User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 124
  2. Negative: 30 out of 124

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Buried-In-The-Box
    Sep 10, 2004
    8
    This game is soooo fun, for about 2 days. This game is good but lacks any sort of depth do it shouldn't get better reviews than a game like SRS that at least has more depth even though it isn't perfect. Once you see a few of the crashes you've seen the entire game. If Juiced ever comes out it will be more fun and live longer than this, at least until Forza, NFSU2 and MC3 This game is soooo fun, for about 2 days. This game is good but lacks any sort of depth do it shouldn't get better reviews than a game like SRS that at least has more depth even though it isn't perfect. Once you see a few of the crashes you've seen the entire game. If Juiced ever comes out it will be more fun and live longer than this, at least until Forza, NFSU2 and MC3 come out. Rent it, but don't spend $50 on it. Companies should take a look at Sega and see how much short lived or updates should cost. $20 would be a better deal. Expand
  2. ArtherA.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    best racing game ever.
  3. Dakidski
    Sep 9, 2004
    7
    I agree with 'uter'. This game has the worst soundtrack ever. If you live in the 90's and love grunge/heavy music; then I suppose its tolerable. Having instructions movies that are un-skipable before the actual gameplay is unforgiving. The DJ/narrator is from hell and I deeply despise him and his 'cool' attitude. The graphics haven't been updated much since I agree with 'uter'. This game has the worst soundtrack ever. If you live in the 90's and love grunge/heavy music; then I suppose its tolerable. Having instructions movies that are un-skipable before the actual gameplay is unforgiving. The DJ/narrator is from hell and I deeply despise him and his 'cool' attitude. The graphics haven't been updated much since Burnout2, and the color scheme/palette is worse than Burnout 2. Burnout2 was an amazing game, and perhaps the best arcade racer ever plus it had a kicking soundtrack. It is a shame they couldnt keep up with the prequel. This game is a rental at best. Expand
  4. Intellavisor
    Sep 20, 2004
    4
    Nice smooth graphics but that doesn't make up for it's short life span (almost finished the game in 5 days), too much crap to unlock (everything you do seems to unlock something), bad bg music, the hard levels are near impossible and ultra-frustrating, too many menus to scroll through to get to a race...I'm sure Burnout 4 will be better.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 9, 2004
    5
    So repetitive. Boring. Overhyped!!
  6. JanK.
    Sep 7, 2004
    9
    Its the most adredaline pumping racing game ive played in a while.. its not only the single-player but also the multi-player that makes it worth a lot of your precious time :) ..
  7. ArmandoD.
    Sep 5, 2005
    9
    You can rate this game in 2 words... Fun & Fast This maybe isn't the deepest racing game... but it's lots of fun, and that is what matters.
  8. Nathan
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    The speed is abosolutely astounding, and the crashes make you cringe as your car loses wheels, blows up tankers, and flips up mountains, all at 200+ mph.
  9. DaneK.
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    AMAZING!!!!!
  10. XCritic
    Oct 6, 2004
    9
    Beautiful game only flawed by the choice of music in the soundtrack. If they could have only added some tracks in a different musical genre, it would have been acceptable - but all this guitar-violence is not my cup of tea. Graphics are very nice - both scenery and animation. Gameplay is what this game is all about and it is close to perfect. Too bad EA had to implement their new Beautiful game only flawed by the choice of music in the soundtrack. If they could have only added some tracks in a different musical genre, it would have been acceptable - but all this guitar-violence is not my cup of tea. Graphics are very nice - both scenery and animation. Gameplay is what this game is all about and it is close to perfect. Too bad EA had to implement their new copyright-protection thing on the discs - my second original is giving me "disc could be dirty or damaged" errors. Expand
