Apex Xbox
  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Feb 17, 2003
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Despite throwing around more polygons than any other Xbox racer we've seen, Racing Evoluzione rarely if ever skips a frame. And that includes our appraisal of the two-player split-screen, which was examined at jaw-to-the-floor inducing length.
  2. Outstanding graphics, excellent, balanced and enjoyable gameplay, an interesting career mode and plenty of tracks and cars.
  3. "Ridge Racer" on steroids... The best-looking racing game we've ever seen. [Mar 2003, p.77]
  4. With a good story, excellent graphics, varied tracks, and a whole lot of great racing machines that most of us only dream of driving, Apex is one of the better racers to be found on the Xbox.
  5. 82
    The gorgeous graphics combined with the terrific sense of speed (at least at higher levels) are certainly as fun to watch as they are to interact with, and the control is accurate enough to allow precise movements.
  6. The graphics are lush, the sense of speed is breathtaking. [Apr 2003, p.87]
  7. What I liked best was how most of the tracks were set up in a way to guarantee fast or exciting finishes. [Mar 2003, p.64]
  8. Despite it’s rather shallow feeling and the such, it’s still pretty damn addictive and you’ll be dying to complete each and every course.
  9. Manages to offer you completely believable and very original environments that don’t just go for all the usual stereotypes.
  10. The wonky physics and a slightly limited variety of custom parts keep this one from a higher score, but Xbox owners looking to inject some originality into their racing experience would do well to check out Apex's unique approach to a somewhat stale genre.
  11. Fast, pretty, and controls almost perfectly. [Mar 2003, p.134]
  12. 80
    If it wasn’t for unbalanced controls, Apex could have taken top honors in the Xbox racing category.
  13. It may not provide the juice that, say, a "Ridge Racer" can, but otherwise, in the realm of the racing/lifestyle sims we're seeing, Apex moves to the head of the class. [Apr 2003, p.56]
  14. A fine game but in terms of depth it's a paintscratch away from the surface.
  15. Everything about Apex's visuals set the bar for future racing titles. The way the game uses reflections to make everything look shiny and new is simply stunning.
  16. 78
    Once I got over the fact that it's main gimmick (the auto empire building) didn't add any emotion to the races, I was left with a very basic, competent but still basic, racing title.
  17. Why should I worry about getting the best car when just about anyone can race to the front regardless? [May 2003, p.89]
  18. The idea of being able to design your own prototype and then race it is an excellent one, but it just wasn’t carried out very well in this game.
  19. Apex's drab driving and painfully dim AI drivers drag down an otherwise interesting idea.
  20. The physics need major work, the AI seems a little funny, the sound is terrible, and frankly, the racing just isn't that exciting.
  21. The idea behind it was brilliant, but the execution drug it right out of innovative and right into mediocrity.
  22. 60
    Mild annoyances in the interface, a design mode without anything to design, and some questionable racing physics keep the game from the top of the podium. With that said, Apex is an enjoyable and mildly addictive title with plenty of arcade action for racing fans.
  23. Its story concept and great visuals give it a nice boost, but its lack of options and frustrating AI add some unnecessary weight.
  24. Imagine building one of the most visually arresting games in recent memory, infusing the track design with genuine ingenuity, then having your work cruelly undermined by a learning curve shallower than a hill in Holland. RE is simply not challenging enough. [March 2003, p94]
  25. It's just frustrating from beginning to end.
  26. For a game that could have been that potential leap forward, it's a real shame that all Apex manages to do is present a mediocre-to-poor driving experience in a painfully threadbare setting.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. CharlieP.
    Mar 24, 2003
    7
    I thought Atari was a good company, like Sega. But I am obviously wrong. The physics are so bad and the game is so easy (other than the, hit the car and it somehow speeds of you AI cheat) that it is funny. Atari, you had the perfect Racing game idea and ruined it, I'm disappointed. Full Review »
  2. BobbyB.
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    Great! I love chillin out with me dope and racin me own brand of Bobby Bee cars. Brooooooooooooom down to the shops and buy it today!
  3. FelipeS.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    This game is very good, but the physics is slow smart people around!