Burnout 3: Takedown Xbox

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 136
  2. Negative: 30 out of 136
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dakidski
    Sep 9, 2004
    7
    I agree with 'uter'. This game has the worst soundtrack ever. If you live in the 90's and love grunge/heavy music; then I suppose its tolerable. Having instructions movies that are un-skipable before the actual gameplay is unforgiving. The DJ/narrator is from hell and I deeply despise him and his 'cool' attitude. The graphics haven't been updated much since I agree with 'uter'. This game has the worst soundtrack ever. If you live in the 90's and love grunge/heavy music; then I suppose its tolerable. Having instructions movies that are un-skipable before the actual gameplay is unforgiving. The DJ/narrator is from hell and I deeply despise him and his 'cool' attitude. The graphics haven't been updated much since Burnout2, and the color scheme/palette is worse than Burnout 2. Burnout2 was an amazing game, and perhaps the best arcade racer ever plus it had a kicking soundtrack. It is a shame they couldnt keep up with the prequel. This game is a rental at best. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 9, 2004
    5
    So repetitive. Boring. Overhyped!!
  3. ApocalypseB.
    Sep 30, 2005
    7
    Oh what could of been! Yes its fast, yes its fun but just like your first crush it doesn't last! I found myself wanting more and getting less in the end. In the end fun but short and flawed. A shame really and online? Poor poor bears spring to mind.
  4. SashaM.
    Oct 9, 2004
    7
    The slo-mo crash feature is one of the coolest innovations I've seen in a racer to date. The arcade physics make for a super-fast and forgiving racing experience. HOWEVER, there are some terrible inconsistency's within the game modes. For example, what happened to the race replays? The crash mode has them. Why not the race mode? I wanna see my takedowns! The race mode has music, The slo-mo crash feature is one of the coolest innovations I've seen in a racer to date. The arcade physics make for a super-fast and forgiving racing experience. HOWEVER, there are some terrible inconsistency's within the game modes. For example, what happened to the race replays? The crash mode has them. Why not the race mode? I wanna see my takedowns! The race mode has music, the crash mode does not, and where's the bgm volume boost during "boosting." Not that the licensed music is any good anyway, I actually prefer the soundtracks from the first two games(not included this time). EA has also left out an option to turn off specific songs in the play list. I love this game I just wish I hadn't traded in my copy of Burnout 2. At least they fixed the multiplayer split screen. It is now horizontal instead of vertical when played on a wide-screen TV. Expand
  5. TheMulletofGod
    Sep 20, 2004
    6
    Yet another average racer, I played it for about 5 minutes and dismissed it due to boredom, I only gave it a second look to make sure all the hype I was reading was for the same game, websites and magazines that are giving this rave reviews should be ashamed of themselves, as they are only helping EA to flog yet another average game to millions of people who are stupid enough to buy the Yet another average racer, I played it for about 5 minutes and dismissed it due to boredom, I only gave it a second look to make sure all the hype I was reading was for the same game, websites and magazines that are giving this rave reviews should be ashamed of themselves, as they are only helping EA to flog yet another average game to millions of people who are stupid enough to buy the hype, as someone else said rent it but don't waste your money buying it. Expand
  6. Uter
    Sep 5, 2004
    6
    I'm not very impressed. The graphics in the distance are blurred, so it's more difficult than in burnout 2, to see oncoming obstacles. I also hate how this got an EA makeover. It reminds me more of need for speed underground than burnout 2. the ea trax are terrible, and you can't turn them off unless you enter options every single time you play and change to custom I'm not very impressed. The graphics in the distance are blurred, so it's more difficult than in burnout 2, to see oncoming obstacles. I also hate how this got an EA makeover. It reminds me more of need for speed underground than burnout 2. the ea trax are terrible, and you can't turn them off unless you enter options every single time you play and change to custom soundtrack (it reverts back to the ea trax every time you boot up the game). Now the interface is mental. There's about 10 different screens before you get to the gameplay, and they actually forgot to include a top score list on one of those screens. So figuring out how much crash damage you need to advance to the next stage is difficult. Now you can't compete for a high score in crash mode either since it doesn't even track names. Competing with friends in crash mode was the highlite of burnout 2 for me, and they took it away for 3. Expand
  7. BlueFalcon
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    This is a great game that's somewhat wasted with terrible elastic band ai. The single player races are completely unrewarding because the ai will wait for you if they're ahead, and cheat to catch up if they're behind. EA also took out the crash scoreboard which was the best part of burnout 2. Also of note, the soundtrack is all trendy (read crappy) pop bands. If you change This is a great game that's somewhat wasted with terrible elastic band ai. The single player races are completely unrewarding because the ai will wait for you if they're ahead, and cheat to catch up if they're behind. EA also took out the crash scoreboard which was the best part of burnout 2. Also of note, the soundtrack is all trendy (read crappy) pop bands. If you change to your own custom soundtrack, it will change back to the pop bands if you reset. this might have been a 10 out of 10 game, if it wasn't for these 3 major oversights. For now, Burnout 2 is the best game in this series. Expand
  8. FooAtari
    Jan 23, 2005
    6
    Good graphics, fantastic sensation of speed. Boring gameplay that requires little skill, the Takedown feature is pretty rubbish, probably EA's influence to appeal to the masses, they have ruined yet another franchise. Game is too easy really,andt soon looses its appeal, being fast just isn't enough. And get rid of the damn ej's, although you can turn him off Pick up Burnout Good graphics, fantastic sensation of speed. Boring gameplay that requires little skill, the Takedown feature is pretty rubbish, probably EA's influence to appeal to the masses, they have ruined yet another franchise. Game is too easy really,andt soon looses its appeal, being fast just isn't enough. And get rid of the damn ej's, although you can turn him off Pick up Burnout 2 for a fraction of the price and get a superior game. Expand
  9. DJSpaz
    Sep 15, 2004
    6
    Very repetitive, soundtrack is terrible, I won 98% of the game in less than 2 days. Boooooo..
  10. BaikO.
    Nov 26, 2004
    5
    The design looks very dump to me, very simple, repetitive without any sence of imagination and the whole game has no meaning at all.it is a very bad game.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#3 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 95
    My jaw also hit the floor when I had my first crash. In many racers cars just get a ding or probably no scratches at all. In Burnout 3 your car comes out looking like one of those high school driver's education videos.
  2. This game does for the arcade racing genre what "Rallisport Challenge 2" does for the rally section. It's just that good.
  3. 94
    Perhaps one of the most enjoyable racing games we've ever been given the chance to play, mainly owing to the immense rush you get from the sheer velocity of game play.