User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 159
  2. Negative: 67 out of 159

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    While it might not be the best graphically it shows the power over the 360 by throwing that kick*ss fur shader around making some of the most stunning animals seen in games to date. Its a fun experience aimed at the younger of game players but has plenty to satisfy a whole family and certainly offers more depth then a lot of other launch games
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    5
    If you want to play Zoo Tycoon, buy the original ones made by Blue Fang in 2001 and 2004 for PC. Absolutely fantastic games. I'm glad that Zoo Tycoon is still being thought of, but this isn't what I expected. It has taken away some of the main concepts of the original games.
  3. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Graphics and controls are great. It is easy and convenient to check on the well-being of your animals and the satisfaction of guests. The variety of animals available is good as well.

    This game has a serious flaw: the Zoo Limit. With every enclosure, animal, concession stand, decoration (and anything else) that you place, the zoo limit fills a bit. In the challenge mode of the game
    Graphics and controls are great. It is easy and convenient to check on the well-being of your animals and the satisfaction of guests. The variety of animals available is good as well.

    This game has a serious flaw: the Zoo Limit. With every enclosure, animal, concession stand, decoration (and anything else) that you place, the zoo limit fills a bit. In the challenge mode of the game (which restricts what you can build based on cost and income is determined by guest satisfaction), I reached the zoo limit in about 3 hours of play. I had about a dozen enclosures, each full of animals, two mini--enclosures, and about half a dozen other buildings. The zoo limit does not increase with zoo level, so once you have reached the zoo limit, you can't build anything new without selling something else.

    This is a severe limit on how large the zoo can be and how many animals can be had at one time.

    Additionally, the extent to which zoos can be customized is disappointing. Enclosures are limited to three sizes: small, medium, and large, and are predefined shapes. Exhibit enhancements can only be placed in a small number of preset locations around the edge of the enclosures, and to keep your animals happy you generally must have one of each type (feeding station, cleansing station, and toy). Due to the lack of customization, adding enhancements becomes tedious and repetitive.

    The game would be very fun if not for these limitations.
    Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    Truthfully, this game really has potential. Animals look great, scenery is beautiful, kinect is fun. But the Zoo Limit is crippling. I have a huge piece of land, I've only filled up a third of it (maybe), but I've reached the limit. I've unlocked lots of animals, but my zoo can't hold them all... The Zoo Limit has been reached. How do you increase the limit? You can't. Be ready to finishTruthfully, this game really has potential. Animals look great, scenery is beautiful, kinect is fun. But the Zoo Limit is crippling. I have a huge piece of land, I've only filled up a third of it (maybe), but I've reached the limit. I've unlocked lots of animals, but my zoo can't hold them all... The Zoo Limit has been reached. How do you increase the limit? You can't. Be ready to finish this game in a few hours. Very disappointing. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    4
    Great for kids, but nothing like the originals Being the 16 year old that I am I loved the original zoo tycoons so I bought this one just for the sake of my love. It's nothing at all like the original. I stopped playing after I put down the first plot of land. Its a handicapped downgrade of the originals. Offering very little customization, mediocre graphics and lots of animal interactionGreat for kids, but nothing like the originals Being the 16 year old that I am I loved the original zoo tycoons so I bought this one just for the sake of my love. It's nothing at all like the original. I stopped playing after I put down the first plot of land. Its a handicapped downgrade of the originals. Offering very little customization, mediocre graphics and lots of animal interaction for the kiddies.

