User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    The most fun I've ever had in a BF game.
    It was missing the core teamplay elements like squads and commander, but the gameplay is so addicting that it really didn't matter to me.
    Easy to glitch into walls and under the map.
    Diamonds around players was a dead giveaway.
    Maps were the best in the series! (for 24 players)

    I owuld give this a 10, but no game is perfect.
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    The thing about Battlefield 2: MC, is that it has glaring errors, glitches, and issues aplenty. However, as soon as you find a comfort zone while playing online, you will forget about every single one of them. The game is just so satisfying. Every kill is an adrenaline rush, every flag being attacked will have you peeking over your shoulder, looking to the skies, and listening for theThe thing about Battlefield 2: MC, is that it has glaring errors, glitches, and issues aplenty. However, as soon as you find a comfort zone while playing online, you will forget about every single one of them. The game is just so satisfying. Every kill is an adrenaline rush, every flag being attacked will have you peeking over your shoulder, looking to the skies, and listening for the rumble of the inevitable tank that's always just around the corner. It really emphasized team mechanics and communication. The tension is usually so thick you can cut it with a knife. Despite all of it's flaws, and there are more than a few, it is one of the most addictive games I've ever had the pleasure of playing. Also, the experience on the XBOX seemed to trump that of the XBOX 360, and I never could figure out why... Expand
  3. Rick
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    Picked up the single player mode and put it down again in after a couple of hours. Boring! And Id give it a 7/10 only last week did I play the online game at my nephews place. Ive never really wanted to play online games much as I didnt see the attraction. Boy was I wrong. I have seen the future of gaming for the first time and its exciting and I am not looking back. Grab this game only Picked up the single player mode and put it down again in after a couple of hours. Boring! And Id give it a 7/10 only last week did I play the online game at my nephews place. Ive never really wanted to play online games much as I didnt see the attraction. Boy was I wrong. I have seen the future of gaming for the first time and its exciting and I am not looking back. Grab this game only if you are going to play it online. If you arent playing online already, grab this game, hook up broadband connection as its happening right now and its awesome. Ive been goin to bed at 5am in the morning for the last 4 days or so. You start as a team at different spawn points on your home base which has choppers, tanks, jeeps etc and there is 5 - 7 bases on a map that you have to get control of. You all have a choice between certain soldier kits: sniper, assault, engineer (rocketeer), support (health), and special ops. So the game starts and anywhere up to 24 dudes on your side all set out at the start and work as team to capture and hold these bases. A typical example on this game map called Bridge Too Far is you jump in the chopper with a couple of other dudes and say to the dude flying the damn thing (I cant fly em so I let others fly) "drop me off on top of the Chinese building" which is a big building in the centre of the map and has a wicked view over the a good area of map so you can snipe and pick people off as the opportunities present themself. Or you can get in a 120mm tank and just roll through the hills around the back of this town rolling over online players stupid enough to be caught out in the open and then come storming into the main thoroughfare blowing buildings. You hear people through your headset from different parts of the globe going "yo tank lay down some damage on base number 5 just above the second window on ya right I think there's a sniper up there....Im hooked and havent been this hooked on a multiplayer game ever. This is Awesome! Expand
  4. BrettS.
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    This game is great! I usually suck at any kind of FPS, but this was easy to pick up and get involved with. The visuals are great, too. Great game to play. Much better than the RainbowSix/Socom/GhostRecon game series.
  5. DmacH.
    Feb 10, 2006
    9
    I was a big delta force black hawk down player, then i decided to try battlefield 2: modern combat and was hooked. online is extreme fun and for a console the online maps are HUGE and sprawling. the only reason it gets a nine is because the single player campaign is a little to weak, i just use it as training for online anyway.
  6. LeeK.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing game!! i have palyed both the ps2 and xbox versions and i have too say i have no idea which one is better even though i am a ps2 fan... oh well!! The on-line game play is great. And i have never had it crash or lag dramaticly on me... yet!
  7. Juliette
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    Best fps game I've ever played.
  8. LeonB.
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    Online only, haven't played single player, but that's not what this game is about, it's all about online, Where I spend most of my time dying.
  9. PhilB.
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    Not perfect by any means but it'll give you "console wankers" a chance to experiance if only a glimer us pc player enjoy day in day out a good effort though avoid the ps2 version.
