Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30 Xbox

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 68
  2. Negative: 8 out of 68
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FPSFan
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    It's a first person shooter, not 3rd person shooter like it says up above under the name of the game. I just thought that should be cleared up before anyone that doesn't know much about the game starts whining. It's all you could want in a war game...lots of shooting, great graphics and squad based gameplay that's fun instead of boring or frustrating. Sound and It's a first person shooter, not 3rd person shooter like it says up above under the name of the game. I just thought that should be cleared up before anyone that doesn't know much about the game starts whining. It's all you could want in a war game...lots of shooting, great graphics and squad based gameplay that's fun instead of boring or frustrating. Sound and atmoshereic effects are movie-like. Controls are easy, unlike some squad based games. If you ever liked Call of Duty or Medal of Honor and you don't buy this, well, then you still haven't played the best WW2 game ever. This makes war good again. Expand
  2. EfeB.
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Yeah, its pretty solid. its war ww2 sytle...germans yellin, bullets flyin, dirt in yo face battle...however, the much talked about "tactical and strategic" approaches are kind of a hype. the levels are not as huge and varied as promised earlier. basically, if there is a long winding road ahead, there are germans behind barrels and fences, almost every single time. i almost never use theYeah, its pretty solid. its war ww2 sytle...germans yellin, bullets flyin, dirt in yo face battle...however, the much talked about "tactical and strategic" approaches are kind of a hype. the levels are not as huge and varied as promised earlier. basically, if there is a long winding road ahead, there are germans behind barrels and fences, almost every single time. i almost never use the "situational awareness" view, because i know where them germans are!...like i said....behind the barrels and fences. now, to give some respect to this game i must say that the AI is pretty good...but they run from cover to cover, so from barrel A and run to barrel B....duh. its just kind of easier to throw a hand granade over the fences and see them krauts go bye bye. developers MUST not use their own employees to do the voice over works!!!...all the soldiers sound like nerdy computer wizards "gee sarge, what do we do now?" i can almost see their faces, dude...hire some actors!. they were nice enough to give us rag doll effects in this game, because its like the next-gen thing (i am a rag doll fan!) but...in this game the rag doll effects are quite weird, when you shoot the enemy, they fall down with their feet joined together, almost always. it looks like someone tied their shoes together before sooting them...just weird. the graphics do the job well, but it'snot anything to write home about, its not as good as one would expect after reading all the amazing reviews above. the gun sight is kind of cool, but it covers 80 % of the screen when you use it, it makes harder to see where you are shooting. also, it's not particularly helpful. i must say that the "actual kill" of a nazi is satisfying, i dont know why...you know, the world hates the nazi's (as so you should too) maybe that's why. the sounds are pretty good, good job there. more screaming would have been good, or like fly and insect and ambient effects could have been more. i am kind of missing also particle effects on hand granades, ala halo style...by the way, i am sick of everyone using halo as a template to rate every other game out there...halo is one of the best games, but not a game god. i have complained alot here...and yet gave this game a 9. because, it is FUN. but if i was a game designer at gearbox/ ubisoft...the world would have gotten a much better game....sniff. : ( Expand
  3. ScottD.
    Mar 4, 2005
    8
    I've only had time to play it a little bit, but so far, so good. The gameplay works pretty well, as do the squad commands. The situational awareness map is a little bit awkward to use, because you can only rotate the view around a specific person or objective. The sounds and the effects are great; they really make you feel the chaos that is around you. The graphics, while really good I've only had time to play it a little bit, but so far, so good. The gameplay works pretty well, as do the squad commands. The situational awareness map is a little bit awkward to use, because you can only rotate the view around a specific person or objective. The sounds and the effects are great; they really make you feel the chaos that is around you. The graphics, while really good in some areas, are pretty poor in others. From the screen shots, I was really hoping to be blown away by the graphics. However, the graphics really don't seem much improved from MOH: Frontline (which came out almost 3 years ago). Also, the thing that bothers me the worst so how the characters move when they are crouched down. They pretty much just slide across the ground on one knee like a slug or something (this is exactly what happened in Goldeneye on the N64). For me, that little anomaly makes the game seem a little unpolished, and when you see it happening, it really detracts from the realism of the game. Expand
  4. Drew
    Mar 4, 2005
    9
    Aside from a few framerate hiccups its top notch. Its a nice blend of strategy and shoot 'em up. Also very appealing are the graphics. Character models are nicely detailed and the environments are laid out beautifully. The sound is really what got me hooked though. Surround sound really makes this game come alive.
