Azurik: Rise of Perathia Xbox

Azurik: Rise of Perathia Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Young Azurik must learn to control the elements by mastering the ultimate weapon, the Axion. His goal: Restore balance to the universe. As Azurik, you journey through a vast, mysterious land filled with dynamic and dangerous creatures.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 26
  2. Negative: 10 out of 26
  1. It may be a bit strange to handle at first, but once you get the feel of it, Azurik will astound you time and time again with it's lush graphics, wonderful sound, and massive environments.
  2. For anyone who played the game for an hour and says it’s no good should put a little more effort into the game because that is what the game is all about. If you expect to get anywhere in a short amount of time you can forget about it.
  3. The plot was as dry as the Sahara desert, the graphics were weak, and the controls were downright comical.
  4. If flawed controls don't kill the experience for you -- and as a plaform jumping, blade wielding title they certainly do affect the quality of gameplay -- then the constant backtracking and key hunting will eventually drive you to the point of distraction.
  5. Game Informer
    45
    Just about everything about the playcontrol is cumbersome. [Feb 2002, p.91]
  6. Play Magazine
    40
    It’s also home to some of the most pathetic voice acting I’ve ever heard. [Feb 2002, p.59]
  7. There is nothing in this game which stands out to make it playable; not in the story, nor the gameplay, nor the graphics, and the vast majority of it is poorly thought out, second hand, uninteresting and redundant drivel.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    A fantastic adventure game for the original Xbox. If you're looking for a more difficult experience, massive beautiful landscapes, and areA fantastic adventure game for the original Xbox. If you're looking for a more difficult experience, massive beautiful landscapes, and are into games like The Legend of Zelda, I highly recommend getting this game. Expand
  2. DonW.
    May 10, 2002
    10
    Because of this game.. I will never believe reviews again! A truly incredible experience, mindbending puzzles, astronomically huge Because of this game.. I will never believe reviews again! A truly incredible experience, mindbending puzzles, astronomically huge environments..with the most clever environmental design I have ever seen..This BEAT zelda for me. If you liked Soul Reaver, Zelda, Shadowman, Mario 64..in short. any title where exploration, puzzles..and building up your character's abilities is the focus..you Have to play this game! I'm betting most of these reviewers only played the demo. there are easily 40 hours of game play here and I could not put it down. Be warned..if you don't like hard games.. this is NOT for you. Expand
  3. SamC.
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    Fantastic!!! My fav. Adventure game in the world. Its got fab. environments, graphics and story line.
  4. ChuckF.
    Aug 17, 2002
    9
    Really cool game, buy the book you'll love it. Don't buy the book you'll wish you could jump off a cliff.
  5. HanneleO.
    Nov 29, 2002
    9
    I really love the game, specially because it´so hard to figure out where to go next, when there is just not enough information... Now I really love the game, specially because it´so hard to figure out where to go next, when there is just not enough information... Now I´m in a point that I have to let it rest for a while, because I really can`t find the next world... Maybe one day...!!?? Expand
  6. JimmiA.
    Jul 27, 2005
    8
    I dont understand the critics about this game. Have they play it for a while, if they have, what do they missed ? OK ! The graphic is not I dont understand the critics about this game. Have they play it for a while, if they have, what do they missed ? OK ! The graphic is not 100%, but frome that time it´s still great. The controll worked very good indeed, and you can handle the cameras like Halo ! If you like different Adventuregame like Zelda in 3D, give it a shance. Not only a couple of hour, littele longer and you are stuck in the game. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2017
    0
    On dirait un jeu Lidl ou Leader Price... vous parlez d'une exclu ! à mourir de rire si ce n'était pas aussi navrant : artistiquement affreux,On dirait un jeu Lidl ou Leader Price... vous parlez d'une exclu ! à mourir de rire si ce n'était pas aussi navrant : artistiquement affreux, un monde générique et sans âme, graphiquement indigne de la Xbox, jouabilité d'une médiocrité incroyable, version française sabrée. Un échec total. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
#8 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2001