    I guess its good if your 5 or 6 years old. But if you're like me and bought this because of the original. You won't be satisfied.
    Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    2
    I would give it a 6/10 for pleasant aesthetics and quite decent visuals for a next gen game, however because of the appaling lack of depth, controll, and complexity to the game, (especially compared to older titles) I have to dock that to a 2/10. It is unfortunate that so many developers feel the best way to make a good game is to cater to the lowest common denominator, it is surprisingI would give it a 6/10 for pleasant aesthetics and quite decent visuals for a next gen game, however because of the appaling lack of depth, controll, and complexity to the game, (especially compared to older titles) I have to dock that to a 2/10. It is unfortunate that so many developers feel the best way to make a good game is to cater to the lowest common denominator, it is surprising then that the general lack of positive response to these games hasn't gotten trhough thick skulls yet. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt Zoo Tycoon is a must have game for animal lovers. More than 100 Gorgeous real life looking animals that interact with each other, really impressive. It could have been a little deeper with simulation aspects but you'll have your hands full with stuff that you need to do. You still have lots of customization but it stays shallow because you can't make your own paths. TheWithout a doubt Zoo Tycoon is a must have game for animal lovers. More than 100 Gorgeous real life looking animals that interact with each other, really impressive. It could have been a little deeper with simulation aspects but you'll have your hands full with stuff that you need to do. You still have lots of customization but it stays shallow because you can't make your own paths. The game itself decides that for you. Still a game that each and every Xbox One user should have, it's different and by playing you help animal charities. Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2014
    2
    This is not a Zoo Tycoon Game. this is some poorly made crap that XBLA slapped it's name and signature crap graphics on and called it a Zoo Tycoon game. There is little to none customization and the only customization you can do you barely control. The very fact this is being called a Zoo Tycoon game is a disgrace. The zoo fame is basically a terrible, limiting and poorly balanced level-upThis is not a Zoo Tycoon Game. this is some poorly made crap that XBLA slapped it's name and signature crap graphics on and called it a Zoo Tycoon game. There is little to none customization and the only customization you can do you barely control. The very fact this is being called a Zoo Tycoon game is a disgrace. The zoo fame is basically a terrible, limiting and poorly balanced level-up system. The animal and animal enrichment cap makes it possibly impossible to have any fun in the sandbox mode. the driving around part is fun but grows old. Not a game i would recommend Expand
  9. Jun 9, 2014
    4
    I am a Zoo Tycoon fans and this Zoo Tycoon feels nothing like the original Zoo Tycoon. The original Zoo Tycoon give players a lot of freedom to develop or to build a park, but the new Zoo Tycoon just feel extremely restricted. XBO Zoo Tycoon is just not as fun as the original. Basically, it is just boring. Graphics certainly look great and all animals and character models look veryI am a Zoo Tycoon fans and this Zoo Tycoon feels nothing like the original Zoo Tycoon. The original Zoo Tycoon give players a lot of freedom to develop or to build a park, but the new Zoo Tycoon just feel extremely restricted. XBO Zoo Tycoon is just not as fun as the original. Basically, it is just boring. Graphics certainly look great and all animals and character models look very detailed considering it is a next-gen games but overall it is very disappointing Expand
  10. Dec 11, 2013
    5
    Great game for the kind of people who need something to keep there 8 yr old children occupied. As a old time fan of zoo tycoon I was someone who enjoyed making their own zoo the way they want. In this game everything is limited from the amount of trees you can have to the way you can build paths. It really feels like they took away everything that made the old zoo tycoon good and made it aGreat game for the kind of people who need something to keep there 8 yr old children occupied. As a old time fan of zoo tycoon I was someone who enjoyed making their own zoo the way they want. In this game everything is limited from the amount of trees you can have to the way you can build paths. It really feels like they took away everything that made the old zoo tycoon good and made it a generic dumbed down kinect version. In addition the graphics are really good but the game play is littered with bugs as well as kinect having about a 75% success rate of picking up your commands. In the end don't buy this game if you're an old tycoon fan because this game is not a tycoon. If you're just looking for a great game with your kids you'll have a blast playing this with them! Expand
  11. Dec 2, 2013
    6
    Zoo Tycoon is a shinny piece of hardware. Graphically amazing the animals are the best seen on console to date. Zoo Tycoon is fun....Until you realise nothing new is going to happen, same thing time after time the game dose begin to become repetitive. I was expecting something different from this game. I am a hug fan on simulation games, true fans of Zoo Tycoon will leave feeling rippedZoo Tycoon is a shinny piece of hardware. Graphically amazing the animals are the best seen on console to date. Zoo Tycoon is fun....Until you realise nothing new is going to happen, same thing time after time the game dose begin to become repetitive. I was expecting something different from this game. I am a hug fan on simulation games, true fans of Zoo Tycoon will leave feeling ripped off. Although the game is great for what it is, I would recommend a Rent first Not buy. Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    I actually really like this game. I got it because of how much fun I had with Frontier's Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 series. I figured, if it was half as fun as that then I'd be fine. Turns out, there's a LOT to do running a zoo. The animals are fun, the scenarios are challenging, and the fact that Microsoft donates money to animal conservation causes just for people playing the game makesI actually really like this game. I got it because of how much fun I had with Frontier's Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 series. I figured, if it was half as fun as that then I'd be fine. Turns out, there's a LOT to do running a zoo. The animals are fun, the scenarios are challenging, and the fact that Microsoft donates money to animal conservation causes just for people playing the game makes it all the better. It's not just a kid game. Maybe in sandbox mode. But, start doing some scenarios and you'll find it just as challenging as anything else you've tried. Multiplayer is where it really shines! Full simultaneous, real-time, up to 4 friends building the zoo of their dreams. It has to be experienced to fully appreciate! Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    Zoo Tycoon is graphically impressive.
    I enjoy it quite a bit. Of course, there are downfalls to the game and there are changes for the better.
    I played Zoo Tycoon back in 05 on pc. Loved it. It lacks in depth customization which previous Zoo Tycoon titles, exceeded at. Though, they've brought the Animals closer than ever. With interactions. I noticed little thing make the game fun.
    Zoo Tycoon is graphically impressive.
    I enjoy it quite a bit. Of course, there are downfalls to the game and there are changes for the better.
    I played Zoo Tycoon back in 05 on pc.