  5. CraigS.
    Apr 6, 2005
    8
    The game kept me engaged, but I found some aspects very frustrating - the load times are slow, and you'll have to see the loading screen a lot! The tank levels need save points between tanks, and the squad need more grenades. The aiming is fine - some have complained about it, but you just need to wait for the enemy to pop up and take your shot. AI is variable - I often left my squad The game kept me engaged, but I found some aspects very frustrating - the load times are slow, and you'll have to see the loading screen a lot! The tank levels need save points between tanks, and the squad need more grenades. The aiming is fine - some have complained about it, but you just need to wait for the enemy to pop up and take your shot. AI is variable - I often left my squad in a safe spot to prevent them from standing in the open and killing themselves during a fire fight, but when behind a long wall they performed admirably. Sounds and visuals were excellent. Not much replay value though. Expand
  6. RonaldQ.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    d00d this game rocks man.
  7. Ron
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    This is a great game. I love the game play, and the grapics. If you liked Call of Duty, go get this game!!
  8. BenS.
    Apr 26, 2005
    8
    I liked this game, although the gameplay on PS2 was kinda choppy. well, you know the PS2 is a poor man's XBOX. I havent tried the PC version but i will expect similar gameplay(that is if my computer will run it:-) ) over all a GREAT game for those who have the patience to use tactics and not run around people left and right(i.e.- MOH frontline-one man takes on 5 million)
  9. TomM.
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    An excellent, immersive squad based shooter. Good characterisation of your squad with some decent lines. (The dialogue suggests that Gearbox and Ubisoft are prepared to treat us, their customers, as adults!) A new approach to a WW II shooter, with a couple of good central ideas- easy, context sensitive squad commands and the whole 'suppression' mechanism. The graphics show up An excellent, immersive squad based shooter. Good characterisation of your squad with some decent lines. (The dialogue suggests that Gearbox and Ubisoft are prepared to treat us, their customers, as adults!) A new approach to a WW II shooter, with a couple of good central ideas- easy, context sensitive squad commands and the whole 'suppression' mechanism. The graphics show up the game's console roots, but they're still pretty decent. The major pain in the backside is load times- way too long to be acceptable. If only someone could come up with decent streaming content for a PC game... Expand
  10. JackC.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    This game is one of the best WW2 shooters ever. i kept on playing it and my friends think im weird now but brothers in arms is the best game i played in a long time. I cant wait when Brothers in arms Earned In Blood comes out!!!
  11. PeteW.
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    A engrossing war game with fantastic realism and innovative gameplay. Some have accused it of being too linear and repetitive by using the suppress, flank, kill method. Isn't this what war was about? For e.g MOH:Frontline was a great game, but let's face it, in real war you couldn't run in to a room with 5 Nazi soldiers and just continually strafe while picking them off one A engrossing war game with fantastic realism and innovative gameplay. Some have accused it of being too linear and repetitive by using the suppress, flank, kill method. Isn't this what war was about? For e.g MOH:Frontline was a great game, but let's face it, in real war you couldn't run in to a room with 5 Nazi soldiers and just continually strafe while picking them off one by one and maybe only take the odd bullet yourself. Rush the enemy in BIA and you're lucky if you make it 10 feet. The enemy AI is exceptional - they're not stupid and will defend their territory resiliantly and intelligently. To advance requires careful planning, execution, and utilisation of your rescources primarily protecting your men and your health(No miracle health packs!) There are some criticisms, mainly - The occasional dubious cover saught by your soldiers contrary to your orders tellling to "move to THAT position!" - and the slightly average last level, which admittedly is reputedly historically correct but still a bit of an anti-climax. If you're looking for a bit more flow then try Call of Duty. If you want a bit more realism the check it out. (Those who doubt this can check out the extras on the game which prove how the boys did it back in the day). Expand
  12. ChristianC.
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    This game is way diffrent what I expected this game was perfect by the story it looks like your making the movie and you surviving with other people on another place is surviving I call this a METAL GEAR 4 lol with people!
