Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Xbox One

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 456 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jan 31, 2014
    100
    A lack of decent bonuses makes the Definitive Edition a hard sell for existing fans, but for newcomers it's a slice of platforming perfection that will make the wait for next-gen blockbusters easier to bear.
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    93
    The biggest draw of Tomb Raider: The Definitive Edition is the improved graphics. They're simply stunning in perhaps the best-looking console game I've ever seen. Running smooth 1080p resolution, this new version adds an incredible level of detail to the newly modeled characters and lush environments.
  3. Oct 22, 2014
    90
    If you never had the chance to experience the game a year ago, then the Definitive Edition is an absolute no-brainer. In fact, we’re even slightly envious of those people that waited, because Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is one of the Xbox One's best games.
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    89
    Even though it’s an incredible game, it’s still one that can be beaten over a quick rental period, with multi-player that isn’t deep enough to sustain the experience for much longer.
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    85
    Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition's enhancements are cosmetic-only so the flaws present in the game's last-gen version are still present. Even so, it's a great game made greater, so for those yet to play it, this is the version to get.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    80
    The same game looking better - and offering a deeper immersion into Lara's island nightmare. [Issue #239]
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    70
    The only thing we can definitively say is that if publishers are going to begin overcharging for slight next-gen upgrades, then this is going to be one hell of a long generation.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 7 out of 59
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    The fact that the PS4 version came out a little better in the framerate department doesn't change how great this game is on any platform orThe fact that the PS4 version came out a little better in the framerate department doesn't change how great this game is on any platform or version. It's a 10/10 game on the PC, PS3, XBox 360, PS4 and XB1. If the price isn't good for you, wait for it to drop. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is a very good action adventure game. With puzzles, great shooting mechanics and tons of explorable areas , this game will keep you busyThis is a very good action adventure game. With puzzles, great shooting mechanics and tons of explorable areas , this game will keep you busy for quite a while. BUT WHAT I CANNOT UNDERSTAND, is why you would buy this game if you previously had it. It is the SAME GAME. Those who bought it again and are complaining about a lack of innovation are idiots. IT IS THE SAME **** GAME. Buy it if you have not already, because it's great, but if you already have the 7th gen version or the PC version, YOU ALREADY HAVE THIS GAME, lol. People are basically complaining about their own stupidity on here. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    The first tomb raider I played, and I really enjoyed it. Lara is a great character, and the gameplay was exciting. You should definitely playThe first tomb raider I played, and I really enjoyed it. Lara is a great character, and the gameplay was exciting. You should definitely play it........ Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    Tomb Raider on Xbox 360 was great. With a noticeable facelift and extra DLC on Xbox One, it is even better. This is a great origin story withTomb Raider on Xbox 360 was great. With a noticeable facelift and extra DLC on Xbox One, it is even better. This is a great origin story with a bit of grit instead of polish. This isn't your old-school Tomb Raider but a survival experience on an island with dangerous enemies and a bit of a supernatural sense. I loved Tomb Raider on 360 and I've picked it up again because the game was so good I wanted to experience it with the extras. Totally worth a purchase and is a good way to fill some time before a big title like TitanFall lands in just over a month. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    Muy buen reebot de la saga. El juego tienes sus fallos (bugs) pero te engancha en muy corto tiempo y no te aburre. Las tumbas son simples peroMuy buen reebot de la saga. El juego tienes sus fallos (bugs) pero te engancha en muy corto tiempo y no te aburre. Las tumbas son simples pero tiene un monton de coleccionables. Buen sistema de exploracion Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    Lara Croft's upgraded experience is a spectacular third person action/adventure game with solid shooting mechanics, an immense map for playersLara Croft's upgraded experience is a spectacular third person action/adventure game with solid shooting mechanics, an immense map for players to explore, and plenty of well thought out puzzles to solve. If you didn't pick up a copy of this game for the 360 or PS3, you owe it to yourself to buy this game.

    Positives:

    - Good story
    - Controls are solid
    - Shooting mechanics are well designed
    - Huge map to explore
    - Very well designed puzzles
    - Spectacular Visuals/Animations
    - Great Sound Design

    Negatives/Concerns:
    - I'm not certain the visuals were upgraded enough to warrant purchasing the game again if you already purchased it for 360 or PS3
    - Too many quick time events

    I thoroughly enjoyed playing through Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition on my Xbox One, and would strongly encourage gamers to play it if they hadn't already done so on last generation consoles.
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2015
    0
    I hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, noI hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, no puzzles, no adventure...just a generic/boring TPS, just "ouch, ouch i take a stick in my womb and fall every 10 seconds but can still walk, run etc." and "bam bam tatata bang" worse than a COD. I don't get all the hype for this game. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews