Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
Buy On
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    72
    The showdown between pitcher and batter just isn't deep enough...Ultimately, ASB is an average game. [Apr 2004, p.74]
  2. Defensive controls are just a tad too sluggish. [May 2004, p.84]
  3. Acclaim didn't go out of its way to elevate the series - this is simply an enhanced version of last year's game seen from a new perspective. [Apr 2004, p.92]
  4. 70
    If you can ignore the gimmickry and the middle-of-the-road visuals, you'll find an entertaining baseball game that'll keep you just as engaged as the rest of the crop this year. MVP Baseball has little to worry about.
  5. All told, ASB 05 hasn't really taken any major steps towards self-improvement, opting instead for a status quo offering.
  6. A solid, though unspectacular, update in the series. While the FielderCam is unique and the Pick-up game is fun, these new additions alone don’t make it a must-have, especially if you’ve got last year’s edition.
  7. 60
    While the new camera is a big step forward, in almost every other visual aspect, ASB '05 is behind the times.
  8. ASB 2005 really doesn't offer anything that will attract new fans or that will set it apart from its competitors.
  9. ASB 2005 does do a lot, but so does the other guys and unfortunately for Acclaim, they also do it better.
  10. The series' much ballyhooed new FielderCam is underwhelming - this behind-the-fielder view controls well enough, but it's virtually impossible to know the tragectory and speed of the ball, leaving you to rely on onscreen indicators. [May 2004, p.90]

Awards & Rankings

65
76
#76 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. IvoryL.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Man.what a game and i dont normally play baseball games but man i had to get this after i played it wit my friend. the graphics ar good i likeMan.what a game and i dont normally play baseball games but man i had to get this after i played it wit my friend. the graphics ar good i like playin my own music 2 like ludacris twista I20 etc. Full Review »
  2. JacobK.
    May 26, 2004
    10
    The Graphics are so good, when im wating somone play, i can't tell (pretty much) if it the rel baseball game on espn or something or if The Graphics are so good, when im wating somone play, i can't tell (pretty much) if it the rel baseball game on espn or something or if he's playing a videogame (LOL). I also like how you can do so much and how its more realistic in more ways than the Graphics. Full Review »
  3. FrancsicoS.
    May 5, 2004
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!