Burnout 3: Takedown Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout 3 challenges you to crash into (and through) busy intersections, while creating as much damage as possible. You can battle your way to the front of the pack by taking down rivals and causing spectacular crashes. For those who thirst for crashes, the game includes a crash mode that rewards you for creating massive pileups. With multiplayer gameplay, more than 100 events, and 40 tracks, Burnout 3 provides intense speed and action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Hands down, the best arcade racer ever made. Ever. [Oct 2004, p.99]
  2. The speed of the game is incredible and as the roads and lights blur past you, it feels more like you're flying in the Millennium Falcon than some street machine dodging through traffic.
  3. If you want more than this from an arcade racer, you've got to be crazy. It's all here in spades!
  4. Taking a screaming fast car and driving it into a busy intersection creating a massive car pile up costing millions of dollars is not only fun, but addictive.
  5. Regardless of the fact that I'm not a racing fan, I found this to be a very, very good game, and absolutely hilarious when you think about the fact that it promotes driving like a dick and taking down your opponents with underhanded and brutal tactics.
  6. Crucially, it's everything a racing videogame should be: a relentless, unwavering and phenomenal assault on the senses.
  7. A dose of high-quality gaming fast food that tastes fine but leaves you wanting something that sticks. [Oct 2004, p.77]

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    The gameplay is absolutely adorable. It is SO fast! The graphics are so great, and I loved it in 2004 and still love it in 2012! The game was great on both Xbox and PS2. Revenge was really good too but it wouldn't have existed without this one! Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    A beautifully made game. The takedown is flawlessly implemented with endless variations, addictive gameplay with controls that try to be the opposite of NFSU2 (and does it well), Tons and tons of different car choices, and crash mode, in which take out entire freeways of cars with only your own. It's hard to describe how fun this is, just play it yourself. 10/10 Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    great, simple concepts executed perfectly, with little in the way of unnecessary additions. Race with an insane sense of speed to the finish, but not before your opponents crash into pieces, while your custom soundtrack plays in the background. Arcade racers dont get better than this Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Best racing experince on the the oringal xbox.

    This game is filled with tons of content. It has a classic racing mode, time trials, and
    crash mode which is my personal favorate). In crash mode you just crash your car and try to cause the most damage possible. In this game there are hundreds of unlockables to go for, The graphics for this game would be considered dencent in decnct 2013. That is amzing considering it's nearly 10 years old. If you have a xbox or a ps2 this is a must buy. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Best racer ever seriously just buy it. buy it now. So much destruction but i wonder if people in other cars die that would be sad but i like racing the car and there are a lot of variety in them Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    6.5 user score? You are kidding right? This game is hands down the BEST arcade racing game to ever grace a console!

    Risk = Reward

    Music score is perfect for this kind of game and seems to have been very well thought out.

    The game immediately grabs you and is hard to put down. It's exactly what an "arcade" style racing game should be.. FUN!

    The game isn't without flaws but most of them are very minor.

    I tried to buy this game on XBLA (re buy) and unfortunately my save game slots became corrupt and are now unrecoverable and there's no support :(

    So now I cannot even get the game to load up despite my best efforts so I'm stuck so I guess I'll have to look to playing it on my PC some how in order to relive the awesome.

    Seriously though if you are looking for a fun no so serious racing game that is FAST and a lot of fun - this is it - I still haven't found anything to replace it.....
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Burnout has come a long way since the good ol' era of "racing around a track with little else to do other than avoid totaling yourself". Burnout 3 was the turning point, and the true evolution between what Burnout used to be, and what it would become for years onward.

    Burnout 3 introduces new mechanics, the main being the new "takedown" feature, in which you may smash opponents to pieces in order to score a takedown. This also spurred up the new and interesting way of steering your car once you have crashed, through a slow motion view. Known as aftertouch, these allow you to score "aftertouch takedowns", effectively steering your wreck into other racers to batter them up.

    The involvement of aftertouch also seeped it's way into the new and improved crash mode, where you must damage as much traffic as possible. This game mode makes it's way from Burnout 2, where it originated, and manages to add upon it, with pickups and, of course, aftertouch being the main improvements. Whether this game mode is better than it's predecessor is down to opinion, but I found that the original crash mode was more raw, and felt more devastating when you hit down upon the traffic. Also, having no control made it feel like a true crash, rather than one that seems as though it was just designed to be as arcade style as possible.

    In terms of collectibles, the game is plentiful; lots of postcards, signature takedowns and vehicles to be earned. This game has a lot to do, and the crash mode is just as expansive as the race mode.

    Ultimately, this game is legendary; it seems to have been widely considered as the best Burnout game, and has earned itself a large following. I, however, still prefer the raw feel of burning along the road, dodging traffic, and hoping to stay as far ahead as possible. Some of the new features just take this full adrenaline rush away from me, and unfortunately, I can't give this game a perfect score. Very respectable, but far from perfect.
    Expand

See all 62 User Reviews