User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 65
  2. Negative: 8 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PimpPlayer
    Oct 1, 2005
    10
    Graphics:10 Gameplay:10 Cars:10 Without a doubt this is the best Burnout game in the series.This game is so amazing crashing your rivals in a race and going fast at the same time is there anything better than this. This is the BEST racing game of the year. but the only complaint i have about this game is that my eyes hurts because of the long time i w atching the screen while i playing Graphics:10 Gameplay:10 Cars:10 Without a doubt this is the best Burnout game in the series.This game is so amazing crashing your rivals in a race and going fast at the same time is there anything better than this. This is the BEST racing game of the year. but the only complaint i have about this game is that my eyes hurts because of the long time i w atching the screen while i playing this game. Expand
  2. PhillipJ.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Excellent game play. Feel the speed and the rush. Easy to learn and play for the new, much improved for the experienced player. Excellent soundtrack.
  3. BlueFalcon
    Sep 14, 2005
    4
    There's good reason that this game isn't called burnout 4. It's the pretty much the same game as burnout 3. It's still got the horrible elasticband ai. Plus more trendy pop music that you have to turn off every time in options if you want to listen to your own soundtrack. Seriously, why even bother including a custom soundtrack if you've got to take several There's good reason that this game isn't called burnout 4. It's the pretty much the same game as burnout 3. It's still got the horrible elasticband ai. Plus more trendy pop music that you have to turn off every time in options if you want to listen to your own soundtrack. Seriously, why even bother including a custom soundtrack if you've got to take several minutes every time you play to set it up? Burnout 2's great crash scoreboard is still mia - that was arguably the best feature of crash mode. It was good that they removed the 4X and 2X multipliers for crash mode, since they took away from the depth. But now you have a target car which is worth a ridiculous amount of pts - so it's basically the same flaw. The new tracks have multiple paths, jumps, and generally are more interesting than before. The graphics and sound effects also have been mildly improved. Overall it's a disappoinment for me since they didn't fix the main flaws of b3. The score of 4 is more reflecting my disappointment, rather than it being an especially below average game. Expand
  4. RedRose
    Sep 17, 2005
    6
    EA have officially just killed the franchise. First Bond, now this...whats next?
  5. Benjamin
    Sep 19, 2005
    5
    The new ability to ram traffic out of the way basically ruined the franchise. Burnout 3's adrenaline inducing traffic dodging is what made the game so fun. Now you just plow through everything. They should call this game Burnout: Plow instead of Revenge. If the ability to knock cars out of the way was removed, it'd be perfect, end of story.
  6. Greg
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    Just like Burnout 3, this game is amazing. Re-defines the arcade racer genre and adds elements that make the game even better. I'm a huge Burnout 3 fan and I would take Burnout Revenge over Burnout 3 anyday. 9.8/10 would be my real score, cannot wait for the 360 version!
  7. BobR.
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    First of all, why are so many people hammering this because it isn't Burnout 3? You HAVE Burnout 3, so what's the issue?? This is a different kind of Burnout and, in my opinion, better than the previous. Yes, traffic checking has removed the weaving of same way traffic but anyone who thinks that this means you can win everytime just by plowing thorugh hasn't played the game First of all, why are so many people hammering this because it isn't Burnout 3? You HAVE Burnout 3, so what's the issue?? This is a different kind of Burnout and, in my opinion, better than the previous. Yes, traffic checking has removed the weaving of same way traffic but anyone who thinks that this means you can win everytime just by plowing thorugh hasn't played the game enough because it just isn't true. First of all, you can't hit everything. Sameway small and medium traffic, yes, but different way traffic and larger same way traffic, no. And my favourite moments of weaving was always going head to head on the wrong side of the track to earn boost, which is still there in all its glory. The track design also throws a lot more danger of environment hits in to balance the traffic checking. AND if you check traffic you slow down, and with the evil AI at later stages that can makie the difference between win or lose, so you still weave through same way traffic as best you can. Burnout Revenge has stellar graphics (and whooooooooooooooooo cares about sparks for goodness sake? They're good enough.), spectacular speed, awesome trackdesign with some mind blowing jumps and the most agressive racer-on-racer gameplay yet. At the end of the day, if you loved Burnout 3 YOU'VE STILL GOT IT. This is something DIFFERENT - stop whining and go play B3. Expand
  8. LionelS
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    This is The BEST racing game ever period.
  9. ApocalypseBrown
    Sep 30, 2005
    9
    While the muppets crowed about burnout 3:Takedown i was impressed until the repetition kicked in! After that it was just an above average game. This game, however is road rage bliss! The new editions like side streets, plowing through traffic the same size as you and the improved crash modes makes this not only last longer, but squeezes every last drop of fun out of the single and multi While the muppets crowed about burnout 3:Takedown i was impressed until the repetition kicked in! After that it was just an above average game. This game, however is road rage bliss! The new editions like side streets, plowing through traffic the same size as you and the improved crash modes makes this not only last longer, but squeezes every last drop of fun out of the single and multi player games. Ok 'wacking' traffic out of the way seemed silly at first, but it becomes more of a hazard as you can still crash into oncoming traffic or get some flying cars landing on you. Online still shocking but playable. Althrough the same die-hards who loved bo 2 and slated bo3 will remain in this case, the open minded will love this game. Revenge anyone? Expand
  10. TrezoL.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    Absolute favorite game to me. I am not a racing fan at all, but this game took me by storm. It has a good style of racing, but also an action packed line to.
  11. RandyM.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Burnout Revenge is, indeed, the most destructive, flat out fun racer I have had the honor to play. The sense of speed is amazing and the slo-mo replays never get old. A hearty recommendation to any gamer.
  12. RicheP.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    It's the racing game for people who hate racing games.
  13. SteveS.
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    I have to take one from the perfect 10 that I would so dearly have loved to give this game. The graphics are better, the music is still good and it is downright fun. However, the one thing I have noticed since Burnout 2, is that there is progressively less need for skill in the Burnout games. In 2, you used to have to drive accurately to be awarded boost, which meant your skilla as a I have to take one from the perfect 10 that I would so dearly have loved to give this game. The graphics are better, the music is still good and it is downright fun. However, the one thing I have noticed since Burnout 2, is that there is progressively less need for skill in the Burnout games. In 2, you used to have to drive accurately to be awarded boost, which meant your skilla as a driver were pretty much honed. In 3, the takedowns were a welcome addition, whilst still needing the skill to avoid traffic at high speeds. In Revenge, however, as long as you stay on the side of the road with traffic going the same way as you, you can usually finish a level by holding down boost and ramming everything out of the way. Now don't get me wrong - it's still one of the most fun racing games I have EVER played, but it is starting to get to the point where you don't really need any skill or practice to get good at the game. I much preferred having to work for boost, as opposed to piling into a heap of traffic with my indestructible car and effectively being awarded for bad driving!! This said, play this game, you won't be disappointed. Just make sure you've played it's predecessors as well. 2 and 3 more than deserve your attention, as they are all pretty different beasts! Expand
  14. DubL.
    Sep 15, 2005
    3
    Is it just me or does this totally pale in comperison to burnout 3? The new platformery level design is interesting, but the new traffic checking system totally takes all the fun out of it. It took a game that was arcade but challenging and made it pointlessly easy. What I loved about burnout 3 was weaving though traffic and being forced to go into opposing traffic to get more boast. Now Is it just me or does this totally pale in comperison to burnout 3? The new platformery level design is interesting, but the new traffic checking system totally takes all the fun out of it. It took a game that was arcade but challenging and made it pointlessly easy. What I loved about burnout 3 was weaving though traffic and being forced to go into opposing traffic to get more boast. Now all you have to do pound on the gas and ploy through. Sorry, it looks better, but it's not fun. And when it comes down to it...being fun is what counts. Expand
  15. JohnL.
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    What can you say about perfection?? this game comes pretty close!!!! Revenge takes everything I loved about Burnout 3 and made it better....Go out and buy this one fellas ...I passed up sex with my girlfriend to get more playtime with this...im sleeping on the floor but its well worth it!!!
  16. QuickSilver
    Sep 16, 2005
    9
    Steering wheel works perfectly (no setup required) and makes the game so much nicer. Great fast action with smooth controls. Soundtrack like most game soundtracks needs to be turned off. Checking (crashing) thru rushhour gridlock is sweet - cars and explosions eyecandy everywhere.
  17. PeteD.
    Sep 18, 2005
    9
    Don't know what Dav H means by "no single player", I dont think he's playing the same game as me. This game is amazing, the visual are great, the sound effects are wicked, and the game just oozes action non-stop. It's great fun - and that's in single player, two player and online modes.
  18. NeilK.
    Sep 21, 2005
    6
    The Burnout series was never too much of a cerebral challenge, but Revenge's new traffic check system dumbs it down to the point where Bobo the circus chimp could grab the controller and cross the finish line first every time. The graphics are awesome, the essence of speed perfectly captured and the music appropriately loud. But why dispose of that adrenaline pumping, heart thumping The Burnout series was never too much of a cerebral challenge, but Revenge's new traffic check system dumbs it down to the point where Bobo the circus chimp could grab the controller and cross the finish line first every time. The graphics are awesome, the essence of speed perfectly captured and the music appropriately loud. But why dispose of that adrenaline pumping, heart thumping duck-and-weave through traffic? Expand
  19. MatthewK.
    Sep 22, 2005
    3
    Well I have to say I dont know what Ea was thinking. First they come out with Burnout 3 it was amazing, I love it sooo much, the crashes the sparkes everthing I like. When I saw the new one online and saw the videos I knew right of the back that it would not be good. I totaly agree with (Red Rose) a person that left a comment on this game. They just took the name and made a game and it Well I have to say I dont know what Ea was thinking. First they come out with Burnout 3 it was amazing, I love it sooo much, the crashes the sparkes everthing I like. When I saw the new one online and saw the videos I knew right of the back that it would not be good. I totaly agree with (Red Rose) a person that left a comment on this game. They just took the name and made a game and it was crap, I dont understand why people like this its sooo dumb, Ex, ok the cars look better I give them that much, Now I loved the 3 one because the sparks were sooo cool and great, now the sparks look sooooo fake its not even funny, I got a chance to play this and right of the back I crash in a wall and grind it and the sparks look so fake, The other think I hate is that now you can blow up as you are crashing haha thats soo dumb come on the 3 one you had to hit people in mid air or just hit them to get boost back now you can be lazy and just blow up. That is sooo lame. Other thing I dont like is how crash mode is, In the 3 one you had to aim and crash and then blow up and get a high score. NOw you can just drive into tracffic and hit them and just sit there as they some how blow up, like alll the cars blow up now thers noo real damage at all its like EA did not want to do crash scense showing damage and stuff and just made the cars blow up and turn into flames, to me that makes no sense and wish that nexts time if they decide to make an other one to bring back more realsic sparkes and better crash scenes, We can only hope. I give this game 3 because of its name and how the cover looks. Expand
  20. JeffK.
    Sep 27, 2005
    7
    The same but different.
  21. StuartP.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Very fast game, gives you a adrenaline rush, great game with very cool music.
  22. Tony
    Oct 16, 2005
    6
    Just not as good as I was expecting. The traffic checking makes the game way too easy, and messy. The track layouts border on pinball physics, while the crashbreakers only make things easier. Play the exact same courses with pretty much the exact same cars over and over, until the end. The car selection and map selection is needlessly confused to boot. A fun game in here, but it's Just not as good as I was expecting. The traffic checking makes the game way too easy, and messy. The track layouts border on pinball physics, while the crashbreakers only make things easier. Play the exact same courses with pretty much the exact same cars over and over, until the end. The car selection and map selection is needlessly confused to boot. A fun game in here, but it's buried under a lot of nerfing and a horrible camera. Expand
  23. RageAholic
    Oct 23, 2005
    7
    A few steps backwards from Burnout 3: Takedown. The ability to plow through same-direction traffic removes a fun challenge of avoiding cars. While I can't put my finger on it, there's something about the graphics, lighting or something in Revenge that I find off-putting. When I first picked up Takedown, I couldn't stop playing it. Revenge is just not as fun or satisfying to A few steps backwards from Burnout 3: Takedown. The ability to plow through same-direction traffic removes a fun challenge of avoiding cars. While I can't put my finger on it, there's something about the graphics, lighting or something in Revenge that I find off-putting. When I first picked up Takedown, I couldn't stop playing it. Revenge is just not as fun or satisfying to me. I'll be rolling back to Takedown for my car-rampaging entertainment needs. Expand
  24. JamesS.
    Sep 15, 2005
    2
    NO Replays !!! I'm not kidding, NO replays in crash mode. I don't know how much $ EA paid these reviewers to give it such high scores it doesn't deserve. No menu options for screen or controls. No wheel support. If Burnout 3 was a bit to confusing and difficult for you and you just want to push X and hit cars then buy it, otherwise, you'll be VERY disappointed. Burnout NO Replays !!! I'm not kidding, NO replays in crash mode. I don't know how much $ EA paid these reviewers to give it such high scores it doesn't deserve. No menu options for screen or controls. No wheel support. If Burnout 3 was a bit to confusing and difficult for you and you just want to push X and hit cars then buy it, otherwise, you'll be VERY disappointed. Burnout 3 = 9/10 Revenge = 4/10 Expand
  25. DaveH.
    Sep 15, 2005
    1
    No single player..No replays after race or crash!! Im going back to burnout 2. EA cant take it away from me. Its fun for an hour but the lack of a replay system lke in bo2 is just too much to put up with.
  26. MerlE.
    Sep 18, 2005
    4
    They really watered down the game with the trafic checking system and there are also problems with the camera moving outside of a wall or even my car shot through a wall into the void and outside of the level. Just not as good as Burnout 3. It's unfinished. It seems like they rushed it trying to get it out before the Xbox 360 is released.
  27. LuiggiR.
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    Great game period. the traffic checking is actually pretty fun. I'm glad they added that.The only thing I hated about burnout 3 was that if i accidently touched traffic my car would explode. I mean you still explode if you hit a car head on. in the excellent game.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. By far the biggest step up lies in the course design, offering dozens of alternative routes and short-cuts on each map and making far more use of vertical travel than Burnout ever did. [Nov 2005, p.90]
  2. Revenge isn't a huge leap forward for the series compared to the evolution between "Point of Impact" and "Takedown," but it is definitely an evolution for the franchise and once you play it you'll have a hard time going back to the old track designs.
  3. The Burnout franchise continues to impress, with this 4th installment featuring a deeper world tour mode, even snazzier visuals and online play.