but most other games in this genre don't either. The game play can be broken into 2 types the pilot gameplay that feels somewhat familiar but also has a freshness about it I have not seen since COD4. The wall jumping adds speed and fluidity of movement around the fantastically designed maps giving the whole game a sense of rhythm. Mix this up with the epic titan battles that erupt around you and matches come to an end all too soon. The titan game play feels different enough to keep things fresh while still feeling somewhat familiar. I have to admit I never got board of calling in a Titan to aid me when trying to keep a hard point or charging in to blow its core when the odds where not in my favour. There are some bad points too the campaign lacks depth and could have been so much more than what is essentially a beginners mode. The frame rate seldom drops bellow a silky smooth 60 FPS and when it does you hardly notice it.

    The game does benefit from a balanced unlock system rarely are you left feeling that you have been grinding for hours with no weapons or perks unlocked.

    There have been a lot of complaints about the fact that the game is multiplayer only however I remember a little franchise called battlefield which was multiplayer only and was still great.

    So to those who knock this without trying It I say its your loss and your narrow-minded view has probably robed you of a great experience.

    While not perfect I believe the game provides a fresh take and shows what can be done when to breath new life into a stale genre.

    Ultimately I remember a time when games where about gameplay and not solely about graphics I mean take dark souls does not look great but its fun to play. Titan fall looks great and is fun to play.

    9 out of 10
    A great first game that puts gameplay first.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2014
    8
    Titanfall is everything it promised to be, a fun and addictive first person shooter that brings back the fun to the oversaturated FPS market.Titanfall is everything it promised to be, a fun and addictive first person shooter that brings back the fun to the oversaturated FPS market. The inclusion of new game mechanics such as wall running, double jumping and the titans is what the gene needed. My only gripe is the campaign which is just the same multiplayer modes available rehashed with some real time background story as you play. You won't care for the characters or the story to be honest as you will be too busy looking for the next pilot's neck to break.
    The games is so well balanced, and at last I am pleased to say that campers will get there backside handed to them. The burn cards are great variation of perks and only last as long as you are alive, which adds the perfect balance, making sure that people do not have that unfair advantage that COD gives some players, or at least what some people believe.
    The titans are in a league of their own, when you hear that "stand by for titanfall", you can't wait to scramble in and kick some butt!! However if you think the titan is the boss of the battlefield, think again. It only takes you to be outnumbered by other titans or for an enemy pilot to be on your back, and suddenly you are not the badass you think you were. Which brings me back to the game being exceptionally balanced, which includes the weapons, of which there is not the variety that you get with other shooters, which I think is a good thing.
    All the guns seem perfect and not overpowered, and with the games challenges you are semi forced to try out different weapons, which can surprise you as some guns you would not usually want to play with all of a sudden becomes your best friend.
    So in a nut shell, don't listen to some of the negative reviews posted on here as we all know it's the idiot fanboys trying to damage the rep of the game. This is a good fps and was needed to refresh the genre, just look at Call of Duty already taking a leaf out of Titanfall's book and trying to up its game with the double jump etc. Says a lot when the world's most successful shooter of all time is learning new tricks from the new kid on the block!!

    PROS:
    Great fresh FPS which makes a new stand in the genre.
    Perfectly balanced
    Titans!!
    And Pilots!
    Very complex maps, with levels of all height - you are no safe anywhere campers!!

    CONS:
    "Campaign" - Should of been left out to add more maps for example
    A bit bare bones in regards to modes and lack of single player
    Story Narrative uninspiring

    Best FPS to come out in a long while - will keep you entertained for months to come!!

    8 Out of 10

    Honest & unbiased reviews from Steelselecta!
    Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    What can I say about Titanfall, that everybody wants to hear. It is NEXT GENERATION! The graphics are good, the gameplay is addictive atWhat can I say about Titanfall, that everybody wants to hear. It is NEXT GENERATION! The graphics are good, the gameplay is addictive at times and there are plenty of multiplayer "ONLY" modes to play. I still hope that more modes and hopefully an offline mode (yeah right) can be added to this game. The game is succeeding and selling well so I am VERY HAPPY to see this. Gamers around the world are very happy with this game ( I hope the servers are fixed for South Africa). I just hope that EA does not @#$% this UP! Enjoy gamers and I will enjoy this game too for as long as the servers stay up. Yup! The only big problem that I have with online only games is that once servers crash or are taken down, NO MORE TITANFALL! So that would be $60 down the drain with no single player offline modes. Yup. Enjoy gamers. Enjoy! Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2015
    0
    The game is jumpy. so much when watching the other player who kill you, you see they never hit you. That’s if you even hear rounds impactingThe game is jumpy. so much when watching the other player who kill you, you see they never hit you. That’s if you even hear rounds impacting around you. Fun level. negative 10. Expand

See all 989 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox One Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox One.
  2. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.