AirForce Delta Storm Xbox

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2001
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
Buy On
  1. My only gripe with the game is that Konami did not include any multiplayer modes.
  2. A solid game, especially for a launch title. There's lots of interesting gameplay, hidden missions and a ton of planes to unlock.
  3. A simple flight combat game with stunning visuals (like most X-Box games, stunning visuals and great game play seem to hide from each other), mediocre sound, and good controls.
  4. Official Xbox Magazine
    71
    Zippy flight shooter. [Dec 2001]
  5. It is a challenging program, but lacks a fresh storyline and relies too much on the arcade elements.
  6. Delta Storm’s controlling is efficient and simple.
  7. 70
    You really need to get deep into it to appreciate the feel of the individual jets, and to experience some of the better missions.
  8. Unlike "Ace Combat 04," however, AirForce Delta Storm lacks the overall gameplay and visual polish that made Namco's game so memorable.
  9. 66
    Having the option to buy more planes is great, but something that bugged me was that I couldn't upgrade the planes and improve the plane's stats.
  10. Game Informer
    65
    It didn't take long for disappointment to set in. [Dec 2001, p.109]
  11. 62
    It seems we're given the awesome war planes and very little else in the way of gameplay, story or presentation.
  12. While the game did have its fun occasions, I was more disappointed then anything else.
  13. 60
    The gameplay, however, isn’t anything that hasn’t been done already, and the paint-by-numbers seek-and-destroy missions can get pretty dull after a couple of hours.
  14. I can't say the controls are all that precise. While the controls are designed for anyone to pick them up and play (unlike some flight sims where you need to look at a manual before you turn your plane to starboard), they just don't have a good feel to them.
  15. A mediocre game. While I really, really enjoy collecting the fighter planes available in this game, I could always start a new Micro Machines collection.
  16. A generic air combat flight experience with Dreamcast-quality graphics and a couple of new effects.
  17. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    55
    A little more fantasy throughout the game might have given ADS the personality it desperately needs. [Jan 2002, p.231]
  18. Xbox Nation Magazine
    40
    Crappy cutscenes and first generation PS2 visuals are not so cool. [Jan 2002, p.94]
  19. Next Generation Magazine
    40
    It’s not bad, but there’s really not anything new to see here. [Jan 2002, p.26]
  20. Despite good visuals, the control is a little too arcadey, missions lack a great deal of excitement and the mission structure leaves a lot to be desired...it's just not that much fun.
  21. An upgraded, yet still very lacking, installment in the air combat series that continues to be outclassed by Namco’s efforts.

Awards & Rankings

29
27
#27 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. KunalF.
    Sep 25, 2007
    4
    It's a very beautiful game. iam very into it.
  2. StaffanK.
    Jul 31, 2002
    3
    This could have been a great game. The 3D engine used apparently can render very convincing flight scenes as you can see during the replays This could have been a great game. The 3D engine used apparently can render very convincing flight scenes as you can see during the replays that you can look at after every mission. Unfortunately, during gameplay there are only two views you can use - from behind the aircraft and from the cockpit. And although the graphics are fast and smooth, you will not get the feeling you are really flying while playing the game. The controls are strictly arcade style (i.e. not simulation style, no take offs or landings etc.), but that would be OK with me as long as the right feeling was present. Unfortunately it isn't. In my opinion, the controls doesn't make use of the X-Box joypad controller very well either. Although you can make some custom controller settings, many controllers are permanently unused. The game would have been much better if is had offered more directional movement possibilities (like horizontal movement left/right for example) that could have been assigned to the now unused controls. The game will get extremely tedious and frustrating after a short time because of the layout of the mission system. You will have to play the same locations over and over, and if you crash (which is not very difficult btw.) you wont get the chance to replay the last mission. You will have to revert to a saved game which might be several missions back. I wouldn't recommend anyone buying this game, it aint worth the bucks. You may want to rent it for a day just to see how nice it would have been if there was a flight game on the X-Box that gave you the same good pilot feeling as e.g. Gotham Racing gives you the driving feeling. And finally, who has choosen the music for this game?! Is it the year 1982 or what?! The music will be your first reason to get into the options menu to switch it off! Doing so unfortunately also mutes all speech in the game. Full Review »
  3. JasonT.
    May 11, 2002
    6
    This game is pretty cool....but REALLY NEEDED a multiplayer mode in it. Then it would be more interesting to me.