  10. FPSMaster
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    Great game when it wasn't freezing and crashing. So they fixed that. Then it started to have major lag, and I mean the most major lag I've ever seen. This made it worse since when it was crashing at least you could play before it crashed. The lag makes you keep bouncing backwards every few seconds though, making it all but completely unplayable. When it is running smooth and not Great game when it wasn't freezing and crashing. So they fixed that. Then it started to have major lag, and I mean the most major lag I've ever seen. This made it worse since when it was crashing at least you could play before it crashed. The lag makes you keep bouncing backwards every few seconds though, making it all but completely unplayable. When it is running smooth and not crashing, it's pretty good. If you're signed in and are playing offline, it can still crash. And it does disconnect and lag even after the auto update, so it's not completely fixed as of yet. The graphics are way better than what I expected from a game with maps this huge, the sound effects are in fact great and the controls are pretty decent. Although the parachute button seems to not work sometimes or the parachute closes before you hit the ground making you have to open it again. Having to hold down the white button to talk was a big no-no since this whole game is all about teamwork and communication, making you have to pretty much keep it held in half the game taking your finger off a more important action button. The vehicles control pretty well, and you can change them from FPV to 3rd person view with a click of the right stick. The SP is very good, differentiating itself from every other FPS on the market with the hotswap feature, having tons of friendlies and enemies on the screen at once and the challenge missions to get you better acquainted with the overall feel of the game. Bottom line is, when it's working properly you have the making of one of the best online and offline games ever with tons of weapons, tons of ground, water and air vehicles and some of the largest maps that make the cluster**** multiplayer a sight to behold. It can become a sniper or tank-fest, meaning those 2 can take over the whole map and will at every chance they get, but an airtstrike, mortar strike or laser strike on their heads usually straightens them out and makes them think twice about trying it again. Now, if we could only get EA to use all their monopolizing money for some decent servers instead of them using it for their next Hostile Takeover Tuesday this game will go down in the Xbox offline and Xbox Live Hall of Fame. Expand
  11. RyanH.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    Online play is better than halo!
  12. Daz
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    OFFLINE REVIEW ONLY. I really like this game. The closest game that i've played to this is ghost recon, but this is more arcadelike than GR and in my opinion much better. The missions are varied so that you can be parachuting onto a oilrig one mission and attacking a bridge at another. The hotswapping works very well and adds a new idea to the saturated FPS market. I think that i OFFLINE REVIEW ONLY. I really like this game. The closest game that i've played to this is ghost recon, but this is more arcadelike than GR and in my opinion much better. The missions are varied so that you can be parachuting onto a oilrig one mission and attacking a bridge at another. The hotswapping works very well and adds a new idea to the saturated FPS market. I think that i would like to play some f the missions again after i've gone through them once, which says something good about the game as i don't normally do that. The vehicles are not particulalarly easy to fly/drive especially the helicopters but i think thatadds to the realism of the game as a helicopter wouldn't be easy to fly in real life. The jeeps and tanks drive like in Farcry where the left thumbstick does acc and brake as well as stear and the right thumbstick does the moving of the turrets. The black button will swap your seat in a vehicle like a jeep so that you acn stop being a driver and start firing the machine gun on top. Finally i've completed 8 missions so far and when i looked on the stats screen it said progress for the main game was 8/200, yes i did say 8/200??? Can this be right?? 200 missions?? Anywat Battlefield is highly recommended A+++ Expand
  13. AaronB
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    Well, well,well. I'd read about the freezing issues online and off. Never had problems before. This is the first xbox game I had to return(ever). Turns out some EA games don't work on certain machines (optical drive issue- my machine is less than 1 year old as well. If the CD tray doesn't have 2 round holes in it then you may have problems- made strange clicking noises). Well, well,well. I'd read about the freezing issues online and off. Never had problems before. This is the first xbox game I had to return(ever). Turns out some EA games don't work on certain machines (optical drive issue- my machine is less than 1 year old as well. If the CD tray doesn't have 2 round holes in it then you may have problems- made strange clicking noises). The guys at my local game store (Toronto) swapped my machine, free of charge and game now works fine. EA do piss me off sometimes-apparently its got something to do with a coating on the disk that causes problems. Anyway- after first level (had a very arcadey feel to it) I started to get into it. Am really enjoying the single player game now. Graphics are good, gameplay is good, maps are huge, love the hotswap feature. Only got stuck up in a railing once and died pretty quick so no problem. NO CRASHES OR FREEZES.Haven't played online. Overall really enjoying it- lots of extra bonus missions- racing humvee's, boats, hotswap contests etc. Definately worth the purchase in the end, even though it was a pain in the ass getting my unit replaced. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 100
    Simply a phenomenal experience, online and off, that should be played by any FPS fan, or just action game fans in general.
  2. From its overpowered weapons and gormless AI to its pedestrian objecctives, the singleplayer game is as dumb as it is misguided – an embarrassment to the rather splendid mulitplayer game that, fortunately, represents all that's really important. [Dec 2005, p.101]
  3. The two different modes may play completely differently but they compliment each other far better than we'd anticipated. For that, EA should be commended. [Dec 2005, p.94]