Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30 Xbox

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 68
  2. Negative: 8 out of 68
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AveryY.
    Mar 11, 2005
    6
    This game has a nice cinematic style, yet there is something missing that should set it apart. The graphics are pretty good, and yet the are not stunning as so many reviews seem to press. The gameplay is challenging at times, and the realism is pretty has a few nice touches such as dirt flying into your view as though on a windshield when bullets hit close by, but there the missions are This game has a nice cinematic style, yet there is something missing that should set it apart. The graphics are pretty good, and yet the are not stunning as so many reviews seem to press. The gameplay is challenging at times, and the realism is pretty has a few nice touches such as dirt flying into your view as though on a windshield when bullets hit close by, but there the missions are not all that incredible or excitiing. I sometimes wonder where such frothing at the mouth excellent review come from, or if i am palying the same game. You cannot even play in game with another player halo style, just head to head in capture or defend the flag style challenges. Kind of disappointing really. Last but not least is the flame from the muzzle on big guns blocks the view of what you are shooting at. This game lacks polish in soime of the details. A good rent-her-dont- a-buyer unless you are a serious WWII fan. Expand
  2. Sam
    Mar 20, 2005
    6
    The game started off extremely top notch. The opening shooting gallery (after playing it, you'll understand what I mean) on top of the following in-person cinematics really help set the initial tone of the game. Problem is, it falls short after this point. The missions are horribly linear and although the game emphasizes a tactical approach to combat versus a "run and gun" strategy The game started off extremely top notch. The opening shooting gallery (after playing it, you'll understand what I mean) on top of the following in-person cinematics really help set the initial tone of the game. Problem is, it falls short after this point. The missions are horribly linear and although the game emphasizes a tactical approach to combat versus a "run and gun" strategy it doesn't "really" give you much room for making tactical decisions. Most of the solutions to a situation are obviously placed out along the level design. I feel like quite a few bits of this game have been done better before. Worth picking up, at least as a rental, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it for purchase. Expand
  3. JeffreyN.
    May 22, 2005
    7
    This game had o.k. graphics, but very fun and challenging. This game is not as challenging as Dead to Rights II. But still pretty challeging. This game is pretty fun though. I would go to blockbuster and rent a copy as soon as I could if I didn't play it yet. But I did!
  4. PeterL.
    Jul 16, 2005
    5
    Not as good as the critics would have you believe. In fact how could anyone give this game more than 6 is beyond me! The story is good, the detail is OK but it's hardly realistic. The gameplay is predictable and far too linear and engages for only the first few hours. Those that doubt the lack of realism might want to think about the enemy standing static in a room and not reacting Not as good as the critics would have you believe. In fact how could anyone give this game more than 6 is beyond me! The story is good, the detail is OK but it's hardly realistic. The gameplay is predictable and far too linear and engages for only the first few hours. Those that doubt the lack of realism might want to think about the enemy standing static in a room and not reacting to shots fired outside. The linear nature of the missions and the inability to explore reeks of porting to PS2. Full Spectrum Warrior and Fable were major disappointments on this score too and they were extremely linear too. The interludes and storytelling are very good, mind, but the ropey graphics and limited sound do not do the Xbox justice. Buy this title at your own risk. Expand
  5. JeffreyR.
    Apr 13, 2005
    5
    I was very disappointed by this game. It reminded me like a less intuitive Ghost Recon 2, with mediocre graphics. The aiming process is too laborious, I just want to aim & shoot. On to Plus side, you can drive vehicles including tanks. I played several levels, but got bored.
  6. Rick
    Mar 2, 2006
    7
    Yeah I have to agree this game is over-rated. Either that or I am not playing it right. Ive made that mistake before. However I got through the first one and really wasn't raving about the accomplishment. The reviews I read talk about cinematic and having a real feel for your fellow troops. I didnt really get into the storyline too much and the gameplay consists of bogging down the Yeah I have to agree this game is over-rated. Either that or I am not playing it right. Ive made that mistake before. However I got through the first one and really wasn't raving about the accomplishment. The reviews I read talk about cinematic and having a real feel for your fellow troops. I didnt really get into the storyline too much and the gameplay consists of bogging down the enemy with suppressing fire - whilst they do that walking around the side of them and then taking them out. I wouldnt have minded that if that if it wasnt so repetitive. Chuck in some straight out bunker/corridor action where you can mow down the enemy rather than having to wait for them to pop their head up over a fence for a headshot which rarely hits the target even when you know you are spot on. I got through one or two missions on this sequel before putting the game down in boredom. Maybe I might have to re-hire and give it another go - personally I just don't believe the hype. Expand
  7. Daz
    Mar 11, 2005
    7
    While this is a good game it is difficult. I thought it would be just like the medal of honour games but it has a tactical side to it which makes it quite different. It does have some very nice ideas though, like if you die trying to do the same part mission quite a few times it offers you the choice to gain all your team back (as some may previously have died) One thing i don't likeWhile this is a good game it is difficult. I thought it would be just like the medal of honour games but it has a tactical side to it which makes it quite different. It does have some very nice ideas though, like if you die trying to do the same part mission quite a few times it offers you the choice to gain all your team back (as some may previously have died) One thing i don't like is the long loading times (30+ seconds each time you die) Overall though not a bad game 7/10. Expand
  8. JohnG.
    Mar 25, 2005
    6
    Very short. No coop mode on split screen. Great graphics and voice acting. After Half Life 2 on the PC, the consoles need to step up the pace and the length of the games. $50 for a one-day game is a rip off.
  9. DelaV2
    Mar 27, 2005
    6
    Definitely a niche title. This game had me so amped while the trailers were filtering down but I have come to find out that this game is nothing spectacular, good. But not great. After the first few stages I became kind of bored of gameplay, and I love realism. But this game (as all other GAMES) has been toned down a bit. Aiming is ridiculous. You can have a clear line of site on someone Definitely a niche title. This game had me so amped while the trailers were filtering down but I have come to find out that this game is nothing spectacular, good. But not great. After the first few stages I became kind of bored of gameplay, and I love realism. But this game (as all other GAMES) has been toned down a bit. Aiming is ridiculous. You can have a clear line of site on someone and still miss either because: A. You just do. or B. You hit part of the geography...it seems like the edges of sandbags extend a bit...invisibly. Overall I regret purchasing this game, it was far too expensive for something so short and "one trick pony". + Immersive levels + Great Sound + Good Game! - Invisible walls galore, the tactical aspect is a JOKE. - Somewhat corny dialouge and poor voice acting (sometimes). - Short. Limited Multiplayer Support. = Totally average game. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#24 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The gameplay has been honed to near-perfection, showing that a tactical approach doesn't necessarily lead to more complexity.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    Fitting and intense graphics matched with simply amazing audio and a gritty uncensored environment makes this one game not to pass on no matter what kind of games you enjoy.
  3. What makes this game even more impressive is the Xbox Live support, which is honestly the best online squad-based experience out there today.