  11. MikeF.
    Oct 9, 2004
    9
    Other companies will find it completely disadventageous to release another racing game, unless the addicting element is something other than feeling of speed, control, cars physics, replay value. The only reason I give this a 9 instead of a 10 is because i would have liked to see more brand cars. But, that being said, with the superb gameplay, replay value and graphics, as Gamespot said, Other companies will find it completely disadventageous to release another racing game, unless the addicting element is something other than feeling of speed, control, cars physics, replay value. The only reason I give this a 9 instead of a 10 is because i would have liked to see more brand cars. But, that being said, with the superb gameplay, replay value and graphics, as Gamespot said, even if you aren't into racing games normally , "ANYONE WITH A PULSE WILL LOVE THIS GAME"! Expand
  12. JamesE.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    I am in pain... the pain in my eyes is unbearable... why you might wonder? Its because my eyes were glued to the screen for the past 10 hours of nonstop BURNOUT 3 action. First, the EA TRAX are of my liking, but if it isnt really your cup of tea you can always put in your own soundtrack. The Graphics are Splendid... and all of the effects run smoothly and really shine. The addicting I am in pain... the pain in my eyes is unbearable... why you might wonder? Its because my eyes were glued to the screen for the past 10 hours of nonstop BURNOUT 3 action. First, the EA TRAX are of my liking, but if it isnt really your cup of tea you can always put in your own soundtrack. The Graphics are Splendid... and all of the effects run smoothly and really shine. The addicting factor is definetely 10/10 as with this game once you pop you just cant stop. If you didn't get the game go ahead... even if you dont like racing games in general you'll like this one... XBOX Live is not working at the moment but I can gurantee that it would be fun to have 6 player road rages! bottom line: Get The Game... Its really worth it. Expand
  13. ConnorM.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Amazing game! I don't know why some people don't like it *cough* Uter and FooAtari *cough* because it is amazing. The gameplay is awesome, custom soundtrack feature rocks, graphics are kickass, multiplayer is perfect, and the list goes on... wow... this game is amazing!!!
  14. ApocalypseB.
    Sep 30, 2005
    7
    Oh what could of been! Yes its fast, yes its fun but just like your first crush it doesn't last! I found myself wanting more and getting less in the end. In the end fun but short and flawed. A shame really and online? Poor poor bears spring to mind.
  15. SuperRater
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This game takes the racing to a whole new level. With the new added gameplay like Road Rash this game really delivers. You take a fast, high paced game and add crashing to the mix then you get an amazing game. Defenitly worth the money!
  16. TedD.
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    I'm not exactly a big racing game fan but this has got to be the most addictive game I've bought in the last year! Road Rage RULES!
  17. SashaM.
    Oct 9, 2004
    7
    The slo-mo crash feature is one of the coolest innovations I've seen in a racer to date. The arcade physics make for a super-fast and forgiving racing experience. HOWEVER, there are some terrible inconsistency's within the game modes. For example, what happened to the race replays? The crash mode has them. Why not the race mode? I wanna see my takedowns! The race mode has music, The slo-mo crash feature is one of the coolest innovations I've seen in a racer to date. The arcade physics make for a super-fast and forgiving racing experience. HOWEVER, there are some terrible inconsistency's within the game modes. For example, what happened to the race replays? The crash mode has them. Why not the race mode? I wanna see my takedowns! The race mode has music, the crash mode does not, and where's the bgm volume boost during "boosting." Not that the licensed music is any good anyway, I actually prefer the soundtracks from the first two games(not included this time). EA has also left out an option to turn off specific songs in the play list. I love this game I just wish I hadn't traded in my copy of Burnout 2. At least they fixed the multiplayer split screen. It is now horizontal instead of vertical when played on a wide-screen TV. Expand
  18. MikeY.
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    This game is so exiting.
  19. Daz
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Fantastic. Extremely fast with gorgeous graphics. The single player section is enormous (i've played for about 12 hours and done about 25%). I haven't tried the online section yet but everything i've heard about that is good also - i can't wait. My 5 year old son particularly like the road rage section where you get to bash cars from the track. Highly recommended.
  20. BradH.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    This game has the best replay value i have ever seen. AMAZING.
  21. TheMulletofGod
    Sep 20, 2004
    6
    Yet another average racer, I played it for about 5 minutes and dismissed it due to boredom, I only gave it a second look to make sure all the hype I was reading was for the same game, websites and magazines that are giving this rave reviews should be ashamed of themselves, as they are only helping EA to flog yet another average game to millions of people who are stupid enough to buy the Yet another average racer, I played it for about 5 minutes and dismissed it due to boredom, I only gave it a second look to make sure all the hype I was reading was for the same game, websites and magazines that are giving this rave reviews should be ashamed of themselves, as they are only helping EA to flog yet another average game to millions of people who are stupid enough to buy the hype, as someone else said rent it but don't waste your money buying it. Expand
  22. RikoD.
    Sep 5, 2004
    10
    The best arcade racer game! It's amazing!!
