Burnout 3: Takedown Xbox

Burnout 3: Takedown Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout 3 challenges you to crash into (and through) busy intersections, while creating as much damage as possible. You can battle your way to the front of the pack by taking down rivals and causing spectacular crashes. For those who thirst for crashes, the game includes a crash mode thatBurnout 3 challenges you to crash into (and through) busy intersections, while creating as much damage as possible. You can battle your way to the front of the pack by taking down rivals and causing spectacular crashes. For those who thirst for crashes, the game includes a crash mode that rewards you for creating massive pileups. With multiplayer gameplay, more than 100 events, and 40 tracks, Burnout 3 provides intense speed and action. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 100
    To say that this game is "fast" is an understatement - it absolutely blazes, so much so that blinking becomes a liability. [Nov 2004, p.96]
  2. Astonishingly good...This is pure, balls-out speed that will cause even the most hardcore of gamers to rock from left to right as they barely miss ramming a truck at two hundred plus miles an hour.
  3. If you want more than this from an arcade racer, you've got to be crazy. It's all here in spades!
  4. 95
    Burnout 3 will remind you why you started playing games – not because of the competition, or to enter into some fifty hour experience grinding session online, but because of an experience that constitutes such pure fun that it's impossible to stop a grin breaking out on your face.
  5. Regardless of the fact that I'm not a racing fan, I found this to be a very, very good game, and absolutely hilarious when you think about the fact that it promotes driving like a dick and taking down your opponents with underhanded and brutal tactics.
  6. Every aspect comes together to create a gaming experience that is one of the most polished and perfected we've ever seen, regardless of genre – you simply need Burnout 3: Takedown now.
  7. Play Magazine
    75
    A dose of high-quality gaming fast food that tastes fine but leaves you wanting something that sticks. [Oct 2004, p.77]

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67
  1. ArtherA.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    best racing game ever.
  2. TC
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    I'm confused... this soundtrack has some forgettable punk tracks, but seriously, The Futureheads, Atrayu, The Von Bondies and Franz I'm confused... this soundtrack has some forgettable punk tracks, but seriously, The Futureheads, Atrayu, The Von Bondies and Franz Ferdinand are all on this soundtrack too. EA is branching out with the music selection, so unlike the last game not ALL the damn songs are crappy nu-metal. Take a friggin second to make a custom soundtrack and enjoy the best racing game ever made, ya losers. Expand
  3. Daz
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Fantastic. Extremely fast with gorgeous graphics. The single player section is enormous (i've played for about 12 hours and done about Fantastic. Extremely fast with gorgeous graphics. The single player section is enormous (i've played for about 12 hours and done about 25%). I haven't tried the online section yet but everything i've heard about that is good also - i can't wait. My 5 year old son particularly like the road rage section where you get to bash cars from the track. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    The gameplay is absolutely adorable. It is SO fast! The graphics are so great, and I loved it in 2004 and still love it in 2012! The game wasThe gameplay is absolutely adorable. It is SO fast! The graphics are so great, and I loved it in 2004 and still love it in 2012! The game was great on both Xbox and PS2. Revenge was really good too but it wouldn't have existed without this one! Expand
  5. RepeatOffender
    Sep 20, 2004
    9
    Not generally a huge fan of recing games, but this one is simply incredible. The speed is phenomenal, the crashes are beautiful, and the Not generally a huge fan of recing games, but this one is simply incredible. The speed is phenomenal, the crashes are beautiful, and the competition is as determined to win the race as you are! the only gripe I have with the game, is the lack of replay's. With such beautiful crash sequences why not allow a user to save their most spactaular and share among friends? Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    17 hours it took me to finish this(didn't care about the golds). Dang that's good. The world tour is split into 2 parts: Race events and crash17 hours it took me to finish this(didn't care about the golds). Dang that's good. The world tour is split into 2 parts: Race events and crash events. Crash is simple and fast and you're give a small intersection of part of road where you gotta drive up as fast as possible and crash into traffic causing the most collateral damage and picking multipliers. Very fun stuff. You also get you're race events going from simple races to trying to takedown tohe most racers in the alloted time.

    Good sense of progression with cars mostly being unlocked in categories such as musle, sport, super classes. But at the end of the day it's all about speed and the ragdoll car physics. The game rewards you by driving dangerously and crashing in this game is a thing of glory. Your car will simply flip out sometimes 30 feet in the air and with a press of a button you can control your fall in slo-mo.

    Seriously it's hard to beat this franchises for a rotation game in between more serious fare. It's perfect escapist and fully worth any price given what it gives back. I will review the other titles in the franchises so look'em up to see which the best in the end.
    Expand
  7. Intellavisor
    Sep 20, 2004
    4
    Nice smooth graphics but that doesn't make up for it's short life span (almost finished the game in 5 days), too much crap to Nice smooth graphics but that doesn't make up for it's short life span (almost finished the game in 5 days), too much crap to unlock (everything you do seems to unlock something), bad bg music, the hard levels are near impossible and ultra-frustrating, too many menus to scroll through to get to a race...I'm sure Burnout 4 will be better. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#3 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004