  13. DustinM.
    Mar 14, 2005
    10
    Great amounts of fun. The single player from what I have played is fun, exciting, breath taking at times, and hard. The AI is great. Not to mention to fun objective-based multiplayer.
  14. SmokeyD.
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    this game is one of the greatest games ive played, screw the idiot that said this game came from a nobody developer, it was made by the same developers who made halo, half-life, counter-strike, and other great games, so you know it will be a great game. I strongly recommend this game.
  15. NoOne
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Whoever gave this game a low score obviously doesn't appreciate the tactial aspect of this game, nor its incredible depth. If you would rather run and gun, where all you need is a big gun and regenerative shields, go play a strict FPS. If you like Halo, then play Halo. But, if you want to try to command two fire teams in war that actually took place and feel totally immersed in the Whoever gave this game a low score obviously doesn't appreciate the tactial aspect of this game, nor its incredible depth. If you would rather run and gun, where all you need is a big gun and regenerative shields, go play a strict FPS. If you like Halo, then play Halo. But, if you want to try to command two fire teams in war that actually took place and feel totally immersed in the experience, this game won't dissappoint. Expand
  16. JohnS.
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    This game is great. From the story line down to the cut scenes. It made me feel like i was on the front lines of WW11. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time playing this game. The only downfall to playing this game was the multiplayer. Of course i am a huge Halo 2 fan so the multiplayer didn't mean much to me. If you ask me this game is worth your hard earned cash!!!
  17. BoddahC.
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Anyone with an xbox (or PC/Ps2) like me should, i repeat, should, buy this game. Even if you dont have any idea about world war 2, even if you dont like first person shooters, this game will definitely give you something to think about. Its the best videogame i have ever played (well, next to final fantasy 7 and 9 at least... ehehe ;) ) ever, bar none!
  18. KurtB.
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    This game isn't a perfect 10. It has lots of flaws, but it's better than a 9. Pros: You really feel like you are there, in the action. Realism and detail are unsurpassed. Bullets whistle past your head, dirt and grass get kicked up in your face. You must have a 5.1 system for this game. It's a great blend of strategy and action. Rambo lives only 5 seconds in this game. You This game isn't a perfect 10. It has lots of flaws, but it's better than a 9. Pros: You really feel like you are there, in the action. Realism and detail are unsurpassed. Bullets whistle past your head, dirt and grass get kicked up in your face. You must have a 5.1 system for this game. It's a great blend of strategy and action. Rambo lives only 5 seconds in this game. You have to think and use strategy, all the while bullets are wizzing past you, mortors are falling from the sky, and you men are screaming that a tank is coming. You feel the stress and realism of war. The controls are excellent. Your squad AI is actually very good. They automatically take cover, they cover each other with gunfire when moving. Occasionaly they will do something stupid, which makes you furious only b/c after a few hours you learn to expect a lot from them b/c they deliver most of the time. The weapons are authentic. Gearbox really did their research. The game is designed to simulate actual battles in actual places with actual people using actual weapons. Every chapter is based upon a real event in a real location that game recreates. There are so many good things about this game, I could go on and on. Time for the bad: Too short! I beat it on normal in less than 20 hours. I wish this game would last forever. I've almost beat it on difficult already. The frame rate will slow down sometimes, especially when you've just stepped into a German ambush. This gives you an unrealistic warning. There are also a few bugs. Machine gun sounds get stuck on repeat (they never go away even after you kill the gunner), and I got stuck on a wagon once. Some of the battles are also too scripted. The Germans will come around the corner when you pass a certain point...this enables you to set up traps for them and make their AI look really dumb. Otherwise they're pretty good. Most of the men and weapons look, sound, and move very realistically, but not the tanks. They skim across the ground and don't feel like extremely heavy machinery on tracks. Their machine guns and cannons sound and feel real though. They'll scare you into cover fast! Anyway, this game is well worth the money. I'm sure Gearbox will produce sequels, and I plan to buy every one of them. Expand
  19. MichaelB.
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    By far the most realistic WWII shooter I've ever played. Exceptional graphics and sound, and excellent gameplay. The squad-based command system leaves room for improvement, but the "situational awareness" works quite well. Blows the competition (i.e. Medal of Honor, and the god-awful console port of Call of Duty) out of Germany.
  20. RobertC.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    One of the B-E-S-T games to come in a long long time.this game would number 1 but theirs halo. RRRRR HALO RRRRRR.Anyway brothers in arms is the best!!!!!!
  21. JasonG.
    Apr 18, 2005
    9
    Solid gameplay and team tactics. negative is that your squadmates are resurrected after chapter.
  22. KyleK.
    Apr 21, 2005
    8
    This game was very good in squad commands, graphics were quite good and enemys were good. the problem was it was too short after 8 hours it was like we were going to do another mission and then the credits come up. WHAT THE. Multiplayer is still fun only with good competition in your friend.
  23. RyanS.
    Apr 5, 2005
    8
    Could stand to be the finest WW2 game ever. The graphics are tidy, the musical score is superior and so are the sounds. Gameplay is very enjoyable (grenades rock). One aspect that really feeds well is the level design, however, there could've been more enemy AI. Some may find this a little slow, in that, you find the enemy, you suppress, you flank, you kill, you find, you suppress, Could stand to be the finest WW2 game ever. The graphics are tidy, the musical score is superior and so are the sounds. Gameplay is very enjoyable (grenades rock). One aspect that really feeds well is the level design, however, there could've been more enemy AI. Some may find this a little slow, in that, you find the enemy, you suppress, you flank, you kill, you find, you suppress, you flank, you kill Expand
  24. NickH.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Definitely the best world war 2 fps.
  25. StevieK.
    May 1, 2005
    8
    All in all a lot of fun and quite immersive, kind of like Ghost Recon for WWII. I liked that there are no "powerups" or "magic first aid kits" lying around, and you are limited not only in terms of your weapons but also your ammo...more realistic. A few minor flaws, including difficulty of placing squads in places beyond direct line of sight. Also I found it odd that even if members of All in all a lot of fun and quite immersive, kind of like Ghost Recon for WWII. I liked that there are no "powerups" or "magic first aid kits" lying around, and you are limited not only in terms of your weapons but also your ammo...more realistic. A few minor flaws, including difficulty of placing squads in places beyond direct line of sight. Also I found it odd that even if members of your squad get killed, they show up fine in the next chapter. That is inconsistent given that there is a continuous story line that values the individual personalities of each character. Basically a great immersive combination of tactics and strategy for the footsoldier. Expand
  26. NathanH.
    May 27, 2005
    9
    This is the best WWII game that I have ever played , and it is also an exciting, difficult squad-based game. Brothers in Arms faithfully recreates battlefield conditions, has advanced enemy AI, and is based on a real story.
  27. AlexK.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    This is a really good game. It is so intense I forgot to breathe when I was taking out a German tank.
  28. Morgans.
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played by far.
  29. DonnN.
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Awesome game.
  30. DavidB.
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Great game.
  31. John
    Mar 14, 2005
    10
    This game is easily one of the most accurate representations of military combat ever. It is simply a must get. Everyone should run out and get this game so that sequels, and even some prequels are made.
  32. PeterG.
    Jul 24, 2005
    9
    First of its kind, great game which offers first person shooter and bit of strategy. You are in command of either one or two squads and some levels control a tank. Great game, want a sequel.
  33. Sep 1, 2011
    8
    Bloody, crude, harsh and very violent, maybe it wasnt the CoD of last generation but if it was the big jugaloo ,then maybe it could had been famous by the awesome campaign. I enjoyed every single bullet I shot to my enemies .
  34. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    During a time when shooters hadn't really made their mark yet, this game came, this game saw. Although compared to other games it's not as exciting, it' simple in it's own good way.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#24 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The gameplay has been honed to near-perfection, showing that a tactical approach doesn't necessarily lead to more complexity.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    Fitting and intense graphics matched with simply amazing audio and a gritty uncensored environment makes this one game not to pass on no matter what kind of games you enjoy.
  3. What makes this game even more impressive is the Xbox Live support, which is honestly the best online squad-based experience out there today.