  23. Uter
    Sep 5, 2004
    6
    I'm not very impressed. The graphics in the distance are blurred, so it's more difficult than in burnout 2, to see oncoming obstacles. I also hate how this got an EA makeover. It reminds me more of need for speed underground than burnout 2. the ea trax are terrible, and you can't turn them off unless you enter options every single time you play and change to custom I'm not very impressed. The graphics in the distance are blurred, so it's more difficult than in burnout 2, to see oncoming obstacles. I also hate how this got an EA makeover. It reminds me more of need for speed underground than burnout 2. the ea trax are terrible, and you can't turn them off unless you enter options every single time you play and change to custom soundtrack (it reverts back to the ea trax every time you boot up the game). Now the interface is mental. There's about 10 different screens before you get to the gameplay, and they actually forgot to include a top score list on one of those screens. So figuring out how much crash damage you need to advance to the next stage is difficult. Now you can't compete for a high score in crash mode either since it doesn't even track names. Competing with friends in crash mode was the highlite of burnout 2 for me, and they took it away for 3. Expand
  24. JonJ.
    Sep 5, 2004
    10
    Truly amazing racing gaming.
  25. TIM
    Sep 7, 2004
    10
    So quick your eyes will bleed.
  26. DuncanM.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    This game is is insane!! crash junctions are the most fun and taking down other cars rocks!! i can't see another racer beating this for a while.
  27. JackO.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    Excellent game! There's so many people that don't realise how good this game is and are too busy waiting for over-hyped games that turn out to be crap. One of the best games of the year is already here.
  28. JohnL.
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    These fools who gave this game a low score dont know what theyre talking about this game is the best racer ive ever played.....The number one factor when it comes to racers should be the fun factor and this was just that, it was the most fun Ive had since fzero on nes systems....I was disappointed that it didnt have system link capabilities.
  29. MarkM.
    Mar 14, 2005
    9
    The only thing that keeps this game from getting a 10 is the soundtrack -- it's freaking HORRENDOUS. The Ramones is the only decent song; the rest suck. Thank god for the custom soundtrack. The gameplay is fun, and sense of speed crazy and the crashes too much fun. For those that say it's too short -- sorry, but not all of us get to sit in our parent's basement and play The only thing that keeps this game from getting a 10 is the soundtrack -- it's freaking HORRENDOUS. The Ramones is the only decent song; the rest suck. Thank god for the custom soundtrack. The gameplay is fun, and sense of speed crazy and the crashes too much fun. For those that say it's too short -- sorry, but not all of us get to sit in our parent's basement and play games for 12 hours a day. Some of us have jobs and kids and families, so we play an hour here and an hour there. So, IMHO, it's more than long enough. Expand
  30. BlueFalcon
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    This is a great game that's somewhat wasted with terrible elastic band ai. The single player races are completely unrewarding because the ai will wait for you if they're ahead, and cheat to catch up if they're behind. EA also took out the crash scoreboard which was the best part of burnout 2. Also of note, the soundtrack is all trendy (read crappy) pop bands. If you change This is a great game that's somewhat wasted with terrible elastic band ai. The single player races are completely unrewarding because the ai will wait for you if they're ahead, and cheat to catch up if they're behind. EA also took out the crash scoreboard which was the best part of burnout 2. Also of note, the soundtrack is all trendy (read crappy) pop bands. If you change to your own custom soundtrack, it will change back to the pop bands if you reset. this might have been a 10 out of 10 game, if it wasn't for these 3 major oversights. For now, Burnout 2 is the best game in this series. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 95
    My jaw also hit the floor when I had my first crash. In many racers cars just get a ding or probably no scratches at all. In Burnout 3 your car comes out looking like one of those high school driver's education videos.
  2. This game does for the arcade racing genre what "Rallisport Challenge 2" does for the rally section. It's just that good.
  3. 94
    Perhaps one of the most enjoyable racing games we've ever been given the chance to play, mainly owing to the immense rush you get from the sheer velocity of game play.