    Loved it. It lacks in depth customization which previous Zoo Tycoon titles, exceeded at.
    Though, they've brought the Animals closer than ever. With interactions. I noticed little thing make the game fun.
    Whether it's finding each different species of animals color variant, or completing challenges by completing different tasks which earns you items or concept are, or just interacting with the Beautiful looking animals.

    Maybe become quite dull after hours in the same Zoo, but the Co-op mode is especially fun. Building zoo's together, racing in carts.
    I am enjoying it thus far.
    Expand
  14. Jan 19, 2014
    2
    Zoo Tycoon currently feels like a beta that I paid full price for. As many have noted, the incredibly low build limit severely handicaps this game to the point that I cannot believe that any of the developers consider it a finished game. There are other disappointing unfinished aspects as well. For example, you can upgrade most buildings and decorations but only a couple of them changeZoo Tycoon currently feels like a beta that I paid full price for. As many have noted, the incredibly low build limit severely handicaps this game to the point that I cannot believe that any of the developers consider it a finished game. There are other disappointing unfinished aspects as well. For example, you can upgrade most buildings and decorations but only a couple of them change their appearance when upgraded. It feels like they intended that the buildings should change, but then ran out of time. There is also a lack of micro management that we have grown to expect from the "tycoon" genre. Another 'small' thing is that the weather never changes and the sun is constantly just above the horizon and everything is dim with long shadows. Just doesnt feel right.
    I am honestly confused over the positive reviews that use words like "polished" or "depth". I have no idea what they are talking about. This game is the opposite of a deep polished game. You will have a maxed out zoo in 3 hours of game play. Compare this to any other game in the price category.
    I gave it 2 points for the couple animal interactions and the nice graphics.
    tl;dr - Buy if rich, else wait to see if they release a free patch first.
    Expand
  15. Feb 14, 2014
    3
    Not as fun as the original games,graphics are fun and the 5 year old loves feeding the animals, but it's not as interactive, you don't get to play with the lay out of enclosures, and that's one of the things we all loved to do, Wish I hadn't brought it, i think it will just gather dust
  16. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    A severely limited revival of a beloved series. The game is stunted by cripplingly small 'agent limits' which make late-game management a difficult and often unnecessary balance of deleting and rebuilding. The focus on multiplayer gaming has one again stood in the way of gameplay for the single-player gamers.
  17. Aug 4, 2014
    5
    this game is nothing like the original i dont know what they mean by "tycoon". the graphics are great, but the variations and customization is extremely limited. there are hundreds of animals i can think of off the top of my head, like okapis, zebras, jaguars, leopards,cheetahs, creepy crawlies wild dogs, hyenas, kangaroos, koalas, camels, liamas,... i could go on for ages, i would havethis game is nothing like the original i dont know what they mean by "tycoon". the graphics are great, but the variations and customization is extremely limited. there are hundreds of animals i can think of off the top of my head, like okapis, zebras, jaguars, leopards,cheetahs, creepy crawlies wild dogs, hyenas, kangaroos, koalas, camels, liamas,... i could go on for ages, i would have prefered if they took a long time to make this game than them rushing it maybe, i cant even fill up my wholeland. what is the point of giving all of this land and not being able to use it all? on the other hand it is a really enjoyable game and challenging even for the older kids, but its nothing like its other games on ds and computer. Its ashame, it had sooo much potential. i just hope that there are loads of future add-ons and updates so that they can take on board what i have said. Expand
  18. Oct 25, 2014
    5
    Depending on what you're after in this game, will determine how much you enjoy it. Also, you should simply search "Zoo Tycoon Limit". There is a 100 agent limit, as such that big open space you see, you'll never come slightly close to filling it, before you reach this limit.

