Breakdown Xbox

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2004
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    The word "innovative" has lost its meaning over the years because quality in games is judged by subjective elements like "graphics," "sound," and "replay value." But Breakdown is a masterpiece for all the right reasons, and in the areas where it needs work, you can't blame it because it's already doing so much at once. For the gamer who doesn't see quality in Breakdown's well-designed andThe word "innovative" has lost its meaning over the years because quality in games is judged by subjective elements like "graphics," "sound," and "replay value." But Breakdown is a masterpiece for all the right reasons, and in the areas where it needs work, you can't blame it because it's already doing so much at once. For the gamer who doesn't see quality in Breakdown's well-designed and unique enemies, its set-piece moments that radically change level structure and narrative flow, the unique real-time first-person fighting mechanics, the super powers (like the ability to slow time to a crawl, jump incredibly high, and sweep rooms with sonic blasts), or the intricately designed time-travel plot, at least play the game for the subjective reasons reviewers themselves present to you as incentive to play: Breakdown was one of the first of its kind to utilize motion capture, and indeed it was used to great effect with each and every character; the game is also very difficult, even on the ''easiest'' setting (which seems to garner attention these days, since most games are simply too easy, which holds the player back from using everything at his/her disposal); lastly, it actually has a soundtrack that's heart-pounding, eerie, and anticipant at all the right moments. There is no game in existence that is more deserving of a sequel than Breakdown; if it got the recognition it deserves, the result would be a truly fulfilling franchise. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. I'm probably biased because of nostalgia and having played it when I was 14. The story is so deep and confusing which I loved. Threw in some unexpected plot twists that didn't feel cliche at all to me even now as a somewhat jaded adult when it comes to cliches. Looking back the fighting controls were a bit choppy and could really screw you over onOne of the best games I've ever played. I'm probably biased because of nostalgia and having played it when I was 14. The story is so deep and confusing which I loved. Threw in some unexpected plot twists that didn't feel cliche at all to me even now as a somewhat jaded adult when it comes to cliches. Looking back the fighting controls were a bit choppy and could really screw you over on the hardest mode. The graphics were top notch for the time it came out and I think still hold up fairly decently, but they could have done a little more interesting level designs. Some of them were cool, but there was a lot of sameness. They set it up for a sequel though and that sequel never came! I try to look at the fact the they never went ahead with a sequel as a good thing because at least this way there is no chance of the game being tarnished for me. It will forever remain a classic in my eyes. Even though it has some flaws. I'm giving it a 10 because it holds a special place in my gaming memories. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Honestly one of the greatest experiences I've had. Yes the game has many faults but this game so much innovation during its time. It's had that it was extremely underrated title. Would have loved to have seen a sequel to this franchise. The story alone had me glued to my old CRT TV for HOURS! Man do I miss this game I need to buy an Xbox now XD
  4. FSWMaster
    Jun 22, 2004
    8
    I can't really give this game a true score yet because I've only played the demo. No matter how much I wish the graphics were up to XBOX standards, I still want to get this game. I usually will not touch a game anymore unless it utilizes the Box's hardware, just because I think it tells developers we will just settle for anything as long as it is the only thing to come out I can't really give this game a true score yet because I've only played the demo. No matter how much I wish the graphics were up to XBOX standards, I still want to get this game. I usually will not touch a game anymore unless it utilizes the Box's hardware, just because I think it tells developers we will just settle for anything as long as it is the only thing to come out in a while. Namco is capable of so much more, at least it should have been up to Kill Switch or Dead to Rights standards. But either way I can't help but play the demo over and over trying to decide if I can stand looking at the graphics to enjoy the game enouph to warrant a purchase. I also thought of getting Riddick since it takes first-person fighting to a better level, but I think without it's graphics and intense violence it would be just an average game to the hardcore, long-term gamer. Expand
  5. Jean-paulN.
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Having finished this game, I was blown away by all the movements in the first person view so natural, that they make all other fps look so mechanical and unrealistic!!! And I was also in awe when discovering the twist of the storie!
  6. Cyph
    Mar 17, 2004
    8
    Its hard to explain this game in such a small space. Although the game does have problems (graphics arent kinda jaggy, sound could have more 'umph', many levels look all the same), if you stick through all its misgivings, it has a facinating plot, an unique play style, and ultimately ends up being a very rewarding game.
  7. TheRedeemer
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    U have as much space as u want fool.
  8. KelR.
    Mar 30, 2004
    5
    This game IS broken down. Just because it's made by Namco the critics gave it higher points. Don't buy into the hype, you will end up doing exactly what I did, playing just to beat the stupid game and get it over with. The game is a no brainer you cannot get lost because only the right doors will unlock not to mention you find yourself about ready to throw-up because the This game IS broken down. Just because it's made by Namco the critics gave it higher points. Don't buy into the hype, you will end up doing exactly what I did, playing just to beat the stupid game and get it over with. The game is a no brainer you cannot get lost because only the right doors will unlock not to mention you find yourself about ready to throw-up because the graphics are so bad... it's like the first castle wolfenstein sickness. In addition most of the game is in very dark corridors where you can hardly see what the hell is happening. The story line does seem cool but then just evaporates into so lame typical Japanese crap. I do have to give it a few points because like a bad crack habit it's hard to kick, you know it's bad for you but you keep playing. Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2004
    5
    This game is a waste of $50. I'm not saying it's horrible, it's just not worth the dough. If you can find this game for $20 bucks, go for it, but it is a forgettable venture into the genre of first-person fighters, which will probably not go all too far. With less than five weapons, hordes of enemies immune to ranged attacks and a clunky fighting system, stale levels and a This game is a waste of $50. I'm not saying it's horrible, it's just not worth the dough. If you can find this game for $20 bucks, go for it, but it is a forgettable venture into the genre of first-person fighters, which will probably not go all too far. With less than five weapons, hordes of enemies immune to ranged attacks and a clunky fighting system, stale levels and a storyline that goes from great to so-so, save your money. I cannot deny the fact that the craziness of fighting in your skeleton is cool, however. Expand
  10. JMAN51
    Jul 8, 2004
    7
    Breakdown immerses you except for all the times you have to restart b/c of how hard it is to fight several enemies. Wouldn't be worth buying at all except maybe for the storyline which is pretty sweet.
  11. PhillipR.
    Apr 14, 2004
    8
    Interesting game, theres none like it for play style, gets pretty repetitive, but still and enjoyable experience.
  12. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    It's a very strange game, but I LOVE it. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62
  1. In spite of any inconsistencies, disparities, or shortcomings, Breakdown is an enormously compelling, satisfying game - one imparting a joy of discovery sorely lacking in far too many of today's biggest titles. [Apr 2004, p.88]
  2. We're not sure sure we've ever seen a more convincing first-person action-adventure quite like Breakdown. [May 2004, p.91]
  3. An excellent effort on the part of Namco, and is a competent title that just could have been more.