All-Star Baseball 2005 Xbox

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
Buy On
  1. With downloadable content, multiplayer games, and a voice feature, it’s getting the most out of your broadband connection.
  2. Yes, Fieldercam might not be for everyone, and it's not the best looking Baseball game. But that gets overshadowed by some great gameplay, a dynamite Franchise/Expansion mode, some excellent commentary, and online gameplay. And yes, I like the Fieldercam.
  3. Play Magazine
    91
    Franchise mode is by far the deepest of any baseball game out there - including"MVP." [Apr 2004, p.73]
  4. Cheat Code Central
    90
    It's worth the price of admission alone just to take the game online and actually play exhibition games - rather than just download rosters (ASB 2004's online component). And for those who love Franchise mode, Acclaim has hit one out of the park just for you.
  5. ASB 2005 is for serious baseball enthusiasts only. Those looking for a casual day at the ballpark should probably check out the titles from EA, 989, or ESPN.
  6. Acclaim doesn’t exactly hit one out of the ballpark, but legging out a triple in a crowded market ain’t too bad.
  7. The game is a joy to control, even when using the more complex control schemes.
  8. Acclaim did make some nice improvements to this series this year, but they could not match the great strides that EA has made with "MVP." MVP's pitching and batting system is simply better, and its gameplay is a lot more fun.
  9. A great game with an accurate stat system, fluid animations, and plenty of depth to last a very long time. Although ASB doesn’t have the glamour and beauty MVP Baseball 2004 may have, the real beauty lies inside.
  10. 80
    Fielding is such an important aspect of every contest that it really negatively affects my overall take on an otherwise enjoyable game.
  11. A few adjustments have been made here and there--particularly to the game's online features--but overall, this is still the same batter-friendly baseball game that Acclaim has put out for the last three years.
  12. User-friendly controls combined with you-are-there graphics and sound – and a bunch of cool modes and extras – makes this one of the best baseball games you’re likely to play.
  13. Those looking for the most realistic graphics and the most thorough baseball history lesson really can’t go wrong with All-Star Baseball 2005.
  14. It’s deep enough for the expert, but has the “pick-up-and-play” functionality for a beginner. Is it a grand slam? Not quite. But, at minimum, I’d call it a two-out single with the bases loaded.
  15. 80
    The fantastic FielderCam option shifts the gameplay view behind the fielders when a ball's been hit. This provides a much more realistic ballplayer's view of the action than other games. [May 2004, p.90]
  16. Easy-to-master controls, new camera angles, customizable teams, legendary players like Babe Ruth and Jackie Robinson—don’t wait for Mother Nature’s lazy ass; spring starts now.
  17. 80
    A tightly packed game. Despite the AI and graphics issues, it's simply a lot of fun to play, due in large part to the fielder cam and excellent pitching and batting.
  18. A good choice for players looking for an easy playing arcade style baseball game as well as those who want something a little more challenging.
  19. All-Star Baseball 2005 may get the job done, but in a season as long as baseball’s, you’ve got to have that special something to keep you motivated, and unfortunately, this game just doesn’t have it.
  20. 75
    Acclaim's long-running series continues to get on base with its fundamentals, yet strike out when it comes to flash.
  21. Official Xbox Magazine
    72
    The showdown between pitcher and batter just isn't deep enough...Ultimately, ASB is an average game. [Apr 2004, p.74]
  22. Defensive controls are just a tad too sluggish. [May 2004, p.84]
  23. Acclaim didn't go out of its way to elevate the series - this is simply an enhanced version of last year's game seen from a new perspective. [Apr 2004, p.92]
  24. 70
    If you can ignore the gimmickry and the middle-of-the-road visuals, you'll find an entertaining baseball game that'll keep you just as engaged as the rest of the crop this year. MVP Baseball has little to worry about.
  25. All told, ASB 05 hasn't really taken any major steps towards self-improvement, opting instead for a status quo offering.
  26. A solid, though unspectacular, update in the series. While the FielderCam is unique and the Pick-up game is fun, these new additions alone don’t make it a must-have, especially if you’ve got last year’s edition.
  27. 60
    While the new camera is a big step forward, in almost every other visual aspect, ASB '05 is behind the times.
  28. ASB 2005 really doesn't offer anything that will attract new fans or that will set it apart from its competitors.
  29. ASB 2005 does do a lot, but so does the other guys and unfortunately for Acclaim, they also do it better.
  30. The series' much ballyhooed new FielderCam is underwhelming - this behind-the-fielder view controls well enough, but it's virtually impossible to know the tragectory and speed of the ball, leaving you to rely on onscreen indicators. [May 2004, p.90]
  31. Playing 2005 with its jerky, disorienting fielder cam is akin to slicing up your head on a cheese grater, then taking a vinegar bath.

Awards & Rankings

#76 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. IvoryL.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Man.what a game and i dont normally play baseball games but man i had to get this after i played it wit my friend. the graphics ar good i likeMan.what a game and i dont normally play baseball games but man i had to get this after i played it wit my friend. the graphics ar good i like playin my own music 2 like ludacris twista I20 etc. Full Review »
  2. JacobK.
    May 26, 2004
    10
    The Graphics are so good, when im wating somone play, i can't tell (pretty much) if it the rel baseball game on espn or something or if The Graphics are so good, when im wating somone play, i can't tell (pretty much) if it the rel baseball game on espn or something or if he's playing a videogame (LOL). I also like how you can do so much and how its more realistic in more ways than the Graphics. Full Review »
  3. FrancsicoS.
    May 5, 2004
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!