    As for myself, it lands in the middle, it has some of the tycoon type aspects that I'm looking for, however
    Depending on what you're after in this game, will determine how much you enjoy it. Also, you should simply search "Zoo Tycoon Limit". There is a 100 agent limit, as such that big open space you see, you'll never come slightly close to filling it, before you reach this limit.

    As for myself, it lands in the middle, it has some of the tycoon type aspects that I'm looking for, however then it loses me by turning them into a click fest. Example: You can buy an item that auto feeds your animals, yet then you have to come back every so often to refill said auto feeder...same thing with auto washer. From what I could tell, you can't hire someone to do it.
    Expand
  19. Mar 19, 2014
    7
    The biggest complain I have on this game, other than size limitations, is that the in-game tooltips are next to useless.

    To be specific, the star-hapiness rating they give for animals. For example, when you open the tool tip for a tundra exhibit, it tells you that tigers only have 1 star happiness rating, but 3 star happiness rating in tropical exhibits. So you build a tropical
    The biggest complain I have on this game, other than size limitations, is that the in-game tooltips are next to useless.

    To be specific, the star-hapiness rating they give for animals. For example, when you open the tool tip for a tundra exhibit, it tells you that tigers only have 1 star happiness rating, but 3 star happiness rating in tropical exhibits. So you build a tropical exhibit, and if you want to adopt a Siberian tiger, you find out that Siberian tigers have a 3 star happiness rating for Alpine exhibits, and absolutely hate tropical ones.

    It is like that for every animal. Developers could at least been consistent, or added more detailed tool-tips instead of vague generalizations.
    Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Love he game my children love it too its fun just to watch them i recommend it anybody who likes animals
    the only problem i found with the game is after you have so many exhibits it wont let you go any further (maybe this is only in the free form game play like minecraft's creative) but after that its a bit slow and the graphics are amazing
  21. Oct 3, 2014
    3
    Compared to the other entries in the Zoo Tycoon series this game is a major step backwards. The only thing this title has over the older games is better graphics but that's to be expected with a newer game.

    First and foremost the worst feature of this game is the "zoo limit" which once maxed out prevents you from adopting new animals and creating new structures. Aside from doing
    Compared to the other entries in the Zoo Tycoon series this game is a major step backwards. The only thing this title has over the older games is better graphics but that's to be expected with a newer game.

    First and foremost the worst feature of this game is the "zoo limit" which once maxed out prevents you from adopting new animals and creating new structures. Aside from doing research and creating pathways every action you take will push you closer to reaching the zoo limit and it is reached very easily. You'll be given a big map to create your zoo on but you will never be able to fill it due to the zoo limit, once you reach the limit you'll probably have only to managed to cover 30% of the map.
    The limit also leads to other problems further on in the game when you'll have guests complaining about the lack of variety in your zoo but you won't be able to do anything about it because you've reached your limit.
    This zoo limit also makes the replayability of this game very low. It only takes a couple of hours before you feel like you've done everything you can do and don't feel a need to continue playing.

    Next is the severe lack of customization in this game when compared to the previous zoo tycoon games. Want to build a custom environment for your animals? Sorry you get to choose from preset animal biomes such as Savannah - small, Savannah - medium, and Savannah - large. Creating an environment that meets the needs of the animal you're trying to house was one of the best things about the other games. While I can understand the need to make it less complicated for a console game, I feel it was dumbed down far too much here.

    The animal interactions are okay but they do feel kind of forced and there's only a few to choose from. I can't imagine anyone investing too much time doing them.

    If you're a fan of the original Zoo Tycoon games I strongly recommend avoiding this game, you'll be very disappointed. If you're a parent looking to buy a fun game for your kid I recommend the original Zoo Tycoon (works with Windows xp), and Zoo Tycoon 2 (works with Windows xp, and Windows 7), they're cheaper and have a lot more content in them to keep your kid entertained longer. I assure you they are not too complicated for kids, I was a kid when I played the original Zoo Tycoon and I loved it.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Feb 16, 2014
    70
    Enjoyable but a little shallow. The younger audience will surely have fun with the Kinect minigames, but the fan of the series will miss some of the depth of the previous episodes.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    60
    It remains one of the most random launch titles of all time but is well worth a purchase if you are looking for something that isn’t a first person twitch fest.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    70
    A completely different game from anything else available on Xbox One, suitable both to managerial game lovers and families with children, thanks to the many play modes available. If you're a fan of the series, you won't be disappointed even if the difficulty is a little bit tuned on the low side.