Burnout 3: Takedown Xbox

Burnout 3: Takedown Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout 3 challenges you to crash into (and through) busy intersections, while creating as much damage as possible. You can battle your way to the front of the pack by taking down rivals and causing spectacular crashes. For those who thirst for crashes, the game includes a crash mode thatBurnout 3 challenges you to crash into (and through) busy intersections, while creating as much damage as possible. You can battle your way to the front of the pack by taking down rivals and causing spectacular crashes. For those who thirst for crashes, the game includes a crash mode that rewards you for creating massive pileups. With multiplayer gameplay, more than 100 events, and 40 tracks, Burnout 3 provides intense speed and action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 100
    To say that this game is "fast" is an understatement - it absolutely blazes, so much so that blinking becomes a liability. [Nov 2004, p.96]
  2. Astonishingly good...This is pure, balls-out speed that will cause even the most hardcore of gamers to rock from left to right as they barely miss ramming a truck at two hundred plus miles an hour.
  3. If you want more than this from an arcade racer, you've got to be crazy. It's all here in spades!
  4. 95
    Burnout 3 will remind you why you started playing games – not because of the competition, or to enter into some fifty hour experience grinding session online, but because of an experience that constitutes such pure fun that it's impossible to stop a grin breaking out on your face.
  5. Regardless of the fact that I'm not a racing fan, I found this to be a very, very good game, and absolutely hilarious when you think about the fact that it promotes driving like a dick and taking down your opponents with underhanded and brutal tactics.
  6. Every aspect comes together to create a gaming experience that is one of the most polished and perfected we've ever seen, regardless of genre – you simply need Burnout 3: Takedown now.
  7. A dose of high-quality gaming fast food that tastes fine but leaves you wanting something that sticks. [Oct 2004, p.77]

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. ArtherA.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    best racing game ever.
  2. ConnorM.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Amazing game! I don't know why some people don't like it *cough* Uter and FooAtari *cough* because it is amazing. The gameplay is Amazing game! I don't know why some people don't like it *cough* Uter and FooAtari *cough* because it is amazing. The gameplay is awesome, custom soundtrack feature rocks, graphics are kickass, multiplayer is perfect, and the list goes on... wow... this game is amazing!!! Expand
  3. JackO.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    Excellent game! There's so many people that don't realise how good this game is and are too busy waiting for over-hyped games that Excellent game! There's so many people that don't realise how good this game is and are too busy waiting for over-hyped games that turn out to be crap. One of the best games of the year is already here. Expand
  4. Andrew
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    My friend and i often tire of first person shooters so we switch to this, and we end up playing for 4 hours. The best racing game money can buy.
  5. RepeatOffender
    Sep 20, 2004
    9
    Not generally a huge fan of recing games, but this one is simply incredible. The speed is phenomenal, the crashes are beautiful, and the Not generally a huge fan of recing games, but this one is simply incredible. The speed is phenomenal, the crashes are beautiful, and the competition is as determined to win the race as you are! the only gripe I have with the game, is the lack of replay's. With such beautiful crash sequences why not allow a user to save their most spactaular and share among friends? Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    17 hours it took me to finish this(didn't care about the golds). Dang that's good. The world tour is split into 2 parts: Race events and crash17 hours it took me to finish this(didn't care about the golds). Dang that's good. The world tour is split into 2 parts: Race events and crash events. Crash is simple and fast and you're give a small intersection of part of road where you gotta drive up as fast as possible and crash into traffic causing the most collateral damage and picking multipliers. Very fun stuff. You also get you're race events going from simple races to trying to takedown tohe most racers in the alloted time.

    Good sense of progression with cars mostly being unlocked in categories such as musle, sport, super classes. But at the end of the day it's all about speed and the ragdoll car physics. The game rewards you by driving dangerously and crashing in this game is a thing of glory. Your car will simply flip out sometimes 30 feet in the air and with a press of a button you can control your fall in slo-mo.

    Seriously it's hard to beat this franchises for a rotation game in between more serious fare. It's perfect escapist and fully worth any price given what it gives back. I will review the other titles in the franchises so look'em up to see which the best in the end.
    Expand
  7. Intellavisor
    Sep 20, 2004
    4
    Nice smooth graphics but that doesn't make up for it's short life span (almost finished the game in 5 days), too much crap to Nice smooth graphics but that doesn't make up for it's short life span (almost finished the game in 5 days), too much crap to unlock (everything you do seems to unlock something), bad bg music, the hard levels are near impossible and ultra-frustrating, too many menus to scroll through to get to a race...I'm sure Burnout 4 will be better. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews