Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth Xbox

  • Publisher: 2K Games
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2005
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
Buy On
  1. Game Informer
    60
    The action is slow and unresponsive,and there is very little direction spurring you through its grainy, muddy-looking world. [Jan 2006, p.150]
  2. games(TM)
    70
    An intelligent and original gaming experience for those strong enough of stomach and mind to see it all the way through. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  3. 60
    Understand going in to this game that you're going to die a lot. And you're going to have to replay the same scenes over many times before you get past them. And if you see Cthulhu, give him our best.
  4. On one hand there is a fantastic immersive horror title that captures the environment perfectly. On the other hand, you have a game that is filled with bugs and leads you with both hands tied through the whole game.
  5. Official Xbox Magazine
    65
    Suffers from linear gameplay, ridiculously difficult challenges, bad graphics, and a lead voice actor who sounds like an utter twit. [Jan 2006, p.75]
  6. Even though I was put off by the stealth sequences and the occasionally high difficulty level, it's impossible not to admire how frightening and intense this game can be.
  7. A strange beast. Initially captivating for its haunting atmosphere and impressive plotline, Gamestyle soon uncovered sanity effects that pushed us over the edge - of despair.
  8. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    Dark Corners weaves a spellbindingly scary vibe. [Feb 2006, p.89]
  9. An undeniable effort. It can be fulfilling and mightily rewarding, but there are too many frustrating moments to say it's a classic.
  10. A flawed but fascinating adaptation of the imaginings of one of horror's most influential writers.

Awards & Rankings

#20 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. May 14, 2011
    0
    The idea of a horror game based around HP Lovecraft's "Shadow Over Innsmouth" short story is awesome, and it's a real shame that this gameThe idea of a horror game based around HP Lovecraft's "Shadow Over Innsmouth" short story is awesome, and it's a real shame that this game fails to deliver in every way other than the storytelling aspect. The game is way too dark and grey/brown to ever tell what is going on and you can easily overlook elements in the environment. The game doesn't give you an actual weapon until nearly 3 hours into it when you find your first guns. No ability to use melee? C'mon. The AI is annoying, the cutscenes are unskippable, the insanity factor comes into play way too easily and makes things blurry (things are hard enough to see in this game as it is), and the stealth doesn't really work at all. This is just a complete waste of time and utter disappointment. I tried very hard to enjoy this game but it just doesn't have what it takes to be called a good game. Other horror games over the years ranging from Silent Hill to Resident Evil Remake to Eternal Darkness to Dead Space 2 are all vastly superior in every way. Avoid this one, even if you are a Lovecraft fan like me. Full Review »
  2. DerrickF.
    Nov 11, 2005
    3
    I had eagerly anticipated this game, but put it aside at the point of Fishmen Attack. My reason: after walking the length and breadth of an I had eagerly anticipated this game, but put it aside at the point of Fishmen Attack. My reason: after walking the length and breadth of an unwelcoming town without finding even a pointy stick for a weapon, seeing a child ripped to pieces by monster, and finding evidence proving that the innkeeper is a mass murderer, I am forced to follow this same murderer to a room of his choosing and bed down for the night without the option of sneaking out of the building. Of course, the townsmen come for you, and you are forced to flee like an idiot out of a trap that even the most naive player could see coming. While I was willing to try a game devoid of firearms, I was disappointed to play the role of a eunuch incapable of even pimp-smacking his assailants. Anyone giving this game a ten has no Y chromosome. Or wits. Full Review »
  3. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans.

    What works: - A number of ideas: the sanity
    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans.

    What works:

    - A number of ideas: the sanity factor, the screen without HUD
    - The use of Lovecraft material for creating the game
    - The overall atmosphere of dread and isolation
    - The puzzles: they are often very well made and fairly engaging
    - The decision of relying on aiming down the sight (no in game crosshair)
    - The damage system being divided into 3 categories (bandage, splint, suture, antidote)

    What doesn't work:

    - The graphic is sometimes too blurry and muddy, making difficult to not only spot some items but even simple orientation
    - Respawn (I loathe it as game concept)
    - Lack of polish (it is obvious that corners have been cut and the ambition of the project reduced greatly from how originally anticipated)

    What is so-so:

    - The level design is most of the times very good and well focused (best chapters: Chapter 2 - Attack Of The Fuccing Fishmen, Chapter 3 - Jail Break and Chapter 7 - Dangerous Voyage) but sometimes there is an annoying lack of feedback about the need of backtracking (without much of a valid reason) while some other levels are much less spot on (Chapter 5 and Chapter 11 come to mind)
    - The AI: sometimes the enemies are in front of me but don't see me for some strange reason
    - Voice acting (some are good, wrong choice of tone for the protagonist who sounds too matter-of-face in most situations)
    Full Review »